Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(454 reviews) 429
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 454 reviews
5 Stars
371
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
422 out of 454(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rxstrmom
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Awesome Shampoo
 July 25, 2014
"I have been using WEN for years and decided I just needed a change. I ordered the Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner a few months ago and loved it. This is a reorder for 2 o each...I don't want to run out...and I love the price. My hair is long and color treated."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elliemae01
fromArkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome shampoo & conditioner
 July 21, 2014
"This is the first time that I have used this brand before. I usually just use whatever is on sale (i.e., herbal essence, garnier, etc.). After using cheaper shampoo/conditioner and switching to this I can tell a huge difference. Not only does my hair look better, it seems to style better when I use this. And as a bonus it smells really good! I don't think that I will be able to go back to my bargain brands that I pick up at Walmart ever again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
safaral
fromLincoln, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Too drying for color treated hair
 July 15, 2014
"I love the smell of this product, but on color treated hair it's too drying. Maybe on normal hair it would be ok."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lepetitponey
fromParis, FR
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Favorite natural shampoo
 July 12, 2014
"This product has a great composition without silicons .
My hair looks soft and shiny after applying shampoo and conditionner.
I recommend this product highly ! Vitacost is the only website where you can find the Desert Essence brand at a fair price !
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IowaNatural
fromDes Moines, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Super soft, super shiny
 July 10, 2014
"I found and started using this product for the first time two weeks ago - what a difference two weeks has made in my hair! My hair is blow dried and flat ironed everyday (sometimes twice a day) and it was a mess before this shampoo and conditioner. The scent is superb and lingers throughout the day, though not at all overpowering. The shampoo really cleanses without stripping hair. My hair is noticeably shinier and bouncier. Worth a try if you're on the fence!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ccm22
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
A little goes a long way
 July 9, 2014
"I really like this shampoo, as a little bit goes a long way! I only have to use about a quarter sized amount on my long, semi-thick hair, and I love that, especially considering the 8-oz size. It makes the bottle last longer. Plus, I love the way my hair feels when I use it! Great product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jdkt
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I feel like I'm in the tropics.
 July 6, 2014
"I feel like I'm in the tropics plus it leaves my hair so soft. Mmmm...good!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NoGMOgirl
Sudsy
 July 4, 2014
"Nice thick and sudsy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SWDesertGal
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Leaves hair fragrant and clean but not dry.
 June 28, 2014
"Such a lovely shampoo! I've been using Desert Essence jojoba oil daily moisturizer ever since I moved out to the desert and really love their product, so I bought their Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner as a pair. The shampoo smells so good and you only need a little bit to get a good fluffy lather. Afterwards my hair feels clean and smells so good, but not overpowering. Many shampoos leave my hair feeling clean, but also light and fluffy and dried out, stripped of natural oils. This shampoo does not do that.
I will definitely be buying Desert Essence shampoo again.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sls1011
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I love this stuff!
 June 22, 2014
"This stuff keeps my hair soft, and it smells great! The bottle lasts a long time too, because a little goes a long way-- it lathers up very easily."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SummerBliss13
fromFontana, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect for Curly Hair
 June 2, 2014
"I have medium/thick curly hair that's always thirsty. This shampoo is free of parabens, sodium lauryl/laureth sulfates, phthalates, artificial colors, silicones, EDTA, glycol, petroleum-based ingredients, wheat, gluten, animal testing, and animal ingredients. It makes my hair very soft and detangles it. And the smell is great too. This is my 4th or 5th tube. Hubby loves it too."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kbellaklb
Love this shampoo
 May 29, 2014
"My hair feels and smells wonderful thanks to this shampoo"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CamilleL
fromArcade, NY
Gender:Female
Clean and fresh
 May 28, 2014
"I finally found a shampoo that leaves my hair looking good and it doesn't have a lot of additives and preservatives. It has a nice coconut scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
treatdream
fromPA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 May 28, 2014
"This shampoo is perfect for my very thick, wavy hair. It leaves my hair very soft and manageable when used with the matching conditioner. It also has the best lather I have found in a natural shampoo and I love the coconut scent. I'm very sensitive to fragrances and this does not bother me."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mommacatt
fromIndiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I have more hair!
 May 27, 2014
"I feel like I actually have hair for the first time in many many years! I have a scalp condition similar to cradle cap and my head has always itched. I think this skin condition has plugged pores and stopped my hair from growing. After reading about how coconut can help clear up this condition, I tried this shampoo and it's matching conditioner. My hairdresser even sees that I have more hair! I was afraid I had thinning hair because of my age, but now I know I don't...I'm Sooooo HAPPY! Also, no more itch!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alex108
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 May 25, 2014
"Nice smell, doesn't dry out hair or scalp, my hubby likes it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CrueltyFreeSeeker
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product - but NOT for hair - for FACE & BODY
 May 24, 2014
"This was crazy drying for my hair, but I LOVED the smell! It's like a REAL coconut - not a candy, sickly sweet. I thought I'd give it a try as a face wash and to my surprise it's great! It removes makeup like a charm - even mascara! If some gets in the eyes it does burn just a bit, but doesn't last. I use about a pea size and gently apply to face and eyes - keeping my eyes closed, I use a wash cloth to rub away makeup and mascara. I also love this as a body wash. Again, a little goes a long way! This foams up like a dream with a shower poof. I use about a dime size and it gets the job done - plus I smell delish!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tammi25
fromEndicott, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Fabulous product
 May 24, 2014
"Rich, creamy, thick and smells amazing. Great for all hair types including colored hair. Makes hair super soft, shiny and helps tame frizzies."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sam1111
fromIrvine, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not for dry, color-treated
 May 18, 2014
"It left my hair with an odd smell which I didn't mind so much. However, after several uses, my dry, coarse hair became even more dry -- fly-away, static cling, etc...3 stars is for the good ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
cynthia1322
fromIllinois
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Somewhat Disappointing
 May 17, 2014
"Although this product smells good, the scent does not last. The clear packaging was very difficult to remove. Would not purchase again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next