Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results.  . A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.  
Overall rating:
4.663 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(584 reviews) 548
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 584 reviews
5 Stars
477
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
5
1 Star
17
543 out of 584(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonzai6
fromCalgary, AB, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this!!
 May 1, 2015
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"This is the best natural shampoo I've found! I've tried many. I have long, thick colour treated (blonde) hair and this Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner work THE BEST for my hair. I rarely get split ends and it smells awesome! My hair is manageable and easy to brush through afterwards. Not a strong scent, just enough to smell beautiful!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EverChanging
fromKCMO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
SO GOOD in every way
 May 1, 2015
"My hair smells great, stays voluminous, looks shiner, doesn't get greasy nearly as quickly as with other products, and I know I'm not putting any garbage, i.e. sulfates/parabens, in my hair. GREAT PRODUCT. Wonderful price as well. AND a little goes a long way with this! You must get the conditioner to go with it! They work perfectly together."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zenseeker
fromIllinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 April 30, 2015
"I really like this shampoo. It moisturizes my incredibly dry hair, and it smells fantastic. You don't need to use much, so it lasts a long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hmschlmomof6
fromRome, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great smell, good ingredients
 April 30, 2015
"I was using kiss my face shampoo and conditioner but was noticing their ingredients getting worse. I like the ingredients in this better and love the smell. Seems to work great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sharpie
fromNevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good product
 April 30, 2015
"Good product. But I really hate the package! Hard to get out of the "tube". I LOVE all/most of Desert Essence products. But won't buy this again because of the packaging."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
IrinaI
fromChisinau, Moldova
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Usual shampoo!
 April 19, 2015
"Usual shampoo, cleans well as other Dessert Essence products. Don't wait smth. magical from this shampoo. I used many shampoos of this brand and this one is the most regular."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mschaummann
fromChicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Ehh..
 April 18, 2015
"I read a lot of great reviews about this shampoo & I love Desert Essence. It didn't work for my hair. However, I ran out of body wash so I used this & ended up really liking it as body wash."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
doggieluv
fromNC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 April 14, 2015
"non sulfate..I have naturally curly hair so as my hair starts drying some products make my hair frizz ..not this product. My daughter loves it too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
best shampoo i have ever tried!
 April 12, 2015
"My title explains it! May sound gross but: i have bad dandruff and have tried so many different shampoos to help it. I wanted to try less toxic, no parabans, etc. on a whim to see. NO dandruff! Smells so delicious! Will never use another shampoo!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mediT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love at first use
 April 7, 2015
"Excellent product. I purchased it based on the good ratings and don't regret it. This has been the best shampoo I have used for a while. Recently my hair has become porous and lifeless. After just one use it gave me crunch, substance and bounce. I went ahead and purchased the conditioner as well. Smells heavenly if you like coconut.It is also very economical. I only use two pea-size drops and get enough lather to wash completely.
Highly recommend it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Boston2509
fromMassachusetts
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This shampoo is NOT what it seems!
 April 5, 2015
"Don't be fooled into thinking this is a healthy, natural shampoo. It contains "sodium coco-sulfate" which is very similar chemically to sodium lauryl sulfate and just as stripping to the hair and skin. The keyword here is SULFATE. I noticed when I used this shampoo for a few weeks in a row, my hair felt like straw! Also, the fragrance at the end of the ingredient list means it can be any number of CHEMICAL FRAGRANCES WHICH ARE NOT DISCLOSED! The price of this product should also tell you that there are ONLY CHEAP INGREDIENTS used."
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay142
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it!
 April 2, 2015
"Great Shampoo! Smells so good!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlr225
Wonderful non-chemical shampoo
 March 29, 2015
"I love this shampoo. It is chemical free with healthy ingredients for your hair. It smells great, lathers better than any shampoo I have ever used, including the ones with chemicals. Leaves my hair shiny and clean. My grandchildren now use it as well. Keep it up Desert Essence! Great job on your products."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CBinVT
fromVermont
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this product!
 March 22, 2015
"Our family favorite!! Love love love it!! Works great for ALL hair types!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moi5
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love It!
 March 22, 2015
"Really enjoy this product.
A little goes a long way and my hair is lighter and fuller since I began using it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaRosebud
Smells great!
 March 20, 2015
"I was a little worried of trying organic shampoo because i wasn't quite sure if it would smell good, if the scent would be strong etc. and may i just say this shampoo is AWESOME! It smells great and works great in my hair (which is thick and curly)! I love this shampoo and i may be ordering some more of it soon!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lakemaiden
fromWA State
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
best natural shampoo I've tried
 March 17, 2015
"I have thinner longer hair, so don't want shampoo to leave it too greasy or too frizzy. I want a natural product, but some natural products just are horrible in the shower by not lathering at all and leaving hair flat. This shampoo lathers, not a lot but just enough, took a little convincing to come out of the bottle but once it did, creamy and only needed a little bit to work. Smells wonderful! Leaves my hair clean but not so clean that it has that dried out stripped feeling. My favorite shampoo!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hahnny
frommontreal
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Good
 March 17, 2015
"At first the shampoo was liquid. I was ready to change brand after my last bottle because I did buy it in bulk and it didn't felt good. However, this one is creamy. Awesome. the best product I ever used and I dont want to change brand. The question is, if i reorder, will i get the liquid or the creamy one?? Is anyone aware of a new formula?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kacki
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Long Lasting Lovely Smell
 March 16, 2015
"I can use this shampoo with its matching conditioner for about a week before I start getting a sticky buildup on my hair. This is much longer than most products made for dry hair last for me. Smells so wonderful I will buy again if I see a super sale again, and I will alternate it with a formula that doesn't cause buildup."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lynnard
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Coconut Fragrance
 March 14, 2015
"I love this shampoo - a little goes a long way, and the coconut fragrance inspires the mind. I would highly recommend this product the value is definately there."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next