Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Nourishing For Dry Hair. Wheat & Gluten Free. 100% Vegan. Bring back shine and health to over-processed dry hair. Infused with organic coconut oil to provide intense moisture smooth frizzies and restore hair's natural luster. With continued use hair looks revived strong and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(484 reviews) 459
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 484 reviews
5 Stars
397
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
5
1 Star
13
451 out of 484(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FHM1
fromJupiter FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great particlarly for Treated Hair
 September 21, 2014
"This does not have Sulfates and therefore is the ONLY shampoo, including those from my hairdresser at 3X the price, that does not mess with my color. AND it lathers super and nothing my hairdresser sold me lathers at all. It smells great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Challenged
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Coconut shampoo and conditioner
 September 16, 2014
"Although I do like the hand and body lotion and the body wash, I did not enjoy using the shampoo or conditioner. I find the Aveda hair products to be better suited for my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gymlady
fromPerry Hall, Md.
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Terrific product!!
 September 15, 2014
"I think I am in love with "all things coconut!" N when I saw you had coconut face soap n shampoo I felt over-joyed. I quickly ordered the soap n shampoo n when my present conditioner ends, I will order the soap, shampoo n conditioner. I love the products n they are a GREATproduct for the Money. My hair is definitely 'squicky-clean'."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
UserNameless
fromEarth
BEST natural shampoo ever!
 September 14, 2014
"Not only does this shampoo smell like a tropical treat (without being too strongly scented), it leaves hair feeling soft and manageable, easy to comb through.
While the bottle is a little on the small side (perhaps compared to traditional store brands), it is amazing how little product is needed per shampoo-use to work up a nice suds. Not to mention how great it is to find a natural shampoo that actually does suds up and feel like it's really cleansing!
We've purchased this several times and use it along with it's matching conditioner. An overall excellent product!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Naturallykay
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good shampoo
 September 14, 2014
"It cleans very well and suds up nicely"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JeanW
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo!
 September 14, 2014
"This is the best shampoo I've found in years. Thick lather and my hair looks great. I've been incorporating more coconut oil in both eating and cosmetic use and it is making a big difference in my skin and hair. I know this is real coconut oil because when my bathroom got cold, the shampoo thickened just like coconut oil does. I will definitely be re-ordering."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miralin
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent for the whole family
 September 12, 2014
"This shampoo is the family favorite shampoo. I use it on my under-fives and it leaves their hair silky smooth, shiny and untangled. The elder child has waist-length ringlets, and this shampoo is gentle enough to protect her hair, and to leave it clean and fresh for about 3 days, in the summer, 4-5 days in the cooler months. The under 2-year-old has very fine curls and this is gentle enough to use on her as well. It is also my husband's favorite. We all love the fragrance, the lather, and how little it takes (just a tiny dollop) to wash a whole head of hair! I like this one, too, and will love it more as my hair gets healthier. At present, Desert Essence Jojoba is my go-to for building strength and shine in over-processed, damaged hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healthy2areyou
fromIllinois
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Natural and very good!
 September 11, 2014
"Smells great, is pretty natural and leaves my hair clean and shiny."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katu
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 September 11, 2014
"I love the coconut scent and my hair is so soft after using"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aviannovice
fromStillwater, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Smell and Quick Lather
 September 9, 2014
"My hair stays clean for three days. This is for dry hair, and a little goes a long way."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WildflowerRising
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The aroma is fantastic
 September 7, 2014
"My family enjoys this shampoo and we have different types of hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tryin2liv4God
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Gets my fine, thin hair squeaky clean
 September 6, 2014
"This shampoo is very astringent-like and doesn't weigh my hair down. It's one of 3 shampoos that I always use in my rotation."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ckamora
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
 September 3, 2014
"Lathers up nicely and smells great"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gem4113
fromBellingham, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great shampoo
 September 3, 2014
"Lathers up well with a small amount. The coconut scent is wonderful, my hair is clean without feeling dry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kareng55
fromLong Island, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 August 31, 2014
"I have curly hair. When I tried the shampoo I didn't have to use much and it feels great in my hair. I like the fact that it's sulfate free and it lists a long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bilbro
fromDalton, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it!
 August 29, 2014
"This shampoo makes my hair feel silky smooth and makes it smell great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jojozh
fromShanghai, China
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
excellent!
 August 28, 2014
"The smell is very good, and lasts around 2 days. When used the shampoo the hair is very clean. Just use a little can wash my long hair. I've recommend to my friends, and they all buy from Vitacost. They all feel excellent with the shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
bsimon90
smells good
 August 27, 2014
"This product smells so good! Keeps my hair nice and healthy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amber22
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 August 27, 2014
"Has a great smell! And it layers really well, a little will go a long way! I will repurchase :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healingwithherbs
fromVashon, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice smelling shampoo
 August 27, 2014
"Reasonable ingredients and I like the smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next