Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Body Scrubs & Exfoliants or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz

With Oats Aloe Vera & Vitamin E. Acne Fighting Detoxifying & Healing. Treat skin to a total cleansing experience with this combination body wash and scrub that treats breakouts while gently exfoliating from head to toe. Mineral-rich Dead Sea Salt and Jojoba Beads slough off dead skin while Oats and Aloe extracts soothe and firm. The high concentration of Shea Butter maximizes moisture retention and promotes healing.  . HERITAGE: African Black Soap made from palm ash tamarind extract and plantain peel has been used in Africa for centuries to treat eczema acne and oily skin. Historical references to Shea Butter a staple of African pharmacology date back to the reported Shea Butter caravans of Cleopatra's Egypt.  . Skin Type: Acne Oil & Troubled Skin
Overall rating:
4.105 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
15 out of 19(79%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Review 1 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snowflake8
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product cleanses and has wonderful scent.
 July 3, 2014
"I got this for my 16 year old grandson with mild acne issues. He loves it and feels it's helping him. I plan on getting one for myself when I reorder."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AbundantLiving
fromCatonsville, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful scent
 May 8, 2014
"Clean feeling skin & great fragrant scent!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ncw25
the best
 January 11, 2014
"love this soap, the best on skin. smell is okay, not bad, not the best. but not a problem as it is the best soap on skin,"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JS12
fromDel Mar CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good skin smoother
 August 1, 2013
"I don't have acne and ordered this because of the "beads" because I like the feeling of a little "scrubbing" while sudsing. The smell is intense. Very sweet and a bit musky. Might be too sweet for me and because of that would not order it again. However, it does give your skin a good clean feeling and leaves a nice after-smell."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mommyofsix
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Awesome!
 June 16, 2013
"I've tried many black soaps and I love this one. I love the smell and I love how it cleans. My teenage son and I use this soap for our face and the lotion also. It's perfect for us. I read where some said it wasn't a scrub? the first time I bought this product it was full of scrubby beads and the last bottle really didn't have any. Don't know the reason but it cleans real good leaving my combination skin and my sons oily acne skin clean and feeling great!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LauraG
 May 13, 2013
"Have recommend this product. Leaves skin noticeably softer after first use. Its a gentle scrub. More of a wash than scrub. You only need a little for it to lather. At first I was using too much and ended up with a lot of foam all over. It will stain light colored shower sponge, if you put it directly on it. I spread a little everywhere first then go over wit sponge n end up wit great lather. Smell is strange but natural. Smell doesnt really stick around to long. Definitely trying another Nubian Heritage product after this one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pepperis1
fromcalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
 May 4, 2013
"My husbands favorite soap, will it be back in a bar soap? He has used it for 5 years now and no other will do!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bariliutovich
 April 8, 2013
"Great soap, leaving skin smooth and pleasant, smell Excellent"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
luvbella
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not exfoliating.
 January 10, 2013
"It's a body wash with a powdery smell. I'm looking for a cleanser that has exfoliating properties and I don't get that from this wash, there are also no granules or anything in the wash so I don't think it should be called a scrub."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Olderbutsmarter
fromBerkshires (MA)
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love Nubian products
 January 2, 2013
"I only rated it 4 stars b/c I enjoy the bar of soap better. It still is a great product but I just prefer the bar. Smell clean and fresh."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
idontknowanickname
 July 4, 2012
"I am just not entirely thrilled with this product. . . . Not displeased per se, but definitely not thrilled like I thought I would be after reading the other reviews and product description.
The smell/scent is, to me, very overpowering and artificial. Not entirely unpleasant but very strong and not what you would anticipate in a "natural" product. Very heavy and perfumey.
The color. Now, I know this is African *Black* Soap HOWEVER I do not know what the heck they use in this to make it literally like black ink.
True African Black Soap is NOT actually Jet Black but rather a range of shades of dark brown. I liken bars of it to a well baked nutbread! But somehow THIS stuff is ink black. It actually stained my washcloth! I just am not entirely convinced there isn't more added to this than the ingredients reveal based on the fragrance and color.
Because of those reasons, I don't think I would purchase this again."
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
moben
fromTorrance, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not a scrub
 July 3, 2012
"I bought this thinking it was a scrub and it really isn't (unless the granules are super tiny). On the fine print of the bottle is states it's a wash and scrub. I was looking for something a little hardier. The smell is just OK as well, but this product is really more of a wash. If you are looking for a more substantial scrub this is not it."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MRMULATTO
fromCORONA, CALIFORNIA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
 June 11, 2012
"THESE ARE BY FAR THE BEST PRODUCT LINE I HAVE EVER TRIED. THEY DON'T MAKE ME ITCH OR LEAVE A FILM. EVERYONE I HAVE GIVEN IT TO HAS TRIED IT AND NOW ADDICTED TO IT AS I AM. SO MOISTURIZING AND LOVE THE FACT THAT IT HAS NATURAL INGREDIENTS.. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
Nubian Heritage Body Lotion Coconut and Papaya -- 8 fl oz
4.1 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SRay
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent for body & face
 September 28, 2011
"I am soooo happy I found this product! My skin feels amazingly!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KelseyKelsey
fromKansas City
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Alright
 July 2, 2011
"This body wash cleanses and exfoliates well. I am disappointed by the smell. I expected a natural or plant smell. But this body wash smells like baby powder or something."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ellington
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Wonderful!
 December 8, 2010
"This is a wonderful cleansing product! Your skin will feel like silk after just a few uses."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaimeO
fromRichmond,VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Most wonderful body wash ever
 August 17, 2010
"Smells great, and makes skin clearer and softer. If this ever goes off the market, I am in trouble (because I am hooked)."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Nubian Heritage African Black Soap Body Wash and Scrub -- 13 fl oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product