Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz

Take hair from over-processed to over-the-top with a coconut-enriched cleanser. The perfectly natural way to revive dry damaged hair. Made with organic oils and herbal extracts. Cleanse and moisturize from the root. Free of wheat and gluten. 100% vegan-friendly shampoo. Intense moisture that never weighs you down. It’s a weight on your shoulders. Dry damaged hair that hangs heavy and lifeless would stress anyone. But you can bounce back – and you will! But first you must relax. Reviving your locks doesn’t mean breaking up with your colorist or tossing your favorite flat iron. Actually it’s quite the opposite. In order to bring back the health of your hair you must be committed. Only through consistent use of Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo will you see results.  . A unique blend of organic coconut and jojoba oils creates soft and silky strands like you’ve never seen. Without gluten or animal testing you can be locked and secure knowing that you’ve done the most for your hair with the least impact. Burden lifted.  
Overall rating:
4.663 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(584 reviews) 548
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 584 reviews
5 Stars
477
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
5
1 Star
17
543 out of 584(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
bsuzee1951
fromMissouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Did not like this shampoo
 July 1, 2015
"I totally did not like this shampoo. It made my scalp itch and burn and my hair feel like dry straw. I was hoping this was going to be the natural shampoo I was looking for. But no it was not."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
redwildflower
Great Product
 June 30, 2015
"I have fine curly hair and find it hard to find a great shampoo than detangles in the shower, without building up, while actually cleaning my hair. Love this stuff!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
renbernac
fromelk grove village, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells wonderful
 June 30, 2015
"A little goes a long way and it moisturizes so nicely. Smells heavenly too"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
azpat
fromPhoenix, az
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
alcohol ingredient
 June 27, 2015
"Dried my hair out. Soaking in coconut oil right now. My hair got brittle began falling out. Not for me"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jess36
fromWilliamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 June 26, 2015
"Great natural shampoo. It has a lovely coconut smell and doesn't feel heavy on my hair. You only have to use a little bit of it to do the job. Great stuff!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCFY
fromUpstate NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Smells good
 June 20, 2015
"Very Highly concentrated, works well, good value for the price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suzieee
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
smells great
 June 19, 2015
"I tried the shampoo and conditioner because it is all natural, cruelty free and on sale, I Love it, smells lightly of coconut, you only need a dab of each, makes a good lather, leaves my hair feeling clean. Easy to comb out after washing!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nancinator
fromPoughkeepsie, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great shampoo!
 June 18, 2015
"Lathers up great, smells yummy, makes my hair nice and soft! A little goes a long way, too. Fantastic!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
NCLaureen
fromWilmington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not for fine hair
 May 31, 2015
"Makes my hair greasy and limp. =(
Will not buy again.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NoNonna
fromLakeland, GA
Gender:Female
I love this shampoo
 May 29, 2015
"I have used this shampoo a while back maybe a couple of years ago. But, kept forgetting to order it again. I sent an order in, and saw this was on sale (YaYaaa) was so glad. I ordered it again, and again am very happy with it. As has been mentioned in other reviews it is pretty hard to squeeze out of tube maybe they will fix that. But, all in all even with having to squeeze a little harder I am just so happy with the smell and results with my hair from using this shampoo. I am ordering more to keep on hand. :~D"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Afande
fromOman
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Best Shampoo for dry hair
 May 26, 2015
"Its my mom Fav shampoo and she asked me to make sure the conditioner is coming with it. Very nice smell and it keep the hair soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goldfinger
fromEustis, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
smells good and cleans your hair
 May 26, 2015
"smells good and cleans your hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mingjing
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Soft and Shiny hair, great scent
 May 25, 2015
"I absolutely love this product that I had to come back and buy a few more while it was on sale. I've used their body lotion and love the scent so I tried the shampoo first. I was surprised with how great my hair looked after the first time I used it. My hair was shiny, silky and soft…haven't gotten that with some other brands lately and the scent is wonderful! I already recommended it to my friend :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mshealth
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just OK
 May 24, 2015
"I like the mild coconut scent of this shampoo. Although it does spread fairly well, it doesn't work too well for thick long hair. I have to use way more just to get it to cover all of my hair. Not bad for the price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeckyJ30
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This is great!
 May 21, 2015
"I have extremely thick hair that I only wash every 2-3 days. This shampoo provides enough lather to penetrate my thick (sometimes very dirty) strands when it is time to wash. It also smells great. My only dislike is that the opening of the tube is very small and it is difficult to get the product out. Overall I am very pleased and will definitely reorder, especially with the low cost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hebec
fromPennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Cleans & Smells Wonderful!
 May 19, 2015
"This shampoo leaves my thick, curly hair feeling soft and clean. I love the coconut aroma as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lou42
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Refreshing
 May 15, 2015
"Your hair not only smells great but feels clean
n and manageable.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skeebush
nice shampoo , great smell
 May 14, 2015
"kinda hard to get the shampoo out of the bottle when squeezing it , but its still great . doesn't dry the hair"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kerb
fromNew york
Love this product
 May 12, 2015
"Great shampoo, it's rich and a little goes a long way. Makes my hair feel thick and full"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Livinonless
fromMiddle Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells like vacation
 May 7, 2015
"I thought i would try this shampoo because the price was great and i wanted a summer scent. Its kind of hard to squeeze it out of the tube. I guess that is a good thing, because a very small amount goes a really long way. A dime size squeeze lathers up my long hair! It smells amazing, like vacation."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next