Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter

Provides a Year of Natural Chlorine-Free Shower Water Under Normal Use. Improves Dry Skin and Hair. Reduces Flaking Scalp and Irritated Eyes and Lungs. Fits All Showers. No Plumbing Required. Shower Head Not Included. Shower with natural rainwater-like freshness. You can have softer skin and hair! Why? Because chlorine is a toxic element. Chlorine is used to chemically disinfect water. The problem is that chlorine also strips protein from your skin and hair leaving it dry and itchy.  . Filtering out chlorine helps protect your skin and hair from this stripping action and leaves it softer much like nature's natural rainwater.  . And while it's helping you it's also removing odors and dirt particles and helping control bacteria mold and mildew in your bathroom.
Overall rating:
4.281 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
27 out of 32(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Review 1 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
39goose
fromOpelousas, La ( the big opel )
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Been using this for years to reduce chlorine.
 July 24, 2014
"Chlorine breaks out of steam in shower to inhale. You absorb more chlorine through inhalation than absorbed through the skin. Bought another one for the water spicket outside to water the vegetable garden."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlquandt
fromNashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing Filter
 May 13, 2014
"It truly does what it says it does, best value too saved way more buying from Vitacost! Best Filter and best hair and skin since filtering."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicesmilegal
fromRochester, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A MUST!
 February 4, 2014
"Wow, I thought I had the bases covered. I had purchased a whole-house unit for about $1,000 that leaves the minerals in the water, etc. etc. Very high-tech. Well, my water must be fairly bad because eventually that stopped working quite so well. I had used these shower filters for years, then thought I didn't need them anymore. I do. My hair started to feel dirty even with the whole-house filter, so I thought why not try this again to see if it helped. It did. Immediately. My hair is back to normal ... wow! I don't care if you have another filter in the house. It seems to me that it's still pretty imperative to have a shower filter. After all, our skin will absorb shower water each day and any impurities are taken right into our system. But I admit that for me, it was also a cosmetic issue. The one bit of advice I have is to put Vaseline in the threads. Or olive oil ... it makes getting it apart later much easier. It might leak, though, so take your time to install it properly. I once didn't pay attention and there was a fine, unnoticeable spray hitting the wall behind the shower head. I use a ton of the plumbers tape that comes with the filter ... but it's worth the trouble. I realized I cannot live without it, after all."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
yrag
fromBeaumont, Texas
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
poor quality
 December 2, 2013
"I've had this filter for about two years. The other day I noticed that it had developed a pin hole near the top of it and water was spewing out of it. I called New Wave and was told the product had a one year warranty and they would not replace it free. Doesn't make much sense because I buy a new filter about every six months. I will see if I can find one more durable. Cannot recommend this product."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
raceve01
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
clean showers
 October 21, 2013
"I love this shower filter!! It feels great on your skin, I felt the difference with my first shower. And you can't beat that your shower stays much cleaner; I no longer get hard water stains on my bath tub. I definitely would recommend this product. Good price for a great product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leeda
fromfort washington, pa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
happy
 October 8, 2013
"easy to install, makes the water softer. Happy with it :)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
More
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Does what it claims
 April 23, 2013
"Both bathroom showers own this filter. Love how my hair and skin feels."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geocacher
fromMissouri
Gender:Female
Removes chlorine
 March 30, 2013
"This product seems to work as advertised, for the chlorine chemical odor seems to disappear. Having an allergy to chlorine, I tend to get red spots all over my legs after a bath or shower, regardless of water temperature. Upon using this filter, I no longer experienced red spots after showering...until recently. Perhaps, my skin acts as a human chlorine meter (lol). After using the filter daily for over 6 months, it is clearly time to change. VERY happy with how long the filter seemed to work.
I would have given this product 5 stars if this product were biodegradable. It can be recycled, yes, but one must send it to a recycling center, possibly out-of-state, which costs more money, more gas/petroleum which causes more environmental toxicity, and so forth. While I'm not an "environmentalist", there are some things that just make sense, and caring for the future of our environment does just that."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
debaura
fromGreater Boston Area
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really helping my skin and hair
 March 21, 2013
"I had no problem installing this myself - no drips or leaks. I also already use a water-saving shower head so I expect a slightly lower flow anyway, and I did not notice a big change in water volume after I started using the filter. What I did notice was that my skin is *MUCH LESS* itchy and dry, and my hair feels a lot more healthy. I'm really glad I have this, as there is a ton of chlorine in the water supply around here."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
beverlyann
fromAtlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 February 22, 2013
"I've only been using it for about 1 month so I do not know how long it will last. I notice there is no more chlorine smell. It is very unattractive in a nice shower but I can live with that."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prairiegal
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful!
 February 18, 2013
"lnstallment was very easy and the water is lovely, no more chlorine smell and no more dry skin.
Highly recommend it.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Laurel57
fromMinnesota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A problem
 February 17, 2013
"I have gone through several of these filters because after about 2 months, hardly any water comes out of the shower. It is not the shower head, it is the filter that reduces flow so drastically that I end up taking it off. I wish I knew how to fix this problem because I would like to have a filter!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katharr
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
No more dry skin!
 December 26, 2012
"I've been using this filter for one month. After two showers, I noticed my skin wasn't as dry as before. After about a week and a half, I noticed I had no dry skin whatsoever (and it's winter). I do use a non-drying soap as well, have been for a while (KMF-olive oil). I've noticed that water beads off my skin, before applying any soap, which makes me think I am still retaining my natural oils. My skin hasn't looked and felt this nice in quite some time. My dry scalp has also greatly improved, but is not yet 100% as I've only given up commercial shampoos in the last week. I believe that should help as well. I no longer smell chlorine when I take a shower, which is awesome. My husband installed in just a few minutes and said he had no trouble at all. I am very pleased with this product so far."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frddie
fromSioux Falls, SD
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Breathing improved in shower.
 December 8, 2012
"My breathing really improved while taking a shower - no chlorine fumes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hawaiian
fromHawaii and California
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
 November 29, 2012
"Aloha,
This is a great shower filter, at a great price. This is the third one I have bought in 3 years. Really makes a difference on my skin and hair."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BearCan
fromSanta Monica, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Works great.
 November 9, 2012
"Easy to install, allows natural flow of water and removes heavy chlorination."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bp102
fromNaples, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Save your skin
 June 4, 2012
"I have dry rough skin that is quickly reversing back to great smooth skin after just a few uses. I am amazed. I t was easy to install. No more itchy back. Love it!! So great to know the hurtful chemicals are not part of my daily shower. Thanks for the great price too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RunG
Great Product
 May 13, 2012
"We have used this product for several years now and are very pleased. It is an easy system to use and will rid your shower of that horrible chlorine smell. I feel better knowing I am not inhaling all those unhealthy chemicals in the steam of a shower. My skin and hair is better for using this too. Highly recommend this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
jactrad
fromny
 May 13, 2012
"it slows water flow ( i'm on 3rd floor) and is leaking from the sides, it may be effective in filtering chlorine but i have no way to test that"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter -- 1 Filter
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shashi
I can breathe again...
 February 3, 2012
"No more steamy chlorine in the shower! What a fresh way to start the day. Softer skin too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next