Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz

Water colors™. Water-based. Unique water-based polish is totally odor-free. No more nasty fumes. But perhaps best of all there's also no need for toxic smelly nail polish remover - this product removes with rubbing alcohol vodka/grain alcohol or our new odorless polish remover. Thanks to our new patented technology there's nothing else like it on the market.  Odorless non-toxic earth-friendly formula long wearing fabulous colors contains no:FD&C colors toluene dibutyl phthalate xylene or formaldehyde. Comes in 16 great colors to match our truly natural lipsticks: shiny penny camelot romance risque desire vintage merlot san francisco hippie chick valentine mocha latte goddess tuscany cherokee moulin rouge fairy dust and clear.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
5 out of 9(56%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
gaphill1842
fromTrinity
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Chipped immediately
 July 27, 2014
"Although the color was absolutely gorgeous and went on very smoothly, my nails chipped the very next day. When I tried to remove it a week later, regular fingernail polish wouldn't work, so I read the instructions telling me to use rubbing alcohol. That worked very little. In the end, my husband took a brillo pad to my nails to remove the remainder. I threw this in the trash and said never again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SingerD
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
healthy stuff, but....
 February 19, 2014
"Nice color (pic is not true, more of a dark maroon), no toxic ingredients, doesn't stay on long. If you want to wear nail polish, and not pollute yourself, this is the one. It doesn't behave like what you might be used to, but it won't mess w/your hormones either."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
OrganicsJunkie
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Excited to try more colors of this brand!
 February 11, 2014
"This is one of the first nail polish brands/colors that I chose to purchase when trying to transition from conventional polishes to water-based, toxin-free polishes.
-The color is definitely not as dark as the picture shows, but is a deep burgundy. I was surprised by how similar it was to regular polish though!
-The viscosity and the texture was the same, and went on smoothly. You will want to start with a relatively thin layer the first time around because it does tend to leave brush strokes, but with just a second layer they completely disappear and the color is bold and lovely.
-It comes off with my regular, non-acetone polish remover (and washes pretty easily off your skin with just water - a plus for me since I don't have very still hands.)
- Does not chip easily; I work in an office and do lots of crafts and such, lots of work with my hands, and the chipping after two days was minimal enough that you would have to know it's chipped to tell.
Little more pricey than regular polish, but obviously worth it without the health risk!
No odor.
-The shine was pretty good. NOT matte like most water based polishes, but not really glossy either. I bought a clear polish by another brand on this website to put over it, and it has great shine.
-You know how when you paint your nails, you have to be careful of what you touch for almost an hour? Not because it's WET persay, but it just gets indented or pushed around on your nail easily. Weeelll, GOOD NEWS. This dried LITERALLY in five minutes TOPS.
Very happy with the product! Thank you!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mitchie1988
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
not as dark as pictured
 August 2, 2012
"it's like a medium merlot, but I still like it, it still has the desired effect, but it's more red than ruddy brown. I just did my nails with it two days ago, so I can't tell you how long it lasts. You'll definately need 3 coats for the color to be even."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Kania
fromNashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Chips Off
 July 18, 2012
"I love this color and I like the fact that this nail polish has low toxicity. I think it gets a rating of 2 on ewg.org. However, It chips off way too easily IMO. I put it on one day, double coat and top coat, and the next day it had chipped off of one entire nail, and was starting to chip off of 3 other nails."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cmr79
fromFredericksburg, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
I like it! Good color
 May 25, 2011
"I like this polish especially that it is non toxic etc. IT does come off pretty easily in wear and tear but I find it no problem to reapply. It is also difficult to get off with polish remover but again its worth it to me. Just wish there were more color options. Color is dark, deep (blood) red."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
Peacekeeper ECO-EASY® Nail Polish Remover -- 4 fl oz
4.5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
daisypookins
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Beautiful Dark Purple Colour!
 May 25, 2011
"Okay, first of all, this is natural nail polish, kids. It is not going to be as durable as the more toxic brands available. However, considering the fact that it can be removed with rubbing alcohol and has no scent whatsoever, I think it deserves an awesome rating. True, it lasts a lot longer on toes than fingers, but if my options are to repaint with this stuff or poison myself systemically with more long lasting (and far more toxic stuff), I'm going to choose the former every time. It's a really, really, really dark shade of purple, which totally rocks, and it dries shiny rather than dull."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
phxgirl1009
fromDallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Pros and Cons
 January 9, 2011
"I am excited that Honeybee has come out with a nail polish that is free of formaldehyde and pthalates and is nontoxic, unlike the other commercial brands. However, the durability of the polish is not great. After just a few days, I noticed that it began peeling, which was annoying. If you don't mind that, then it's a great polish. As for me, I will probably go back to using No Miss nail polish, which is still free of the above two toxic ingredients, but lasts forever."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Vintage Merlot -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
JW3307
fromNC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good on toes but not on fingers
 November 17, 2010
"I painted my toenails and fingernails with this color and it has lasted so far 3 days on my toes but didn't last one entire day on my fingernails. It didn't just chip off, but the whole piece came off my finger. I didn't even have to use remover because it came off entirely. I recommend it for toes but not for fingernails. I like the dark purple color though. It looks great on my toes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.