Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy

Combine dental benefits and fun. Our tasty bacon flavored teething ring keeps dogs interested while the raised tips massage gums and help remove harmful tartar. Featuring a delicious bacon flavor to entice your dog and encourage chewing. Excellent for puppies and strong chewers.
Overall rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
12 out of 15(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Review 1 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Contentment
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
EXCELLENT Chew Toys
 October 19, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have a Sheltie (9 years next month) and a Mini Schnauzer (7 years) that absolutely LOVE these products. I initially bought one of the rings in a supermarket many years ago and it was such a huge hit that I had to keep buying them. As one other consumer stated, I buy 4-6 of these at a time to keep on hand. My dogs have A LOT of toys and chew items and this by far is their favorite. The other is the Hartz Chew N' Clean Assorted Colors Dental Duo Toy and Edible Dog Chew...it looks like a bone with brown bacon stuff in the middle and comes in two sizes. These are the only two chew toys we buy. They love, love, love them. With all the other items available, they go for these every time. Vitacost, you may want to start carrying the bone version too since it's such a popular item. That way I can buy both at one store. Thanks Vitacost for such great service."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
guayabound
fromBuenos Aires
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not too much interest from our Boston
 June 20, 2012
"We had high expectations for this toy based on the reviews, but our Boston Terrier (at 3.5 months now) still shows no interest in this toy. He is MUCH more interested in rawhide bones. I think its because this toy is just too heavy for him. Maybe in a year he will like it better."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ytak18
fromNevada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Dog likes it, but it doesn't last
 January 16, 2012
"My two labs are strong chewers and clearly enjoyed this toy. With all the positive reviews, I was hopeful that this toy would last, but it hasn't. I received the toy just a few days ago and my dogs have torn the toy almost completely down to the plastic ring. Fortunately, the pieces are tiny so they'll pass through them without a problem. I won't be buying this toy again because I don't think it is for "tough chewers" like it is advertised -- more like moderate chewers."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnnetteM
fromColorado Springs, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 January 10, 2012
"I have been buying the Hartz Chew'n Clean Teething ring for my Dachshunds for many years and they love them. The rings are difficult to find in local stores so I have been purchasing them from Vitacost for a couple of years now. I have one dog that chews constantly and I need to replace the ring about every three months, but it’s a great product to keep dogs busy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LucysMomWoW
Dog Loves This
 January 8, 2012
"My dog Lucy and all of my other friend's and families pets think this is one of the best products there dogs have ever enjoyed.I only wish it were available in the stores in our area.
I have introduced my Lucy to many other toys/products,this is by far her ultimate favorite,and she is not a teething puppy.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chickd
 November 29, 2011
"I have been getting this product since my dog was a puppy. He is now 6yrs old. Its like his calm down pacifer.....It does not harm him if he chews and helps his teeth"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MargaretS
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My dog loves this toy
 August 27, 2011
"My dog isn't much on toys. They bore her, but she loves the Hartz chew rings. I buy three at a time so I always have one in the cupboard. They are very durable, one will last about a month."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lmelover
fromRacine, WI
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Hartz Chew'n clean dog teething ring
 April 19, 2011
"We bought this as a toy and it has been a big hit with our terrier. She has a number of toys, but chewing on this is obviously very satisfying to her."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
rallypoppers
fromSoutheastern Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Pup not interested
 March 25, 2011
"I bought this because of the good reviews but my pup, 4 months old, is not very interested in it. It is a hard plastic ring with nubby projections. As far as being bacon flavored, it must be only detectable by a dog. Maybe as he gets older he may show some interest but right now it is being ignored."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nd524
fromMich
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great purchase
 February 11, 2011
"I have 5 small dogs and they all love this chew ring. They will go to this first before any of their other toys. This product seems for them that it is not that easy to chew and rip it apart."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mmcn
Hartz Chew 'n Clean Dog Teething Ring
 August 17, 2010
"I got this for my dog when he was a puppy because he destroyed every toy I got him. He loves this toy!!!! It takes him months to chew this one down. I still buy them for him, and he is going on 7 years old. He knows when they come in the mail and sits and waits for his new ring. It gives him hours of chewing time!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vettedrvr88
fromKershaw, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent product
 July 29, 2010
"My chihuahua is on her second one of these. She loves the different textures on the rings. It is more difficult for her to tear up but she loves trying."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamys
Hartxz Chew & Clean Teething Ring
 June 22, 2010
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"This product is not just for puppies.It helps older dogs clean their teeth and gums.
My dog is a 17 pound Yorkie and heis 7 years old.
This is the ONLY TOY he uses in spite of 3 baskets of toys.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Hartz Chew 'n Clean® Dog Teething Ring -- 1 Toy
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product