Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz

No Fragrance. Healthy * Beautiful * Clean Hair. Unique contemporary and totally terrific this fine formulation of our bar shampoo is based on the original formulation but has no added fragrance. It is designed for people who prefer none or have allergies to deal with.  . Tea Tree Oil has powerful antiseptic and anti-bacterial properties that help enhance our shampoo's abilities to effectively tame dermatitis itchy-flaky scalp conditions and may also stimulate hair growth!  . Hemp Oil contains a combination of essential fatty acids that supply your hair's acute nutritional needs.  . Last but not least Almond Oil is also added to provide the ever important moisturizing healthy hair requires.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
53 out of 56(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bootly3
fromBoothbay,ME
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Travel Shampoo!
 November 18, 2014
"I use this Bar Shampoo for My Hair and Face w/Beard :-)>
It really cleans Your Hair Well and makes it soft, unlike regular Soap.
If You Travel a bit, This one bar can do it all and You wont have Liquid Shampoo leaked into the bottom of Your Shaving Kit!!
Cheers! Curt
>~iii~<(
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cville
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Alternative
 November 16, 2014
"Great alternative to all other shampoos that come in plastic bottles. Does a fine job cleaning your hair. Lasts a long time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jen1121
fromIN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Now my favorite
 October 6, 2014
"I've tried many organic or natural shampoos with good ingredients. This is the best so far. My hair looks very healthy and shiny. I love it. You need to use the conditioner after shampooing as I do."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
StephLC
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Squeaky clean!
 August 14, 2014
"I have very fine hair that gets weighed down easily. After the first use my hair felt squeaky clean and I didn't have to use any conditioner. My hair had volume and shine. I didn't have to use any additional products when blow drying."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zeet
fromMN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Never gonna go back!
 July 24, 2014
"I didn't know that shampoo bar exist. I was only aware of them when I was researching for travel liquid free items. I've been using this for almost two weeks now and I love it.
My hair did not need to go through a transition period because I've already been using Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap for months. The difference between this bar of soap and the Dr. Woods one is that this one is solid and it made my hair a lot more softer after it dries. My hair has never been so soft with the comb.
The bar is on the small size, but the amount of lather is very good, it'll probably last me a couple of months. I also purchased the travel container for this soap and it has been working great so far, it keeps my bar dry."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
me2me
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great product
 July 3, 2014
"I hate bottle shampoos; they are an ecological waste & a lot of marketing hype. Thus is effective shampoo that does make you pay for a lot of water in the producr."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tatyana86
fromCY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 June 14, 2014
"not impressed. leaved my hair oily so that i had to wash it again after with another shampoo."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
therev2u
fromEast Tenn
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
A GREAT BUY!!!
 June 14, 2014
"I love this product: makes my hair & scalp feel clean, healthy, & also look the same way! I also use it as a body bar for the same reasons. I esp like the fact that there is no waste: I use as much as I need- no more no less. But most of all: it cleanses my hair & skin, leaves me feeling & looking clean & healthy; and it's a GREAT BUY!!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChileanMom
fromMellbourne, Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Old School sometimes is the best!
 May 31, 2014
"I thought the entire idea of using a bar of soap for shampoo was out there but because of the small amount of ingredients listed and their safety I thought I'd give it a try. I do add 2-3 drops of doTerra Melaleuca essential oils for some added umph for dandruff but my hair feels incredible, not stripped but soft, manageable and it doesn't get oily over night. I love this product. My brother in law tried it while visiting from Chile and fell in love too. I'm purchasing some to send to him to. Overall, a new eco-friendly, chemical free product we will be carrying as a staple in our home. LOVED IT!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Misswise
fromWest Palm Beach, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Maybe too oily
 May 30, 2014
"This soap might be too oily for my rather dry hair. When I bought it I thought it would not hurt to have a shampoo bar with oils in it. I was probably wrong. My scalp is the only problem. Other that my hair feels good. Works better when using conditioner after."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RachVT
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great alternative, but changes hair texture
 May 14, 2014
"This is a great alternative to regular, chemical-ridden and plastic bottled shampoo. It suds up fast, and goes a long way. The only downside I've had is that it has definitely changed the texture of my hair and makes if feel a little heavier and flatter. It also tends to make it coarser so I sometimes use an organic conditioner. I think its just about adapting to a new product and styling my hair from there. Regardless, I'm saving myself and the earth from the mainstream shampoo issues so I can deal!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
farm38
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is Great!
 May 1, 2014
"This is our absolute favorite shampoo! It last long. Suds up great! (After rubbing it on your hair just dampen it a little and lather) It is great for dandruff. It doesn't way your hair down like other shampoos.
Excellant!
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happycampergirl
fromWhidbey Island, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Completely Amazed by Results
 April 23, 2014
"WOW! I have long, wavy hair and am so surprised by the immediate change in my locks thanks to this shampoo. I had prev needed to curl my hair daily to add dimension, as my hair was flat..which I now understand was due to it being weighed down by traditional shampoo residue. Using this bar soap, my hair is full and lush. If I want to get dressy, I could curl it, but I no longer need to! I wash with the bar soap, add my conditioner (needed, cuz my hair is dry due to it being colored treated ), rinse and let air dry. The finished, no-fuss style looks fantastic, all on its own:)"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beth2
fromOhio
Gender:Female
 April 20, 2014
"Like the soap. It is very gentle and does not have harsh chemicals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Y0usefKhal1dSa1d
fromKingston, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product is excellent
 April 19, 2014
"JR Liggett's old fashioned bar shampoo is an excellent product.
The price I paid Vitacost for this shampoo bar is $2 less than the price of the same shampoo bar at my local health food store.
The shampoo gets my hair very clean.
The shampoo bar is quite small but it lasted me one month!
I will purchase this shampoo bar from Vitacost again..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LyndaA
fromBergen County NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
AMAZING PRODUCT
 March 25, 2014
"Oh wow I can't believe how wonderful this Bar Shampoo is. I'm 48 & felt my hair was losing that pizzaz. I'm fortunate I do not have to dye my hair so no chemicals used. I have very long hair & the lather I get from this is wonderful & washes CLEAN away. So amazing. Had my son try it & will never go back to using anything else again.
LOVE LOVE LOVE this. Finally a shampoo that doesn't dull your hair
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BobbyJoea
fromMa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product!
 March 22, 2014
"I bought this for my friend who has a scalp issue. She loves it! Would wish it was a little bigger bar though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nutsforcoconut
Better than chemicals
 February 26, 2014
"Was looking for an alternative to the regular chemical laden shampoos. Found it here and does an excellent job."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Landybug
fromHolyoke, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product must buy
 December 19, 2013
"This is a great product to keep you hair healthy. Just purchased the dry and damaged version for the winter to add a little more moisture. Highly recommended."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aardvaark
fromPortland, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great shampoo
 November 6, 2013
"This product is plastic free"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next