Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(469 reviews) 444
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 469 reviews
5 Stars
385
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
437 out of 469(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kareng55
fromLong Island, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 August 31, 2014
"I have curly hair. When I tried the shampoo I didn't have to use much and it feels great in my hair. I like the fact that it's sulfate free and it lists a long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bilbro
fromDalton, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it!
 August 29, 2014
"This shampoo makes my hair feel silky smooth and makes it smell great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jojozh
fromShanghai, China
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
excellent!
 August 28, 2014
"The smell is very good, and lasts around 2 days. When used the shampoo the hair is very clean. Just use a little can wash my long hair. I've recommend to my friends, and they all buy from Vitacost. They all feel excellent with the shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
bsimon90
smells good
 August 27, 2014
"This product smells so good! Keeps my hair nice and healthy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amber22
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 August 27, 2014
"Has a great smell! And it layers really well, a little will go a long way! I will repurchase :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healingwithherbs
fromVashon, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice smelling shampoo
 August 27, 2014
"Reasonable ingredients and I like the smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Koco
fromPHL, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Coconut Heaven
 August 22, 2014
"Love, love, love this shampoo!!! It smells incredible and leaves my fine curly hair feeling light & soft not weighed down. Smells Yummy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
purespirit
fromWhite Mountains, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Favorite Shampoo
 August 19, 2014
"My whole family uses this earth and body-friendly shampoo. Lathers well even without SLS. A little dab lathers my long hair very well and the coconut fragrance is very natural and not overwhelming. Leaves hair clean and soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WifeMomandHairdresser
fromWisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wonderful Shampoo
 August 14, 2014
"What more can I say about this shampoo but fantastic!
As a hairdresser of 15 years, I've been on a mission to find more natural hair care and have tried many natural brands but this is may favorite by far. It lathers up wonderful & cleans my hair very good without any buildup & the smell is amazing!!
I also use the Desert Essence coconut conditioner, Shine and Refine coconut Hair Lotion, Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector & Glonaturals Coconut Collection - Hair Serum from Vitacost.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RileyL
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 August 11, 2014
"This shampoo is the best. It does everything my more expensive shampoo did but better; shine, volume, softness. I have had more compliments on my hair since I switched to this shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Idado
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great scent. Gentle.
 August 1, 2014
"Great for my dry hair. A little goes a long way. Will definitely order again. And the smell is intoxicating!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sesodak
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 July 31, 2014
"This shampoo smells great and does a fabulous job cleaning our hair. My kids get frustrated with all the more natural/safer soaps I have had them try, but they love this one...and other Desert Essence sents."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JS20
fromUpton, Ma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
WOW!
 July 31, 2014
"Great smell and leaves my hair soft and smelling great.
I use the coconut conditioner as well.
My daughter loves both too!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
curlydee
fromDiamond Springs Ca.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 July 30, 2014
"cleans well, smell yummy"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rxstrmom
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Awesome Shampoo
 July 25, 2014
"I have been using WEN for years and decided I just needed a change. I ordered the Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner a few months ago and loved it. This is a reorder for 2 o each...I don't want to run out...and I love the price. My hair is long and color treated."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elliemae01
fromArkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome shampoo & conditioner
 July 21, 2014
"This is the first time that I have used this brand before. I usually just use whatever is on sale (i.e., herbal essence, garnier, etc.). After using cheaper shampoo/conditioner and switching to this I can tell a huge difference. Not only does my hair look better, it seems to style better when I use this. And as a bonus it smells really good! I don't think that I will be able to go back to my bargain brands that I pick up at Walmart ever again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goingnatural
fromOrange County, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Try it, you will like it
 July 16, 2014
"Best shampoo on the market. This is the only shampoo that does not make my son's scalp itch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
safaral
fromLincoln, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Too drying for color treated hair
 July 15, 2014
"I love the smell of this product, but on color treated hair it's too drying. Maybe on normal hair it would be ok."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lepetitponey
fromParis, FR
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Favorite natural shampoo
 July 12, 2014
"This product has a great composition without silicons .
My hair looks soft and shiny after applying shampoo and conditionner.
I recommend this product highly ! Vitacost is the only website where you can find the Desert Essence brand at a fair price !
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IowaNatural
fromDes Moines, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Super soft, super shiny
 July 10, 2014
"I found and started using this product for the first time two weeks ago - what a difference two weeks has made in my hair! My hair is blow dried and flat ironed everyday (sometimes twice a day) and it was a mess before this shampoo and conditioner. The scent is superb and lingers throughout the day, though not at all overpowering. The shampoo really cleanses without stripping hair. My hair is noticeably shinier and bouncier. Worth a try if you're on the fence!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next