Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz

Calaguala & White Pine Bark. Tones & Balances. Soothing Treatment. Contains Organic Ingredients. ALL Hair Types. Sensitive Scalp. True to Nature Since 1967. All-Natural Ingredients. Paraben-Free • Gluten-Free • Phthalate-Free • Cruelty-Free. Fragrant  leave-in treatment soothes and normalizes the scalp and adds softness and manageability for vibrant healthy hair.  . Features. Benefits. Calaguala Extract. Tone; promote scalp health. White Pine Bark & Organic Aloe. Soothe & hydrate hair & scalp
Overall rating:
4.176 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
13 out of 17(76%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
HMKY
fromKY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Formula changed!!!
 February 11, 2016
"I completely agree with the review right before mine! I am not very happy at all that this formula has changed without any warning! I plan to call Aubrey tomorrow and see what the deal is. I want the old formula back. Not sure what I'm going to use on curly days now. :("
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
dh29
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Warning: Formula Has Changed!
 November 30, 2015
"I have used this product for years, it was a great leave-in hair conditioner with minimal scent that added body to fine hair and made it more manageable. I even stocked up on it and have two extra bottles.
But when I opened the last one, I noticed some big changes: First, the product is no longer labeled "leave in," but is a rinse out conditioner. Second, it now has a hideous smell, like flower petals mixed with silly putty or something like that. Third, it now contains preservative sodium benzoate. I decided to try it anyway, and was glad to rinse it out to mostly get rid of the smell, but then there's little benefit. After rinsing out, hair is fine and static-prone.
Thinking that I might have ordered the wrong product, I checked the new bottle: Product #135, same UPC code. Even Aubrey's site still shows the old description "Leave In Treatment." So I messaged Aubrey about this from their website around a month ago, asking if they had another product that might work instead but haven't received a reply. So I'll never order it again and will look for another brand, sadly."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SuperGreen8
fromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 August 16, 2015
"Good conditioner for sensitive scalp. Helps desensitize.
Pleasant scent. Not greasy.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foxman
Great hold with out a greasy feel
 April 12, 2014
"This can be used to help hold your hair in place and it leaves a very natural look. You can easily comb through it even when dry and your hair stays in place."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
conscioushealth
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great conditioner for oily/dry scalp
 May 24, 2013
"I have very long, fine/medium thick hair. I have suffered from a dry flaky scalp accompanied by oily roots since I was a child. I never like to use conditioner on my roots for fear of having greasy roots. I only use conditioner/detangler from the midshaft through the ends of my hair. However I must treat my itchy/flaky scalp. This product works really well for me when used in the right amount. I wet my hands > squeeze out the size of a pea into my palm and rub my hands together to disperse evenly > I flip my head over and work it into my scalp. I then complete the same process with the same amount for the rest of my hair. My hair dries very piecey with this, but once I brush it out my hair is left full, shiny, and healthy looking. It's also relieved the itchiness and most all of the flakiness that I would have."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SummyP
You need a lot
 April 18, 2013
"I bought this as a xenoestrogen free leave in conditioner.
If you're using in wet hair before a blow out you'll need a lot and your hair will still be tangly. But once dry your hair will look and smell great.
If using in wet hair as a leave in without blowdrying you don't need as much, as it will look clumpy when dry.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pjshells
fromseattle wa
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
AWESOME FOR THOSE WITH SCALP SENSITIVITY
 February 24, 2013
"I have alot of issues with my skin and scalp, many are caused from food allergies which are so numerous its almost impossible to eat anything without triggering them. That being said, this product it awesome. Everything expensive or not I have tried and this one is cheap AND it works!! I use it after every hair wash and it doesnt make my scalp itch-which for me, considering my issues is HUGE. Anyhow, I am ordering all thier hair products next payday as I am sold. Thx!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
toptime79
fromArroyo Grande, California
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Best I've found. Used it for several years.
 December 10, 2012
"After discovering this stuff, I moved to California and had a hard time finding it. I was relieved to find it on your site. It is very light weight but makes my hair look healthy and feel great, not plastered down.
Fragrance is very light. Subtle, but pleasant, not perfumy. I will continue using it.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jarousek
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great for my hair
 October 5, 2011
"I use it after swimming workouts and leave it in my hair; first it is little crusty, but when you comb it it holds a shape and it is not greasy.
It smells good, too.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldguywithhair
The best
 September 10, 2010
"Light, smells great, effective."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
melinar
fromHouston
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good product, not a good value
 June 29, 2010
"This product works well on my long, fine hair. It smoothes out most of the frizz and does not seems to add any odor to my hair. My only complaint is that the price seems high for such a small bottle. I didn't realize that 4 oz was so little, but my drug store products are 8oz and 12oz, and they cost a lot less. This bottle will be used up in no time, and, unless the price comes down, I will not be reordering."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pezbot
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Not for me
 June 11, 2010
"This does not work for my hair. It is too heavily scented , that's the first problem. I also don't feel that it adds volume or conditions. It just feels yucky in the hair. I like ther B design gel better."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
NachoP
fromDavis, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Nice smell and mixes well
 April 27, 2010
"I used this as an ingredient for a Motown girl leave-in conditioner mix. I chose it based on the fact that its a leave-in conditioner and has good ingredients. I don't think it really helped. I think I should have tried it on my hair alone, although my hair may not be the type its meant for. So I'll try it again. But I felt it was a good quality item."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sheagirl
 February 23, 2010
"smells great and love that it's all natural and keeps my hair smooth and soft"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Conditioner Classic Scent -- 4 fl oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product