Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter

Provides a Year of Natural Chlorine-Free Shower Water Under Normal Use. Improves Dry Skin and Hair. Reduces Flaking Scalp and Irritated Eyes and Lungs. Fits All Showers. No Plumbing Required. Shower Head Not Included. Shower with natural rainwater-like freshness. You can have softer skin and hair! Why? Because chlorine is a toxic element. Chlorine is used to chemically disinfect water. The problem is that chlorine also strips protein from your skin and hair leaving it dry and itchy.  . Filtering out chlorine helps protect your skin and hair from this stripping action and leaves it softer much like nature's natural rainwater.  . And while it's helping you it's also removing odors and dirt particles and helping control bacteria mold and mildew in your bathroom.
Overall rating:
4.432 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
39 out of 44(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Review 1 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meggums
fromDunedin, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Instant Change
 December 18, 2015
"This filter immediately removed the chlorine smell from my shower water and the nagging cough I was experiencing went away in about two days. I'm convinced it's because I have a chlorine allergy. What a gift to have such instant relief. I won't be without these ever again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromOxnard, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
This product speaks for itself
 December 6, 2015
"According to the benefits listed in this item description, it is very accurate and my family has noticed a huge difference in their skin and hair color. Including myself i have noticed a great difference; having oily skin it has enhanced my facial products to be absorbed well in my skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mlapre
fromNew England
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Works Great!
 November 17, 2015
"Other than a whole house water filter these things work great filtering out the nasty chemicals that are present in most tap waters. Very good price from Vitacost, easy to install and lasts for a full year. Skin feels more moisturized after a shower. Also has helped a lot with my son's dry scalp. I bought two - one for each shower. An excellent investment in keeping harmful chemicals from poisoning you through your pores. Highly recommended."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JanLee
fromIN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Shower Filter
 November 5, 2015
"Happy I tried this shower filter. Easy to install and works well; I don't smell chlorine any more!! My skin is less itchy. Also, a great price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
emmadyl
fromNorthern California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I think this works
 October 8, 2015
"I've noticed a big difference in the texture of my hair. It's much better since I started filtering out the chlorine."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KL12
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This is a great product
 July 26, 2015
"New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter is a great product! You can tell it cuts out the chlorine right away because the smell immediately dissipates and the water texture is better. It lasts me over a year too. I have been using it for years!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bamersy
fromMillbrae, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product and price!
 July 17, 2015
"Have been using these for a couple of years and am happy with the results. I plan to continue using these filters in the future."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mollyt
fromDenver, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it.
 April 27, 2015
"I've been wanting a shower filter for some time but didn't want to shell out a ton of money for it. This filter is very reasonable and works well. I can really tell the difference in my hair. There is significantly less build up in my hair leaving sooo soft. I haven't as much difference in my skin but maybe it will just take some time. Either way, I think this filter is totally worth it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mollyb
fromDetroit
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works great
 February 21, 2015
"I have a whole house filter in my home but I asked my BF to install this at his house. He noticed a difference right away in how his hair and skin felt. And now when I shower there, I am getting nice clean water without the harsh chemicals. And the price is right!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NYCRick
fromDenver, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good value
 October 22, 2014
"This shower filter seems to work well and is easy to install. I've owned other "premium" shower filters, but this one seems to work as well. Also, it is small enough that you can take it on the road to use as needed if you find yourself somewhere where the water is of poor quality or not filtered. If it lasts as long as predicted it will prove to be an excellent value. Note; Some municipalities (NYC) are using an odorless DuPont chlorine product. So, just because you don't smell chlorine doesn't mean the water isn't chlorinated. You can tell if the water is chlorinated because your fingers will pucker within 60 seconds of beginning a shower. You may also experience a "buring" sensation on your hands and body."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TinPortland
fromPortland OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Does the job
 October 19, 2014
"We've been using this filter for several years to remove chlorine from our showers (skin and hair feel great, and there are some studies that indicate it may help reduce plaque build-up in arteries). It does the job. You do need to re-grease the O rings every once and a while to keep it from leaking, and we've found the filters last more like 6 months at our house, rather than the 1 year on average that they suggest."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
39goose
fromOpelousas, La ( the big opel )
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Been using this for years to reduce chlorine.
 July 24, 2014
"Chlorine breaks out of steam in shower to inhale. You absorb more chlorine through inhalation than absorbed through the skin. Bought another one for the water spicket outside to water the vegetable garden."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlquandt
fromNashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing Filter
 May 13, 2014
"It truly does what it says it does, best value too saved way more buying from Vitacost! Best Filter and best hair and skin since filtering."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicesmilegal
fromRochester, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A MUST!
 February 4, 2014
"Wow, I thought I had the bases covered. I had purchased a whole-house unit for about $1,000 that leaves the minerals in the water, etc. etc. Very high-tech. Well, my water must be fairly bad because eventually that stopped working quite so well. I had used these shower filters for years, then thought I didn't need them anymore. I do. My hair started to feel dirty even with the whole-house filter, so I thought why not try this again to see if it helped. It did. Immediately. My hair is back to normal ... wow! I don't care if you have another filter in the house. It seems to me that it's still pretty imperative to have a shower filter. After all, our skin will absorb shower water each day and any impurities are taken right into our system. But I admit that for me, it was also a cosmetic issue. The one bit of advice I have is to put Vaseline in the threads. Or olive oil ... it makes getting it apart later much easier. It might leak, though, so take your time to install it properly. I once didn't pay attention and there was a fine, unnoticeable spray hitting the wall behind the shower head. I use a ton of the plumbers tape that comes with the filter ... but it's worth the trouble. I realized I cannot live without it, after all."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
yrag
fromBeaumont, Texas
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
poor quality
 December 2, 2013
"I've had this filter for about two years. The other day I noticed that it had developed a pin hole near the top of it and water was spewing out of it. I called New Wave and was told the product had a one year warranty and they would not replace it free. Doesn't make much sense because I buy a new filter about every six months. I will see if I can find one more durable. Cannot recommend this product."
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
raceve01
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
clean showers
 October 21, 2013
"I love this shower filter!! It feels great on your skin, I felt the difference with my first shower. And you can't beat that your shower stays much cleaner; I no longer get hard water stains on my bath tub. I definitely would recommend this product. Good price for a great product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leeda
fromfort washington, pa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
happy
 October 8, 2013
"easy to install, makes the water softer. Happy with it :)"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
More
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Does what it claims
 April 23, 2013
"Both bathroom showers own this filter. Love how my hair and skin feels."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geocacher
fromMissouri
Gender:Female
Removes chlorine
 March 30, 2013
"This product seems to work as advertised, for the chlorine chemical odor seems to disappear. Having an allergy to chlorine, I tend to get red spots all over my legs after a bath or shower, regardless of water temperature. Upon using this filter, I no longer experienced red spots after showering...until recently. Perhaps, my skin acts as a human chlorine meter (lol). After using the filter daily for over 6 months, it is clearly time to change. VERY happy with how long the filter seemed to work.
I would have given this product 5 stars if this product were biodegradable. It can be recycled, yes, but one must send it to a recycling center, possibly out-of-state, which costs more money, more gas/petroleum which causes more environmental toxicity, and so forth. While I'm not an "environmentalist", there are some things that just make sense, and caring for the future of our environment does just that."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
debaura
fromGreater Boston Area
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really helping my skin and hair
 March 21, 2013
"I had no problem installing this myself - no drips or leaks. I also already use a water-saving shower head so I expect a slightly lower flow anyway, and I did not notice a big change in water volume after I started using the filter. What I did notice was that my skin is *MUCH LESS* itchy and dry, and my hair feels a lot more healthy. I'm really glad I have this, as there is a ton of chlorine in the water supply around here."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next