Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz

Beautiful. Healthy Clean Hair. Shampoo made by hand. Tea Tree Oil has antiseptic and anti-bacterial properties that enhance  our shampoos abilities to effectively tame dermatitis itchy-flaky scalp conditions and may also stimulate hair growth. Hemp oil contains a combination of essential fatty acids that supply your hair's acute nutritional needs. Almond oil provides the important moisturizing healthy hair requires.  . It is not a liquid Each Bar Offers the approximate number of usages as a 24 ounce bottle of most modern shampoos.
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
71 out of 76(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leecita
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome product
 February 5, 2016
"This bar shampoo is amazing. I find that I just need to use the lather of the bar in my hair, leave it in while I soap up everything else, then it rinses out well and I don't need conditioner. It combs out easily and makes my hair soft and nourished. Great for traveling and doubles as body soap in a pinch. No strong synthetic fragrances or any of the other chemicals to strip hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lulumom
Really great product!
 January 26, 2016
"I was skeptical to wash my hair with a bar of soap, but I am glad I gave this bar of shampoo a chance! I have battled with oily hair and itchy scalp for years. Between using J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Tea Tree and Hemp Oil Bar Soap every other day, and Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar every other week, I have been able to conquer the battle. My head no longer itches and my hair doesn't get oily as quickly as before. Moreover, my hair is super shiny and healthy looking! I no longer buy commercial shampoo. I make sure to always have a supply of the bar soap for myself and I've also turned my parents on to it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reeba
fromGeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Many Uses
 January 2, 2016
"J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Tea Tree and Hemp Oil soap has so many uses it is hard to believe. Our hairdresser told my husband to use tea tree for his oily hair. I thought tea tree was just for dry scalp. He decided to give it a try and now he is hooked. I first ordered tea tree shampoo in a bottle which worked good. But, I saw J.R's soap by chance and decided to try it, even though it sounded too good to be true. Now, my husband is hooked and doesn't want to try anything else. He has shaved with it , as have I. I don't use anything else to shave my legs with now. It washes off with so much less water than needed for foam. We are trying to downsize everything and find products with multiple uses, and J.R fits the bill great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nfbe
fromSacramento, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this Shampoo!
 December 26, 2015
"This Shampoo leaves my natural hair feeling squeaky clean, without leaving it feeling stripped or dry. The result is super soft cotton like hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Agall
fromSt Paul, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
First time with a shampoo bar
 November 18, 2015
"I've used this 3 or 4 times now but I'm still not sure how I feel about it. I was thoroughly surprised at how little you need of it to cover all of your hair. I feel like it cleans my hair well, so it does get the job done. The smell is a nice calming one, not terribly strong. The smell doesn't last in my hair because I use a different conditioner but that's ok. My biggest issue is finding a place to put it in my shower so it doesn't get wet when I'm not using it. I've noticed that it is shrinking in size due to being showered on. Are there such thing as conditioner bars...?"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
housemaid
fromNC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Sticky Residue
 September 12, 2015
"I liked the idea of a bar shampoo, and this was good at first. It lathered well, but after about 5 shampoos, I noticed a tacky build-up in my hair. I had to use another shampoo and a vinegar rinse to get rid of it. I also disliked the fact that the soap never dried out between uses. It would stick to my soap dish and I had to pry it out. It just felt gooey all the time, and I don't even live in a humid climate.. Do not recommend."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lastmaxim
fromLondonderry, NS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great bar! Love it!!
 August 17, 2015
"This is a wonderful shampoo bar that our whole family loves! I have really long hair and this blasts out a heavy lather in a few scrubs of the bar. Feels great during the scrubbing and rinses clean without residue. Great smell as well, not weird or chemically... just enjoyable and we'll continue to use it regularly."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dennise89
fromSpain
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great product
 July 31, 2015
"Just exactly as described: great product, I will definetly repeat for sure"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeperath0me
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Pleasant surprise
 July 3, 2015
"I'll admit I was a bit skeptical but still very hopeful. Pleasantly surprised at how well it lathers (just helps you feel clean, right?), cleans and keeps the grease away for days. Smells great and ingredients you can read and feel good about putting on your body. Doesn't make your hair tangly and works well for the kids too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tequilla
fromDunkirk, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My husband really likes it!
 June 6, 2015
"Purchased out of curiosity since it is made entirely of oils -- my husband says it soaps nicely. Great for traveling by air, since it's not a liquid. I will purchase again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
boosmom365
fromBlairs, VA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Wow! Love this shampoo!
 June 6, 2015
"I stumbled across this shampoo while looking for another product. I was having itchy scalp and hair loss, and this tea tree formula really helped. My sister asked to borrow my shampoo at the beach, and I wound up having to order some for her. My husband and daughter also use it now. Hair looks great, and I no longer use conditioner."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewVita
fromNew York, ny
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Need to use apple cider vinegar rinse afterwards
 June 4, 2015
"I can't remember which version of this shampoo bar I reviewed previously, but I wanted to add that I've now added an ACV rinse after using the bar so that my hair remains soft. Otherwise, it gets really sticky and difficult to brush. I steeped chamomile tea and used that water to add ACV in 1:1 ratio and leave it in an old honey container in the bathroom and use a little after shampooing. The shampoo bar lathers really well so a little goes a long way. I'm so happy to have found a hair care solution with no harmful chemicals. I've bought every version of the bar and haven't noticed much difference in the ones I've tried so far."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MmeAK
fromAK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Eco-friendly shampoo
 May 27, 2015
"I am so far very pleased with this product. I was fed up with not understanding the long ingredient lists on products so was very happy to find the J.R.L shampoo bar. It took me about four washings to embrace this product. It lathers well and rinses well. Although I follow most washes with an apple cider rinse based on recommendations from a web search on shampoo bars. I don't use a conditioner anymore, so am pleased to no longer be recycling empty shampoo and conditioner bottles. Since I don't use conditioner, after showering I will ofter run my hands through my hair after applying jojoba oil to my skin. This seems to be plenty of "conditioner" and I am not sure if it is necessary."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triathlete123
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair has never looked HEALTHIER
 May 26, 2015
"This soap was a saving grace for my hair. I received more compliments on how healthy, shiny(but not greasy) my hair looked after using this soap a few times.
At first it may be weird because your hair is getting used to not having it's natural oils stripped but after about 3-5 washes with it then it restores it's own oils and wallah, looks SO MUCH BETTER.
It lathers like crazy, almost like a conditioner would lather and also can function as a soap for your body(be careful of tea tree and other essential oils for 'sensitive' areas).
Love to take this when traveling so I don't have a bunch of products for hair and body to take and can avoid the chemical mess at hotels and stay sway from the environmental estrogen. TOTAL WIN!!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calaveras
fromConverse, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful Shampoo
 March 10, 2015
"I really love how this makes my hair feel. My hair feels clean and healthy. I do have to use conditioner after, but it is because my hair is very porous. I love that this shampoo bar travels easy. Even my husbands likes it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nut59
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Only product I could find without nasty chemicals
 February 1, 2015
"I recently took a class on the human microbiome and learned about all of the chemicals in personal care products that kill the beneficial bacteria on our skin. This was the only shampoo I could find without any of those chemicals. It gets you hair squeaky clean and lasts a long time. We love it knowing we are helping our beneficial bacteria in peace."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hals
fromNew York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Left my hair too oily with a residue
 January 9, 2015
"Tried upon discovering sulphate allergy.
I love the idea and it lathered beautifully, and smelt great, but my hair had a greasy residue afterward, even with rinsing with apple cider. Didn't work well for me,, but might be good if you prefer oily hair or have very dry hair. Because of this residue, I concur with other reviewers that it weighs hair down."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alfjt82
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
fantastic!
 December 29, 2014
"loved it immediately.
Kids and husband have adopted it. It lasted forever.
Saves so much plastic, and gives great results.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ferretgirlkt
fromIndependence, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good Product
 December 27, 2014
"It gets my hair clean, and it has a lot more body than with other shampoos. Can leave it down now, instead of always having to pull it back. The only downside is, since it has those oils that help the scalp, it feels less clean while I'm actually washing. Ultimately though, it is clean, and my scalp is less itchy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Tea Tree and Hemp Oil -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bootly3
fromBoothbay,ME
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Travel Shampoo!
 November 18, 2014
"I use this Bar Shampoo for My Hair and Face w/Beard :-)>
It really cleans Your Hair Well and makes it soft, unlike regular Soap.
If You Travel a bit, This one bar can do it all and You wont have Liquid Shampoo leaked into the bottom of Your Shaving Kit!!
Cheers! Curt
>~iii~<(
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next