Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz

Good For The Skin Bad For The Bug®. USDA Certified Organic. No DEET. Guess what? This is a tried and true formulation blended to strike fear in the hearts of biting insects everywhere. It smells good feels good soothes dry skin and really works - without DEET! Badger Bill personally tested this concept in Tamil Nadu India where the Malaria mosquito is especially fierce and in the biting fly wilderness of the Georgia Okefenokee Swamp. He found it both pleasant to use and very effective at preventing bites.  . Meets EPA 25b Minimum Risk Exempt requirements.
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Review 1 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
12smiles
fromGrand Marais, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
No More Bites
 August 20, 2013
"I live in Michigan's Upper Peninsula, known for it's beautiful scenery and abundant bug population. This product works wonderfully in repelling mosquitoes, black flies, and ticks. I use a few swipes on the tops of my ears, back of my neck and up and down any exposed limbs with great results. The pleasant smell of citronella is enough to keep these bugs at bay. It also works on stable flies (also known as biting flies, or fish flies) but a heavier application is needed. It appears that it is the actual balm on the skin, and not just the scent, that keeps these nasty creatures from biting. I have several sticks so that I can keep one in my purse, as well as my backpack and glove box."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
WendyLiz
fromNY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Effective but strong smell
 August 16, 2013
"I used this on myself and my baby. I like that it actually works. No bites all summer long, whether we were in the park, at the beach it worked. I do think the citronella smell is strong, It gave me a bit of a headache, but then again it works, I just would like the scent to be toned down if possible."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
annonymous1
Age:45-54
works well
 July 27, 2013
"The bug balm worked well for my boys against mosquitoes, however, they had to apply it to all exposed skin, which becomes cumbersome. Scent is pleasantly mild, an neither boy had any skin reaction to the balm. I will purchase this again, once we get low."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
superdf
fromChina
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
great anti-bug products
 June 9, 2013
"I purchased this for my baby daughter. compared with my previous purchase of Burt's bees, California baby, this one is great. I use this when my daughter goes out and sleeps at night. It works so well. I will recommend to my friends."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowedin51
fromnorthern ny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
best bug balm ever!
 May 20, 2013
"we live in black fly territory and being outside is torture in May. Badger balm works great, even when we walk in the woods or work in the garden. I ordered 4 so I could give them to my three sons too!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alohaamy
fromLas Vegas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best natural bug repellant so far!
 February 8, 2013
"I took this to Bali and it worked great. while other travelers looked like they were polka dotted I was bite free! It also makes your skin feel great. It was a little heavy feeling in 85+ weather with 90+ humidity, but I was bite free and chemical free and that is worth it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
maura
fromVirginia
 September 26, 2012
"easy to apply, really works, safe for children"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTfortheplanet
fromMalden, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smelly but great!
 September 9, 2012
"The product makes you smell like a citronella candle, especially when first unpackaged. But, after a while the smell gets a bit more tolerable. It was hard for my kids to have it on. BUT, it works great as a repellent. No bites whenever I have it on. It also doesn't feel heavy on the skin."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenGrannie
fromAnnapolis,MD
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthier Alternative that works
 July 12, 2012
"This bug repellent works well."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
leener
be careful
 June 30, 2012
"it will melt. I live in NC and was camping in the summer and it melted on the hike. Luckily I had it in the ziplock bag. Works well, just must reapply often."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mjune
fromVancouver, BC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This stick packs a punch
 May 24, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Vitacost delivered this product in a timely manner and the price was too good to pass up. I needed a natural alternative to bug repellent products with DEET.
I bought badger's anti-bug balm push-up stick with the intention to bring it camping. We camp at a large lake next to a 50 acre bog/marsh. The bugs are bad! Bugs include mosquitoes, flies, and black flies.
I applied the stick to both temples, behind my ears, along my jaw line, the back of my neckline and near the opening of my sweater and pants.
We got back from camping last night and lets just say I came back from camping without a single bug bite.
I highly recommend this little stick! Two thumbs up!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthandlove
fromSan Francisco
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
First time I didn't get eaten up by bugs!
 May 15, 2012
"I usually get hit with mosquito bites galore when I travel to Florida and this time I came home without one bite! Yay!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SpoonOfLife
fromNY
Gender:Female
It works
 May 1, 2012
"It really works! No chemicals and bad stuff!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JeruvianPrincess
fromOrlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best Bug Repellent!
 August 31, 2011
"I spent a long weekend camping in the Suwanee national park in the middle of the summer and this stick worked so well my entire camping group stopped using their repellents and we all used "the stick". I had to keep it on me at all times because everyone wanted to use it. It was a hot commodity!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fulltimemomtofour
fromSidney, Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best bug repellent for kids!
 August 8, 2011
"I bought this for my 7 year old twins who needed it for summer camp in the deep woods. They do not permit sprays so this tiny size roll-on cream looked perfect and the fact that it is natural and organic was a total plus. It works great!!! The kids do not mind the strong citronella smell and they are not getting eaten alive like they normally do just going into our wooded backyard. Will definitely buy this again and again!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gigi52
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works, but stinky!
 August 5, 2011
"The product works, if you don't mind smelling like a very strong citronella candle! The smell is very pungent, however it does seem to work pretty well.
I use it when working around my wooded property. A little too strong-scented for me to wear in public.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CDez
fromTampa, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Convenient and works great!
 September 14, 2010
"I love this product. I live in Florida and the bugs are BAD. Especially with all the rain we get here. This stuff WORKS, plus fits in my purse or pocket no problem. I love that I can pull it out - rub it on my ankles and arms and be done. Hands free application. Smells strong but I like the smell (and the bugs dont.)"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HPgirlGFree
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best Bug Balm for KIDS
 August 2, 2010
"This is an amazing product that is super easy to get on quickly while your kids are running around. Works extremely well without irritating skin even while hiking and sweating in the woods!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Badger Organic Anti-Bug Balm -- 1.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JerseyBluEyz
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Keeps the Bugs Away
 July 11, 2010
"I use this while sitting on the deck, at the beach, in the woods, and it works. I am always being attacked by bugs everywhere. I'm glad I found a natural bug repellent. I like the convenient roll up stick. You don't have to touch the product to apply it. Its small enough for your purse. Just be sure to apply it to all the exposed skin and you'll be bug free for quite some time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.