Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz

Calaguala & Cade Oil. Tones & Clarifies. ALL Hair Types. Sensitive Scalp. True to Nature Since 1967. All-Natural Ingredients. Sulfate-Free • Phthalate-Free. Paraben-Free • Cruelty-Free. Gluten-Free. Based on an  ancient Mayan recipe this soothing aromatic shampoo removes oily buildup and clears and normalizes the scalp.  . Features. Benefits. Calaguala Extract & Cade Oil. Tone; promote scalp health. White Pine Bark & Organic Evening Primrose. Soothe & hydrate hair & scalp
Overall rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
26 out of 29(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Review 1 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pellam
does what it claims to do
 September 16, 2014
"smells nice while using but it doesn't linger afterward which I consider a plus. does in fact sooth the scalp and leaves coarse hair feeling soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CafeTraveler
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Clean scent and cleanses well.
 August 27, 2014
"I bought this shampoo because I am determined to follow a more eco-friendly life path and the Aubrey mission and products meet my expectations. The whole family uses the product line and we really like it. Our hair needed a couple of weeks to adjust to the shampoo, but once that was accomplished, we have clean, beautiful hair that looks great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
crunchymama
fromLouisville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very drying
 August 17, 2014
"I have used a variety of Aubrey shampoos, and while I love the scent of this one it is very drying. I will be switching to a different kind."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Animalsarecool1234
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Works great, strange texture
 August 13, 2014
"I am pretty pleased with this shampoo. Unlike most natural shampoos, it actually gets foamy in your hair. It makes your hair feel soft and clean with no build-up. The smell is alright, not my favorite but not too strong. The only complaint I have is that it is a really disturbing dark brown color and the consistency of maple syrup. I am willing to overlook that for the results though!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chimchim
fromRiverside, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo!
 August 10, 2014
"Aubrey's Calaguala Fern shampoo leaves my hair shiny, light, and with lots of body. I was no 'poo for about a year and a half and then sorta 'poo for about 6 months. The no 'poo left my hair dull and the sorta 'poo left a residue. I needed to go back to shampoo but wanted something I could trust not to be full of toxic junk. I ultimately decided to go with Aubrey because I had used their henna shampoo years ago and liked it. I read other reviews complaining about a lack of lather--that has not been an issue for me. It takes a little longer to work the lather up than shampoos made with SLS, but the lather is thick and creamy (bonus: it's also not carcinogenic). I use less than I did with the SLS shampoos because it spreads through my hair really easily (I have hair past the middle of my back). I have also seen reviews that say a lot of conditioner is needed to detangle the hair after washing. This shampoo doesn't deposit any of the junk (basically glue and wax) that lower quality shampoos and conditioners do, and yes, your hair will be squeaky clean and tangly after. I use a vinegar rinse to detangle. Not only does it cost only pennies, it works like a charm and doesn't leave any vinegar smell because it's so diluted (50% vinegar, 50% water or herbal tea). And I have fine and SUPER tangly hair naturally so back when I used conditioner I had to use handfuls of the stuff just to be able to comb my hair. The vinegar rinse works like a charm. Finally, my hair is very oily and with junky shampoos I had to wash every day, but with this I can wash about every third day. Is it any wonder I love this stuff?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foxman
Great Shampoo
 April 12, 2014
"This shampoo cleans without stripping your hair. A pleasant scent and rinses clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OnWaldenTablet
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Love Aubrey's shower products
 December 30, 2013
"Aubrey Organics makes very high quality shower products and lotions. We use a variety of their shampoos and conditioners to maintain a healthy variety for our hair.
This one does an excellent job on the scalp and hair. I use this one about once per week."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DavidDINO
fromAshville, AL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Best natural cleanser!
 December 15, 2013
"Since we've eliminated products containing sodium laurel sulphate (SLS) or derivatives, it has opened us to using some good natural products. This Calaguala Fern shampoo is most outstanding performer we've discovered. Even if we didn't avoid SLS, this would still rank as our preferred shampoo because of it's richness. Highly recommended!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HeatherSays
fromToronto, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for oily, fine hair!
 November 13, 2013
"This gave me volumunous, clean hair and it feels great on the scalp!
I got it for a friend and her hair is better and it's becoming less oily - so this is balancing her scalp! Yay!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SkipperD
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Wonderful!
 October 4, 2013
"This shampoo is great for my oily, fine, dandruff-prone hair. I love how it cleaned up my scalp without stripping my hair - and my hair seems to style easier after washing. It's a good value, too - a little bit goes a long way!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LENUTA
fromPhilly, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Zero help for oily hair
 February 25, 2013
"Zero help for oily hair, and believe me I have oily hair that gets oily after 8 hours. Disappointing, not worth the money, didn't do what it claimed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pandapanda
fromIndiana
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Wow! Only thing that tames my dandruff.
 February 13, 2013
"I've been on the looong hunt for a product that can tame my dandruff; I've tried it all. I LOVE this shampoo because it does not have sulfates or harmful chemicals. I also have oily/fine hair and this makes my hair soft and nice! It even adds some body. I'll be buying this again!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
narita
fromToronto, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent for oily hair
 July 22, 2012
"I love this product, it leaves my hair smooth and healthy. This product is good for my teenage son who has a really oily hair. I prefer not to shampoo my hair too often but with Calaguala shampoo I can easily shampoo every 3 to 4 days without a problem and looking great. Actually my girl friends are surprised because they don't get the same result with a regular shampoo.
I use Green Tea Rinse and Calaguala Leave Treatment for an exceptional result.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
patrioticgirl
Awesome for fine hair!
 July 10, 2012
"I have very fine hair that tends to be oily and need washing every single day. This shampoo cleans so well without drying out your hair. I use the Luxurious Chamomile conditioner (which is also awesome because it detangles and makes my hair so soft). Now with this shampoo, my hair looks and feels thicker, softer, and cleaner for much longer…and now I can skip a day of washing and it still looks great!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orgmom
I've used Aubrey's Calaguala Fern for years
 July 10, 2012
"Aubrey's Calaguala Fern Shampoo is perfect for taking care of build up on your scalp. I am grateful to have a natural alternative to the chemically manufactured options that are on the market."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brooksey
fromIndiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This is my favorite shampoo of all time
 July 8, 2012
"I love this shampoo. I have a naturally oily scalp but easily damaged hair. I have found my hair reacts negatively to lots of alcohols, sulfates, and other drying chemicals. My hair has been more shiny, manageable, and healthy since I started using the Aubrey products 2+ years ago. I also love the Aubrey's Normalizing Conditioner (Swimmer's). I highly recommend."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Spudgie
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Shampoo But...
 May 16, 2012
"This is a good shampoo but leaves my hair feeling a little coated and heavy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DawnCast
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it!
 March 29, 2012
"THe best!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bombon
Simply the best...
 March 24, 2012
"I have used this shampoo for more than a year and my hair is better than it has been in many years. I never write reviews, mostly because I really don't have the time, but this is an incredible product that has restored balance to my scalp that was prone to be greasy. I now have the luxury of washing my hair every other day. It is never stripping. I have curly but thin hair. I can't say enough!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aubrey Calaguala Fern Soothing Treatment Shampoo Classic Scent -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
melba
great shampoo
 February 6, 2012
"This shampoo is my favorite. It lathers very well and takes very little. Smells very clean. I order this shampoo over and over again because it works so well."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next