Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results. A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.
Overall rating:
4.646 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(647 reviews) 609
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 647 reviews
5 Stars
526
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
34
2 Stars
7
1 Star
20
598 out of 647(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mandu
Lathers!!
 November 18, 2015
"This product works and smells great and actually lathers."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Agall
fromSt Paul, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Dry hair
 November 18, 2015
"The first day I used this I had a terrible onset of a headache for the rest of the day. Not making a good impression so far, but I'll see what happens. I have been using it for maybe a month now and it dries my hair out pretty significantly. The next day my hair is as greasy as if I hadn't washed my hair in 4 days. Not cool. My hair is of pretty average consistency, if that helps anyone. I've been switching on and off with my shampoo bar because that gives me a nice balance of consistency but I'm on a mission to ditch this stuff and find something that works."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nkmq
Great product!
 November 17, 2015
"I switched from salon shampoos to this, and I have no plans to go back."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tbc1
Age:55-64
feels like it is good for your hair shampoo
 November 8, 2015
"I shampoo daily so I need a product that feels gentle and healthy for my hair...my hair hasn't felt dry like it was feeling with the other shampoo I was using..lathers good, you don't need a lot and it smells great"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthySister2015and16
fromDetroit, Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
this product has very nice smell
 November 7, 2015
"I loved the way my hair feels and smell"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Netty5000
Smells Fantastic!
 November 5, 2015
"This shampoo is rich and the coconut smell is fantastic! Leaves hair clean, soft, and shiny."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SaveMore
fromSpringfield
Great product at a great price
 November 3, 2015
"My daughter loves this brand and scent. It's wonderful to find it so much cheaper at Vitacost than at the local natural foods store."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StineB
fromLenoir, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Personal Favorite!
 October 29, 2015
"This is my new favorite shampoo! A little bit goes a very long way and I have very long, thick hair. I use less than a quarter sized amount! Will buy again and again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SarahJean12
Awesome!!!
 October 29, 2015
"This is honestly my favorite shampoo and i've forked out a lot of $$ for high end brands, including pureology. The smell is amazing, it works great, it's organic and it's free of bad stuff. End of story. Buy it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red14
Very Nice!
 October 27, 2015
"Just a small amount lathers really well. Great smell. Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SweetCarolineMSc
Gender:Female
Aromatic
 October 22, 2015
"I love this shampoo!
It has a delightfully fresh aroma and lathers up well.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
newriverhealth
fromRiverside, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Better than others, but...
 October 20, 2015
"It's a really good lathering shampoo, which makes it the best natural one out there. However, it will dry out your hair if it's not that dirty. And if you use the corresponding conditioner with it, it will weigh your hair down so it looks messy and unwashed. I don't know what's better though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rfreggie
fromSurgoinsville, TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Leaves hair soft and manageable!
 October 6, 2015
"I really like this shampoo and what it does for my hair. Smells great and leaves my hair feeling smooth, soft, and manageable. However, if I were to change one thing about this product, it would be the tube container. It takes just too much effort to get the shampoo out. Rather than squeeze it out through the flip top, I am now just taking the cap off. Better packaging is needed."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lafayette
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!
 September 30, 2015
"Love the smell of this shampoo and it leaves my hair feeling great too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lotsacurls
fromLexington, KY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
back to basics
 September 25, 2015
"I haven't found a shampoo like this in 50 years! I love how it makes my hair feel, like it did in my youth, when shampoos didn't have so many unhealthy added ingredients! Just clean...not dry...not coated, but truly clean, strong, & healthy! I have thick naturally curly hair: I have a cabinet full of hair products, & this is my go to shampoo!
It is very thick, & a small amount goes a long way, if you have trouble getting it out, just remove the top, & it comes out easily. The conditioner is great as well.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moustique
fromHouston, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Stuff!
 September 24, 2015
"A little hard to squeeze out of the tube, but fortunately not much is needed to make a lot of lather. Smells very nice and has an impressive ingredient list."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnnyApple
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Superior
 September 24, 2015
"This shampoo is marvelous. Literally a half a teaspoon will more than do the job on the first application. The scent is perfect too. I love this brand. Have fun with it. -Rob"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngelC
fromHong Kong
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
highly recommend!
 September 21, 2015
"i love this shampoo and conditioner! i have curly hair and it becomes very smooth after using them. its my third bottle."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
newmommy07
fromBig Bear, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
smells amazing
 September 18, 2015
"This shampoo smells amazing and does a great job cleaning without leaving my hair dry. It has a nice consistency and lathers well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gottaplaygames
fromMa.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Cleans well but can't get past the smell
 September 13, 2015
"I wanted to like this more than I did. As far a clean hair it works well however the scent is terrible in my opinion. It has a chemical type odor with a slight coconut essence. I may try another scent but will not purchase the coconut again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next