Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(411 reviews) 388
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 411 reviews
5 Stars
336
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
386 out of 411(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LM81
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good shampoo
 April 15, 2014
"My boyfriend and I both use this shampoo. It smells great and leaves hair light and clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gbuz
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo
 April 14, 2014
"Great ingredients, great smell. Lasts a long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
brendamac
fromHickory, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 April 13, 2014
"I bought this because it has no SLS. Love the smell. Will buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashley999
fromSan Antonio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
good product
 April 11, 2014
"works very well with conditioner. change my hair condition. love the smell, too. will buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunny20
frommaine
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I love this shampoo!
 April 6, 2014
"The smell is beachy and delicious, has the best sulfate free lather I've ever found, one bottle lasts forever, I have medium length hair and only use a dime size amount. I am very pleased with this shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guru
fromSt. Augustine, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good value
 April 4, 2014
"Good price, lathers well, smells good"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream15x
fromMammoth Lakes, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Desert Essence
 April 1, 2014
"I really love this shampoo. I always favor coconut scented hair and facial products, and this product did not let me down. As one of the other reviews stated, a very small portion goes a very long way. I notice the difference in my hair with manageability and overall healthier hair. I will definitely be purchasing more of this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrganicGirl01
fromLos Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
IS AMAZING!!
 March 27, 2014
"THIS WORKS WONDERFUL ON MY HAIR WITH NO HARSH CHEMICALS.. I LOVE IT.. AND I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR THE SAME.. IT ALSO GIVES GREAT BODY TO MY HAIR.. AND CLEANS GREAT!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EthnicAmbiguity
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fantastic!
 March 25, 2014
"I have long curly hair prone to dryness and tangles (although it isn't particularly thick) and I really wanted to start using natural hair products that would work with my hair. We also have hard water, so I needed something that would be cleansing without drying and this is perfect! A little goes a long way and gets my hair clean and doesn't leave it too tangly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowbuddies
fromSurprise, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
love it
 March 24, 2014
"I love this shampoo. My hair feels nice & clean & I love the smell. I also love it that it doesn't have chemicals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaniS
fromChicago
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Only shampoo I use
 March 24, 2014
"Have been using this shampoo for several years; found it at a time when I was looking to replace my chemically-laden toiletry products. Typically purchased it at Whole Foods but have found lately that I can get it cheaper here so I stock up.
I have thick, coarse, long, wavy hair and I find this shampoo less drying than all the others. I am able to use just a teenie-tiny amount (about the size of a dime) and it does a thorough job. I only wash my hair twice a week so a bottle lasts me a very long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
daisy12
Age:25-34
absolutely recommended
 March 19, 2014
"This beats the expensive brand organic shampoo out there in the market. I have very dry hair, but my hair shines after using this product. Also my hair feels much softer.
Great scent is a plus.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CheriMom
fromHoodsport, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 March 15, 2014
"This shampoo smells amazing. I do however need to use the conditioner with it, as it does make my hair feel rather dry before applying the conditioner, but that said, I wouldn't ever use a shampoo without conditioner. When used with the conditioner, they work well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrganicsJunkie
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Best Natual Shampoo I've Found!!!
 March 8, 2014
"This brands products are either 100% organic or mostly organic which already improves their quality. It's affordable, it lathers well, smells great, rinses easily and keeps my hair silky, shiny, light and bouncy.
I've tried each of Dessert Essence's scents and the coconut one is my favorite!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MRHarmon
fromKansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent product!!
 March 7, 2014
"I purchased this after reading reviews and ingredients and decided I would give it a try. I only bought the shampoo to begin with and figured I could purchase the conditioner later after I "tried" the shampoo. If you like thick luscious lather then this is the shampoo for you and you hardly have to use any product. I was so impressed that I ordered extra to have on hand and also ordered the conditioner. I gave a set of the shampoo/conditioner to my mother in-law to try. Great product and will continue to order!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KimPAfan
fromHarrisburg, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This cleans great w just a small amount ineeded.
 March 2, 2014
"I recommend both these wonderful organic shampoo and conditioner. They smell great and work well. I have thick curly hair and they keep the fuzzy dry spots smooth."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
julie0120
fromChicago
Age:18-24
AMAZING
 March 1, 2014
"I like to "pre-poo" by putting castor and coconut oils in my hair for about 30 mins before showering, or overnight. This shampoo easily gets all of the oil out (without detergents) and also makes it soft and very manageable. Love it. Just wish it came in a bigger bottle!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scrufflebuggy
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
gentle on hair
 February 28, 2014
"I tend to have dry hair and shy away from almost all shampoos but this shampoo is wonderful! It cleans my hair without drying it out and smells wonderful!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MSweet
fromHighland Mills, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Lucious Lather
 February 25, 2014
"I really like this shampoo! Great lather and warm, coconut scent! My hair feels really clean and refreshed using this shampoo and conditioner!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
randysgal
fromMilaca, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Awesome!
 February 24, 2014
"This is the only shampoo that I have found that cleans my hair and leaves it soft and shiny. My whole family uses it...my husband and one son have thick curly hair and they love it, my other son has thick straight hair and he loves it, my mother has very thin straight hair and she loves it. It works on all hair types."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next