Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz

With Oats Aloe & Vitamin E. Anti-Blemish Detoxifying & Healing. HERITAGE: African Black Soap made from palm ash tamarind extract and plantain peel has been used in Africa for centuries to treat eczema blemishes oily skin psoriasis and other skin ailments. Historical references to Shea Butter a staple of African pharmacology date back to the reported Shea Butter caravans of Cleopatra's Egypt.  . Nubian Heritage' s authentic African Black Soap combines Shea Butter's healing and hydrating properties with the ancient medicinal properties of palm ash plantain peel tar and tamarind to balance and resolve problem skin. The deep cleansing formula aids exfoliation revealing radiant fresh even and healthy-looking skin.
Overall rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
70 out of 73(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Review 1 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBrampton, Ontario, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it!
 April 29, 2016
" This product is great quality. It smells great and feels amazing on your skin. I've heard that it is very good for clearing up skin. I haven't used it long enough to see a change yet, but it feels very nourishing. I've already started telling my friends about it. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDenver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this soap!
 April 4, 2016
" Have been using this soap for about a year. I love it and use it almost exclusively as a face wash. Moisturizes and soothes and smells good. Only thing is is does leave a black residue behind so needs a soap dish. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBedford, NH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this soap
 February 23, 2016
" I like this soap because it is natural and my daughter who use to have very sensitive skin now very happy. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCable, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
By far best face wash I've ever tried!
 February 9, 2016
" I love love love this African Black Soap!!! It is by far the most effective facial wash I've ever had. Washing my face every morning and evening with this amazing bar had made my skin spotless, smooth, and radiant! Anytime I try a different face wash I kick myself. This stuff is simply and by far, the best. You will not regret buying this ever! And it smells good too. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNewnan Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Excellent product
 January 13, 2016
" I've been looking for this type of soap for awhile now. It's really great and won't leave your skin dry or ashy. It's great with a blend of tea tree oil. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product!
 November 5, 2015
" This is an excellent bath soap. It does not dry out your skin and my daughter uses it because it also helps to clear up blemishes and brightens her complexion. This line of products are great. Highly recommended. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great soap!
 October 26, 2015
" this soap is fabiulous for anyone with sensitive acne prone skin. It cleanses without stripping the skin of essential oils so you are not left feeling dry. It has a big lather, albeit a nearly black lather - but one that is very luxurious. I finish off with the African Black lotion. Love the scent! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNEW JERSEY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
love this soap
 September 22, 2015
" I love this soap made my face so nice , no more pimples , soft and smooth "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful soap
 August 3, 2015
" I have been looking for more natural products for our family. I particularly wanted something for myself and my pre-teen daughter to help with blemishes. We have had fewer blemishes and my skin feels so much smoother since using this soap. The bar lasts longer than traditional bar soap and doesn't break into pieces, so it is cost effective for us. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
FOR ALL SKIN TYPES
 July 22, 2015
" It mentions on the packaging that it's for oily troubled skin, but my skin is neither, it's dry and it works as if it was made for my skin and doesn't dry it out. It keeps it clean and well maintained, and smells wonderful. I believe this soap simply adapts to whatever your skin type. Wish I knew about it as a teen, but glad I found it now. And the price is good, and the bar lasts a long time. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromGlendale Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love the way it feels
 July 9, 2015
" I only got this for acne - I love that it has little hard pieces in it so it feels like I am even getting cleaner, great after feel, soft. This particular one however has more of like a men's smell, I don't mind it at all, and it doesn't linger, but if you don't like that type of smell you won't like it. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBoston
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great soap!!
 June 21, 2015
" Heals, softens and smells great too! What more can you ask for in a soap?
I have been using the soap for a a little more than a year. I am 54 years old with brown skin. I get a lot of compliments of how smooth my skin is. This soap gets rid of all my blemishes. I highly recommend it.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromwichita,KS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 May 18, 2015
" Smells good and leaves your skin feeling soft. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it!
 March 26, 2015
" I really like this product, it helped clear up my skin and keeps it soft and smooth. No recent break out =) "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
LOVE!!
 February 12, 2015
" This is the most gentle soap on my skin, and has greatly improved my acne, along with making my skin much softer and smoother! Recommended! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromcroatia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
using it over and over again
 February 10, 2015
" So many times I left review,what do you want more,cheap,natural,smells great,big size..To good to be truth "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great!
 February 6, 2015
" Great scent. Nice body feel. Husband and I both love. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMiami Beach
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
They Make Good Soap!
 January 16, 2015
" I have been using the Nubian Heritage Black Seed Soap for a few years and decided to try the African Black soap. Both lather well, are long lasting, smell delicious and have good ingredients.
The Black Seed is still my favorite, but both are almost equal. The Black Seed contains wild honey and apricot oil and the smell is wonderful. But the African Black runs a close second and has a slightly stronger smell. Really nice, similar scents with both.
I tried the Coconut and Papaya a few years ago and it had no scent. There are excellent reviews on this soap, so maybe I got a 'defective' bar. I'll possibly try it again some day. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frommontreal
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great soap
 January 6, 2015
" Definitely one of tthe best I've tried! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nubian Heritage Bar Soap African Black -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromatlanta, ga
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
All natural soap amazing product
 December 23, 2014
" This product is excellent. It has no harsh sulfates or parabens and leaves your skin moisturized not dry. I have 3c/4a texture hair and even use it as shampoo some days. love! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next