Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Massage or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)

High-quality 100% natural pure essential oil for aromatherapy use. Peppermint oil is invigorating energizing and stimulating. What is Vitacost Peppermint Oil? Vitacost Peppermint oil is a 100% pure highly concentrated undiluted extract that’s steam-distilled from leaves of the Mentha piperita (peppermint) plant. The main volatile components of peppermint oil are menthol and menthone. Its leaves also contain phenolic constituents including rosmarinic acid and flavonoids such as hesperidin and luteolin. Peppermint oil is a favorite for aromatherapists due to its strong medicinal aroma. Essential oils may also be used for household purposes such as room fragrance (using a diffuser or humidifier) laundry cleaning dish washing and more.  . Note this product does not have a dropper insert. If the plastic seal has adhered to the bottle opening remove it and place it back in the cap.  . How does Vitacost Peppermint Oil support health? Aromatherapy practices may include massage inhalation full-body bath hand/foot bath facial steaming facial masks compresses spritzers and perfume. Why choose Vitacost Peppermint Oil? Steam-distilled for purity quality and safety. 100% pure essential oil available at a much better value than other similar products on the market. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.677 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
91 out of 96(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Review 1 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromBuckeye, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
True peppermint
 July 20, 2014
"Same for all the essentials I have used from the "house brand" they are TRUE to the scent. Not a knock off or a lower quality, they are right up there with the normal brands I use. I love this peppermint- it's not a mix of other mints- this is just the way it should be!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rebelmamma
fromTennessee
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Works great so far...............
 July 5, 2014
"It was suggested I put peppermint oil on cotton balls, put them under sinks, etc, to rid my house of a recent mouse problem. So far my house smells great - and the mouse seems to not like it - good for me! This Pure Peppermint Oil is strong, a great size and an acceptable price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jesusloves
fromKeller, texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
look forward to using more
 June 5, 2014
"I purchased this oil to mix with Vitacost coconut oil and use on arms & legs to keep away mosquitos in the summer. Haven't got to that yet. I did put a drop in my coconut oil/baking soda toothpaste & probably shouldn't have done that since oil is not edible. I prefer the taste of the coconut oil/baking soda without the peppermint oil in it. I will put a drop on cotton ball & suck it up in my vacuum cleaner to see if it helps keep the bag smelling fresh. Will be looking for ideas on how to use this. Huge bottle may last forever."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very aromatic
 May 23, 2014
"Very satisfied with this oil. Great product. Great quality. Great price.
GREAT smell!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
frugile
fromLouisville
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
peppermint oil
 May 7, 2014
"Been buying for 4 years great stuff but every year it seems like getting watered down.
Last batch was lot weaker than past.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
colormepink
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Very versatile!
 April 28, 2014
"I originally purchased this to ward off unwelcome pests going into my home. We had a small mice problem earlier in the year and Google recommended using peppermint oil to ward them off because they supposedly hate the smell--well, Google was wrong. Nevertheless, I ended up using this as a cleaning solution instead. I mix it with water and poured it in a spray bottle to clean my home. Now my home smells like peppermint! (On a side note, if you plan to use this to ward off pests, don't. I suggest calling an exterminator--which is what we did)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bertai
fromFort Collins, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Awesome!
 April 17, 2014
"Excellent essential oil :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chickiedita
fromChicago, Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 April 7, 2014
"Peppermint oil has a lot of benefits for the hair and senses. I recently purchase to ward off spiders in my home. :-)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
diy60
fromBirmingham, AL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
What a bargain for what you get!
 February 13, 2014
"Essential oils can be pricey, and the Vitacost brand is a bargain. Diluted with filtered water, I mist this on bare skin to repel mosquitos and to cool myself during hot southern summers. I also spray to discourage mice, ants and other vermin. Once walking my dog, another aggressive dog streaked toward us to attack my dog. I shot him in the face with the peppermint spray I carry with me (simply peppermint oil & filtered water in a small tiny glass bottle). As effective as pepper spray and not as harmful to the dog! Now, the aggressive dog is very wary of us, and all I need to do is spray a little of the oil behind us if he begins to stalk us. He remembers, and slinks off!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1mamac
fromFlorence South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 February 10, 2014
"It is just as good as the Now brand."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mir89
fromCalifornia
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it, but hate the drop cap.
 February 5, 2014
"I loved it! It smell amazing and taste awesome in my diy toothpaste. The built in dropper sucks and fell out and lost some peppermint oil. I tired to reinsert it but it won't go back in...i guess i will have to invest in some droppers."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Livinonless
fromMiddle Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very strong
 January 17, 2014
"Be careful! This is very strong. It doesn't have a drip control top and I spilled some on my skin and burned it. Even after washing it off with soap and water. I'm not complaining, just warning you. It's very pure and very potent. I'm going to buy some eye droppers and keep them rubber banded to the bottles that don't have drip tops. But,...it smells great. We will be mixing with water and spraying to keep spiders away. We have already sprayed a wasp hive with it and it worked better than the cans of wasp control. It's great to use as a fabric freshener."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BostonBonnie
fromBoston
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
smells good & works well
 December 6, 2013
"I use this instead of underarm deodorant. Smells better than any deodorant. Dries quickly & instead of leaving a deodorant smell on clothes - makes my tops smell great. I can wear them longer instead of having to launder after wearing just once."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
EssentialOilsJunkie
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Don't Waste Your Money
 December 5, 2013
"Smells so bad that I could never use it for aromatherpy. Has some type of a chemical smell which I have never experienced with other brands of peppermint essential oils. I was looking for a less expensive brand and wasted my money on two 4 oz. bottles of the stuff."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aprilswe1
fromathens,al
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product works wonders
 November 30, 2013
"I bought this product to keep spiders out of my apt. and it works plus my apt. smells great"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jones2525
fromNashville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great smelling peppermint!
 November 29, 2013
"If you want great smelling peppermint, Vitacost peppermint oil is excellent. I use it for soap making. It is one of my best sellers. You can not beat the price."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Golferlady
fromSCC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product helps with clearing sinuses.
 November 26, 2013
"I love this product. I feel my nose getting stuffy and I put this on the top of my hand and keep smelling it it clears my nasal passages. Were ever you rub the peppermint on it warms the area."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Medusa32356
fromSavannah, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great value!
 November 23, 2013
"I normally only purchase Aura Cacia essential oils. I thought I would try the Vitacost brand as it was on sale for 20% off. I will use it on cotton balls around my house as a spider & pest deterrent. I have had no problems with spiders, silverfish, or other bugs since I started placing cotton balls with a 2-3 drops of peppermint oil around my house. I refresh the cotton balls every 3-4 weeks. I cannot detect a difference in the aroma of the Vitacost brand so hopefully, it will be of the same quality. It is certainly more cost effective as I use quite a bit of the oil monthly. I will certainly purchase again if it performs as well. I will know within a month."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peppermintoil
Used this as a deterrant for mice
 November 21, 2013
"One year ago, we had small mice coming to our kitchen and it was impossible to catch them using regular traps. The baits didn't work. Then I read about Peppermint oil. I put small cotton balls in small plastic cups and placed them where I found droppings. I also sprinkled on carpets and rugs. It worked. One point to make is, do this when the weather turns cold. I would recommend about November, before thanksgiving, replenish the supply before the weather gets cold and they creep in. It is safe and has no odor."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost 100% Pure Peppermint Oil -- 4 fl oz (118 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gsand1
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great oil!
 November 15, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Love this peppermint oil! The fragrance is simply delightful! I use it for many things, but my favorite usage is in my handmade soaps! My customers love my peppermint soap! Can't beat the price, either for such a pure product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next