Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz

Anti-Aging. Healing. Protecting. Cruelty Free. Heritage: Historical references to Shea Butter a staple of African pharmacology date back to the reported Shea Butter caravans of Cleopatra's Egypt. Shea Butter is enriched with essential fatty acids which moisturize and soften skin. Frankincense known for its toning and anti-aging properties also has aromatherapeutic benefits. Myrrh can be dated back to an Ebers papyrus (circa 1580 BC) recipe for a facial mask. Our traditional Raw Shea Butter Soap is rich in essential vitamins and nourishing ingredients including Vitamin E soy milk and cocoa butter infused with a special essential oil blend of Frankincense Myrrh Cardamom Ginger and Black Pepper which promotes an aromatic experience. Nubian Heritage is the brainchild of two New York street vendors. In 1992 fresh out of college and without jobs Rich and Nyema embarked on a mission to produce luxurious natural products from traditional African recipes with organic and fair trade ingredients. Today Nubian Heritage offers hundreds of culturally authentic natural products inspired by global ancient healing philosophies. Although Nubian Heritage products are no longer made in bath tubs little else has changed; the company still makes its products itself still uses fair trade and organic ingredients and still invests in community commerce.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(176 reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 176 reviews
5 Stars
149
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
163 out of 176(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Review 1 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Logdog
fromSeattle
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I LOVE
 March 28, 2015
"We are almost done with the first bar. The smell and feel is amazing. The whole bathroom smells amazing. After getting out of the shower my skin feels and smells so good. My husband and I both love it. I just ordered more and more scents too, can't wait to try them!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LilyPB
fromBoston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
all natural at the right price
 March 22, 2015
"Great smell and nice to know the soap is all natural."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cottonwood
fromNorthbrook, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yummy Smell and Feel
 March 19, 2015
"One of my FAVORITE soaps...luxurious!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
preacherswife18
fromFairhope, Al
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells incredible
 March 15, 2015
"Great soap with a wonderful smell at a great price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Akhi
 March 14, 2015
"I like the smell. It lathers very well and it last a long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ljfmoose
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
lasts a long time
 March 8, 2015
"I have this in the shower, mainly for my husband. I like that the scent isn't too strong, and isn't too 'feminine' smelling either. Lasts a long time and has natural ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Larichetty
fromDenver, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great quality, strong smell
 February 27, 2015
"Too strong smell for me, however pleasant and my son loves it!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tax4free
fromgeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 February 12, 2015
"I purchase this soap because I do not like all the chemical in other soap. This is organic and very reasonable priced. It has amazing smell to it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
193tj65
fromOregon
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
The smell is Wonderful!
 February 3, 2015
"I first ordered 2 bars of this soap and LOVED it so much that I ordered 6 more. You will love this soap!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaop
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This soap is heavenly!
 February 1, 2015
"Besides smelling wonderful, this soap is rich and creamy and ultra-moisturizing. Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NurseJohnson
fromSouth Jersey, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
love the smell
 January 26, 2015
"I love this scent. And that soap cleanse my face extremely well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
customer1111
Age:25-34
Overpowering scent -- "natural fragrance" added?
 November 21, 2014
"I have a difficult time believing this soap doesn't have added fragrance in addition to any essential oils. The smell is just so strong and it remains so for many hours after a shower. None of the many other natural soaps I've used have done this.
I ordered another variety of this company's soap and the ingredients on the box note "natural fragrance and/or essential oil." Vitacost web site does not reflect this on its web site, listing only "essential oil blend." I suspect they are using added fragrance in this variety, too.
Would like to return it but it is probably not worth the money. If you like Bath & Bodyworks-style strong smells then maybe you will like it. Otherwise I would recommend a different soap."
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TofuPowered
fromColumbia, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Doesn't dry hands - Only bar soap I'll use!
 November 7, 2014
"I'm a frequent hand washer. While I'm at work I'll wash my hands a few times an hour. At home, I'll wash them every hour or so.
This bar soap is the only soap (liquid or bar) that will never dry out my hands. For a while I went with a cheaper soap I got on sale, and my hands cracked.
Most of the negative reviews are about the smell. It has a strong smell, but it smells good. It's a unique smell that most people can't quite place. I wish this fragrance came in a spray!
Regardless of the smell, it does moisturize. As an experient, I'd take my dry cracking hands and let the soap lather sit for a minute before rinsing it off. It was like I'd put lotion on my hands!
This is the only soap I'll use now!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmvelez
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I love the scent
 September 26, 2014
"I found this soap at a well known, over priced health food store. I loved the scent so much that I had to buy a bar then. I was sniffing the box all the way through the store and on the way home. I bought a few extra recently because they are less expensive here than there. I don't use this soap daily, my husband does. I have been using and olive oil soap that is doing wonders for dry skin. I have used it on occasion and it feels pretty good on the skin and rinses well. It has just enough fragrance to linger most of the day. My Hubby loves this stuff. His skin feels more moisturized, so I guess it works very well. If you can, find this in a store just to smell it. It's not a common scent so you may not like it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
catnapper
fromLexington, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Nubia Shea Butter
 September 26, 2014
"Me and my family love this soap. It has a refreshing smell and does wonders for our dry skin. We love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
waxwings
fromRochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This soap is Great!
 September 25, 2014
"I recently switched to cruelty free products & was so
worried I wouldn't be able to find a nice soap that was
gentle, creamy & not real fragrant like my old product. This
is fragrant but its a nice soft smell not super harsh. I also
was worried my skin would dry out without my old soap but
this is GREAT...no dry skin.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Vikivee
Overpowering
 September 14, 2014
"The scent is unpleasant and way too strong,"
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
woodfam8
fromWyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Superior cleaning
 September 9, 2014
"This soap finally gets my skin clean. Regular soap never quite left my skin smelling completely fresh. I don't know if there was a build up of bacteria or if I am eating something weird, but this soap takes care of it. I have gone without traditional deodorants and anti-perspirants for three years now. They never worked for me. Using this soap, I don't even have to wear natural deodorant. It makes my skin that clean! I will be a regular customer."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Vikivee
Overpowering Smell
 September 8, 2014
"Not for those with sensitive noses or allergies."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nubian Heritage Raw Shea Butter Bar Soap with Soy Milk Frankincense & Myrrh -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angemary
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I LOVE THIS
 September 3, 2014
"I seriously love this soap. It makes my skin feel moisturized more than body wash and definitely more than regular soap. I also love the scent. It isn't a strong scent and won't last all day, but I still love smelling it when I shower. I highly recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next