Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz

Healthy * Beautiful * Clean Hair.   Damaged-dry hair is often caused by the removal of hairs natural protective oils usually by petroleum based detergent shampoos.  . Our bar shampoo has no detergents. It removes the excess oils but leaves enough natural oils to help protect and vitalize your hair. Vitamin E aloe vera and almond oil are added to aid in the healing and restoration of damaged dry hair.
Overall rating:
4.24 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
21 out of 25(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triathlete123
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Healthy, Shiny RESTORED my wavy thin Hair
 May 26, 2015
"This soap was a saving grace for my hair. I received more compliments on how healthy, shiny(but not greasy) my hair looked after using this soap a few times.
At first it may be weird because your hair is getting used to not having it's natural oils stripped but after about 3-5 washes with it then it restores it's own oils and wallah, looks SO MUCH BETTER.
It lathers like crazy, almost like a conditioner would lather and also can function as a soap for your body(be careful of tea tree and other essential oils for 'sensitive' areas).
Love to take this when traveling so I don't have a bunch of products for hair and body to take and can avoid the chemical mess at hotels and stay sway from the environmental estrogen. TOTAL WIN!!
**Use 50/50 Apple cider vinegar after as a CONDITIONER to seal the ends and keeps it feeling light and fluffy and untangled
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ernesta
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Terrible Product
 April 23, 2015
"I was really excited to try this, but as I rinsed, my hair felt so waxy and unmanageable. I don't color or treat my hair and I had just gotten a trim so I was really surprised by how crazy unhappy my hair became. I immediately had to condition because the tangles were unlike anything I've ever experienced. I tried to give this shampoo a second (and third) chance but it just creates knots and doesn't leave my hair soft or clean. I would not recommend this product and I plan to contact JR Liggett's separately to get my money back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dontlikedishonesty
fromNew Orleans
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
not honest in ingredient listings
 February 14, 2015
"I am ver particular in the ingredients I use. I was NOT happy to order this only to recieve and find out it does indeed have Palm kernel oil, an ingredient NOT listed and also not one I choose to use. Very disappointed!!"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EarthyMother
What more could you want?
 January 1, 2015
"This soap suds nicely. It leaves my hair looking manageable and my scalp feeling soothed. Less plastic bottle waste makes me feel extra good about using it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreekInLux
fromLuxembourg, European Union
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
fantastic product
 November 21, 2014
"Great for hair, body, shaving !
leaves skin soft and smelling amazingly.
Cannot believe this is 100% natural perfection !
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ivy1
fromArroyo Seco, NM
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
this product is great
 October 11, 2014
"this soap makes my hair feel clean without the harsh ingredients other shampoos have"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ABirdintheHand
fromNashville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This is great shampoo!
 July 17, 2014
"We love this shampoo bar. It has many great qualities: short ingredient list of natural products, takes up less space, has very little packaging so less trash (and no plastic), smells good, leaves hair clean and without build up, etc."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
natalie3
fromMD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 June 16, 2014
"I like the bar shampoo, it keeps my hair healthy. I will definitely repeat this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rosiecat
fromLongview, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 February 2, 2014
"This was recommended to me 2 years ago because my hair was dry, no matter what shampoo I used. I began using this bar and my hair is not brittle but strong. I love it. The bar last a long time and keeps my hair from splitting and becoming damaged."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YensKitchen
fromNY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful!
 October 12, 2013
"It's the best! My husband's favorite shampoo now! The bar beats anything in a bottle. It leaves the hair clean without drying out. Old recipe lasts this long for a reason!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Swaha
Scent waaaay to strong.
 May 4, 2013
"I purchased this for a trip. Looked like a great idea, but the scent was so strong I couldn't leave it in my luggage without EVERYTHING smelling like it. I ended up putting it in a plastic bag, then moving it to the garage, then just throwing it away. I'm re-ordering the no-fragrance version. I really thought with just essential oils the scent would be mild and pleasant."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mgoodwin
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good for dry damaged hair
 March 28, 2013
"It works great but I have to use another shampoo alternately or my has no body."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GreenEggsAndSpam
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I have long and very thick hair...
 March 13, 2013
"I read alot of reviews and no one was very specific about having thick hair, so I decided to try it anyway...I have very thick and long hair!
I part my hair in several sections in order to get the bar against the scalp evenly around my head and hair. I comb the soap throughout too as this helps when you get out of the shower.
It suds up incredibly well - more so than any shampoo I've ever used before. It has a very faint and clean smell.
When I rinsed it out, my hair was literally squeaking!! I freaked a little and felt the need to use conditioner, but followed the instructions instead.
I don't advise towel drying - even after using the comb in the shower, your hair is going to be kinda tangled. Once dried, my hair had static in it, but nothing a ponytail couldn't fix.
My hair was surprisingly VERY moisturized. I say VERY, because after just a single workday, my head had that gross "you need to wash your greasy nasty hair" look to it.
The reviews all said to give your hair time to adjust to this shock and continue using. It was a bit torturous, but I'm stubborn and decided to keep at it (besides, your saving the environment and so it's worth it!!). I washed my hair almost every day in the beginning and found that the more times I used it, the better my hair was adapting. After about 3 weeks, I'd gone through only half the bar. I got used to parting my hair in the shower and the little static that came with use. Tangles almost are completely non existent now and my hair looks just ok now. Styling my hair is great now too - curls fast and last all day without product and straightening my hair is really fast too. No super shine and not super light, but its clean and healthy. I don't seem to shed as much now either.
All in all, I'd say give it a try. You will definitely hate it for the first couple of weeks, but eventually you will learn to really enjoy it. I've given a few bars to friends and the ones with short hair love it alot! My teenage son also uses it.
The best part about this product is the paper packaging...the whole thing is 100% biodegradable and non toxic!! :)
"
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MsTerry
fromAmherst, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful bar shampoo
 January 22, 2013
"Have been using this particular bar shampoo for about four years and I'm extremely pleased with it. It's also great and convenient for travel."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjang
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good product.
 October 9, 2012
"Hair feels stiff at first but after a week of use my hair looked and felt great. Never thought of using a soap bar for shampoo but I would use it again. The small bar lasted a long time. Good ingredient. The soap bar had a surprisingly strong and quick reaction to water that made my hair bubble quick. It also help my itchy scalp. However, this product needs to be used with a conditioner."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tink68
fromNew York, New York
Gender:Female
Best Shampoo!!
 June 4, 2012
"This soap is the best shampoo bar, I love it, it produces a great lather is very convenient, and makes my hair squeaky clean, I highly recommend it!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RickD
good product
 February 2, 2012
"I've been using this shampoo for years. I like that it has a short list of ingredients and I don't require conditioner. I don't notice much difference in the formulations except that the original doesn't burn the eyes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ezmama
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Lathers but leaves residue
 November 18, 2011
"This does last a long time and lathers well, BUT my hair felt so heavy and coated after use. I really wanted to like it, but with or without conditioner I had greasy-looking hair less than half a day after using it. It would be great for those once-in-awhile occasions where I go all out and use hot rollers. You know, those times when a stylist would recommend not washing your hair :) My hair tends towards oiliness, is very straight, and falls just below my shoulders."
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shelfield
fromBoise, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
LOVE THIS SHAMPOO!
 September 24, 2011
"I bought this because my kids always dump their shampoo into the water. This stuff is great, you hardly have to rub it to get a great, think, bubbly lather. It is gentle and easy to use. LOVE THIS BAR!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Moisturizing Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Annie72
fromUtah
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Best Shampoo Bar
 August 18, 2011
"The best shampoo bar I have ever tried. My hair is shinny and silky smooth! even my kids love them. would highly recommend.
Thank you VITACOST for fast delivery, good service, and excellent product.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next