Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results. A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.
Overall rating:
4.646 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(647 reviews) 609
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 647 reviews
5 Stars
526
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
34
2 Stars
7
1 Star
20
598 out of 647(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TofuBetty
fromGrants Pass, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Coconut Shampoo is Awesome!
 February 2, 2016
"I love Desert Essence and have used their shampoo for years. This is the first time I used the coconut shampoo. It was great! Smells nice, gets my hair clean. Great sudsy lather. Love this product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph50
fromNC
Gender:Female
My only shampoo
 January 22, 2016
"My teenage daughter and I both use only this shampoo and adore it! We both have problems with frizzy hair due to the humidity, but this helps keep it under control. This is the only all natural shampoo we have used that we actually really like."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mjmo
fromIthaca, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best shampoo I've found
 January 15, 2016
"Great shampoo for my fine hair that gets gunked up with others. So much better than anything else I have ever tried. LOVE IT!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
homeless
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I love Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut
 January 15, 2016
"It only takes the amount of an English pea First to get out the dirt, rinse, then apply another pea size and the foam will appear.
It leaves my hair shiny but not oily.
Have used it for several years.
The price is right and I catch it on sale.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kimsky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This shampoo is wonderful for curing scaly scalp
 January 11, 2016
"My scaly scalp was always bugging me until I used this shampoo; it cleared up in less than a week! Now I don't use any other shampoos on my hair. The conditioner is good too; not heavy and rinses clean.
I often use the shampoo to wash the rest of me too.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KickAceGrandma
fromBurnet, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love the smell
 January 10, 2016
"The shampoo is very gentle and smells wonderful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sondrajean
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product, exept...
 January 6, 2016
"I love this shampoo except the opening is too small. I make it bigger with an awe and then it is fine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
barks
fromMorris Plains, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best shampoo ever
 January 4, 2016
"A little goes a long way, smells great, doesn't dry my hair or scalp, but cleans so well I can go an extra day between shampoos."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
mismis84
fromHong Kon
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Too harsh
 January 3, 2016
"As much as I love the smell and the texture, it is just impossible to brush your hair or even untangle it with your hands while using this shampoo.
You absolutely have to use the conditioner afterwrds and leave it for a while to be able and brush your hair.
Too bad!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsMiaBo
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 December 31, 2015
"After trying a sample of this shampoo I realized that even though my hair tends to be oily and needs to be washed every day, it was getting too dry on the ends. This shampoo gets my hair clean, but also moisturized. Smells amazing too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Niceweather
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
very good
 December 27, 2015
"At first, I thought it would be inconvenient because of squeezing. But, it is not. Only a little bit of squeezing is enough for cleaning my hair. After shampooing, I feel softness on my hair without strong smell. Very light and fresh feeling. My daughter who is 16 and has thin hair also likes this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AshleyK
fromWestford, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great vegan shampoo that lathers
 December 23, 2015
"It's hard to find a natural, vegan shampoo that actually makes my hair feel clean without making it feel loaded down with product. I have really thick, wavy, dry hair and this makes it soft and smooth year round. It smells amazing too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rachelica
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect
 December 16, 2015
"Great shampoo
a little amount is enough per wash
I love it!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ForeverObsessed
fromSwitzerland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Definitely a Keeper
 December 13, 2015
"Imagine unruly, frizzy and super dry hair... After using this and combining it with the conditioner my hair is actually... MANAGEABLE!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
mountaingirl64
fromEastCoast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Caused allergic contact dermatitis
 December 12, 2015
"I've used this shampoo for at least a year or two. Kept wondering why my skin seemed to be bumpy recently. Several weeks ago those bumps became a massive, itching rash with a layer of dry, scaling skin over it. I learned that this reaction was contact dermatitis and the drip-down rash pattern it created on both cheeks, neck and even shoulder and chest finally clued me in that my shampoo was the cause. I immediately stopped using it and a week later my skin looks dramatically different. According to my research, burdock root is a very common skin irritant that one may develop an allergic reaction to over time. Apparently so is rosemary. These are among the top ingredients listed in this product. So if you suddenly begin to notice trouble with skin on the face, neck and chest, look to this shampoo as a likely cause."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fionnbear
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Careful if fragrance sensitive
 December 8, 2015
"Loved the shampoo, but the fragrance gave my wife a reaction 2 rooms away. So not a good choice if fragrance is a concern."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goodysmom
fromCorona, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Has great lather and is GF.
 December 5, 2015
"I bought this shampoo because it is Gluten Free and contains coconut. I love that you don't have to use very much and a bottle lasts a long time. I use it everyday and it leaves my hair very soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NaturalHealth2013
fromIndiana,Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells Great!
 December 4, 2015
"I love the way this smells and it works great. I have bought this repeatedly over the years."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LesCas
fromLos Angeles
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The best
 December 1, 2015
"I have been using this shampoo for months now, I love how soft my hair feels afterwards. Definitely recommend for anyone with dry hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Shampoo Coconut -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
colormepink
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Meh...a bit drying
 November 25, 2015
"I feel like this literally strips the moisture from my hair--my hair feels like straws after using it. I NEED to use the conditioner right after washing to bring moisture back to my hair. I also feel that's unhealthy since I may be exposing my hair to the potential of getting split ends with the stripping of moisture and bringing it back, etc.
It does smell good; however, I would not re-purchase this product. Also, I may have received a defective bottle, but it's very difficult to squeeze the product out of the bottle. I actually have to twist the entire cap off and squeeze the product out that way in order to get any shampoo in my palm. It's a bit odd."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next