Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(454 reviews) 429
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 454 reviews
5 Stars
371
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
422 out of 454(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeavertonGal
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Lather
 May 16, 2014
"You don't have to use much of this shampoo. It smells great and lathers up really well. I use the conditioner too. Buy 4 tubes of shampoo to 1 tube of conditioner for short hair."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freyja
fromLas Vegas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Gives body, cleanliness, and a great fragrance.
 May 13, 2014
"LOVE IT. BUY IT NOW.
I've been using this product for years. When you open the bottle, the immediate delightful fragrance hits your nose hairs and sweeps you off to a cocononutty island. I have hair down to my midback, and it barely takes but a drop to lather my whole head. The lather with this stuff is amazing as well btw. No sulfates, just pure bubbly enjoyment. It rinses well and leaves my hair feeling amazing.
I always buy it off vitacost, cause it's so cheap!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sassylyon
fromManhattan, KS
Wow
 May 13, 2014
"Love this shampoo, hair feels and looks better"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
curlygurly
Age:35-44
Cleans well, smells fantastic, moisturizing
 May 11, 2014
"Our family has used this shampoo, and the conditioner as well, for over a year now. We love the smell and how well it cleans. I love that it doesn't contain nasty chemicals and is safe for my family."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HilMc
fromOregon
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Soft and tropical
 May 7, 2014
"I love that I don't need a lot of this in my hand to make my long, mid-back length hair suds up and feel clean. It smells delicious as well!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coffeegirl24
fromFlorida
Bummer
 May 6, 2014
"Smells amazing, but that is am out it! I do not find this moisturizing at all, and I have oily hair. :("
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoconutLuver
fromSt Petersburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Gentle but effective
 May 6, 2014
"This is a great shampoo.. just enough suds gets hair clean and leaves it soft! My hair is thick dry and curly and this does the trick and the price is right for sure.. give it a try!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bronwynne27
Reformulated
 May 5, 2014
"A little over a year ago (as far as I can tell) my favorite shampoo in the world was reformulated for reasons unknown to me. Why Desert Essence would want to change the most amazing shampoo into what it is now is unthinkable. It was my number one shampoo that made me stop using any other shampoo. Together with its matching conditioner it was unbeatable for body, shine, and gentle but thorough cleaning. My wavy hair curled even more and had tons of body. One day I went out and bought a new bottle only to find that my hair was dull, lifeless and felt like it had a coating after use. I thought that I had gotten a bad batch so I went out and purchased two or three more from different places but with the same result. I am so disappointed!!! I wrote and called Desert Essence to ask them why they had reformulated it but so far they haven't responded. I have since been trying shampoo after shampoo with no luck in finding anything that works near as good. I am still searching in fact. I can only hope that others will contact Desert Essence and tell them they want the old formula back like I did. Maybe they will listen and the best shampoo will be back on the market again!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hope4all
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
gentle shampo
 April 30, 2014
"we only use Desert Essence since it's clean and non-toxic. We've tried other brands but like this one the best. It takes just a small amount of shampoo so you really get more than your money's worth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mickee
fromMid Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Smells good but kind of harsh
 April 29, 2014
"This product smells wonderful. It suds up really well, but it seems too harsh on my hair. It seems to leave my hair dry and lifeless. If you have oily hair, then this might be the shampoo for you. If you have dry hair, I would look elsewhere."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kate410
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
good!
 April 28, 2014
"my mom loves it! she has dry hair"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thereview
 April 25, 2014
"Good price good smell good ingredients I think. Very moisturizing which I like."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
lele5240
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Ok
 April 25, 2014
"Smells good. Ok, kind of stripy at least for my hair it was."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wheatio
fromWest Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful product
 April 24, 2014
"Smell great. Makes my hair soft and manageable"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outdoorgal14
fromChattanooga, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Gentle with frizzy hair
 April 23, 2014
"I love coconut oil/milk products for my hair! This product is great for my frizzy hair which can make them soft, curl wavy. Smell great, and chemicals free! My hair has start to look healthy, and gorgeous!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Adds a lot of moisture!
 April 23, 2014
"Really awesome shampoo. Really moisturizes the hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChicB
fromKingston, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells beautiful!
 April 22, 2014
"I love the scent of this shampoo and I really love how there is nothing unnecessary added to it. The only thing is how small the opening is to squeeze it out of."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MsandKa
fromLas Vega NV
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great!
 April 21, 2014
"This product is wonderful! Smells incredible and lathers up like crazy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tuck000
fromGlace Bay, NS
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great Results
 April 21, 2014
"Bought this for my better half. Her hair is rejuvenated and the smell relaxes her and lifts her moods. Great Value"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rafaela
fromWashington DC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not as moisturizing as I expected
 April 20, 2014
"Leaves my curly dry hair too squeaky clean, removing more of its natural oils than I expected and seemingly not replenishing them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next