Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(497 reviews) 469
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 497 reviews
5 Stars
408
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
5
1 Star
13
463 out of 497(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lakliams
fromEugene, Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
best shampoo ever!
 October 19, 2014
"This is great very natural, maybe that's why the coconut smell is not so strong but it's really good it leaves my hair feeling very soft"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pugloverx2
fromEvansville, In
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 October 14, 2014
"Love this shampoo! Smells great. It lathers up really good and you don't need a lot. Makes my hair feel soft and full of bounce."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mom23kids
fromLA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
MAJOR IMPROVEMENT to my long hair in just days!
 October 14, 2014
"Get the conditioner, too! I can sit on my long, healthy, wavy hair.. but *was* verrry dry & I lost manageability *completely* :/ So, I tried this at a friends house and fell in love :) I bought my own and have been using for almost 2 months now. No more unruly hair! I wont use anything else now bc of how "well-nourished" my once VERY DRY hair feels. No more dryness! I will say that you should use a little coconut oil or argan oil on your hair after towel dried to boost the effects. I also use the matching coconut styling product I will suggest below (hair cream) >> a little goes A LONG WAY. My kids love the hair cream too :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JEF225
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 October 14, 2014
"I have been using this shampoo for over 10 years. My favorites are the Grape and Coconut. The conditioner is great as well.
Can't beat the price and it is organic too!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peachiest
fromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good but you gotta LOVE coconut smell
 October 9, 2014
"This is one of the very few shampoos I can use due to allergies. The smell is nice but there is way too much of it. Some days, I wash my hair a second time with my unscented shower gel to tone the scent down.
It does not dry my hair, nor moisturize. It does not soften or frizz. It just does the job washing without doing any damage nor performing any miracles."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stop2smelltheroses
fromFort Myers, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!
 October 6, 2014
"I've used nothing but this shampoo for a few years now. I color my hair and it is dry to begin with. This shampoo combined with their coconut conditioner really do moisturize, get the tangles out and help with the frizz. It has a nice scent too. I would recommend it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wichester
fromWI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the only hair shampoo I use.
 October 4, 2014
"I have been using this shampoo for awhile now & absolutely love it! Makes my hair silky smooth & shin, plus I love how it smells. Can't beat the price for an organic shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sadilov
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Unnatural fragrance
 September 29, 2014
"This stuff smells like the product they pour on your carpets at the car wash and last for days, very intense! I thought this was more of a healthy alternative shampoo.It cleans fine, not liking the artificial fragrance and intensity."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoadtoHealth09
A little goes a long way
 September 24, 2014
"I love this shampoo, very gentle, and leaves my hair very clean. I have color treated hair, long and am in my 50's. This product is great, my hair is shiny and healthy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FHM1
fromJupiter FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great particlarly for Treated Hair
 September 21, 2014
"This does not have Sulfates and therefore is the ONLY shampoo, including those from my hairdresser at 3X the price, that does not mess with my color. AND it lathers super and nothing my hairdresser sold me lathers at all. It smells great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Challenged
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Coconut shampoo and conditioner
 September 16, 2014
"Although I do like the hand and body lotion and the body wash, I did not enjoy using the shampoo or conditioner. I find the Aveda hair products to be better suited for my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gymlady
fromPerry Hall, Md.
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Terrific product!!
 September 15, 2014
"I think I am in love with "all things coconut!" N when I saw you had coconut face soap n shampoo I felt over-joyed. I quickly ordered the soap n shampoo n when my present conditioner ends, I will order the soap, shampoo n conditioner. I love the products n they are a GREATproduct for the Money. My hair is definitely 'squicky-clean'."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
UserNameless
fromEarth
BEST natural shampoo ever!
 September 14, 2014
"Not only does this shampoo smell like a tropical treat (without being too strongly scented), it leaves hair feeling soft and manageable, easy to comb through.
While the bottle is a little on the small side (perhaps compared to traditional store brands), it is amazing how little product is needed per shampoo-use to work up a nice suds. Not to mention how great it is to find a natural shampoo that actually does suds up and feel like it's really cleansing!
We've purchased this several times and use it along with it's matching conditioner. An overall excellent product!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Naturallykay
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good shampoo
 September 14, 2014
"It cleans very well and suds up nicely"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JeanW
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo!
 September 14, 2014
"This is the best shampoo I've found in years. Thick lather and my hair looks great. I've been incorporating more coconut oil in both eating and cosmetic use and it is making a big difference in my skin and hair. I know this is real coconut oil because when my bathroom got cold, the shampoo thickened just like coconut oil does. I will definitely be re-ordering."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miralin
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent for the whole family
 September 12, 2014
"This shampoo is the family favorite shampoo. I use it on my under-fives and it leaves their hair silky smooth, shiny and untangled. The elder child has waist-length ringlets, and this shampoo is gentle enough to protect her hair, and to leave it clean and fresh for about 3 days, in the summer, 4-5 days in the cooler months. The under 2-year-old has very fine curls and this is gentle enough to use on her as well. It is also my husband's favorite. We all love the fragrance, the lather, and how little it takes (just a tiny dollop) to wash a whole head of hair! I like this one, too, and will love it more as my hair gets healthier. At present, Desert Essence Jojoba is my go-to for building strength and shine in over-processed, damaged hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healthy2areyou
fromIllinois
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Natural and very good!
 September 11, 2014
"Smells great, is pretty natural and leaves my hair clean and shiny."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katu
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 September 11, 2014
"I love the coconut scent and my hair is so soft after using"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aviannovice
fromStillwater, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Smell and Quick Lather
 September 9, 2014
"My hair stays clean for three days. This is for dry hair, and a little goes a long way."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WildflowerRising
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The aroma is fantastic
 September 7, 2014
"My family enjoys this shampoo and we have different types of hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next