Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz

Healthy* Beautiful* Clean Hair. Shampoo Made By Hand. Each bar is hand-cut so not tow bars are exactly alike. The way they did it over 100 years ago here in New England.  . No synthetic oils no chemical concoctions no plastic bottle no detergents... This shampoo doesn't strip the natural oils from your hair so most will not need to condition.  . Good for permed or colored hair and naturally curly hair.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
22 out of 25(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
roaz
fromKilauea, Hawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very happy with this product
 April 19, 2015
"I was told about this shampoo by a visiting friend. I was skeptical, but after trying it, I will never go back to regular shampoo. No need for conditioner and hair and scalp feel real clean. My hair seems to not need to be washed as often. And, I feel good that there are no chemicals in it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lilred5
fromRolla, MO
Great Product
 February 15, 2015
"After researching natural shampoos, I decided to give the herbal formula a try after reading all the reviews. The shampoo bar is easy to use and is great on my hair. I get a squeaky-clean feeling after rinsing it out and my hair hardly needs conditioning. I recently tried henna for the first time also and this shampoo still works great. I have tried other formulas of the J.R. Liggett's but keep coming back to the herbal bar. A must try."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
SChristianna
fromFriendswood, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It was a disaster!
 January 15, 2015
"I had high hopes for this shampoo, but it was a disaster! Now, I did read the reviews before I decided to try it. I gave it three days before I couldn't take it anymore. From day 1, it made my hair feel super dry and dirty. I had a heck of a time combing through it. So, I added conditioner and it did NOT help! I held out to see if maybe my hair would "get used" to the shampoo. Day 2, and 3 were no better. Granted, I have dry, wavy hair. But when I switched back to my regular shampoo, my hair went right back to normal and manageable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mangovegan
fromPortland, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great shampoo
 December 25, 2014
"it foams up quickly using hardly soap and conditions well!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hogpwr2
fromMelbourne, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product gives great results.
 November 7, 2014
"I have used this product for over a year, and just as the package says, it leaves my hair very healthy feeling, is non-drying, and negates the need to use a conditioner afterwards. It comes in three fragrances, all good, but I particularly like the herbal formula."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsCAnn
fromCentral Valley, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Leaves hair clean & silky; no conditioner needed!
 October 7, 2014
"Wish I'd found this amazing little shampoo bar MANY years ago! Gentle, creamy lather that cleans hair thoroughly, leaving no residue. Smells wonderful and my hair is left silky and static-free. NO conditioner is needed after, which makes this a REALLY amazing bargain!
Perfectly safe on color-treated hair, too, and also great for thinning hair. Without any residue, my hair had more body and volume. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this product!!!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ostara
Love this!
 September 1, 2014
"This shampoo bar works better than anything I have used in a plastic bottle. It even works up a lather. I don't need a conditioner and can go days without shampooing again. It's also so easy to travel with since it's not a liquid."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hqueen13
fromMaryland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product
 May 8, 2014
"I hadn't been using any shampoo in the struggle to find something that was natural and cost effective for my hair. Many of the home made recipes were too complicated or required refrigeration. These shampoo bars are simple to use and cost effective. It took my hair several washings to adapt to the bar, but now it comes out soft and silky again, which makes me happy! Works great on my long thick hair."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dinidear
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Liggetts shampoo
 April 26, 2014
"Fantastic product! If you travel it is the greatest Boone ever! It is all you need for great clean soft manageable hair, plus use as body soap, laundry soap or whatever! Just stow and go! What's not to love! Lasts a long time too with no spillage or waste or bottle to deal with. Can you tell I like this stuff? I take it to my hairdresser when I go and she even enjoys its smell and simplicity."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmt365
fromCullowhee, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it!!!
 April 24, 2014
"I love this product and I use it everyday! I have naturally curly hair and it just makes my hair look and feel great! I give this product 5 stars!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katryn
fromAustralia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Rosemary oil is great for hairloss.
 February 17, 2014
"I LOVE this soap for my hair. Now I can just wash my hair and leave it to dry without even blow-waving it! Great for holidays."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PurpleUnicorn
fromRhode island
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I love it
 December 27, 2013
"easy to hold, lathers up nicely, leaves my hair feeling soft and shiny."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mase
fromChicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice product
 August 22, 2013
"I tried this shampoo because of the plastic-free packaging. It quickly works into a thick lather and washes out completely - no residue feeling at all. Without a separate conditioner my hair is a little more tangled when wet, however it's nothing drastic and I use a leave-in conditioner occasionally. Compared to using regular shampoo, I feel like my thin hair has way more volume and body with the shampoo bar. Also if I don't wash my hair every day it doesn't look greasy the day after washing like how my hair would with regular shampoo. The herbal scent seems slightly masculine and my husband loves it too. He also uses the bar for shaving."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cclemon
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Shampoo Ever!
 July 6, 2013
"I am so glad I learned about this shampoo, it has become my all time favorite! I have very fine hair and it is not hard to comb my hair afterwards unlike many other shampoos. I also do not like using conditioner, and this leaves my hair feeling soft, full, and thick. A little goes a long way and actually lasts quite awhile."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cjsavage
fromIdaho
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My husband loves this stuff!
 July 1, 2013
"I bought just one bar last time, but I will stock up on my next order. Leaves your hair soft and smelling yummy!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjang
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good product.
 October 9, 2012
"Hair feels stiff at first but after a week of use my hair looked and felt great. Never thought of using a soap bar for shampoo but I would use it again. The small bar lasted a long time. Good ingredient. The soap bar had a surprisingly strong and quick reaction to water that made my hair bubble quick. It also help my itchy scalp. However, this product needs to be used with a conditioner."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CustomerReview
fromAlabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great body bar and shampoo
 July 19, 2012
"I love the rich lather and clean smell of this shampoo. My husband took the bar on our recent camping trip where he used it for his body soap and shampoo and I don't think he's giving it back. He is now using it for his daily shampoo. It cleans well and leaves our hair shiny. I think the price is a little high for the small bar but it seems to be long-lasting."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrChristopher
fromLas Vegas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best Shampoo Ever!
 July 16, 2012
"Buy one bar and you will be a loyal customer for life! My hair and scalp are so healthy... Best of all, no chemicals!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazzbear
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
An excellent oldfashioned shampoo.
 July 3, 2012
"It's an excellent quality old fashioned shampoo if used regularly thought alternating it with other types of regular shampoos you may use.In the modern world often targeting to change formula of the products with a nice label "New and imporved" [truly meaning to improve their profit for even just pennies not to improve customer satisfaction and needs], while sucrifacing the quality,this one is still berry good natural quality product.So bee it further."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goloka
fromHillsborough, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Deal
 April 21, 2012
"JR Liggett bar shampoo is earth friendly and non-damaging to hair. Lathers well and rinses clean as claimed. Recommend to friends."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next