Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results.  . A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.  
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(550 reviews) 519
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 550 reviews
5 Stars
452
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
26
2 Stars
5
1 Star
15
512 out of 550(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mediT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love at first use
 April 7, 2015
"Excellent product. I purchased it based on the good ratings and don't regret it. This has been the best shampoo I have used for a while. Recently my hair has become porous and lifeless. After just one use it gave me crunch, substance and bounce. I went ahead and purchased the conditioner as well. Smells heavenly if you like coconut.It is also very economical. I only use two pea-size drops and get enough lather to wash completely.
Highly recommend it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Boston2509
fromMassachusetts
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This shampoo is NOT what it seems!
 April 5, 2015
"Don't be fooled into thinking this is a healthy, natural shampoo. It contains "sodium coco-sulfate" which is very similar chemically to sodium lauryl sulfate and just as stripping to the hair and skin. The keyword here is SULFATE. I noticed when I used this shampoo for a few weeks in a row, my hair felt like straw! Also, the fragrance at the end of the ingredient list means it can be any number of CHEMICAL FRAGRANCES WHICH ARE NOT DISCLOSED! The price of this product should also tell you that there are ONLY CHEAP INGREDIENTS used."
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay142
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it!
 April 2, 2015
"Great Shampoo! Smells so good!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlr225
Wonderful non-chemical shampoo
 March 29, 2015
"I love this shampoo. It is chemical free with healthy ingredients for your hair. It smells great, lathers better than any shampoo I have ever used, including the ones with chemicals. Leaves my hair shiny and clean. My grandchildren now use it as well. Keep it up Desert Essence! Great job on your products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CBinVT
fromVermont
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this product!
 March 22, 2015
"Our family favorite!! Love love love it!! Works great for ALL hair types!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moi5
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love It!
 March 22, 2015
"Really enjoy this product.
A little goes a long way and my hair is lighter and fuller since I began using it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaRosebud
Smells great!
 March 20, 2015
"I was a little worried of trying organic shampoo because i wasn't quite sure if it would smell good, if the scent would be strong etc. and may i just say this shampoo is AWESOME! It smells great and works great in my hair (which is thick and curly)! I love this shampoo and i may be ordering some more of it soon!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lakemaiden
fromWA State
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
best natural shampoo I've tried
 March 17, 2015
"I have thinner longer hair, so don't want shampoo to leave it too greasy or too frizzy. I want a natural product, but some natural products just are horrible in the shower by not lathering at all and leaving hair flat. This shampoo lathers, not a lot but just enough, took a little convincing to come out of the bottle but once it did, creamy and only needed a little bit to work. Smells wonderful! Leaves my hair clean but not so clean that it has that dried out stripped feeling. My favorite shampoo!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hahnny
frommontreal
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Good
 March 17, 2015
"At first the shampoo was liquid. I was ready to change brand after my last bottle because I did buy it in bulk and it didn't felt good. However, this one is creamy. Awesome. the best product I ever used and I dont want to change brand. The question is, if i reorder, will i get the liquid or the creamy one?? Is anyone aware of a new formula?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kacki
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Long Lasting Lovely Smell
 March 16, 2015
"I can use this shampoo with its matching conditioner for about a week before I start getting a sticky buildup on my hair. This is much longer than most products made for dry hair last for me. Smells so wonderful I will buy again if I see a super sale again, and I will alternate it with a formula that doesn't cause buildup."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lynnard
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Coconut Fragrance
 March 14, 2015
"I love this shampoo - a little goes a long way, and the coconut fragrance inspires the mind. I would highly recommend this product the value is definately there."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godlife247
fromNashville, Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I couldn't believe my hair
 March 6, 2015
"I have been using this shampoo for a few months now. When I started to use it I couldn't believe how much healthier my hair felt. I love this stuff! (and smells great)"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Vyvy
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Dries out hair - formula has changed
 March 6, 2015
"I used to love this shampoo and conditioner, and have been using this since 3 years ago. The smell is wonderful and lingers in your hair. My hair was soft and bouncy, less frizzy. When I ran out, I ordered a few more sets, expecting the same wonderful results. However, I find that it drys my hair out extremely, leaving me with dry, brittle hair. Not good. Under $5 for good shampoo seemed to be too good to be true. That's the case here. Even with "no sulfates", it suds up too well - and there is something about the ingredient list that seems to be untrue. Will not purchase ever again."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kld24
fromSoutheastern Massachusetts
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great!
 March 6, 2015
"We love this shampoo! Both my daughter and myself use it for dry hair and it works great. Cleans well without leaving your hair terribly dry and it smells soooo nice! We've been using it for over a year now and are completely satisfied. Pair it up with the coconut conditioner and have a real coconutty experience!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chickenlittle13
fromNew England
Great for dry hair.
 March 5, 2015
"I bought the shampoo and conditioner, and both are helping my dry hair. Also the coconut scent is wonderful...not over-powering."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
greenpanda
Good value
 March 4, 2015
"Works well for the price. Gets the job done. I'm not a huge fan of coconut scents, but this one isn't too bothersome."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sos1
fromAlbany
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo with awesome fragrance
 March 2, 2015
"All the scents at Desert Essence are delicious! Gentle on hair"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cookingmama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for dry hair and hard water.
 March 1, 2015
"My favorite shampoo! Makes my older hair soft with our hard water."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happyoldlady
fromUpstate NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Shampoo works well!
 March 1, 2015
"When I use the shampoo and conditioner people think I have just colored my hair! They make your hair shine!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardwood
fromMiddletown, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great shampoo
 February 28, 2015
"I have bought several tubes which last for a long time. Plenty of soap lather and clean, manageable hair result without the use of conditioners. The product contains mostly natural ingredients except for Benzyl compounds and a fragrance. However, no parabens present."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next