Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz

Strengthening Shampoo. DESERT ESSENCE Jojoba Shampoo is a daily shampoo formulated for fine thinning hair or hair that just lacks lift. Jojoba Seed Oil helps to break down excessive sebum and product buildup that can weigh hair down. Keratin penetrates the hair shaft to strengthen all three layers of your hair. Prickly Pear a great source of Vitamin C helps alleviate hair breakage.
Overall rating:
4.478 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
22 out of 23(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HCDSunshine
fromMadison, Wi
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 September 24, 2014
"I love this shampoo and the conditioner that goes with.They make my hair feel smooth and soft and not too dry. I also love that these products are natural and have a very light, pleasant scent. Not too heavy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uncruel14
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hair feels great!
 September 22, 2014
"My hair is on the weak side. I really think this shampoo is helping! Smells good, too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rainelle
fromPilot Mountain, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Makes your hair feel smooth
 June 10, 2014
"I like this shampoo. It doesn't strip your hair and leaves it feeling soft and smooth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MMass0313
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great shampoo
 May 26, 2014
"This shampoo smells wonderful! It doesn't strip your hair and it leaves it smelling wonderful and really soft. I definitely recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MYSTICLADY
fromSANTEE SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
GOOD PRODUCT
 May 11, 2014
"LATHERS WELL, CONDITIONS WELL, DOES HELP STRENGTH, DOES NT HAVE MUCH OF A SCENT. I WOULD BUY AGAIN."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
lauraw
No improvement
 April 5, 2014
"I saw absolutely no improvement in the strength of my hair. I used both the shampoo and conditioner and had no results whatsoever!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StMichael
fromBig Pine Key, Fl. (Florida Keys)
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Excellent product. Gives hair body and shine.
 February 26, 2014
"I've been using Jojoba hair products for years. Your hair Jojoba shampoo and conditioner is the best I've used. Both products leave your hairy literally "squeaky clean" and nourished. No harsh chemicals and never dries your hair out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
newmama77
fromWashington State
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love my hair again!
 February 24, 2014
"I used another natural brand shampoo and it COMPLETELY dried out my scalp. I couldn't even go a day without my hair falling flat and greasy. However, with just one shampoo with this product, my hair has been transformed back to it's full self! As I do not like to wash my hair every day, this product has helped a lot with that. It can last up to 3 days! I love the smell, too. Not too sweet. I use this on my daughter's hair - she has mixed hair. It works wonders! Plus, all the ingredients I can pronounce!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaryJune
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Gentle and Effective
 February 12, 2014
"Both the shampoo and conditioner are wonderful for colored hair. They are gentle, but they get the job done. I end up with clean, shiny, and soft hair. They are also good choices for long hair that tangles easily. And, the smell is so nice!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miralin
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo
 February 6, 2014
"I moved to a new location and tried many different stylists - wound up with badly damaged, bleached and fragile hair. Tried many different shampoos, including many strengthening shampoos from this site. This one was the only one that didn't dry out my hair (texture, fine, and gets oily quickly). It leaves my hair feeling soft and non-weighted. Love it!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fineHair02
fromWinnipeg, MB
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
clean hair
 January 15, 2014
"I have no complaints about this shampoo. I have fine thin hair and it moisturized my hair just enough without weighing it down."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OnWaldenTablet
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Love love love this scent and feel on my hair
 December 30, 2013
"This is my favorite scent of conditioner out of like 10+ natural and organic ones.
We use 4 brands of personal care products - Desert Essence, Aubrey Organics, Acure Organics, and Dr. Bronner's. We like to have a variety of lotion scents and different types of shampoos and conditioners, as it is good for the scalp and body."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
feuchtwagner
 December 23, 2013
"I just received this shampoo and haven't tried it yet, but I was surprised to see that instead of "Keratin and Prickly Pear" it says "Keratin and Nopal Cactus"."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoeStak
fromBoston
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent shampoo!
 December 17, 2013
"Using the jojoba shampoo my hair is more manageable because I have less tangles in my hair now."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
horrormoviefanatic
fromhaunted house
Gender:Female
It's alright
 October 28, 2013
"Well I bought this because my hair has become a little greasy and
it says that it will cut through the grease.It doesn't really.My hair feels like it's being weighed down some.Feels likes oil is in my hair from the shampoo itself.I know it says it has a little but I thought it would get rid of greasy hair not add to it.
If your looking for a natural shampoo that's good for your hair and you don't have greasy hair and if your hair is a little dry then by all means try it.
It smells nice and doesn't have any harsh chemicals.
This brand also has other shampoo and conditioners that you may like.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kaleidoscope
fromUnited States
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 June 12, 2013
"I've been using this shampoo for about 2 weeks and couldn't be happier. It gets my hair clean without stripping it dry. I can't say for sure that my hair is stronger, but it's definitely healthier looking. My scalp is no longer itchy/dry and my hair is softer and has more body. It has a very mild citrus scent. The consistency is very runny (a pump would be more suitable for the bottle) so you have to be a little cautious when dispensing the shampoo. Also, a little goes a long way. I use a nickel sized dollop on my long, thick hair. I already plan to repurchase as this is the best shampoo I have ever used."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcginnie86
Best Shampoo I've Ever Used
 May 14, 2013
"I've had horrible itchy scalp and dandruff since I was 8 years old. Over the last 19 years, I've tried every treatment, medicine, and shampoo you can think of. I've used medicated shampoos, all natural shampoos, tea tree oil shampoos, and even the "no poo" method of baking soda wash and apple cider vinegar rinse. Nothing worked. I finally tried this shampoo a couple of months ago because the ingredients looked friendly enough, and it is absolutely fabulous! I first decided I loved it because it was so mild, smelled pleasant, and left my hair wonderfully soft and smooth. It washes my hair without stripping it. And on top of how great it is on my hair, after using it for a month, my scalp is completely healed! No itch, and not a single flake! Dessert Essence, PLEASE never change this shampoo! I cannot recommend it enough!"
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Priyagb
fromCincinnati,OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 December 5, 2012
"A very clean volumizing shampoo. I love it and really clarifies my hair.Makes it fine and smooth."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MamaLuna
fromFar Upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
O.K. if you don't like shampoo in a tube, I guess.
 February 6, 2012
"This is a better shampoo than many I've tried but when compared to Desert Essence's Apple or Raspberry shampoos, it just doesn't quite make the cut. It smells great and washes well but the gel is runnier (so I lose more of it in the shower) and I usually have to use twice as much to get a good lather."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Jojoba Shampoo Strengthening with Keratin and Nopal Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vikinga
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great organic shampoo
 December 2, 2011
"I have been using this shampoo a few days now. It is organic with no harsh chemicals which is what attracted me to try it. Although it seems a bit watery, it washes my long hair well. It gives more of a usual lathering on the second round, although I have tried using just the once when my hair is not too dirty and that works fine. I am pleased and would buy again."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next