Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results.  . A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.  
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(550 reviews) 519
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 550 reviews
5 Stars
452
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
26
2 Stars
5
1 Star
15
512 out of 550(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 21 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KiKisMommy
fromFWB
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells Good
 February 18, 2015
"This products smells great and a little does go a long way. The opening on the bottle doesn't let a lot come out at once, so it is annoying and it builds up in the lid. The smell is great, but doesn't last outside of the shower. I wanted something that you could still smell the next day. It does leave your hair soft though, but I'm not sure if it is repairing my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthyfit
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
a great product at a great price
 February 8, 2015
"It is a good shampoo to use when the hair feels dry. It cleans and conditions as well, so need to use conditioner after shampooing. Also is a mild shampoo and protects the color on colored hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CurlyLena
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Turns my hair into silk
 February 7, 2015
"I came across this shampoo at Whole Foods store, but then found it for half their price on Vitacost--I tried it and it is amazing--I've immediately ordered 10 more. I have very tight curls and most shampoos dry out my hair so I am very picky about my hair care products. My hair detangles instatnly with this shampoo. It leathers well and smells wonderfully tropical.
I would recommend to anyone especially with thick, wavy/curly hair.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BabyMochi
fromSan Mateo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best shampoo!
 February 5, 2015
"I use this shampoo and Kiss My Face conditioner. The best combination.
My hair is shiny and soft. It just feels light. I got some for my sister in Japan, so she can try it!
I have long hair, but it takes very little, maybe 3/4" out of the tube and rather up very nicely."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KaleidoscopeEyes
fromPainesville OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Lovely smell and lathers great
 January 28, 2015
"I have been trying different Natural shampoos and like this one the best so far, have reordered 3 times. Leaves hair clean, lathers nicely and matching conditioner leaves my hair soft."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MisterAJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!!
 January 28, 2015
"Silky"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dawnisa
fromKansas City, KS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best shampoo for hair!
 January 25, 2015
"I had been using Wen shampoo but it's so very expensive so started looking for something else. Well, this shampoo is fabulous and my hair is just as soft and shiny as when I was using the Wen."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovesnature12
fromMarietta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes hair shine
 January 21, 2015
"I love this shampoo, the way it smells and the way it makes my hair shine and feel silky. I have not tried the conditioner yet, but I am definitely going to soon."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hundluver
fromTampa, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 January 18, 2015
"I love the natural ingredients and how it makes my hair feel. The smell is terrific also!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Suismoi
fromAsheville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Pretty Good
 January 18, 2015
"I think this does a nice job cleaning my very thick, frizz-prone hair. I can't squeeze any through the cap, though -- I have to remove the entire cap to get it out. Frustrating, but not the end of the world."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
justagirl86
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not for dry hair
 January 18, 2015
"My hair is dry, and felt like it was even drier after using this shampoo.
It does clean well, and smells amazing.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
vitafit
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice shampoo
 January 16, 2015
"This product is pleasant smelling and leaves hair soft and shiney. though it is not all natural."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dragonsword
fromAustralia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Beautiful product
 January 15, 2015
"I love all the Desert Essence products I have used and the Coconut shampoo and conditioner leave my hair soft as well as bringing out all the natural curls. Bonus...It smells great."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
crazyazgal
fromSt Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Rich and creamy
 January 14, 2015
"I like this shampoo! But the packaging is frustrating. It is very thick and creamy and does not easily squirt out. So I just unscrew the cap and I'm good to go!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beepers
fromManchester, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
smells great!
 January 14, 2015
"This product has been unique in it's ability to tame my course, curly hair. Smells great too!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rodiola
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Bought for my Hubby
 January 9, 2015
"My husband loves this shampoo & conditioner. Great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JenMikes27
Good stuff
 January 9, 2015
"This shampoo is great. Smell is wonderful plus it does a good job cleaning my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jofis
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 January 6, 2015
"Love this shampoo. I have fine hair and it doesn't leave it flat"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
swallowtail
fromCottekill, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
surprisingly excellent
 January 5, 2015
"Concentrated... a little goes a long way, hence the cap that allows very little to be squeezed out at a time. Seems to clean hair as well as any other natural shampoo while keeping hair smooth and manageable. Not harsh."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lookie
fromAsheville,NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 January 5, 2015
"I love this brand and the coconut shampoo is my favorite. Great volume and body and subtle yummy smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next