Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz

Healthy* Beautiful* Clean Hair. Rosemary - Lavender - Cedarwood.  . This select group of essential oils are combined to create an extremely wonderfully smelling all natural bar of shampoo.  . It gives you the feeling of early spring with its subtle but distinct fragrance.  . It's refreshing. It's delicate. It's enhancing. It offers a wonderful alternative in choices to our line of shampoo bars.
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
17 out of 19(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ostara
Love this!
 September 1, 2014
"This shampoo bar works better than anything I have used in a plastic bottle. It even works up a lather. I don't need a conditioner and can go days without shampooing again. It's also so easy to travel with since it's not a liquid."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hqueen13
fromMaryland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product
 May 8, 2014
"I hadn't been using any shampoo in the struggle to find something that was natural and cost effective for my hair. Many of the home made recipes were too complicated or required refrigeration. These shampoo bars are simple to use and cost effective. It took my hair several washings to adapt to the bar, but now it comes out soft and silky again, which makes me happy! Works great on my long thick hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dinidear
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Liggetts shampoo
 April 26, 2014
"Fantastic product! If you travel it is the greatest Boone ever! It is all you need for great clean soft manageable hair, plus use as body soap, laundry soap or whatever! Just stow and go! What's not to love! Lasts a long time too with no spillage or waste or bottle to deal with. Can you tell I like this stuff? I take it to my hairdresser when I go and she even enjoys its smell and simplicity."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmt365
fromCullowhee, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love it!!!
 April 24, 2014
"I love this product and I use it everyday! I have naturally curly hair and it just makes my hair look and feel great! I give this product 5 stars!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katryn
fromAustralia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Rosemary oil is great for hairloss.
 February 17, 2014
"I LOVE this soap for my hair. Now I can just wash my hair and leave it to dry without even blow-waving it! Great for holidays."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PurpleUnicorn
fromRhode island
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I love it
 December 27, 2013
"easy to hold, lathers up nicely, leaves my hair feeling soft and shiny."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mase
fromChicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice product
 August 22, 2013
"I tried this shampoo because of the plastic-free packaging. It quickly works into a thick lather and washes out completely - no residue feeling at all. Without a separate conditioner my hair is a little more tangled when wet, however it's nothing drastic and I use a leave-in conditioner occasionally. Compared to using regular shampoo, I feel like my thin hair has way more volume and body with the shampoo bar. Also if I don't wash my hair every day it doesn't look greasy the day after washing like how my hair would with regular shampoo. The herbal scent seems slightly masculine and my husband loves it too. He also uses the bar for shaving."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cclemon
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Shampoo Ever!
 July 6, 2013
"I am so glad I learned about this shampoo, it has become my all time favorite! I have very fine hair and it is not hard to comb my hair afterwards unlike many other shampoos. I also do not like using conditioner, and this leaves my hair feeling soft, full, and thick. A little goes a long way and actually lasts quite awhile."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cjsavage
fromIdaho
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My husband loves this stuff!
 July 1, 2013
"I bought just one bar last time, but I will stock up on my next order. Leaves your hair soft and smelling yummy!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjang
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good product.
 October 9, 2012
"Hair feels stiff at first but after a week of use my hair looked and felt great. Never thought of using a soap bar for shampoo but I would use it again. The small bar lasted a long time. Good ingredient. The soap bar had a surprisingly strong and quick reaction to water that made my hair bubble quick. It also help my itchy scalp. However, this product needs to be used with a conditioner."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CustomerReview
fromAlabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great body bar and shampoo
 July 19, 2012
"I love the rich lather and clean smell of this shampoo. My husband took the bar on our recent camping trip where he used it for his body soap and shampoo and I don't think he's giving it back. He is now using it for his daily shampoo. It cleans well and leaves our hair shiny. I think the price is a little high for the small bar but it seems to be long-lasting."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrChristopher
fromLas Vegas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best Shampoo Ever!
 July 16, 2012
"Buy one bar and you will be a loyal customer for life! My hair and scalp are so healthy... Best of all, no chemicals!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazzbear
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
An excellent oldfashioned shampoo.
 July 3, 2012
"It's an excellent quality old fashioned shampoo if used regularly thought alternating it with other types of regular shampoos you may use.In the modern world often targeting to change formula of the products with a nice label "New and imporved" [truly meaning to improve their profit for even just pennies not to improve customer satisfaction and needs], while sucrifacing the quality,this one is still berry good natural quality product.So bee it further."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goloka
fromHillsborough, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Deal
 April 21, 2012
"JR Liggett bar shampoo is earth friendly and non-damaging to hair. Lathers well and rinses clean as claimed. Recommend to friends."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JGreen59
fromLancaster, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love this natural shampoo!
 January 13, 2012
"I love, love, LOVE this shampoo. I have very straight, VERY fine hair and this leaves my hair feeling clean, but not stripped. Yes, it does feel differently after washing with this bar compared to "normal" shampoo. That is because normal shampoo strips your hair of natural oils. Give it a try, I'm sure you will love it too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
konosur
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love it!
 August 21, 2011
"This is my first time trying out a shampoo bar and I love it. It leaves my hair soft and clean without stripping off the natural oils, unlike many other natural shampoos. I have very fine, straight hair and this works great."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
oiupy
frommd
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Bad Stuff
 August 7, 2011
"This is my second review of this product. The first review was not published. This left my hair DRY and tangled.
I used it for a month.
"
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oiupy
frommd
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Leaves My Hair Dull and Dried out
 August 5, 2011
"Leaves my hair dull, dry feeling and TANGLED.
In fact, so mangled that I have to use TRIPLE the amount of conditioner to get the tangles out. Of course, using too much conditioner leaves a film, which then, only makes my hair duller. Although the ingredients are good, this product just didn't "work out" for my hair. However, I must admit it was very convenient using a "bar" of soap for shampoo.
Made the washing process a whole lot faster. Makes your hair VERY clean. Maybe "too" clean .. unfortunately, depletes the natural oils.
"
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for J.R.Liggett's Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Herbal Formula -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SaraK
Best shampoo by far!!
 November 12, 2010
"I have very fine and straight hair and alot of natural shampoos ,especially shampoo bars, are way too heavy for my hair. This one is awesome!! I have the jojoba and peppermint one too but haven;t tried it yet. This might just have to be my go to shampoo for daily use!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.