Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz

Healthy * Beautiful * Clean Hair.   Vitamin E - Aloe Vera - Almond Oil are added to our original shampoo formulation to moisturize and aid in the healing and restoration of damaged dry hair.  . These ingredients help to add back some of the natural oils that have been lost along the way for those who have colored permed or otherwise damaged their hair.  . This bar of shampoos is also great for cold winter climates. Where through lack of humidity everything dries out. .  . It has a sentimental earthy fragrance that is reminiscent of times gone by.  
Overall rating:
4.421 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ABirdintheHand
fromNashville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This is great shampoo!
 July 17, 2014
"We love this shampoo bar. It has many great qualities: short ingredient list of natural products, takes up less space, has very little packaging so less trash (and no plastic), smells good, leaves hair clean and without build up, etc."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
natalie3
fromMD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 June 16, 2014
"I like the bar shampoo, it keeps my hair healthy. I will definitely repeat this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rosiecat
fromLongview, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 February 2, 2014
"This was recommended to me 2 years ago because my hair was dry, no matter what shampoo I used. I began using this bar and my hair is not brittle but strong. I love it. The bar last a long time and keeps my hair from splitting and becoming damaged."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YensKitchen
fromNY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful!
 October 12, 2013
"It's the best! My husband's favorite shampoo now! The bar beats anything in a bottle. It leaves the hair clean without drying out. Old recipe lasts this long for a reason!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Swaha
Scent waaaay to strong.
 May 4, 2013
"I purchased this for a trip. Looked like a great idea, but the scent was so strong I couldn't leave it in my luggage without EVERYTHING smelling like it. I ended up putting it in a plastic bag, then moving it to the garage, then just throwing it away. I'm re-ordering the no-fragrance version. I really thought with just essential oils the scent would be mild and pleasant."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mgoodwin
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good for dry damaged hair
 March 28, 2013
"It works great but I have to use another shampoo alternately or my has no body."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GreenEggsAndSpam
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I have long and very thick hair...
 March 13, 2013
"I read alot of reviews and no one was very specific about having thick hair, so I decided to try it anyway...I have very thick and long hair!
I part my hair in several sections in order to get the bar against the scalp evenly around my head and hair. I comb the soap throughout too as this helps when you get out of the shower.
It suds up incredibly well - more so than any shampoo I've ever used before. It has a very faint and clean smell.
When I rinsed it out, my hair was literally squeaking!! I freaked a little and felt the need to use conditioner, but followed the instructions instead.
I don't advise towel drying - even after using the comb in the shower, your hair is going to be kinda tangled. Once dried, my hair had static in it, but nothing a ponytail couldn't fix.
My hair was surprisingly VERY moisturized. I say VERY, because after just a single workday, my head had that gross "you need to wash your greasy nasty hair" look to it.
The reviews all said to give your hair time to adjust to this shock and continue using. It was a bit torturous, but I'm stubborn and decided to keep at it (besides, your saving the environment and so it's worth it!!). I washed my hair almost every day in the beginning and found that the more times I used it, the better my hair was adapting. After about 3 weeks, I'd gone through only half the bar. I got used to parting my hair in the shower and the little static that came with use. Tangles almost are completely non existent now and my hair looks just ok now. Styling my hair is great now too - curls fast and last all day without product and straightening my hair is really fast too. No super shine and not super light, but its clean and healthy. I don't seem to shed as much now either.
All in all, I'd say give it a try. You will definitely hate it for the first couple of weeks, but eventually you will learn to really enjoy it. I've given a few bars to friends and the ones with short hair love it alot! My teenage son also uses it.
The best part about this product is the paper packaging...the whole thing is 100% biodegradable and non toxic!! :)
"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MsTerry
fromAmherst, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful bar shampoo
 January 22, 2013
"Have been using this particular bar shampoo for about four years and I'm extremely pleased with it. It's also great and convenient for travel."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjang
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good product.
 October 9, 2012
"Hair feels stiff at first but after a week of use my hair looked and felt great. Never thought of using a soap bar for shampoo but I would use it again. The small bar lasted a long time. Good ingredient. The soap bar had a surprisingly strong and quick reaction to water that made my hair bubble quick. It also help my itchy scalp. However, this product needs to be used with a conditioner."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tink68
fromNew York, New York
Gender:Female
Best Shampoo!!
 June 4, 2012
"This soap is the best shampoo bar, I love it, it produces a great lather is very convenient, and makes my hair squeaky clean, I highly recommend it!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RickD
good product
 February 2, 2012
"I've been using this shampoo for years. I like that it has a short list of ingredients and I don't require conditioner. I don't notice much difference in the formulations except that the original doesn't burn the eyes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ezmama
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Lathers but leaves residue
 November 18, 2011
"This does last a long time and lathers well, BUT my hair felt so heavy and coated after use. I really wanted to like it, but with or without conditioner I had greasy-looking hair less than half a day after using it. It would be great for those once-in-awhile occasions where I go all out and use hot rollers. You know, those times when a stylist would recommend not washing your hair :) My hair tends towards oiliness, is very straight, and falls just below my shoulders."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shelfield
fromBoise, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
LOVE THIS SHAMPOO!
 September 24, 2011
"I bought this because my kids always dump their shampoo into the water. This stuff is great, you hardly have to rub it to get a great, think, bubbly lather. It is gentle and easy to use. LOVE THIS BAR!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Annie72
fromUtah
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Best Shampoo Bar
 August 18, 2011
"The best shampoo bar I have ever tried. My hair is shinny and silky smooth! even my kids love them. would highly recommend.
Thank you VITACOST for fast delivery, good service, and excellent product.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cvana
fromBoston, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Bar Shampoo
 July 11, 2011
"Absolute BEST shampoo ever. It leaves your hair squeeky clean. When your hair dries, it is unbelievably soft. My hair is thinning and it feels, looks and "works" so much thicker with this shampoo."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Minina
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Your hair will NOT be shiny
 July 3, 2011
"It works, have nice ingredients, but my hair looses totally its shines and plus smell like I have not use anything at all!
Need conditioner after its use.
I think is good to be used now and then."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
millysmom
Age:25-34
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 June 10, 2011
"I love this bar!! It works great on my entire familys hair. It is really great on kids hair!! I will buy over and over again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rosalee
fromOH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product!
 April 13, 2011
"I love all of J>R. Liggett's bar shampoo formulas! This one conditions nicely but doesn't leave hair coated with residue. No conditioner needed. Lathers perfectly."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Damaged and Dry Hair Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marmonqui
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent and all Natural!
 January 23, 2010
"I was really suprised, I've washed my hair with Dr. Bronner's soap and it would always leave my hair a tangled mess. I thought that might be the case with this natural soap. Not at all!
The shampoo has a rich lather, and I very easily combed my hair in the shower while it was lathered up. Rinsed well. I did not use conditioner; my hair dried full of body and felt soft.
I have very fine hair that usually tangles easily. Not so with this shampoo bar. I'm hooked.
Really glad we found a real natural shampoo--that's detergent free and leaves my hair tangle free.
My only disappointment is that vitacost doesn't offer the jojoba and mint shampoo bar!"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.