Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz

All Natural. Hypoallergenic. Original Coco. Kirk's Coco Castile Shampoo is a natural alternative to everyday shampoos.  Crafted with natural cleansers from select Cococnut Oil Kirk's Shampoo is ideal for all hair types.  The luxurious lather rinses clean leaving no residue or build-up on your hair.  Avaiable in 16 oz bottles.  100% vegetable base.  Hypoallergenic and biodegradable.  Contains No Animal By-Products - Never Tested on Animals.  Ideal for every member of the family.
Overall rating:
4.469 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
27 out of 32(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arolue
fromIndiana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best we've found....
 March 11, 2015
"My husband asked me to order this regularly because he likes it better than any shampoo he has used. I then tried it and it is really good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barbie1329
fromNew York Area
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice suds & not harsh on hair
 February 24, 2015
"I was pleasantly surprised that this shampoo had good sudzing action. Also, even though it cleans residue off hair - it doesn't strip your hair dry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holly321
fromHolly Hill, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great clarifying shampoo!
 January 12, 2015
"Castile soap is great for removing build-up from products that weigh down your hair. It will remove residue from conditioners that weigh down your hair and make it feel flat and lifeless. Your hair will be glossy and clean, and if you have short, fine hair, it may be a bit fly-away. I then use a few drops of rosemary essential oil blended with fractionated coconut oil lightly rubbed into my hands, and run my fingers through my hair. Good, and good for you!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jazarthur
fromNashville TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Love the coconut!
 August 26, 2014
"Kirk's is the best. Clean and fragrant. The bars are great, too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CordycepsSinensis
fromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 May 29, 2014
"Smells good and lathers well. Does the job."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
NotUrAverageConsumer
fromTallahassee, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Smells Like Detergent
 February 13, 2014
"And where's the castile? While it may be in the product, the smell is very faint. And while it claims to be 'natural' (seemingly a misnomer), it felt (and smelt) as though I was washing my hair with clothes detergent. Although I didn't care for this product, wouldn't buy it again and wouldn't recommend it, that's not to say that others might not have a different experience."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pling
fromBothell
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great sudsing shampoo!
 December 7, 2013
"My son really likes this shampoo. He has issues with oily scalp and this shampoo gets his hair squeaky clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
windancer1
fromArizona
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great shampoo
 December 6, 2013
"I am sensitive to soaps, perfumes, dyes, chemicals, etc... so needed a product that wouldn't irritate my skin... this is great... thanks"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
charisma7
fromSE Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It's ok as far as natural shampoos goes
 October 25, 2013
"I've been looking for a natural shampoo for ages, and I've tried many different kinds. I was attracted to the price of Kirk's (most natural shampoos cost upwards of $8/bottle). I'm a fan of Kirk's bar soap, so I thought it was worth a try.
The shampoo itself is good at cleaning, but the pH is way too basic. I have to use vinegar AND (natural) conditioner to get my hair soft after I shampoo. It's not a big deal because I only wash my hair once a week, but it does seem to be a bit harsh."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TXNative
fromTX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice shampoo
 September 1, 2013
"Gentle & fragrant."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadySmiles
fromSummerville, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 May 6, 2013
"Great shampoo and it lathers well."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ChipOnMyShoulder
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Bleached or color treated hair people beware!
 April 30, 2013
"I really like kirk's bar soap so I thought the shampoo would be good too....I didn't notice that there are lauryl sulfates in the shampoo and liquid soap so if that matters to anyone, be warned and be sure to look at the ingredients. Although I do have color treated hair, I noticed after continued use that this dried my hair out worse than any other shampoo I've ever used. My hair has never been this coarse and dry. If you have bleached or colored treated hair, this is not the shampoo to use trust me!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coletto11
fromSpringfield, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great smell and cleaning
 April 26, 2013
"I love that this is all natural, and it smells great--a very clean smell, not fragrancy. It doesn't lather up like commercial shampoos, so just be aware of that, but it does get my hair nice and clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
JBro
fromMitchell NE
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Disappointed
 April 14, 2013
"Having used Kirk's soap for some time I was anxious to try the shampoo. I found it good in every way but one and that is the strong scent. My hair felt good but smelled so strong of the shampoo scent it was offensive. I am very disappointed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamaKare
fromUtah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Works Great as Shampoo and Body Wash
 April 3, 2013
"I purchased this as shampoo for my little kids ages 2 and 5. I have ended up using it as shampoo and body wash. It helped clear up dry/ rough skin and I love the mild clean scent."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rysgran
fromNorthern KY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great value and beautiful hair!
 February 25, 2013
"My husband and I tried this in our recent order. We are both so happy. I have had trouble finding a shampoo that works, without drying my scalp, or looking oily. This is perfect for both of us."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jrnlj
fromSt. Peters, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo
 January 14, 2013
"We have been searching for a good shampoo for sometime. I ran across this shampoo when I placed my last order and decided to try it out. It is just what we were looking for. It leaves our hair shiny and smooth and rinses out easily. I don't even have to use conditioner with this shampoo. We'll be using this product from now on."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MCSLady
fromJackson, MO.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Husband Likes
 December 14, 2012
"My husband likes this shampoo and Kirks soap, too. I like the price."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taters
fromWashington State
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My New Go-To Shampoo!
 September 11, 2012
"My hair has been tragic lately... too much summer sun and chlorinated swimming. It was really looking unhealthy, with dry ends and oily scalp. Ugh. I was trying shampoo after shampoo, and really getting frustrated. None of my natural shampoos were evening the balance out in my hair, and I was having trouble rinsing the shampoos out of my damaged hair- I was left with buildup.
But then I tried this shampoo! I honestly wasn't expecting a lot. It's a no-frills shampoo, in a no-frills bottle. But it works AMAZINGLY for my hair. My scalp isn't oily, my ends aren't as dry... I was worried that the shampoo would be TOO drying, but it hasn't been at all! It leaves my hair soft, shiny, and clean-feeling. I'm really amazed, and I will definitely keep this shampoo around for regular use. It's a great value, too!
I don't know how this shampoo would work for every hair type, but it works GREAT for my long, fine, combination hair!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kirk's Natural Coco Castile Shampoo -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My new favorite shampoo!
 June 20, 2012
"I love this shampoo. It cleans my oily hair well without drying it out or weighing it down. Plus, its a bit more affordable than other natural shampoos out there which is a plus."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next