Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.673 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(483 reviews) 458
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 483 reviews
5 Stars
396
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
5
1 Star
13
450 out of 483(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Koco
fromPHL, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Coconut Heaven
 August 22, 2014
"Love, love, love this shampoo!!! It smells incredible and leaves my fine curly hair feeling light & soft not weighed down. Smells Yummy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
purespirit
fromWhite Mountains, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Favorite Shampoo
 August 19, 2014
"My whole family uses this earth and body-friendly shampoo. Lathers well even without SLS. A little dab lathers my long hair very well and the coconut fragrance is very natural and not overwhelming. Leaves hair clean and soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WifeMomandHairdresser
fromWisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wonderful Shampoo
 August 14, 2014
"What more can I say about this shampoo but fantastic!
As a hairdresser of 15 years, I've been on a mission to find more natural hair care and have tried many natural brands but this is may favorite by far. It lathers up wonderful & cleans my hair very good without any buildup & the smell is amazing!!
I also use the Desert Essence coconut conditioner, Shine and Refine coconut Hair Lotion, Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector & Glonaturals Coconut Collection - Hair Serum from Vitacost.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RileyL
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 August 11, 2014
"This shampoo is the best. It does everything my more expensive shampoo did but better; shine, volume, softness. I have had more compliments on my hair since I switched to this shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Idado
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great scent. Gentle.
 August 1, 2014
"Great for my dry hair. A little goes a long way. Will definitely order again. And the smell is intoxicating!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sesodak
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 July 31, 2014
"This shampoo smells great and does a fabulous job cleaning our hair. My kids get frustrated with all the more natural/safer soaps I have had them try, but they love this one...and other Desert Essence sents."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JS20
fromUpton, Ma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
WOW!
 July 31, 2014
"Great smell and leaves my hair soft and smelling great.
I use the coconut conditioner as well.
My daughter loves both too!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
curlydee
fromDiamond Springs Ca.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 July 30, 2014
"cleans well, smell yummy"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rxstrmom
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Awesome Shampoo
 July 25, 2014
"I have been using WEN for years and decided I just needed a change. I ordered the Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner a few months ago and loved it. This is a reorder for 2 o each...I don't want to run out...and I love the price. My hair is long and color treated."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elliemae01
fromArkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome shampoo & conditioner
 July 21, 2014
"This is the first time that I have used this brand before. I usually just use whatever is on sale (i.e., herbal essence, garnier, etc.). After using cheaper shampoo/conditioner and switching to this I can tell a huge difference. Not only does my hair look better, it seems to style better when I use this. And as a bonus it smells really good! I don't think that I will be able to go back to my bargain brands that I pick up at Walmart ever again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goingnatural
fromOrange County, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Try it, you will like it
 July 16, 2014
"Best shampoo on the market. This is the only shampoo that does not make my son's scalp itch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
safaral
fromLincoln, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Too drying for color treated hair
 July 15, 2014
"I love the smell of this product, but on color treated hair it's too drying. Maybe on normal hair it would be ok."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lepetitponey
fromParis, FR
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Favorite natural shampoo
 July 12, 2014
"This product has a great composition without silicons .
My hair looks soft and shiny after applying shampoo and conditionner.
I recommend this product highly ! Vitacost is the only website where you can find the Desert Essence brand at a fair price !
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IowaNatural
fromDes Moines, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Super soft, super shiny
 July 10, 2014
"I found and started using this product for the first time two weeks ago - what a difference two weeks has made in my hair! My hair is blow dried and flat ironed everyday (sometimes twice a day) and it was a mess before this shampoo and conditioner. The scent is superb and lingers throughout the day, though not at all overpowering. The shampoo really cleanses without stripping hair. My hair is noticeably shinier and bouncier. Worth a try if you're on the fence!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ccm22
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
A little goes a long way
 July 9, 2014
"I really like this shampoo, as a little bit goes a long way! I only have to use about a quarter sized amount on my long, semi-thick hair, and I love that, especially considering the 8-oz size. It makes the bottle last longer. Plus, I love the way my hair feels when I use it! Great product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jdkt
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I feel like I'm in the tropics.
 July 6, 2014
"I feel like I'm in the tropics plus it leaves my hair so soft. Mmmm...good!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NoGMOgirl
Sudsy
 July 4, 2014
"Nice thick and sudsy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SWDesertGal
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Leaves hair fragrant and clean but not dry.
 June 28, 2014
"Such a lovely shampoo! I've been using Desert Essence jojoba oil daily moisturizer ever since I moved out to the desert and really love their product, so I bought their Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner as a pair. The shampoo smells so good and you only need a little bit to get a good fluffy lather. Afterwards my hair feels clean and smells so good, but not overpowering. Many shampoos leave my hair feeling clean, but also light and fluffy and dried out, stripped of natural oils. This shampoo does not do that.
I will definitely be buying Desert Essence shampoo again.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sls1011
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I love this stuff!
 June 22, 2014
"This stuff keeps my hair soft, and it smells great! The bottle lasts a long time too, because a little goes a long way-- it lathers up very easily."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SummerBliss13
fromFontana, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect for Curly Hair
 June 2, 2014
"I have medium/thick curly hair that's always thirsty. This shampoo is free of parabens, sodium lauryl/laureth sulfates, phthalates, artificial colors, silicones, EDTA, glycol, petroleum-based ingredients, wheat, gluten, animal testing, and animal ingredients. It makes my hair very soft and detangles it. And the smell is great too. This is my 4th or 5th tube. Hubby loves it too."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next