Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz

A unique botanical blend rids hair of excess oils impurities and product build-up without stripping natural essential oils. Fresh citrus extract cleanses hair and scalp while achieving maximum shine leaving you with glossy radiant hair.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
7 out of 9(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Monkey999
fromWest Chester, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Rather Drying
 August 1, 2014
"I have colored, somewhat dry, hair, and this is a bit too strong for me. When I put it on my hair, it feels like straw. I have to follow up with a conditioning shampoo in order to get my hair back to manageable. This might work well for someone with oilier hair though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RenaissanceLass
fromPhoenix, AZ
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 June 16, 2014
"I was looking for something that would clean my hair without depositing any conditioning type ingredients that build up and make my hair flat, lifeless and dull. After reading the ingredient list of this shampoo I decided to take a chance with it and I am so glad that I did. This shampoo cleans very nicely without over stripping and drying out my color treated hair. It has a very nice scent and foams up nicely. My hair has lots of body and the natural wave is accented. The price is fantastic for such a great shampoo and I will continue to use this regularly. It is one of the best shampoos I have found in a very long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
envirogeeky
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great gentle poo...
 December 20, 2013
"This shampoo gently removes any buildup in my wavy hair without stripping it or making it dry. It seems to get rid of polyquats, hard water buildup and styling residue. The smell is lovely and citrusy like grapefruit, and verbena."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Renilov44
fromNewark, NJ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair smells funky after using
 August 29, 2013
"Don't know whats out of balance but will not be buying again. My scalp smells off after I use this. Currently following it up with another shampoo just to finish it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ecletic
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Cleans without stripping your hair..
 March 2, 2013
"Gentle and mild shampoo that cleans without stripping your hair of natural oils. Great smell also. Good bargin for a natural clarifying shampoo."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jezzi
fromTN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good
 October 16, 2012
"May be the best shampoo I've found in awhile. Many of the sulfate free shampoos I've tried seem to undermine the oil and protein treatments I do to my hair by dulling it. This one keeps my hair shiny between those applications without any stripping unlike sulfate based shampoos. I think it has something to do with the PH of this shampoo (slightly acidic) which really helps. A real keeper."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
natalie29
fromWarwick,RI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love this shampoo
 May 15, 2012
"I love how my hair looks and I love the smell also."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicesmilegal
fromRochester, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Pleased With This
 January 14, 2012
"I have such a hard time finding a clarifying shampoo that is naturally-based! This creates a huge amount of suds (unusual for some natural products), and does smell very nice. It helps to remove the film left from hairspray and conditioners."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Pure & Basic Clarifying Shampoo Citrus -- 12 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product