Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz

Beautiful. Healthy Clean Hair. Shampoo made by hand. Tea Tree Oil has antiseptic and anti-bacterial properties that enhance  our shampoos abilities to effectively tame dermatitis itchy-flaky scalp conditions and may also stimulate hair growth. Hemp oil contains a combination of essential fatty acids that supply your hair's acute nutritional needs. Almond oil provides the important moisturizing healthy hair requires.  . It is not a liquid Each Bar Offers the approximate number of usages as a 24 ounce bottle of most modern shampoos.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
62 out of 66(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tequilla
fromDunkirk, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My husband really likes it!
 June 6, 2015
"Purchased out of curiosity since it is made entirely of oils -- my husband says it soaps nicely. Great for traveling by air, since it's not a liquid. I will purchase again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
boosmom365
fromBlairs, VA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Wow! Love this shampoo!
 June 6, 2015
"I stumbled across this shampoo while looking for another product. I was having itchy scalp and hair loss, and this tea tree formula really helped. My sister asked to borrow my shampoo at the beach, and I wound up having to order some for her. My husband and daughter also use it now. Hair looks great, and I no longer use conditioner."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewVita
fromNew York, ny
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Need to use apple cider vinegar rinse afterwards
 June 4, 2015
"I can't remember which version of this shampoo bar I reviewed previously, but I wanted to add that I've now added an ACV rinse after using the bar so that my hair remains soft. Otherwise, it gets really sticky and difficult to brush. I steeped chamomile tea and used that water to add ACV in 1:1 ratio and leave it in an old honey container in the bathroom and use a little after shampooing. The shampoo bar lathers really well so a little goes a long way. I'm so happy to have found a hair care solution with no harmful chemicals. I've bought every version of the bar and haven't noticed much difference in the ones I've tried so far."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MmeAK
fromAK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Eco-friendly shampoo
 May 27, 2015
"I am so far very pleased with this product. I was fed up with not understanding the long ingredient lists on products so was very happy to find the J.R.L shampoo bar. It took me about four washings to embrace this product. It lathers well and rinses well. Although I follow most washes with an apple cider rinse based on recommendations from a web search on shampoo bars. I don't use a conditioner anymore, so am pleased to no longer be recycling empty shampoo and conditioner bottles. Since I don't use conditioner, after showering I will ofter run my hands through my hair after applying jojoba oil to my skin. This seems to be plenty of "conditioner" and I am not sure if it is necessary."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triathlete123
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair has never looked HEALTHIER
 May 26, 2015
"This soap was a saving grace for my hair. I received more compliments on how healthy, shiny(but not greasy) my hair looked after using this soap a few times.
At first it may be weird because your hair is getting used to not having it's natural oils stripped but after about 3-5 washes with it then it restores it's own oils and wallah, looks SO MUCH BETTER.
It lathers like crazy, almost like a conditioner would lather and also can function as a soap for your body(be careful of tea tree and other essential oils for 'sensitive' areas).
Love to take this when traveling so I don't have a bunch of products for hair and body to take and can avoid the chemical mess at hotels and stay sway from the environmental estrogen. TOTAL WIN!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calaveras
fromConverse, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful Shampoo
 March 10, 2015
"I really love how this makes my hair feel. My hair feels clean and healthy. I do have to use conditioner after, but it is because my hair is very porous. I love that this shampoo bar travels easy. Even my husbands likes it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nut59
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Only product I could find without nasty chemicals
 February 1, 2015
"I recently took a class on the human microbiome and learned about all of the chemicals in personal care products that kill the beneficial bacteria on our skin. This was the only shampoo I could find without any of those chemicals. It gets you hair squeaky clean and lasts a long time. We love it knowing we are helping our beneficial bacteria in peace."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hals
fromNew York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Left my hair too oily with a residue
 January 9, 2015
"Tried upon discovering sulphate allergy.
I love the idea and it lathered beautifully, and smelt great, but my hair had a greasy residue afterward, even with rinsing with apple cider. Didn't work well for me,, but might be good if you prefer oily hair or have very dry hair. Because of this residue, I concur with other reviewers that it weighs hair down."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alfjt82
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
fantastic!
 December 29, 2014
"loved it immediately.
Kids and husband have adopted it. It lasted forever.
Saves so much plastic, and gives great results.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bootly3
fromBoothbay,ME
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Travel Shampoo!
 November 18, 2014
"I use this Bar Shampoo for My Hair and Face w/Beard :-)>
It really cleans Your Hair Well and makes it soft, unlike regular Soap.
If You Travel a bit, This one bar can do it all and You wont have Liquid Shampoo leaked into the bottom of Your Shaving Kit!!
Cheers! Curt
>~iii~<(
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cville
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Alternative
 November 16, 2014
"Great alternative to all other shampoos that come in plastic bottles. Does a fine job cleaning your hair. Lasts a long time."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jen1121
fromIN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Now my favorite
 October 6, 2014
"I've tried many organic or natural shampoos with good ingredients. This is the best so far. My hair looks very healthy and shiny. I love it. You need to use the conditioner after shampooing as I do."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
StephLC
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Squeaky clean!
 August 14, 2014
"I have very fine hair that gets weighed down easily. After the first use my hair felt squeaky clean and I didn't have to use any conditioner. My hair had volume and shine. I didn't have to use any additional products when blow drying."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zeet
fromMN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Never gonna go back!
 July 24, 2014
"I didn't know that shampoo bar exist. I was only aware of them when I was researching for travel liquid free items. I've been using this for almost two weeks now and I love it.
My hair did not need to go through a transition period because I've already been using Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap for months. The difference between this bar of soap and the Dr. Woods one is that this one is solid and it made my hair a lot more softer after it dries. My hair has never been so soft with the comb.
The bar is on the small size, but the amount of lather is very good, it'll probably last me a couple of months. I also purchased the travel container for this soap and it has been working great so far, it keeps my bar dry."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
me2me
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great product
 July 3, 2014
"I hate bottle shampoos; they are an ecological waste & a lot of marketing hype. Thus is effective shampoo that does make you pay for a lot of water in the producr."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tatyana86
fromCY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 June 14, 2014
"not impressed. leaved my hair oily so that i had to wash it again after with another shampoo."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
therev2u
fromEast Tenn
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
A GREAT BUY!!!
 June 14, 2014
"I love this product: makes my hair & scalp feel clean, healthy, & also look the same way! I also use it as a body bar for the same reasons. I esp like the fact that there is no waste: I use as much as I need- no more no less. But most of all: it cleanses my hair & skin, leaves me feeling & looking clean & healthy; and it's a GREAT BUY!!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChileanMom
fromMellbourne, Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Old School sometimes is the best!
 May 31, 2014
"I thought the entire idea of using a bar of soap for shampoo was out there but because of the small amount of ingredients listed and their safety I thought I'd give it a try. I do add 2-3 drops of doTerra Melaleuca essential oils for some added umph for dandruff but my hair feels incredible, not stripped but soft, manageable and it doesn't get oily over night. I love this product. My brother in law tried it while visiting from Chile and fell in love too. I'm purchasing some to send to him to. Overall, a new eco-friendly, chemical free product we will be carrying as a staple in our home. LOVED IT!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Misswise
fromWest Palm Beach, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Maybe too oily
 May 30, 2014
"This soap might be too oily for my rather dry hair. When I bought it I thought it would not hurt to have a shampoo bar with oils in it. I was probably wrong. My scalp is the only problem. Other that my hair feels good. Works better when using conditioner after."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RachVT
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great alternative, but changes hair texture
 May 14, 2014
"This is a great alternative to regular, chemical-ridden and plastic bottled shampoo. It suds up fast, and goes a long way. The only downside I've had is that it has definitely changed the texture of my hair and makes if feel a little heavier and flatter. It also tends to make it coarser so I sometimes use an organic conditioner. I think its just about adapting to a new product and styling my hair from there. Regardless, I'm saving myself and the earth from the mainstream shampoo issues so I can deal!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next