Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hand Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz

With Fair Trade Shea Butter. Gentle Moisturizing Exfoliant. 99.3% Natural. Cruelty Free. Made with Fair Trade Shea Butter. Gluten Free • 100% Vegan. Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap. Our Black and Castile Soaps are safe and effective for hundreds of household uses but specially formulated for gentle natural skin care.  . Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap is a natural wonder that lifts away tired skin cells to leave your skin smooth hydrated and exceptionally healthy. Our Raw Black Soap formula is a gentle exfoliant and a powerful deep cleanser that rejuvenates the skin without any need for harsh detergents or toxic additives.  . Made from Plantain skins palm kernel oil and shea butter Black Soap is an abundant source of skin-nourishing nutrients A E and iron in a unique formulation that provides a luxuriously rich and gentle all-purpose cleanser for your face and body.  . We offer our Fair Trade Organic She Butter one of Nature's most effective and versatile Healthy & Beauty resources across all Dr. Woods Black and Castile Soaps. Sustainably harvested from the nut of the Karite Shea Tree indigenous to Ghana our Shea Butter is a bountiful source of Vitamins A and E as well as essential fatty acids to soothe and balance your skin. We use Shea Butte in its purest form - Raw and Organic - in order to retain its highest level of therapeutic and healing properties.
Overall rating:
4.283 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
43 out of 53(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromA Pine Forest
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love this for a body wash/facewash-Smells CLEAN!
 December 18, 2015
"This stuff smells great! It's not perfumey, but rather...think of Ivory soap without the perfumed lemongrass note. It smells soapy clean but not of perfume.
As other reviewers have noted, yes, it's quite thin and watery but this is not a problem, in fact it's easier to use, easier to put on my face or my shower pouf being this consistency. If this watery thin texture doesn't suit you, then yes, leave this one behind, it is definitely thin in consistency. It leaves my skin feeling clean but soft and slightly (slightly) moisturized. I fell in love with a sample and will be buying more. Over the years I've found that black soap tends to dry my skin, apparently much more than it does with others but with this, not a problem. I'm buying the full size. This is great and smells wonderfully clean. Soapy clean not like perfume. Yes! Yes! Yes!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
morningsunshine
fromEurope
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product!
 June 29, 2015
"smells great and the quality is really wonderful! perfect price too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
db8688
fromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not a fan
 May 30, 2015
"Thin liquid, not a lot of lathering properties, made my skin feel a bit dry and my hair lifeless. Didn't care for the smell either."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wildfleur
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great soap
 September 11, 2014
"This soap is fantastic. I'm on my second order. Gentle on skin, great moisturizing, very soft/clean scent. Plan on trying it as a shampoo next."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pattipix
fromRochester, ny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 July 11, 2014
"Love it. Keeps my face nice and clean."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dreamgirl9
fromCamp Hill, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good stuff! i'll def reorder.
 July 2, 2014
"I took a chance on this based on the reviews. The versatility of its many uses attracted me as well. I use it as a shampoo, body wash and sometimes face wash. I like how it smells, woodsy and clean. I like how my skin & hair feel after using it. it doesnt feel dried out. I will definitely reorder this produce (Shea Vision Pur Black Soap w/ Organic Shea Butter - 8oz.)"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DoctorH
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
HANDY SIZE
 May 14, 2014
"I purchased this size to have in my shower and refill it with the 32 oz. size. I use it as a shampoo, face wash and body wash currently. It outperforms every shampoo I've ever used. My hair appears thicker, and sheds less. I use black soap hair conditioner in conjunction with it. They work well together. As a face wash, my skin stays clear and blemish free. As a body wash, I don't itch anymore. I use it in conjunction with black soap lotion. Good stuff!!!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chaypat
fromCT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Success!
 April 4, 2014
"Outstanding product to treat acne without drying. Used on face morning and night...works just as good as the expensive TV advertised acne wash. Use in the shower and really keeps body acne at bay. All 3 of my teen agers love it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
msalias206
fromSeattle, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
High quality soap
 February 28, 2014
"This one has become a bathroom-basic for my home, though I use it in my kitchen and laundry at times. Yes, I've been in a pinch and have added this to a load of laundry and BOOM! Clean laundry that smells great. I diluted it 1:1 with water to get 3/4 cup. Use it directly for a pre-wash and again I say BOOM - spots out!
I don't purchase shampoo I use this. It gives my hair a natural sheen. It definitely helps with strengthening it too because I observe much less hair in my brush. Using this helped to minimize the amount of conditioner I need too because it's so emollient. If you have naturally oily hair, you won't need conditioner at all. The shea and black soap that are in this are rich conditioners. Smells good for masculine or feminine preferences.
My teenage son likes it to wash his face because he says it cuts down on zits, and helps with evening out scars. I see it helps his skin tone too when he has dry-skin patches in the hot months.
I'm not sure if this is concentrated but I certainly dilute it about 1:1 and I get rich, lathery bubbles. Great stuff!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
givenprosper
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Would order again!
 December 18, 2013
"This product prevent aging and acne! Skin feels smooth and clean after use. We love this product for every member in our household."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
CJWoodward1
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
For Me - Couldn't Handle the Bad Smell
 July 11, 2013
"I ordered the 32 oz size.- huge. I'm not picky at all and have never given a negative review, but unfortunately I used it for 5 days and couldn't handle the bad smell any longer. To me, it smells on the body like "old garbage". That's the only way I can describe it. The smell stayed on my body all day and night and I didn't want to go anywhere and it made me feel dirty because of the smell. It seemed clean well and to be fine otherwise. I was looking forward to the exfoliant factor. I got a credit from Vitacost for this and gave it to my Landlady. She smelled it from the bottle and it smelled fine to her. I will see what she thinks later. So I can't recommend it for others yet."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jersokie
fromTulsa, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
THE BEST Pure Black Soap EVER!
 June 29, 2013
"I highly recommend this product to everyone for the most wonderful lather, thorough cleaning and softest skin you will ever experience. I used it on my body, as a shampoo and as a facial cleanser. WOW!! No dry skin, no soap film and it has a nice clean fragrance!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ClaudinFolsom
fromFolsom CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best
 June 21, 2013
"This soap is wonderful. It leaves skin smootha dn clean smelling. My daughters and I use it on our faces and also as hand soap as well as in the shower."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruby55
fromSouth
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 7, 2013
"Great product, my skin looks much better from the use of it.
At my age, it's a challenge to find something that really works-
and this does! Thanks.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1957
fromKansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice liquid soap
 January 29, 2013
"This soap has a nice clean fragrance. I use it as a face wash, body wash, or even as a hair shampoo now and then . I have used it on my grandsons sweaty smelly hair when bathing him and it's great. The soap lathers well, and makes his head smell good!
I have purchased this soap many times.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
McBear
Age:25-34
Best body soap!
 January 15, 2013
"I use this product from my face to my toes. It is mild, leaves you fresh, and non drying. It's great on the face too. Very mild, but cleanses well. All natural, smells nice, and truly an all-in-one beauty product."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheGoddess
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very good & versatile soap
 January 9, 2013
"This soap is great! Cleans well, smells good and great as a face soap for oily skin types."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TasteBuds
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I Wanted To Like It But...
 November 29, 2012
"It stinks!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
janbaby
fromPort Washington, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!
 November 2, 2012
"Both my husband and I love using this soap. during the summer, after a long day this soap is perfect to use with a loofah, then powder up and sleep like a baby. (that's our routine).
I have recommended his website and soap to everyone I know.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Woods Raw Black Soap Original -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SeekerOfHealth
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not for us
 August 25, 2012
"It looks like this is a love or hate regarding the scent. I think the disinfectant description others have described is as close as I could come to describing it, and neither of us liked it, though my husband was kind enough to finish it off so it didn't go to waste.
The cap is definitely a problem if you don't have nails.
While I did not feel that the scent remained on my skin, it clung to my hair, and yes I rinse thoroughly. I could even smell it after using other shampoos!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next