Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Almond Milk or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz

Live and Active Cultures. No Appliance Needed. Make Fresh Kefir At Home. Contains 6x5 Gram Packets. Easy and economical. No preservatives. No coloring agents
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
31 out of 34(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Review 1 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
golflvr
fromMurrieta CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Tasty kefir
 February 26, 2016
"One day kefir culture that really tastes good. I add a bit of stevia and vanilla.It give you friendly bacteria for digestive health."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthySister2015and16
fromDetroit, Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 February 6, 2016
"This product is easy to use and very helpful to my health"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Schwarmerei
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
mostly dummy proof
 October 28, 2015
"Super easy: just add to heated milk and let sit for 24 hours. I'd say out of 3 dozen batches, one or two didn't take... not sure why. But much cheaper than store-bought kefir, delicious, and easy."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ShariB
fromWA state
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
TOO HOT for the LIVE CULTURES to SURVIVE!
 October 21, 2015
"When it gets to the BOILING point (or close to it), ALL the LIVE cultures in kefir & yogurt gets killed off- just like pasturizing it does..."
-33points
3of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Park4
fromErie Colorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Product is easy to use
 September 10, 2015
"Making my own yougurt for over 5 years and hard to find in stores.
Makes it easy to purchase when I am purchasing other vitamins through Vita cost.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HummingbirdFeeder
fromSan Mateo
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great addition to your smoothie
 September 4, 2015
"These kefir packets are fantastic. If you follow the directions on the box, you'll have a liter of kefir in about 24 hours, with little work (boiling milk, wait for it to cool, add crystals, cover and let sit on counter for a day). Making your own kefir is cheaper than buying store bought, and you can cut out the unwanted sugar most companies add to their products at retail grocery stores. This box makes (6) 1L servings, so you definitely get bang for your buck. Adding kefir to my diet has helped me increase my probiotic daily intake for better gut health."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromGladstone, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Makes Great Kefir
 August 5, 2015
"This product makes great kefir and is exceptionally easy to use. The directions are easy to follow and clearly printed on the box. I've used this with cow's milk and almond milk and it has always turned out well. The taste is decent (and I don't add sweetener). It seems to really help my stomach and digestion."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whill15
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Easy to use
 May 29, 2015
"Works perfectly and saves a ton of money. Instead of paying $5 for a quart of kefir at the store just one packet of this will get you many half gallons of homemade kefir at only the cost of milk. Also, much better quality than store bought."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitaBeach
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Love this product
 April 3, 2015
"I've made several quarts of kefir using Yogormet and 2% organic milk. Following the package directions has always resulted in a creamy consistency with that yogurt tang taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Moi5
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Will not purchase again
 March 3, 2015
"I've been making Keifer for awhile and decided to try this product.
Followed the direction and even bought a themometer.
Did not thicken so wasted money on product, milk and thermometer.
"
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IndigoLover
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Fast, simple, delicious
 February 23, 2015
"This was so easy and turned my plain soymilk into a fabulous milkshake like beverage that is also giving me benefits. I couldn't stop making it and drinking it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chewbacca
fromJohnson City, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
KEFIR STARTER
 December 23, 2014
"This product makes a delicious tasting kefir. I usually add vanilla flavoring and 10 drops of stevia per quart. Or to drink it plain is very good. The cost is less than what you pay for it in the store."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stargazer51
fromWyoming
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
easy to make
 November 29, 2014
"I love kefir, and it's so much cheaper to make it yourself!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dollygirl
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great kefir
 November 11, 2014
"Easy to do and great results! Very creamy! Love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
schnupfel
fromGreenville, SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product is good
 November 11, 2014
"Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter is easy to make a good tasting kefir. I use organic whole milk, is ready in 24 hours and tastes great.
Good product for a reasonable price.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lisama
fromFallon, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good and easy
 September 23, 2014
"I have just started to make my own kefir and these handy packets make the process so much easier to make. I was buying store bought kefir, which I really liked, but the cost was adding up fast. I prefer the ease of making at home and Bella-Bella makes it simple to do. I will continue to use this brand."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
magpie3
fromAlberta, Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
versatile and keeps a long time
 August 26, 2014
"I like to use this with soy or almond milk. It's great to use in recipes calling for buttermilk or yogurt. If you store the package in the fridge it will keep for a year or more."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
FitGirly
fromNapa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just as described
 August 14, 2014
"Makes great kefir! Absolutely happy with this product."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisaCPA2000
fromAustin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Easy, tasty and keeps on going
 July 28, 2014
"I've made kefir from other grains and this one was easier to get started and one package has been going 6 weeks now, making about 2-4 cups per day. Once the kefir is just barely starting to separate from the whey I strain it and add fresh milk to the grains left in the sieve. When we left for the weekend I just put in 1/4 cup of milk and sealed it in the refrigerator. I've now made cream cheese and am working on being patient to allow the remaining whey to drain to produce a very close proximity to the white table cheese, Serbian sir."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Yogourmet Freeze-Dried Kefir Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gipsymom
fromAtlanta
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Simple and delicious!
 May 11, 2014
"I have made yogurt before but not kefir. After being told by the doctor my son should be drinking kefir and paying $5 a quart at Whole Foods, I looked into making my own. I ordered this kit and have made several quarts that is so easy to make, tastes delicious, and costs a fraction of what retail prices are. I will be ordering this again."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next