Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Tuna or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz

Six Times Omega 3 & Low Mercury. Sustainably Caught. Delicious White Tuna Steak. Pole/Troll Hand Line Caught. Dolphin & Turtle Safe. More Omega 3 Than Salmon. Kosher. Enjoy 100% pure Albacore Tuna and sea salt in its own natural juices -- and nothing else! Our sustainably hand line and troll caught Wild Albacore Tuna comes from the pristine waters off the Pacific Northwest in the United States. We hand-pack tuna loin chops raw into the can where it is then cooked only once to capture the rich flavor and natural oils. The result is a delicious Tuna Steak in a can! The tuna is always undiluted by additives or water. In addition to experiencing some of the best tasting food anywhere you will also be on your way to a healthier lifestyle. With half the Mercury and six times the Omega 3s compared to national brands you can feel good about eating heart healthy portions of body building protein.  . You've never tasted tuna like this before! We hand-cut and pack delicious sashimi grade tuna steaks in a micro-cannery process. All the Omega 3 oils are retained and no liquid is added; please don't drain. We hand select smaller fish with less mercury accumulation to assure the lowest mercury level available.
Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
41 out of 44(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Review 1 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannotfindanickname
fromLakeland, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great tuna! Worth the price!
 January 4, 2014
"This tuna is so much better than what you buy in the stores. It's not cheap but it's so much better I can justify the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CXCYCLIST
fromSomerset County, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Best tuna from a can...
 December 3, 2013
"First, opening the can, a can opener is not needed - it has pull-tab entry source
Next, it is not necessary to drain the liquid - I add the entire contents of the can into the prep bowl. Not sure if this would work for everyone, since I don't use mayo, mashed avocado & lemon juice instead (Paleo).
Not an overpowering, nor heavy, fishy taste. Great, because I'm not a big fish eater, though the completed dish, with chopped onion, celery and seasoning added, still tastes like tuna.
other plus, less mercury.
I order 10 cans at a time, because they run out quick!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scroogemeister
fromUpstate New York
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great tuna, no fishey smell, solid pack
 December 1, 2012
"This Albacore Tuna is like you used to get years ago. Solid pack, no fishey smell. This is the real thing, and works well in all dishes.
No a cheap substitute you see sold in stores as Albacore.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JayeB
fromTallahassee, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthy, good-tasting tuna.
 November 16, 2012
"I saw a review somewhere listing this as a particularly healthy choice in canned tuna. It has an excellent mild taste. Great in salad and tuna mac casserole. Worth paying more for."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktdidtoo
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Save BiG at ViTACOST!
 November 13, 2012
"This tuna is crazy good ... and Vitacost treats us to great pricing!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Annetta
fromNew York City
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 November 12, 2012
"This is a delicious can of tuna! Yummy in my tummy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shoppygirl
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
tasty
 November 6, 2012
"Best tasting tuna I've had. I usually eat Trader Joe's tuna, but this surpasses it. The price is a bit higher, but it's worth it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Metwin
fromMelbourne FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Tasting!
 November 5, 2012
"Love the idea that this tuna comes from the wild. I believe that wild tuna has the best nutritional value."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lokifan
fromMissouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Healthy tuna in a can
 November 4, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I eat this at least once a week. It is delicious, and I can eat it knowing that mercury is not a problem, as it is with store- bought tuna. Great source of omega 3's and protein. Low in calories."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newbiebaker
fromNY, NY
Age:25-34
Good
 October 16, 2012
"Best tuna in can"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ervy
fromGeorgia
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
 September 27, 2012
"Excellent taste, and texture. Loved the tuna! Great price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hudgie
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best tuna
 September 22, 2012
"This is the best tuna I have ever eaten. I think the canning process is one of the most important features."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JS12
fromDel Mar CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Yummy Tuna
 September 15, 2012
"Has a great fresh and not fishy taste. Have ordered it many times."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCMH
fromEastern, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best canned tuna!
 September 11, 2012
"I've eaten canned tuna for years and have tried many brands. This is by far the best canned tuna I've ever eaten. Solid, fresh tasting, makes an excellent sandwich and addition to recipes. I won't buy any other type now!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
stormwatcher
fromTampa Bay, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Very disappointed in the dryness of the product.
 September 2, 2012
"I have had other brands of albacore tuna that was not nearly as dry as this was. It tastes ok but needs lots of mayo!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SisterDaniels1
fromLawrenceburg KY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good product
 August 22, 2012
"I had given up tuna. The talk about the mercury and such just made it less desirable. But know VitaCost has never let me down, I ordered some. It was so good I ordered more the next time. It is firm, fresh smelling and fresh tasting. I use it many ways."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zeny
fromNew York
Gender:Female
Best tasting tuna
 August 21, 2012
"Have tried all including Trader Joe brand and Wild Plant tuna beat them all in flavor. Unlike most that seem to taste of something else in background perhaps the packing oil or quality of fish, Wild Planet tasted fresh, clean, pure tuna, no off taste from oil. Will buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GinJet
Healthy
 July 29, 2012
"We should include fish in our diet. I know how important it is and this is a SAFE choice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momof2boys2girls
fromportland,tn
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great tuna!!
 July 27, 2012
"Love this tuna and the fact that the can is BPA free.And it is wild caught."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wild Planet Wild Albacore Tuna -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irongait
fromHinckley, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent!!!
 July 24, 2012
"I bought this tuna when it was on sale to give it a try. It is excellent in all ways, taste, texture, and manufacturing practices. Each can is the same quality. It will be the only tuna I buy! Purchasing through Vitacost offers both convenience and value."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next