Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz

No Fragrance. Healthy * Beautiful * Clean Hair. Unique contemporary and totally terrific this fine formulation of our bar shampoo is based on the original formulation but has no added fragrance. It is designed for people who prefer none or have allergies to deal with.  . Tea Tree Oil has powerful antiseptic and anti-bacterial properties that help enhance our shampoo's abilities to effectively tame dermatitis itchy-flaky scalp conditions and may also stimulate hair growth!  . Hemp Oil contains a combination of essential fatty acids that supply your hair's acute nutritional needs.  . Last but not least Almond Oil is also added to provide the ever important moisturizing healthy hair requires.
Overall rating:
4.773 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
42 out of 44(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happycampergirl
fromWhidbey Island, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Completely Amazed by Results
 April 23, 2014
"WOW! I have long, wavy hair and am so surprised by the immediate change in my locks thanks to this shampoo. I had prev needed to curl my hair daily to add dimension, as my hair was flat..which I now understand was due to it being weighed down by traditional shampoo residue. Using this bar soap, my hair is full and lush. If I want to get dressy, I could curl it, but I no longer need to! I wash with the bar soap, add my conditioner (needed, cuz my hair is dry due to it being colored treated ), rinse and let air dry. The finished, no-fuss style looks fantastic, all on its own:)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beth2
fromOhio
Gender:Female
 April 20, 2014
"Like the soap. It is very gentle and does not have harsh chemicals."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Y0usefKhal1dSa1d
fromKingston, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product is excellent
 April 19, 2014
"JR Liggett's old fashioned bar shampoo is an excellent product.
The price I paid Vitacost for this shampoo bar is $2 less than the price of the same shampoo bar at my local health food store.
The shampoo gets my hair very clean.
The shampoo bar is quite small but it lasted me one month!
I will purchase this shampoo bar from Vitacost again..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LyndaA
fromBergen County NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
AMAZING PRODUCT
 March 25, 2014
"Oh wow I can't believe how wonderful this Bar Shampoo is. I'm 48 & felt my hair was losing that pizzaz. I'm fortunate I do not have to dye my hair so no chemicals used. I have very long hair & the lather I get from this is wonderful & washes CLEAN away. So amazing. Had my son try it & will never go back to using anything else again.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this. Finally a shampoo that doesn't dull your hair
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BobbyJoea
fromMa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product!
 March 22, 2014
"I bought this for my friend who has a scalp issue. She loves it! Would wish it was a little bigger bar though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nutsforcoconut
Better than chemicals
 February 26, 2014
"Was looking for an alternative to the regular chemical laden shampoos. Found it here and does an excellent job."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Landybug
fromHolyoke, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product must buy
 December 19, 2013
"This is a great product to keep you hair healthy. Just purchased the dry and damaged version for the winter to add a little more moisture. Highly recommended."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aardvaark
fromPortland, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great shampoo
 November 6, 2013
"This product is plastic free"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JJ314
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Works well but run out fast
 October 17, 2013
"The shampoo works very well. It doesn't dry up my hair. However, it doesn't last as long as I thought it would. The label said that it should last as long as a 24 oz shampoo bottle but I think it only lasts as long as a 12oz shampoo bottle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grub
great soap
 October 12, 2013
"Nice lather and it cleans my hair without ever feeling oily or leaving residue."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrsvator4u
fromWisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this!!!!!
 August 5, 2013
"I have had trouble for years finding shampoos to get my scalp clean. I have long, permed hair and I use a ton of products. I like the tea tree shampoos so my husband picked up at bar at his favorite store for me to try. I was amazed at how clean my hair got and it's so convenient. Took care of the scalp itch and lathers up really good and when you rinse it off, you know it's gone because your hair actually squeaks. Huge fan and I am so glad I found it on Vitacost!!!!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dj2041
fromIllinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
very nice !
 June 5, 2013
"Love this shampoo bar soap !! If you are looking for super soft hair and if your hair type is normal to dry this is the shampoo for you.
Lathers so well that for my short hair I do not need much.
Does not leave a film or scum in your shower or bath, that is important to me.
Great product but may not work real great for people with oily hair because it moisturizes .."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swaha
fromGreenville, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Awesome!
 May 20, 2013
"Hair feels wonderful after shampooing. It's perfect for traveling - no worries about leaking shampoo bottles. And no heavy smell."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Savysenior
fromNo CAL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fabulous, eco-friendly
 May 10, 2013
"I can't say enough good things about the Liggett's soap bars. Both my husband and I use them and tell everyone how wonderful they are for space saving, the environment and travel.
One bar lasts about 5 months for me washing my short hair every other day.
I've tried all the formulas and don't have a favorite. They all are equally great.
I ordered the J.R.Liggett's EZ-Pouch Ultra Balanced Bar Shampoo with EZ Carry Case for travel but now I use the carry case to store my partially used bar in the shower.
--If you care about how much plastic is being dumped in our landfills, these are something you should look into.
--If you carry a lot of 3oz bottles when you travel, these are something you should look into.
--If you have a small space to store shampoos, these are something you should look into.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shoregirl
fromOcean View, DE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love the bar, though this one is too drying
 April 3, 2013
"This is my first experience with a shampoo bar and I love it. Fabulous for travel - no liquid restriction, lasts a long time. It lathers and cleans well after just a swipe in a few spots around the head. I often let natural shampoos sit in my hair after massaging in order to get my hair clean. This one doesn't require that extra time. In fact, I find it a bit drying - in winter my scalp is still oily but my hair is drier. I'm definitely going to try a couple of the other options to see what ones are more compatible. Overall, I highly recommend the bar instead of or, at the very least, as an alternative to liquid shampoo for home use, and most definitely for travel."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
annabel
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Replaces Dandruff Shampoo
 February 22, 2013
"My 15 year old son has dandruff and this shampoo bar keeps it away. He ran out and the dandruff came back. It does a better job for him than Head and Shoulders. He asked me to order more because it works so well for him."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GoofyMomma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Hubby's Favorite
 January 27, 2013
"My husband loves this stuff. It lather's up great and really gets his hair clean.
I have super long hair and tried to use it but I don't think I would rinse it all out and then my hair would get stringy feeling. That could have been my fault but I think it works best for shorter hair.
I love the fact that it's all natural. There's no junk in it.
All in all, great product!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mommyj
My husband and son love this!
 January 27, 2013
"My husband and son love this shampoo bar; neither of them has had a problem with dandruff or dry scalp since the started using it. Also, the bar lasts quite a long time... It is a great product!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YahWilling
WOW! So super impressed!
 January 19, 2013
"This shampoo is the BEST! I have waist length hair and my bar lasted more than a month! Lathers well, gives you that squeaky clean feel. You will need a conditioner, this stuff leaves you too clean! LOL
I have finally given up my expensive salon shampoos! This one is a keeper!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sixkids
frompa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo
 January 15, 2013
"This stuff works really well on my daughter's long curly hair, and my short, thin hair. It lathers and cleans without stripping. Hair feels like hair - no residue. This is now my favorite shampoo. Will reorder!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next