Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz

With Oats Aloe & Vitamin E. Anti-Blemish Detoxifying & Healing. Nubian Heritage' s authentic African Black Soap combines Sheaf Butter's healing and hydrating properties with the ancient medicinal properties of palm ash plantain peel tar and tamarind to balance and resolve problem skin. Our deep cleansing formula aids exfoliation and promotes new cell growth to reveal radiant fresh even and healthy-looking skin.
Overall rating:
4.698 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
41 out of 43(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Review 1 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
knowledge777
fromcleveland ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
great product
 March 24, 2014
"love this soap here nothing like it. From the smell all the way to the ingredients great stuff."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
watching45
fromChicago
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Amazing
 March 11, 2014
"My 17 year old acne prone son has had amazing results with this product. It has really controlled his breakouts!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ahmetulke
fromIstanbul
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Amazing product
 March 6, 2014
"Hello guys, this is my second order. I really love this product. I strongly recommend it.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tuck000
Fantastic product
 January 16, 2014
"This soap is terrific, my skin never felt so good. I suffer from episodes of eczema. Both winter and because of a medical condition. It has completely controlled it. Also using it as a shampoo, any dry scalp I had, I clip my head very close, is eliminated. Great shave soap as well!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
taurusgrl
Really works on Acne
 November 25, 2013
"I love this soap. It smells great and really works on my body acne without drying out my skin. When i first tried the product I thought it was a fluke, but when I ran out I went a month without it and started breaking out on my shoulders again during the summer. Now I stock up so I don't have to worry about that again."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sacredsoul
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fragrance way too strong!
 November 24, 2013
"I decided to try this soap for a change, as i usually love Nubian products. This soap's fragrance, however, was so strong out of the box that I didn't even TRY to use it. I just gave it away to a friend. Not only is the fragrance strong, but quite masculine. I do not recommend this product for women or anyone who has trouble with strong smells, even if organic."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jetisa
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
AWESOME FACIAL SOAP
 November 27, 2012
"I was very hesitant about a black soap. But it leaves my skin amazingly clean. I finish up with some witchhazel and have noticed a huge difference in my skin. So glad I tried it....and for the price! amaze!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
snailshopper
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Seems to clear my skin up
 November 4, 2012
"I've tried several Nubian Heritage soaps. I use this particular one when my skin breaks out. It seems to work well to calm my skin and and lessen the severity and length of the breakout. It's lasted me quite awhile since I don't use it consistently. It has "scrubbies" in it so there's some exfoliating action if you use the bar straight on your skin. The scent is mild and clean. I like this soap a lot and I will probably continue to keep it in my skin-care arsenal."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olderbutsmarter
fromBerkshires (MA)
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love the smell and how clean I feel
 October 29, 2012
"Though it leaves a grey/black film, I don't care b/c my skin feels and looks brighter. It has a very clean smell. Definitely in my 'to buy again' list!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
inspiredisaster
fromBronx, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Amazing and smells brilliant
 October 26, 2012
"Its one of the best black soaps I've ever used, and being west african I would know. It smells amazing and works. Its cleared some of my blemishes and really lightened up my skin. I love it."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mvoki
frommission viejo, ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
product that you can trust
 October 16, 2012
"You wouldn't know this product unless you use it. You will notice the feel of your skin right away. I am so happy I found this product."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GoingNatural08
fromMemphis, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Soap!
 September 27, 2012
"Leaves you soft and feeling good. Smells great!! Last long!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
suppercrazy
fromNevada
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Amazing!
 September 26, 2012
"Very moisterizing. leaves skin very soft and bright."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chadendnow
This soap is simply wonderful.
 September 22, 2012
"The first thing you'll notice is that this soap smells wonderful. Unlike your standard Proctor & Gamble options, this soap doesn't have a heavy detergent/perfume smell. My favorite, the African Black soap, has a nice bluish-gray lather. I would recommend trying all Nubian Heritage bar soaps, not because of the supposed beneficial ingredients (Vitamin E, oatmeal, Shea butter, etc) or how they cater to a variety of skin types/conditions with fluffy marketing lingo ("anti-blemish", "detoxifying", etc) but for the pure joy of the unique-while-not-overpowering fragrance and lather. If you're used to using the standard grocery store mulit-packs, you'll never go back. If you're used to higher-end specialty soaps, this is by far the best bang for your buck."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fatfishhuang
fromCHINA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Very good, we all like
 September 21, 2012
"Very strong flavor to the oil works well, and we liked it"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
STech
fromAnchorage, AK
Fresh fruity smell
 September 9, 2012
"Let me first say if you are not using Nubian soaps, you are really missing out. Do a search of the flavors available and give them a try. This African Black soap has a fruity smell that's unlike anything I've used before. Must be from the plantain peel extract and papaya enzymes. This soap foams well and cleans/smells fantastic. Try out any of the Nubian soaps. You won't be disappointed."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mezzogirl
Gender:Female
Very cleansing yet moisturizing.
 September 9, 2012
"I love African Black soap. I can use it on my face as well as my body. It is highly cleansing but has a moisturizing affect."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Qiry
fromchina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
it works
 August 31, 2012
"it makes skin become soft ~~"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MC33
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good
 August 30, 2012
"I saw something like this one dr. oz. I break out on my face occasionally so I thought I would try it. It's ok. My husband says it makes his face feel soft. I like the fragrance. It does leave black residue if I touch the shower curtain w/soapy hands."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sararenee
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
So glad I tried this
 August 26, 2012
"This soap is awesome. I love the scent. I love the exfoliating grains. I feel clean after using it. I'm excited to try some of their other products!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next