Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

• Provides intense moisture to dry or over-processed hair. • Smoothes frizzies and restores hair’s natural luster. • Leaves hair feeling soft and healthy. - See more at: https://www.desertessence.com/store/coconut-shampoo#sthash.MqAandOq.dpuf. • Provides intense moisture to dry or over-processed hair. • Smoothes frizzies and restores hair’s natural luster. • Leaves hair feeling soft and healthy. - See more at: https://www.desertessence.com/store/coconut-shampoo#sthash.MqAandOq.dpuf. • Provides intense moisture to dry or over-processed hair. • Smoothes frizzies and restores hair’s natural luster. • Leaves hair feeling soft and healthy. - See more at: https://www.desertessence.com/store/coconut-shampoo#sthash.MqAandOq.dpuf. • Provides intense moisture to dry or over-processed hair. • Smoothes frizzies and restores hair’s natural luster. • Leaves hair feeling soft and healthy. - See more at: https://www.desertessence.com/store/coconut-shampoo#sthash.MqAandOq.dpuf• Provides intense moisture to dry or over-processed hair. • Smoothes frizzies and restores hair’s natural luster. • Leaves hair feeling soft and healthy. Coconut Oil Cleansers gently cleanse dry or damaged hair. Organic Jojoba oil moisturizes hair and scalp so hair looks and feels healthier. Organic Olive Oil leaves hair soft and silky without weighing it down.
Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(660 reviews) 622
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 660 reviews
5 Stars
536
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
35
2 Stars
7
1 Star
20
610 out of 660(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMorris Plains, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best shampoo ever
 January 4, 2016
" A little goes a long way, smells great, doesn't dry my hair or scalp, but cleans so well I can go an extra day between shampoos. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromHong Kon
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Too harsh
 January 3, 2016
" As much as I love the smell and the texture, it is just impossible to brush your hair or even untangle it with your hands while using this shampoo.
You absolutely have to use the conditioner afterwrds and leave it for a while to be able and brush your hair.
Too bad!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 December 31, 2015
" After trying a sample of this shampoo I realized that even though my hair tends to be oily and needs to be washed every day, it was getting too dry on the ends. This shampoo gets my hair clean, but also moisturized. Smells amazing too! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
very good
 December 27, 2015
" At first, I thought it would be inconvenient because of squeezing. But, it is not. Only a little bit of squeezing is enough for cleaning my hair. After shampooing, I feel softness on my hair without strong smell. Very light and fresh feeling. My daughter who is 16 and has thin hair also likes this product. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWestford, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great vegan shampoo that lathers
 December 23, 2015
" It's hard to find a natural, vegan shampoo that actually makes my hair feel clean without making it feel loaded down with product. I have really thick, wavy, dry hair and this makes it soft and smooth year round. It smells amazing too! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect
 December 16, 2015
" Great shampoo
a little amount is enough per wash
I love it!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSwitzerland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Definitely a Keeper
 December 13, 2015
" Imagine unruly, frizzy and super dry hair... After using this and combining it with the conditioner my hair is actually... MANAGEABLE! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromEastCoast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Caused allergic contact dermatitis
 December 12, 2015
" I've used this shampoo for at least a year or two. Kept wondering why my skin seemed to be bumpy recently. Several weeks ago those bumps became a massive, itching rash with a layer of dry, scaling skin over it. I learned that this reaction was contact dermatitis and the drip-down rash pattern it created on both cheeks, neck and even shoulder and chest finally clued me in that my shampoo was the cause. I immediately stopped using it and a week later my skin looks dramatically different. According to my research, burdock root is a very common skin irritant that one may develop an allergic reaction to over time. Apparently so is rosemary. These are among the top ingredients listed in this product. So if you suddenly begin to notice trouble with skin on the face, neck and chest, look to this shampoo as a likely cause. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Careful if fragrance sensitive
 December 8, 2015
" Loved the shampoo, but the fragrance gave my wife a reaction 2 rooms away. So not a good choice if fragrance is a concern. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCorona, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Has great lather and is GF.
 December 5, 2015
" I bought this shampoo because it is Gluten Free and contains coconut. I love that you don't have to use very much and a bottle lasts a long time. I use it everyday and it leaves my hair very soft. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIndiana,Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells Great!
 December 4, 2015
" I love the way this smells and it works great. I have bought this repeatedly over the years. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLos Angeles
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The best
 December 1, 2015
" I have been using this shampoo for months now, I love how soft my hair feels afterwards. Definitely recommend for anyone with dry hair. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Meh...a bit drying
 November 25, 2015
" I feel like this literally strips the moisture from my hair--my hair feels like straws after using it. I NEED to use the conditioner right after washing to bring moisture back to my hair. I also feel that's unhealthy since I may be exposing my hair to the potential of getting split ends with the stripping of moisture and bringing it back, etc.
It does smell good; however, I would not re-purchase this product. Also, I may have received a defective bottle, but it's very difficult to squeeze the product out of the bottle. I actually have to twist the entire cap off and squeeze the product out that way in order to get any shampoo in my palm. It's a bit odd. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lathers!!
 November 18, 2015
" This product works and smells great and actually lathers. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromSt Paul, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Dry hair
 November 18, 2015
" The first day I used this I had a terrible onset of a headache for the rest of the day. Not making a good impression so far, but I'll see what happens. I have been using it for maybe a month now and it dries my hair out pretty significantly. The next day my hair is as greasy as if I hadn't washed my hair in 4 days. Not cool. My hair is of pretty average consistency, if that helps anyone. I've been switching on and off with my shampoo bar because that gives me a nice balance of consistency but I'm on a mission to ditch this stuff and find something that works. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!
 November 17, 2015
" I switched from salon shampoos to this, and I have no plans to go back. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
feels like it is good for your hair shampoo
 November 8, 2015
" I shampoo daily so I need a product that feels gentle and healthy for my hair...my hair hasn't felt dry like it was feeling with the other shampoo I was using..lathers good, you don't need a lot and it smells great "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDetroit, Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
this product has very nice smell
 November 7, 2015
" I loved the way my hair feels and smell "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smells Fantastic!
 November 5, 2015
" This shampoo is rich and the coconut smell is fantastic! Leaves hair clean, soft, and shiny. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSpringfield
Great product at a great price
 November 3, 2015
" My daughter loves this brand and scent. It's wonderful to find it so much cheaper at Vitacost than at the local natural foods store. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next