Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz

Certified Organic Ingredients. With Oats Aloe Vera And Sandalwood Oil. Acne-Fighting Detoxifying And Healing  The Nubian Heritage African Black Soap line combines the ancient medicinal properties of black soap with the hydrating properties of Shea Butter to balance problem skin. Our traditional African Black Soap recipe Contains palm ash plantain peel extract tamarind extract and papaya enzymes. This powerful combination has traditionally been used to treat eczema acne oily skin psoriasis and other skin ailments. In the apothecary tradition Nubian Heritage updates African Black Soap with active botanical extracts and salicylic acid to more effectively treat acne balance skin tone and improve skin texture. Daily use of the line will result in cleaner clearer healthier skin. Benefits: effective skin care targets trouble skin without over drying.  
Overall rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
10 out of 13(77%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
taurusgrl
fromAustin, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product, but very thick
 November 25, 2013
"It has a great smell and really helps moisturize my skin, but like the other reviews have said its very thick so it can be very difficult to get out of the bottle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JS12
fromDel Mar CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Thick and absorbing
 August 1, 2013
"This lotion is so thick it takes work to get it out of the container! Keep it upside down and shake it vigorously to get out the contents. I feel that it's a great lotion that goes on thick but absorbs quickly, however, it's very sweet smelling with a bit of musk and may be too sweet for my taste. I do like the Nubian Heritage products and will try more of their lotions."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chicagoarea
fromChicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best
 June 22, 2013
"Nubian Heritage bakes the best lotions and body washes. I will always buy them. I have tried many-many products and I will stay with this brand - luxury feeling, wonderful smell, lasts long. Never again I will go with a different brand."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoyfulYogi
fromBoston, MA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great stuff
 April 3, 2013
"This lotion is THICK. But it works really great. I've been dropping a few drop of Calendula oil and mixing it up before applying it to my skin, and it's really helped my skin heal and aided in hydration. I'd strongly recommend this lotion to anyone who has chronically dry skin, especially when dryness is accompanied by irritated, not-so-pretty patches. A big thanks to VitaCost for supplying such great, high-quality items with safe ingredients at such affordable prices!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mashkin
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
very good lotion
 February 20, 2013
"this is the second time i purchased this lotion, it has a very thick consistency but it's not oily and absorbs very well.
i use it before i go to bed and the skin is hydrated all through the next day.
the scent is also nice and not too strong.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
deeliza
fromPiscataway, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Moisturizer
 October 4, 2012
"I do agree with the reviewers that this is extremely thick, but that does not subtract from the benefits. It is a winter moisturizer, however It does not cause breakouts, which is a major benefit to me as my skin is very sensitive to products. The smell is not overpowering, but mild. I cut open the plastic bottle & scrape contents into an empty old body cream jar, problem solved. I also mix in either vit e or jojoba oil to make it a little lighter & to add more moisture, it can seem a little dry at times. Overall I purchase this over and over along with the body wash. To thin the body wash, I add Dr Woods pure black liquid soap. I love the results I get from these products."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Devra
fromProvidence, RI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I really like the Black Soap Extract Lotion
 September 17, 2012
"This is another thicker cream, but after using it for two years I find that along with several other Nubian Heritage products, I return to this over and over. It is too thick for summer use, but sometimes I use it just on my face and chest where I have age spot and blood vessel and skin tag issues. This lotion works remarkably well at reducing all of those things in a very noticeable way. Enough to have me buy it and keep it in stock even when I sometimes prefer using one of the other lighter lotions all over my body more regularly. The scent is unusual and not very noticeable on my skin. No one seems to notice it like some of the other scents. I like it, but not for 24/7. I consider the creams very thick if I can't put one of my pumps on the top and have it work. This cream is too thick for that and you have to bang the bottle upside down to squeeze this cream out. I wish Nubian Heritage would make all the creams looser and consistently easier to get out of the bottles."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
deeneegee
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
pleasant scent
 April 22, 2012
"the scent of this product is nice enough but i agree with the reviewers that say it is a hard product to get out of the container and it goes on very thick.. it takes a while to rub into the skin... more of a skin cream than a lotion."
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
leelala
fromTN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
too thick; no help from manufacturer
 February 9, 2012
"I wanted to love this as I like the Dr Woods Black Soap. I liked that it was all organic. Read the reviews that said it was too thick and thought some of those are old reviews, surely by now they would have fixed that problem. Product received and guess what, too thick to get *any* out. Had to stick finger in to try it. Liked that it smells like sandalwood incense. Contacted the manufacturer by searching on their website and sending email asking for solution. No response. Emailed vitacost and they offered refund upon return. Thank you. Decided to keep it. Cut open bottle to get at product. It is super dry, not creamy at all. can only be spread evenly on skin if skin is moist and warm from bath."
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazzbear
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Very good lotion!
 October 13, 2011
"Very good lotion!It might have been less thick.But,it might be needed to sacrifice the % of the ingridients.Don't change the formula.Just improve it by adding more salicylic acid say,or whatsoever..."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
missyD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Gotta have this product
 February 28, 2011
"I started purchasing this product at my local health food store, absolutely love it. I requested that Vitacost carry it since at that time the were not stocking any of Nubian Heritage product. I am so glad that Vitacost have this product at a reasonable price. I loveee the smell and that it last a long time, I don't have to use any chemical base lotion but get the same results; smell goooood. Could be a little lighter in texture, but overall good."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Luv2Shop27
fromNashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not Recommended
 June 26, 2010
"This product is extremely thick and very difficult to squeeze out of the bottle. Once out of the bottle, I found it very challenging to rub and soak into your skin. The smell quite strong and bothersome and it did not dissipate with time."
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Lotion -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mariahlove
fromSeatlle, Wa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Pure lotion for a great price
 June 16, 2010
"I love how pure and natural the ingrediants are in all of the Nubian products. This lotion is no exception, however it is more like a thick creme than a lotion. It absorbs well but is so thick that it's difficult to get out of the container. I don't really know how this would help with acne, but it hydrates the skin nicely. Over all I am satisfied. One thing that is interesting to me is that the papaya coconut lotion that is supposed to address dry mature skin, smells fantasic but is much less thick and absorbent than this creme. I think they got the intended skin types swapped. But you can't beat the price or purity of ingrediants."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.