Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Styling Products or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz

All-Natural Ingredients. Ginkgo Leaf & Ginseng Root. Styling gel adds body and shine without weighing down the hair. Formulated with eight Chinese herbals to nourish hair and scalp.
Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
18 out of 22(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Kudesniza
fromArizona
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
smells great but does not work for me
 July 2, 2014
"I really like the smell of this product and that it is natural. But it does nothing for my hair. I have fine slightly wavy hair and was thinking I can use it for up-do hairstyles and to smooth flyaways. All it does is making my hair look dirty, no matter how little I use. And after about 3-4 hours it dries out and looks like white powder or dandruff in my hair. It might work for people with curly thick hair but for fine straight-wavy not a good product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
twovs
fromBristol, NH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
it's ok
 July 12, 2013
"Smells great!! Though I felt it left my sons hair dry. In my hair it seemed to be ok. It didn't hold for very long so you would still need to spray it with something. Other then that I think it was good!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rawnaturalgirl
Been Using For Years
 May 31, 2013
"I love this gel for my extremely curly/frizzy hair. I've been using it for over 12 yr. I put it on over a leave-in conditioner to add a moisturizing hold."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
collisiondiva
fromMilford,NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for Curly Hair
 March 21, 2013
"My hair is naturally curly and dry. This product is great for moisturizing and reducing the frizz! The gel is light, and it keeps hair under control."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
preverror
fromScottsdale, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Just what I was looking for
 March 9, 2013
"I wanted a very light hold gel to keep my hair in place. I use a very small amount after a shower, and then can just use a little water if my hair gets unruly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
anonymous8792
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love
 December 15, 2012
"I'm a very lucky person in that I was born with hair that for the most part is naturally manageable: straight, minimal frizz. Because of this, I avoid using blow dryers and straighteners since I don't need them and mostly let my hair air dry. I was looking for a product that I could put in my hair when it's damp to add volume and shine. Using natural, safe ingredients is important to me so this product looked like a good fit. And I have to say it's worked great. I use this product in combination with Aubrey honeysuckle shampoo & conditioner. Right out of the shower I use Aubrey's White Camellia and Jasmine Shine Conditioner Spray. After 30 minutes or so I work some of this product through my hair and clip it up in a bun. Once it dries my hair is shiny, healthy looking, frizz free, has nice volume and bounce, and generally requires no further products."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
poemaXX
fromCambridge, MA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
A Holy Grail for my curly hair!
 November 7, 2012
"I have been using – and loving! – this product for the past 1.5 years. It really is the best thing I've ever used on my 3b curly hair (normal porosity, fine/normal texture, normal density). It holds and defines my curls without any "crunch", and with so much shine! It's great on its own or over a leave-in conditioner. I will never be without this product if I can help it! :)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NorthinSouth
fromthe south
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Perfect!
 August 29, 2012
"I've been searching for the perfect gel or cream for my thick wavy hair and this product is it! It leaves my hair soft and shiny with frizz-free defined waves, while most gels make my hair feel dry and look un-natural and over-styled. Sometimes I put a little stronger hold gel on top of Mandarin Magic if I want extra hold. I will definitely purchase this product again!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sozo
Works good
 June 16, 2012
"Very few personal care items are both free from toxic, unhealthy ingredients, use little or no animal products, and produce good results. Aubrey has done well to produce healthy replacements for mammoth skin care industry selections. Along with their shampoo and conditioner, I like their "Jelly" [Gel]. It holds well and leaves no toxic substances in my scalp."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Diaspora
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not what I was looking for
 June 9, 2012
"This gel has a nice texture and made my hair feel smooth, but it had 0 hold and left my curly hair frizzy, soft, and puffy, almost like I had put nothing on it. This might work better used simply to add moisture with another product over it for hold, but I already have products I use for moisture."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gorgiegirl
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
The best product ever!
 October 5, 2011
"I recently threw away all of my chemical-laden hair products and purchased this based upon a recommendation I read in a book.
This product is so pure-check out the ingredients-and it is a "one product does it all."
I use this on both wet and dry hair to eliminate frizz and accentuate my natural curls.
I will NEVER be without this product.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linsky
Gives great moisture
 June 16, 2011
"This gives great moisture without weighing hair down. I always put a little heavier hold gel on top."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
maripili
did not work for me
 January 31, 2011
"great ingredients but left my hair dry and hard for some reason. did not control frizz. i've seen alot of great reviews but this product did not work for me."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
KinkyCoily85
fromLouisville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Disappointed
 October 25, 2010
"I really wanted so much to like this Hair Jelly because of all the good ingredients it has. I knew it was going to be wonderful for my hair. However, my hair just did not like this Jelly. It made my hair hard, no matter how little I used. It also made the texture feel even more rough than it already is. It did give me great curl definition, but I just didn't like the way it made my hair feel. I even tried mixing it with other things including the b5 design gel, coconut oil etc and those things still didn't help. Oh well, I'm sure it's a great product, but just not for me."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
jkps
fromatl, ga
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not what I needed.
 September 10, 2010
"I bought this product from my son's curly but dry hair. No effect. Nothing."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TLJk
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
 August 8, 2010
"Great stuff!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
manyhahama
fromLees Summit, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Aubrey Magic
 August 5, 2010
"Well, Aubrey has worked their magic once again. I have used Aubrey products for years but had never tried this one. I read the other reviews and decided to give it a try. I love it. Really! I have naturally curly hair so trying to find an organic product to define curl and control frizz can be challenging, however this jelly works wonders and doesn't leave my hair all stiff like with other gels. I am glad I tried it."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NachoP
fromDavis, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good for sealing twists
 April 27, 2010
"So far I've used this in conjunction with Aubrey's B-5 styling gel to twist my hair. I haven't tried this by itself with damp hair but that is my current mission. It has a nice and pleasant smell. It didn't leave any flakes in my hair. Even the styling gel didn't last but for a day or two, so these products seem harmless."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artgirl
fromClearwater, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I love this stuff!!!
 April 17, 2010
"If you want smooth, sleek, shiny manageable hair then buy this product! I have been using Aubrey's Mandarin Magic hair jelly for several years now and I absolutely love it! I live in FL where it gets very hot and humid for about 9 months out of the year, so the climate isn't exactly kind to one's hair. When I use this I have almost no frizz and my hair is very soft shiny and manageable.
This product (like all of Aubrey's) is 100% natural, so you can feel good about putting it on your hair and scalp.
I highly, highly recommend it! :)"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aubrey Mandarin Magic Hair Moisturizing Jelly Ginkgo Leaf and Ginseng Root -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiosa
fromCambridge, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not just a bargain, a miracle!
 February 23, 2010
"I've spent a lot of money and time trying the highest high end products in search of frizz free presentable hair. Aubrey's Moisturizing Jelly is an incredible find. It's not greasy, doesn't weigh your hair down, not sticky, doesn't stiffen, doesn't stink. Don't be distressed by the mysterious "Mandarin Ginkgo" mentioned in the label. They're not talking about a scent."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next