Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs

Provides Whey Protein Microfractions. Whey Protein Isolates are 90% pure protein by weight. They are the purest and most expensive form of whey protein that exists. That's why they are the first ingredients you read on the 100% Natural Whey Gold Standard label. By using Whey Protein Isolates as the primary source we're able to pack 24 grams of the purest muscle-building protein per serving with a lot less of the fat cholesterol lactose and other stuff that you can do without. What's more 100% Natural Whey Gold Standard contains no artificial flavors colors or sweeteners. There's no question this is the standard by which other whey proteins are measured.
Overall rating:
4.593 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
50 out of 54(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Review 1 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
darkpast
fromCold Spring, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great before and after workouts
 June 22, 2014
"I've been using ON for quite sometime. I use the natural products to stay away from the artifical sweetners. I'm really starting to make some gains by using it before and after my workouts."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
teetide
fromPanama City Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Looking for protein without the junk? This is it.
 June 17, 2014
"It's tough to find high quality whey protein without all the artificial sweeteners and other assorted carcinogens. When you do, the price is usually sky high and it tastes like liquified cardboard. Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey is where quality clean protein, great taste, and decent price all converge. I'm as picky as they come about what I put in my body and this is the only whey protein I trust enough to drink multiple times daily. Tastes great and has yielded fantastic results for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebeast11
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Tastes great
 May 31, 2014
"I've tried a few different proteins and the taste for this one is good. Optimum Nutrition is one of the better proteins out there so I recommend this!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fitgal4life
fromChicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
All natural, sweetened with stevia
 May 24, 2014
"I bought this protein powder to have a more natural product without added chemicals. I like that it has no artificial sweeteners or additives. The taste is good, but definitely not as good as some of the other flavors I have tried. It is definitely a mellow vanilla, so I usually add some vanilla extract along with the powder when I am making a shake or baking."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sweatpea
fromMadison, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good product
 April 18, 2014
"Good taste, mixes well in blender. Good macros."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ronenka
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
The product is high quality and very good
 April 12, 2014
"I've been searching and trying different kinds of Whey products and my friend suggested me the ON Whey i bought it and enjoyed using it after trainings. Since then i buy only ON Whey protein , they produce a large variety of flavors which is good for different tastes of people."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raxian
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
When all others compete...
 April 12, 2014
"Optimum Whey Delivers. I did a product evaluation check on different protein powders based on taste, performance, reliability, recovery, and efficiency. This has proven to be top notch in various studies.
I like Isopure, because of its low carb (zero carb) but the cost is up there. I wanted to find a product that I have had before that can deliver. This delivers. I can definitely see the results (I have changed my exercises from regular to 21's and have seen results. The reason this product is better then most, is its ingredients. Just compare this to say muscle milk. You will see and feel the world of difference."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pcorno
fromScottsdale, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Products are great
 March 31, 2014
"These products are very good and a good value. I wish I would receive some promo offers that don't come the day after I make a large purchase and expire in 3 days."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyLifter
fromClive, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great Taste
 February 2, 2014
"Taste is great, good price, nice amount of protein per serving. I use this every day. Have tried may other kids of protein, this not only tastes great but I love that it is Natural."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromramla, israel
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
with milk it's great
 November 9, 2013
"it's so good with milk 3%, but not with water."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RWinMO
fromRepublic, MO
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
I would definately recommend
 October 23, 2013
"Great taste and mixes easily. I've used it for over two years and have had excellent results. All natural with no artificial sweeteners and only 5 grams of sugar. I haven't found any other natural powder that is close in price. I've used several other protein powders and none compare."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dcd2212
fromTucson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great taste!
 October 21, 2013
"Very high quality product and it tastes great too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigGg
fromBuffalo, New York
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
The Best
 August 9, 2013
"I've used this protein powder for years. I've tried others and keep going back to ON. it works the best, dissolves the best, tastes the best. Simple."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KansasBond
fromBaldwin City, Ks
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
ON Protein Powder
 August 8, 2013
"We have tried many other Whey Protein powders over the years and always come back to Optimum Nutrition. They chocolate and vanilla are the best, the cookies n cream are good also. We use this product in bars, shakes, or just a prework out drink."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
katnapper
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Tastes fake
 August 8, 2013
"This has been my "go to" product for years. I LOVED it. The stuff I received yesterday tastes bad. So bad that I might not even use it. Very strong, very fake taste"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyJacks
fromMesa AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 June 24, 2013
"I love that you only need one scoop to make a shake. Like the way it tastes and love the size to get 70 serving. Thanks"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyMuscleCoolGuy
fromBakersfield, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Awesome Shake
 June 16, 2013
"This protein shake is wonderful for the body and it digest very easily. Great for waking up in the morning an after workouts. It also dissolves easily and tastes deliciously. Highly recommended to everybody wanting to be healthy and lean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ElMeroGuero
fromRiverside, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Gave me stomach pains/cramps and sore throat
 June 6, 2013
"I have been taking Probolic S/R for about 3-4 months without incident. ON was on sale and it looked like a great deal so I decided to give it a try since I would rather have a whole whey protein after my workout. I took it for about a week and had to stop because it made my stomach feel like it was going to explode. I searched the net and others said they have gotten stomach pains and sore throat from taking this product. It may be that I am sensitive to pure whey and not the fault of the product but again, I take Probolic without incident."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamajen
fromCharleston, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect!
 May 27, 2013
"I have been looking for an affordable high quality whey that did not contain artificial sweeteners that actually tastes good and this is it. So far I have used it mixed with water and skim milk and it tastes good both ways, but I think this would be excellent for baking and mixing in oatmeal as well. Love this stuff :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Vanilla -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SullyBones
fromLexington, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
No bull...just whey
 April 29, 2013
"For anyone wanting good whey protein with none of the extra ingredients, ON's 100% Natural Whey has always been the way to go.
I chose the vanilla because of diet restrictions (cant have chocolate anymore) and it is good if you like vanilla. Just having to get used to vanilla flavor vs. the chocolate I was used to (why 4stars vs. 5)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next