Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz

Water-based Nail Enamel.  
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IBsmart
Really Actually Fume Free
 December 18, 2013
"I have not been able to wear nail polish for decades due to allergies. I can smell the chemicals in regular nail polish and continue reacting to them even after they "dry". I had purchased another supposedly fume-free nail polish a few years back only to find out it was not actually fume free, just supposedly containing less toxic fumes. After that disappointment, I had given up on nail polish I could wear. So, it was really fabulous to find out that Honeybee gardens polish is really fume-free. There is a very slight odor when it is wet, but not one that is negative or irritating or allergenic. And then it does not smell at all once dry!! I kept the color on my nails for 3 days. It did start to chip a bit after 2 days. But, that was no big deal since it's not like I paid for a manicure. And it was really easy to put on, so no great time expense either. Plus, the idea of being able to wear nail polish without discomfort more than outweighed the fact that I couldn't wear it for a week.
Part of the ease of putting on this polish is that it removes with simple rubbing alcohol. So, for any "mistakes" where I missed the nail, I just dipped a disposable cotton make-up applicator in alcohol and easily corrected.
And after about 3 days, it came off really easily with one cotton ball soaked in rubbing alcohol.
It is a really cute color, a pink with some purple undertones. But, because it has some slight purple undertones, it does not complement hands so well that show any blue veins. I ordered 2 other colors after trying this one. But, I have not yet used them."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrganicGirl4ever
fromVermont
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Long lasting nail polish!
 September 18, 2013
"I really love this color, and the fact that two coats on my toenails last a long time. Maybe not great for someone who wants to change colors every week -- but, that's not me so I love that I've only had to re-apply it once this summer!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweevic
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Like it!
 September 7, 2013
"This gets a thumbs up from me for health reasons first of all and I like the way it went on....very smoothly and evenly. Have not tried removal yet, but love the color and it seems to be lasting just fine."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
HippieBri
fromTennessee
not great
 September 3, 2013
"I gave this 2 stars because it peels almost instantly. But I would recommend it because it is non toxic, the colors are very pretty and with proper application it does last for some users."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eastofdurango
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Coolest color ever!
 November 28, 2012
"I am pretty conservative when it comes to nail polish colors but wanted to try something new. I LOVE this color, and it goes on great, too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
CZ2AZ
Color very different from what's pictured
 May 1, 2012
"Love the less toxic ingredients but had to return it because of the color. In real life it is a very light pink-purple, almost a pastel tone. Very different from the picture!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mchris
Honeybee nail polish
 June 24, 2011
"In reponse to the person who wanted to know how to make it last: I put a regular base coat on first, used 2 coats of Honeybee nail color, then put a regular sealer on after it all dried. No chipping or peeling, and it's been 5 days now. I don't know if all that is necessary, but that's what I did."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wifey
fromTwin Falls, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Natural Nail Polish
 February 9, 2011
"This is the very best AND least expensive water based nail polish out there!
Maybe the previous reviewer did not wipe her nails clean with polish remover (which you're supposed to do with ANY nail polish) before she applied the nail enamel. Also, applying a clear base coat will lengthen the life of your mani or pedicure.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Honeybee Gardens Nail Enamel Hippie Chick -- 0.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Kurlygirl
Nice color, doesn't last at all
 January 14, 2011
"Love the color and that it's non-toxic. Wore this for one day. Half the polish peeled off by the end of it.
Anyone have any suggestions on how to make this polish last?"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.