Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results.  . A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.  
Overall rating:
4.657 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(595 reviews) 559
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 595 reviews
5 Stars
485
4 Stars
57
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
5
1 Star
18
552 out of 595(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hennanorcal
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love the smell!
 July 28, 2015
"Smells like a delicious creamy coconut. Seems to get my hair clean and shiny. Maybe my scalp is a little dry after use."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vvarner
fromIdaho
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Surprisingly great
 July 27, 2015
"I really like this product. I have long hair and need very little to get a good lather and a nice clean. I also like the smell and my hair looks great when dry. It is also frequently on sale. Win!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chairlady26
fromFort Worth, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
don't recommend
 July 26, 2015
"Shampoo, like all other glueten free I've tried is drying and really not good at all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momthedoctor
fromNew Mexico
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I LOVE this shampoo
 July 23, 2015
"Great smell and cleans great - love it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KaliGirl
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Natural Shampoo
 July 23, 2015
"Moisturizing shampoo, leaves my hair soft and manageable. I have wavy coarse hair and my ends get very dry. The scent is very light and lathers very well, only need to use a small amount. I had only purchase shampoo, but will order the conditioner."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marie03
fromStevens Point, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 July 21, 2015
"Gluten free and works awesome!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bisque
fromSt. Augustine, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 July 20, 2015
"I have graying hair that's a combination of coarse and fine, and this shampoo and its companion conditioner are the best for taming my hair while leaving it squeaky clean and with volume. Love the smell, too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AppyHorseGirl
fromScottsdale, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice shampoo
 July 18, 2015
"Does a really nice job cleaning my "fine" hair without leaving residue."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jenbean44
fromDiamond, Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it!
 July 17, 2015
"I love this shampoo! My hair has become so much healthier since I started using it along with the conditioner. My hairdresser even noticed the difference and commented how much better it is. Vitacost also has the best price out of everyone! Thank you Vitacost!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mnbabe
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A great shampoo....
 July 16, 2015
"gluten free and natural and it does not matte the hair or leave it hard to comb out either like most natural shampoos do.
This has a great scent and leaves my hair very manageable. Would recommend it to anyone needing a gluten free shampoo.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Barbie1
fromWinnetka, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not as conditioning as other reviewers stated.
 July 9, 2015
"I like the convenience of the tube, however, I expected this shampoo to be more of a conditioning shampoo. It is average, doesn't do anything special for my hair. It does have a pleasant scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
bsuzee1951
fromMissouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Did not like this shampoo
 July 1, 2015
"I totally did not like this shampoo. It made my scalp itch and burn and my hair feel like dry straw. I was hoping this was going to be the natural shampoo I was looking for. But no it was not."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
redwildflower
Great Product
 June 30, 2015
"I have fine curly hair and find it hard to find a great shampoo than detangles in the shower, without building up, while actually cleaning my hair. Love this stuff!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
renbernac
fromelk grove village, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells wonderful
 June 30, 2015
"A little goes a long way and it moisturizes so nicely. Smells heavenly too"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
azpat
fromPhoenix, az
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
alcohol ingredient
 June 27, 2015
"Dried my hair out. Soaking in coconut oil right now. My hair got brittle began falling out. Not for me"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jess36
fromWilliamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 June 26, 2015
"Great natural shampoo. It has a lovely coconut smell and doesn't feel heavy on my hair. You only have to use a little bit of it to do the job. Great stuff!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCFY
fromUpstate NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Smells good
 June 20, 2015
"Very Highly concentrated, works well, good value for the price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suzieee
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
smells great
 June 19, 2015
"I tried the shampoo and conditioner because it is all natural, cruelty free and on sale, I Love it, smells lightly of coconut, you only need a dab of each, makes a good lather, leaves my hair feeling clean. Easy to comb out after washing!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nancinator
fromPoughkeepsie, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great shampoo!
 June 18, 2015
"Lathers up great, smells yummy, makes my hair nice and soft! A little goes a long way, too. Fantastic!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
NCLaureen
fromWilmington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not for fine hair
 May 31, 2015
"Makes my hair greasy and limp. =(
Will not buy again.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next