Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results.  . A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.  
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(568 reviews) 534
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 568 reviews
5 Stars
465
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
5
1 Star
15
530 out of 568(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moi5
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love It!
 March 22, 2015
"Really enjoy this product.
A little goes a long way and my hair is lighter and fuller since I began using it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaRosebud
Smells great!
 March 20, 2015
"I was a little worried of trying organic shampoo because i wasn't quite sure if it would smell good, if the scent would be strong etc. and may i just say this shampoo is AWESOME! It smells great and works great in my hair (which is thick and curly)! I love this shampoo and i may be ordering some more of it soon!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lakemaiden
fromWA State
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
best natural shampoo I've tried
 March 17, 2015
"I have thinner longer hair, so don't want shampoo to leave it too greasy or too frizzy. I want a natural product, but some natural products just are horrible in the shower by not lathering at all and leaving hair flat. This shampoo lathers, not a lot but just enough, took a little convincing to come out of the bottle but once it did, creamy and only needed a little bit to work. Smells wonderful! Leaves my hair clean but not so clean that it has that dried out stripped feeling. My favorite shampoo!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hahnny
frommontreal
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Good
 March 17, 2015
"At first the shampoo was liquid. I was ready to change brand after my last bottle because I did buy it in bulk and it didn't felt good. However, this one is creamy. Awesome. the best product I ever used and I dont want to change brand. The question is, if i reorder, will i get the liquid or the creamy one?? Is anyone aware of a new formula?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kacki
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Long Lasting Lovely Smell
 March 16, 2015
"I can use this shampoo with its matching conditioner for about a week before I start getting a sticky buildup on my hair. This is much longer than most products made for dry hair last for me. Smells so wonderful I will buy again if I see a super sale again, and I will alternate it with a formula that doesn't cause buildup."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lynnard
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Coconut Fragrance
 March 14, 2015
"I love this shampoo - a little goes a long way, and the coconut fragrance inspires the mind. I would highly recommend this product the value is definately there."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godlife247
fromNashville, Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I couldn't believe my hair
 March 6, 2015
"I have been using this shampoo for a few months now. When I started to use it I couldn't believe how much healthier my hair felt. I love this stuff! (and smells great)"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Vyvy
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Dries out hair - formula has changed
 March 6, 2015
"I used to love this shampoo and conditioner, and have been using this since 3 years ago. The smell is wonderful and lingers in your hair. My hair was soft and bouncy, less frizzy. When I ran out, I ordered a few more sets, expecting the same wonderful results. However, I find that it drys my hair out extremely, leaving me with dry, brittle hair. Not good. Under $5 for good shampoo seemed to be too good to be true. That's the case here. Even with "no sulfates", it suds up too well - and there is something about the ingredient list that seems to be untrue. Will not purchase ever again."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kld24
fromSoutheastern Massachusetts
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great!
 March 6, 2015
"We love this shampoo! Both my daughter and myself use it for dry hair and it works great. Cleans well without leaving your hair terribly dry and it smells soooo nice! We've been using it for over a year now and are completely satisfied. Pair it up with the coconut conditioner and have a real coconutty experience!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chickenlittle13
fromNew England
Great for dry hair.
 March 5, 2015
"I bought the shampoo and conditioner, and both are helping my dry hair. Also the coconut scent is wonderful...not over-powering."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
greenpanda
Good value
 March 4, 2015
"Works well for the price. Gets the job done. I'm not a huge fan of coconut scents, but this one isn't too bothersome."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sos1
fromAlbany
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo with awesome fragrance
 March 2, 2015
"All the scents at Desert Essence are delicious! Gentle on hair"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cookingmama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for dry hair and hard water.
 March 1, 2015
"My favorite shampoo! Makes my older hair soft with our hard water."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happyoldlady
fromUpstate NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Shampoo works well!
 March 1, 2015
"When I use the shampoo and conditioner people think I have just colored my hair! They make your hair shine!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardwood
fromMiddletown, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great shampoo
 February 28, 2015
"I have bought several tubes which last for a long time. Plenty of soap lather and clean, manageable hair result without the use of conditioners. The product contains mostly natural ingredients except for Benzyl compounds and a fragrance. However, no parabens present."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KiKisMommy
fromFWB
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells Good
 February 18, 2015
"This products smells great and a little does go a long way. The opening on the bottle doesn't let a lot come out at once, so it is annoying and it builds up in the lid. The smell is great, but doesn't last outside of the shower. I wanted something that you could still smell the next day. It does leave your hair soft though, but I'm not sure if it is repairing my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthyfit
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
a great product at a great price
 February 8, 2015
"It is a good shampoo to use when the hair feels dry. It cleans and conditions as well, so need to use conditioner after shampooing. Also is a mild shampoo and protects the color on colored hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CurlyLena
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Turns my hair into silk
 February 7, 2015
"I came across this shampoo at Whole Foods store, but then found it for half their price on Vitacost--I tried it and it is amazing--I've immediately ordered 10 more. I have very tight curls and most shampoos dry out my hair so I am very picky about my hair care products. My hair detangles instatnly with this shampoo. It leathers well and smells wonderfully tropical.
I would recommend to anyone especially with thick, wavy/curly hair.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BabyMochi
fromSan Mateo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best shampoo!
 February 5, 2015
"I use this shampoo and Kiss My Face conditioner. The best combination.
My hair is shiny and soft. It just feels light. I got some for my sister in Japan, so she can try it!
I have long hair, but it takes very little, maybe 3/4" out of the tube and rather up very nicely."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KaleidoscopeEyes
fromPainesville OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Lovely smell and lathers great
 January 28, 2015
"I have been trying different Natural shampoos and like this one the best so far, have reordered 3 times. Leaves hair clean, lathers nicely and matching conditioner leaves my hair soft."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next