Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Dairy & Dairy Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz

Cultured Milk You Can Drink. Great Source of Friendly Bacteria. Easy and Inexpensive. No Electrical Appliance Needed . All Natural. Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter for the best homemade kefir.  . Yogourmet kéfir starter is prepared from selected strains of dairy cultures and yeast as well as kéfir grains so that each batch you make produces excellent quality kéfir. Yogourmet kéfir starter does not require the use of a yogurt maker since the milk is incubated at room temperature for about 24 hours. Each box contains 3 envelopes of 2 X 5 grams and each envelope makes 2 litres of kéfir or 6 quarts.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Review 1 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dollygirl
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great kefir
 November 11, 2014
"Easy to do and great results! Very creamy! Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
schnupfel
fromGreenville, SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product is good
 November 11, 2014
"Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter is easy to make a good tasting kefir. I use organic whole milk, is ready in 24 hours and tastes great.
Good product for a reasonable price.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lisama
fromFallon, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good and easy
 September 23, 2014
"I have just started to make my own kefir and these handy packets make the process so much easier to make. I was buying store bought kefir, which I really liked, but the cost was adding up fast. I prefer the ease of making at home and Bella-Bella makes it simple to do. I will continue to use this brand."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
magpie3
fromAlberta, Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
versatile and keeps a long time
 August 26, 2014
"I like to use this with soy or almond milk. It's great to use in recipes calling for buttermilk or yogurt. If you store the package in the fridge it will keep for a year or more."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
FitGirly
fromNapa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just as described
 August 14, 2014
"Makes great kefir! Absolutely happy with this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisaCPA2000
fromAustin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Easy, tasty and keeps on going
 July 28, 2014
"I've made kefir from other grains and this one was easier to get started and one package has been going 6 weeks now, making about 2-4 cups per day. Once the kefir is just barely starting to separate from the whey I strain it and add fresh milk to the grains left in the sieve. When we left for the weekend I just put in 1/4 cup of milk and sealed it in the refrigerator. I've now made cream cheese and am working on being patient to allow the remaining whey to drain to produce a very close proximity to the white table cheese, Serbian sir."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gipsymom
fromAtlanta
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Simple and delicious!
 May 11, 2014
"I have made yogurt before but not kefir. After being told by the doctor my son should be drinking kefir and paying $5 a quart at Whole Foods, I looked into making my own. I ordered this kit and have made several quarts that is so easy to make, tastes delicious, and costs a fraction of what retail prices are. I will be ordering this again."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vegetarian1
frommiami,fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very good buy
 February 18, 2014
"I tried and it taste good and makes my digestive system very regular. I don't recommend with alternative milk because it doesn't taste good and it doesn't turn to yogurt like consistency."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peca
fromTexas
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Worked like a charm
 November 17, 2013
"I used I/2 gallon organic milk and made it in my slow cooker. Then started 3 more batches from the kefir I had already made. So it is pretty economical plus easy to do."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ingrid
fromLacey, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Easy Kefir
 September 7, 2013
"I had never made Kefir before and found this to be a quick, easy way to do it. I use my Kefir in my daily protein smoothy and it gives it a nice little tang. I'll buy this again."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jen2xtreme
fromChicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great homemade kefir
 July 3, 2013
"I used this kefir starter with raw milk. Easy to use and made great kefir each time. Can't beat the pricing on here either."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bosheers
makes great kefir
 September 12, 2012
"This product is very easy to use and it makes great Kefir. Use with organic milk and you can save some money by making your own kefir!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jfl1950
fromJacksonville, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Try it you'll like it.
 June 17, 2012
"Works great and taste good. I used mine with Pasteurized whole milk but never use ultra Pasteurized. It seems to make a good spread if you use goats milk, I used the powdered Goat Milk.
One thing is if you drink or use milk a lot then you find you can keep using it but if your like me only use milk every once in a while then the 6 packets is great.
"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dolphindeb
fromQuebec, Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 June 12, 2012
"Easily makes healthy kefier! I never however heat the milk as suggested on the package, no need. Just heat to room temp."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carmelo
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Homemade Kefir
 April 22, 2012
"Wonderful homemade kefir! I have used both goat's and cow's whole milk. I leave at room temp for 2 days.. Nice and creamy..."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pauswa
fromLake Elsinore, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Delicious
 December 2, 2011
"Tastes better than buttermilk. It tastes very similar to real kefir that I have had before. I made mine with goat milk and it was really yummy. It can be used the same as buttermilk in baking. I will be buying more of this product."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Eagle60
Wouldn't do it again
 November 6, 2011
"Didn't notice any value. We wanted to use it in raw milk and not head the milk, so maybe that is why. 60% of the packages will sit in the fridge until I get around to tossing them. Went on line to get a different strain of live kefir, which just came."
-16points
3of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lepard
 May 6, 2011
"The liquid yogurts on the market are sooo expensive. Decided to try kefir because it's the most powerful active Probiotics avail. I purchased this homemade package and was impressed how easy it was to make a "batch" of Kefir. I added some vanila syrup and it was better than what you can buy in the grocery store, not to mention the cost is fantastic!
I'll be making more!
"
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product