Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(530 reviews) 500
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 530 reviews
5 Stars
435
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
5
1 Star
13
494 out of 530(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
swallowtail
fromCottekill, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
surprisingly excellent
 January 5, 2015
"Concentrated... a little goes a long way, hence the cap that allows very little to be squeezed out at a time. Seems to clean hair as well as any other natural shampoo while keeping hair smooth and manageable. Not harsh."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lookie
fromAsheville,NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 January 5, 2015
"I love this brand and the coconut shampoo is my favorite. Great volume and body and subtle yummy smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sole208
fromSaitama Japan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It Was not What i expected
 January 3, 2015
"My friend and some girl from YouTube recommend this product, and i bought it, but i expected more from it... smells good but once i washed my hair and I dry it, the smell was gone, and the consistence is like liquid not creamy... To try it is ok, but I will not buy it again..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VitacostCustomer21
Wonderful Shampoo
 December 30, 2014
"I really do love this shampoo. It lathers well and my hair feels really clean."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheeky7
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderfully awesome shampoo
 December 7, 2014
"We keep coming back to purchase this delicious coconut shampoo. Of all Desert Essence shampoo choices, this leaves the hair with the most bounce. I have naturally curly hair that I straighten with a flat iron and coconut doesn't seem weigh my hair down as does the grape does.(Grape smells a m a z i n g though) Highly recommend, you'll love it;)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngelaRose711
fromKansas City, KS
shiny hair
 December 1, 2014
"This is by far my favorite shampoo - I have thick and dry hair but this product really brings out my shine :)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tazchick50
fromRomeoville, illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I found my dream shampoo!
 November 18, 2014
"I've been looking for over a year for a shampoo that promised to moisturize my and would actually deliver. Being 40+ and living in a city with hard water, most times my hair would really frizz up if I blow-dried or air dried my hair. Then a coworker recommended this website and this shampoo specifically. It smells great and a little really does go a long way! I've been using it for a month (along with the conditioner) and am getting more compliments on my hair. Great product at a great price. And my husband loves the coconut scent. Definitely my shampoo for life!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NaturalWomen
fromSan Antonio, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome Shampoo
 November 15, 2014
"I love desert essence shampoo and conditioner. It smells great and leaves my hair shiny and silky. I love it so much that I have backups."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarilynG
fromCanada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
LOVE this shampoo!
 November 4, 2014
"The smell is amazing, and it's gentle on my coloured hair. A must have!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smashr
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fresh scent
 November 3, 2014
"Love the scent."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pinnacole
fromLathrop, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The only shampoo I use.
 October 30, 2014
"I wont ever use anything else. It's the best."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lakliams
fromEugene, Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
best shampoo ever!
 October 19, 2014
"This is great very natural, maybe that's why the coconut smell is not so strong but it's really good it leaves my hair feeling very soft"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pugloverx2
fromEvansville, In
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 October 14, 2014
"Love this shampoo! Smells great. It lathers up really good and you don't need a lot. Makes my hair feel soft and full of bounce."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mom23kids
fromLA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
MAJOR IMPROVEMENT to my long hair in just days!
 October 14, 2014
"Get the conditioner, too! I can sit on my long, healthy, wavy hair.. but *was* verrry dry & I lost manageability *completely* :/ So, I tried this at a friends house and fell in love :) I bought my own and have been using for almost 2 months now. No more unruly hair! I wont use anything else now bc of how "well-nourished" my once VERY DRY hair feels. No more dryness! I will say that you should use a little coconut oil or argan oil on your hair after towel dried to boost the effects. I also use the matching coconut styling product I will suggest below (hair cream) >> a little goes A LONG WAY. My kids love the hair cream too :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JEF225
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 October 14, 2014
"I have been using this shampoo for over 10 years. My favorites are the Grape and Coconut. The conditioner is great as well.
Can't beat the price and it is organic too!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peachiest
fromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good but you gotta LOVE coconut smell
 October 9, 2014
"This is one of the very few shampoos I can use due to allergies. The smell is nice but there is way too much of it. Some days, I wash my hair a second time with my unscented shower gel to tone the scent down.
It does not dry my hair, nor moisturize. It does not soften or frizz. It just does the job washing without doing any damage nor performing any miracles."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stop2smelltheroses
fromFort Myers, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!
 October 6, 2014
"I've used nothing but this shampoo for a few years now. I color my hair and it is dry to begin with. This shampoo combined with their coconut conditioner really do moisturize, get the tangles out and help with the frizz. It has a nice scent too. I would recommend it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wichester
fromWI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the only hair shampoo I use.
 October 4, 2014
"I have been using this shampoo for awhile now & absolutely love it! Makes my hair silky smooth & shin, plus I love how it smells. Can't beat the price for an organic shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sadilov
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Unnatural fragrance
 September 29, 2014
"This stuff smells like the product they pour on your carpets at the car wash and last for days, very intense! I thought this was more of a healthy alternative shampoo.It cleans fine, not liking the artificial fragrance and intensity."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoadtoHealth09
A little goes a long way
 September 24, 2014
"I love this shampoo, very gentle, and leaves my hair very clean. I have color treated hair, long and am in my 50's. This product is great, my hair is shiny and healthy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next