Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results.  . A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.  
Overall rating:
4.657 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(595 reviews) 559
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 595 reviews
5 Stars
485
4 Stars
57
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
5
1 Star
18
552 out of 595(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NoNonna
fromLakeland, GA
Gender:Female
I love this shampoo
 May 29, 2015
"I have used this shampoo a while back maybe a couple of years ago. But, kept forgetting to order it again. I sent an order in, and saw this was on sale (YaYaaa) was so glad. I ordered it again, and again am very happy with it. As has been mentioned in other reviews it is pretty hard to squeeze out of tube maybe they will fix that. But, all in all even with having to squeeze a little harder I am just so happy with the smell and results with my hair from using this shampoo. I am ordering more to keep on hand. :~D"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Afande
fromOman
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Best Shampoo for dry hair
 May 26, 2015
"Its my mom Fav shampoo and she asked me to make sure the conditioner is coming with it. Very nice smell and it keep the hair soft."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goldfinger
fromEustis, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
smells good and cleans your hair
 May 26, 2015
"smells good and cleans your hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mingjing
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Soft and Shiny hair, great scent
 May 25, 2015
"I absolutely love this product that I had to come back and buy a few more while it was on sale. I've used their body lotion and love the scent so I tried the shampoo first. I was surprised with how great my hair looked after the first time I used it. My hair was shiny, silky and soft…haven't gotten that with some other brands lately and the scent is wonderful! I already recommended it to my friend :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mshealth
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just OK
 May 24, 2015
"I like the mild coconut scent of this shampoo. Although it does spread fairly well, it doesn't work too well for thick long hair. I have to use way more just to get it to cover all of my hair. Not bad for the price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeckyJ30
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This is great!
 May 21, 2015
"I have extremely thick hair that I only wash every 2-3 days. This shampoo provides enough lather to penetrate my thick (sometimes very dirty) strands when it is time to wash. It also smells great. My only dislike is that the opening of the tube is very small and it is difficult to get the product out. Overall I am very pleased and will definitely reorder, especially with the low cost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hebec
fromPennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Cleans & Smells Wonderful!
 May 19, 2015
"This shampoo leaves my thick, curly hair feeling soft and clean. I love the coconut aroma as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lou42
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Refreshing
 May 15, 2015
"Your hair not only smells great but feels clean
n and manageable.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skeebush
nice shampoo , great smell
 May 14, 2015
"kinda hard to get the shampoo out of the bottle when squeezing it , but its still great . doesn't dry the hair"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kerb
fromNew york
Love this product
 May 12, 2015
"Great shampoo, it's rich and a little goes a long way. Makes my hair feel thick and full"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Livinonless
fromMiddle Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells like vacation
 May 7, 2015
"I thought i would try this shampoo because the price was great and i wanted a summer scent. Its kind of hard to squeeze it out of the tube. I guess that is a good thing, because a very small amount goes a really long way. A dime size squeeze lathers up my long hair! It smells amazing, like vacation."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonzai6
fromCalgary, AB, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this!!
 May 1, 2015
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"This is the best natural shampoo I've found! I've tried many. I have long, thick colour treated (blonde) hair and this Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner work THE BEST for my hair. I rarely get split ends and it smells awesome! My hair is manageable and easy to brush through afterwards. Not a strong scent, just enough to smell beautiful!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EverChanging
fromKCMO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
SO GOOD in every way
 May 1, 2015
"My hair smells great, stays voluminous, looks shiner, doesn't get greasy nearly as quickly as with other products, and I know I'm not putting any garbage, i.e. sulfates/parabens, in my hair. GREAT PRODUCT. Wonderful price as well. AND a little goes a long way with this! You must get the conditioner to go with it! They work perfectly together."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zenseeker
fromIllinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 April 30, 2015
"I really like this shampoo. It moisturizes my incredibly dry hair, and it smells fantastic. You don't need to use much, so it lasts a long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hmschlmomof6
fromRome, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great smell, good ingredients
 April 30, 2015
"I was using kiss my face shampoo and conditioner but was noticing their ingredients getting worse. I like the ingredients in this better and love the smell. Seems to work great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sharpie
fromNevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good product
 April 30, 2015
"Good product. But I really hate the package! Hard to get out of the "tube". I LOVE all/most of Desert Essence products. But won't buy this again because of the packaging."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
IrinaI
fromChisinau, Moldova
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Usual shampoo!
 April 19, 2015
"Usual shampoo, cleans well as other Dessert Essence products. Don't wait smth. magical from this shampoo. I used many shampoos of this brand and this one is the most regular."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mschaummann
fromChicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Ehh..
 April 18, 2015
"I read a lot of great reviews about this shampoo & I love Desert Essence. It didn't work for my hair. However, I ran out of body wash so I used this & ended up really liking it as body wash."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
doggieluv
fromNC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 April 14, 2015
"non sulfate..I have naturally curly hair so as my hair starts drying some products make my hair frizz ..not this product. My daughter loves it too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
best shampoo i have ever tried!
 April 12, 2015
"My title explains it! May sound gross but: i have bad dandruff and have tried so many different shampoos to help it. I wanted to try less toxic, no parabans, etc. on a whim to see. NO dandruff! Smells so delicious! Will never use another shampoo!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next