Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz

All Natural-Eco Friendly. Ideal Complexion Formula. A New Experience in  Cleanliness. For Everyday Use as a Body Wash Facial Cleanser Shampoo Shaving Lather.   We have combined our original soap products with Organic Shea Butter to create an ultra moisturizing cleanser. Shea Butter is nature's hidden secret for beautiful skin. Once a year in the African Savannah the Mangifolia tree gives up its fruit known as the karite or the shea nut. After being hand picked the shea nuts are boiled to extract their treasure Shea Butter.  . Shea Butter is an ultra moisturizer that penetrates and revitalizes your skin. Shea Butter naturally contains vitamins A E and F essential element that give your skin the balance that it needs for improved elasticity and to combat dryness.  . Dr.Woods Black Soap also known as Anago Soap or Alata Soap originates from West Africa. It has been used for centuries in Africa. It's methods and secrets have been passed down from generation to generation to keep the soap close to mother nature and avoid exploitation & limitations. Many have tried to create their version of black soap with all kinds of ingredients.  . For centuries Africans have used Black Soap to help relieve acne oily skin clear blemishes and various other skin issues. Black soap has also been used to achieve beautiful skin. Africans have also used this natural soap for bathing and washing their hair. Today people from all walks of life are benefiting from this amazing soap. Great for removing make-up Dr. Woods Black Soap will leave your skin soft clear and smelling delicious. This soap works against premature facial lines.  . Black soap comes from plantain skin. It is natural source of vitamin A & E and iron. (Plantain is a popular food in Africa South America & other parts of the world. It can be found in ethnic or international grocery stores such as Latino Caribbean or African. It looks like banana but much bigger. It does not taste like a banana & has to be cooked before eating. The skin of the plantain is gingerly dried to be precise texture under the hot African sun. It is then roasted in a clay oven. The heat must be constant in order to achieve a particular color texture & smell.  . The next process is very delicate because if it is not done properly with the right ingredients there will be no soap. The roasted plantain skin is mixed with palm oil palm kernel oil to form the soap. The roasting of the plantains determines the brownish-black color of the soap. The longer plantains are roasted the darker the soap. Dr. Woods may be used by anyone who wishes to improve the quality of their skin.
Overall rating:
4.306 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
40 out of 49(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pattipix
fromRochester, ny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 July 11, 2014
"Love it. Keeps my face nice and clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dreamgirl9
fromCamp Hill, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good stuff! i'll def reorder.
 July 2, 2014
"I took a chance on this based on the reviews. The versatility of its many uses attracted me as well. I use it as a shampoo, body wash and sometimes face wash. I like how it smells, woodsy and clean. I like how my skin & hair feel after using it. it doesnt feel dried out. I will definitely reorder this produce (Shea Vision Pur Black Soap w/ Organic Shea Butter - 8oz.)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DoctorH
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
HANDY SIZE
 May 14, 2014
"I purchased this size to have in my shower and refill it with the 32 oz. size. I use it as a shampoo, face wash and body wash currently. It outperforms every shampoo I've ever used. My hair appears thicker, and sheds less. I use black soap hair conditioner in conjunction with it. They work well together. As a face wash, my skin stays clear and blemish free. As a body wash, I don't itch anymore. I use it in conjunction with black soap lotion. Good stuff!!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chaypat
fromCT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Success!
 April 4, 2014
"Outstanding product to treat acne without drying. Used on face morning and night...works just as good as the expensive TV advertised acne wash. Use in the shower and really keeps body acne at bay. All 3 of my teen agers love it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
msalias206
fromSeattle, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
High quality soap
 February 28, 2014
"This one has become a bathroom-basic for my home, though I use it in my kitchen and laundry at times. Yes, I've been in a pinch and have added this to a load of laundry and BOOM! Clean laundry that smells great. I diluted it 1:1 with water to get 3/4 cup. Use it directly for a pre-wash and again I say BOOM - spots out!
I don't purchase shampoo I use this. It gives my hair a natural sheen. It definitely helps with strengthening it too because I observe much less hair in my brush. Using this helped to minimize the amount of conditioner I need too because it's so emollient. If you have naturally oily hair, you won't need conditioner at all. The shea and black soap that are in this are rich conditioners. Smells good for masculine or feminine preferences.
My teenage son likes it to wash his face because he says it cuts down on zits, and helps with evening out scars. I see it helps his skin tone too when he has dry-skin patches in the hot months.
I'm not sure if this is concentrated but I certainly dilute it about 1:1 and I get rich, lathery bubbles. Great stuff!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
givenprosper
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would order again!
 December 18, 2013
"This product prevent aging and acne! Skin feels smooth and clean after use. We love this product for every member in our household."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
CJWoodward1
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
For Me - Couldn't Handle the Bad Smell
 July 11, 2013
"I ordered the 32 oz size.- huge. I'm not picky at all and have never given a negative review, but unfortunately I used it for 5 days and couldn't handle the bad smell any longer. To me, it smells on the body like "old garbage". That's the only way I can describe it. The smell stayed on my body all day and night and I didn't want to go anywhere and it made me feel dirty because of the smell. It seemed clean well and to be fine otherwise. I was looking forward to the exfoliant factor. I got a credit from Vitacost for this and gave it to my Landlady. She smelled it from the bottle and it smelled fine to her. I will see what she thinks later. So I can't recommend it for others yet."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jersokie
fromTulsa, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
THE BEST Pure Black Soap EVER!
 June 29, 2013
"I highly recommend this product to everyone for the most wonderful lather, thorough cleaning and softest skin you will ever experience. I used it on my body, as a shampoo and as a facial cleanser. WOW!! No dry skin, no soap film and it has a nice clean fragrance!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ClaudinFolsom
fromFolsom CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best
 June 21, 2013
"This soap is wonderful. It leaves skin smootha dn clean smelling. My daughters and I use it on our faces and also as hand soap as well as in the shower."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruby55
fromSouth
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 7, 2013
"Great product, my skin looks much better from the use of it.
At my age, it's a challenge to find something that really works-
and this does! Thanks.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1957
fromKansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice liquid soap
 January 29, 2013
"This soap has a nice clean fragrance. I use it as a face wash, body wash, or even as a hair shampoo now and then . I have used it on my grandsons sweaty smelly hair when bathing him and it's great. The soap lathers well, and makes his head smell good!
I have purchased this soap many times.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
McBear
Age:25-34
Best body soap!
 January 15, 2013
"I use this product from my face to my toes. It is mild, leaves you fresh, and non drying. It's great on the face too. Very mild, but cleanses well. All natural, smells nice, and truly an all-in-one beauty product."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheGoddess
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very good & versatile soap
 January 9, 2013
"This soap is great! Cleans well, smells good and great as a face soap for oily skin types."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TasteBuds
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I Wanted To Like It But...
 November 29, 2012
"It stinks!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
janbaby
fromPort Washington, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!
 November 2, 2012
"Both my husband and I love using this soap. during the summer, after a long day this soap is perfect to use with a loofah, then powder up and sleep like a baby. (that's our routine).
I have recommended his website and soap to everyone I know.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SeekerOfHealth
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not for us
 August 25, 2012
"It looks like this is a love or hate regarding the scent. I think the disinfectant description others have described is as close as I could come to describing it, and neither of us liked it, though my husband was kind enough to finish it off so it didn't go to waste.
The cap is definitely a problem if you don't have nails.
While I did not feel that the scent remained on my skin, it clung to my hair, and yes I rinse thoroughly. I could even smell it after using other shampoos!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
catch2211
fromNC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great as a facial cleanser!
 August 23, 2012
"Tried this soap as a body and facial wash. Like it much better for the face but did take about 5-7 days to get used to it. I think it took that long to exfoliate. I have had several comments about looking 'younger' since using it. It does give you that squeaky clean feel rather than a moisturizer feel. After you dry though, skin does not feel dry or taute. In the shower, it is difficult to get it to lather in the washcloth. The bottle is horrible! Mine is difficult to open, even hurts my thumb so I just have to leave it open all the time. Some reviewers don't like the smell but I do. It smells better on the skin than in the bottle. I caught myself smelling my arms throughout the morning! It does make your skin very smooth as well. All that said, I will probably continue to use on my face but probably not the body. Did not try as a shampoo."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slimtrimbrown
fromSan Francisco,Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!!
 August 3, 2012
"This soap is awesome!! My face is usually dry but after using Dr. Woods soap on it, it help bring back the natural oil back to my skin. And it makes you smell great.....FOR DAYS!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Areskai
fromCincinnati
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Too good to be true really
 July 31, 2012
"First let me say...the price. Wow. One of the best bargains on vitacost. The bottle lasts forever. I use this as my daily face wash 2x a day. It's not harsh at all and leaves my face moisturized. Black soap is very good for the skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Woods Shea Vision Pure Black Soap with Organic Shea Butter -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitaprice
fromkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
WOW - we LOVE this stuff!!
 July 11, 2012
"my kiddos & i canNOT get enough of this body wash!
it is made so well and the scent is perfect and such a great
feel on the body - washes away wonderfully and cleans
gently. i can't say enough about the price as well as how
it works!!
an extra bonus is that we can use it while camping too!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next