Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(411 reviews) 388
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 411 reviews
5 Stars
336
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
386 out of 411(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pandorra
fromSouthern California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Natural and conditioning.
 February 22, 2014
"Love this stuff. You can't beat the price and the ingredient list is amazing. All kinds of natural herbs and oils that are great for your hair. One of the most natural shampoos I can find for a great price. It has a wonderful coconut smell and leaves my frizzy, curly/wavy hair soft and conditioned. I use the conditioner also."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
silvergirl16
fromSC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 February 21, 2014
"I have been using this shampoo for over a year now and love it. I have used some other shampoos in between this one and for me they do not compare. I always go back to the Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo (and conditioner). I usually have oily hair especially in the summer, but my hair actually seems less oily when I use this. It makes it soft and less frizzy."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArkansasHillbilly
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Lots of shampoo packed into a small container
 February 17, 2014
"I hesitated to buy this shampoo, because of the size. However, you only need 50-75% of your usual amount of shampoo from this product. It cleaned thoroughly, and the fragrance was not overpowering. I only purchased it because of the brand. I'm glad I did."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeRP
Gender:Female
Good Product
 January 31, 2014
"Since i heat style my hair, they are generally dry and prone to split ends. I have tried several shampoos available in the stores and most of them left my hair dry, rough and sulfates in them do more damage to the hair, so i wanted to switch over to organic shampoo, less chemicals, less damage to the hair.
I come across this product on Google while researching for organic hair care products.This shampoo is amazing, it makes my hair soft plus its organic and does not contain harmful chemicals.Absolutely love the coconut fragrance. I definitely recommend it to anyone who wants soft, smooth and healthy hair.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AnnG21
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
It smells so good!
 January 29, 2014
"This shampoo smells heavenly. I am so in love with the scent of my hair after a shower. I am sad to report that it is not the best shampoo for those with curly hair, at least in my opinion. Maybe I need to use it a bit longer to be able to write a more thorough review. I am definitely buying this product again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kudesniza
fromArizona
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice smell and cleans hair well.
 January 27, 2014
"This is a very nice shampoo with pleasant smell. Definitely, for dry hair only. I think if one has normal to oily hair, it might not wash it thoroughly enough."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
donbon
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 January 26, 2014
"this is a wonderful mosturizing shampoo. Really lathers, great for natural curly hair."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DeeBuns
fromAus
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 January 26, 2014
"I can't understand why most reviews are favourable. I find that this is really harsh and drying on my hair. It over lathers, and is sudsy. I have curly, thick dry hair and I found it was dryer and frizzier after use. My brother tried it too and said similar. I instead use it to rinse out the coconut oil from my jar. On the plus side, it gives a deep clean and smells nice."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LfromBrooklyn
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very nice, not too harsh shampoo
 January 22, 2014
"I'm not a big shampoo fan since I have very dry hair and had been using a cleansing conditioner, however, when that became too expensive, I was really happy to have found this coconut shampoo from Desert Essence. It works great on my hair and I can see that the health of my hair is improving. The conditioner that goes along with this is super duper awesome. I get 2 conditioner bottles per one of the shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KINDNESSTOALL
fromMinneapolis, Minnesota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Value
 January 21, 2014
"I purchased this shampoo for gifts. I have not used it myself. I have not heard what my friends thought of it, yet. Will write another review after they report back on how they liked the shampoo."
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Topaz20
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Impressed!
 January 21, 2014
"I tried your Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo as I have had real problems with the condition of my hair recently. Have switched shampoos and tried different conditioners to no avail. When I used your product for the first time, there was a difference in the texture of my hair. It felt smooth and silky (still wet). It was a tangible difference from other products I have used. I have continued using this product for about a month now, and my hair is definitely improving. In my next order, will try the conditioner as well. Impressed with this product!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KnightBird
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo!
 January 20, 2014
"I've recently tried both the shampoo and conditioner of this product and I do love them so! . I like the subtle coconut scent and the way my hair feels after using this product. The shampoo has lots of lather with only using a small amount. Great product and I surely will buy again and again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frewon
fromHillsboro Ks
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Really cleans hair and smells great
 January 15, 2014
"This product really improved my hair and cleaned my scalp and took away all the itching. I highly recommend it and the price is right."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sandylou
fromUtah
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
smells wonderful
 January 14, 2014
"Like the smell leaves my hair soft"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reddog2
fromIndiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great shampoo-great scent!
 January 13, 2014
"nice shampoo-good shine, great scent, no tangles."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Di826
fromMiami, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells yummy
 January 7, 2014
"I love this shampoo! It lathers well, smells great and leaves my hair sqweeky clean without stripping my hair. Cruelty-free, natural and vegan. What more can you ask for?"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mejohan
fromSaint Paul, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Okay
 January 6, 2014
"Pros: Everything you want a shampoo to be, natural, healthful ingredients, washes clean, leaves your hair the way you want it.
Cons: Just a personal opinion, I didn't like the scent. It smelled like pina colada.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrKimH
fromChristiana, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 January 1, 2014
"This is a really great product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OnWaldenTablet
fromIndiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Really like the Desert Essence shampoos
 December 30, 2013
"We use 4 brands of personal care products - Desert Essence, Aubrey Organics, Acure Organics, and Dr. Bronner's. We like to have a variety of lotion scents and different types of shampoos and conditioners, as it is good for the scalp and body."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mia051785
Love it!
 December 29, 2013
"Would highly recommend this product with the conditioner!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next