Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules

Ultimate Probiotic Formula. Primal Defense Ultra is the ultimate high potency broad-spectrum probiotic formula providing a 15 billion live cell count per day of 13 species of beneficial cultures including soil-based probiotics called Homeostatic® Soil Organisms. Supports normal intestinal comfort and function and promotes healthy intestinal elimination regularity and consistency. Helps maintain a healthy balanced immune system which is beneficial to overall health. Contains Bacillus subtilis to support healthy lactic and bacteria (Bifidobacterium and/or Lactobacillus) count and healthy pH levels in the gut. The Saccharomyces boulardii in Primal Defense Ultra nourishes intestinal mucosa cells to support the normal barrier function of the intestinal eptithelium the front line for the body's defense system.
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
50 out of 52(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redwoman
fromtahlequah, ok
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great product for the amount and price.
 March 13, 2014
"Will re-order this product. Very easy to digest."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bananasangria
fromBeavercreek, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
No refrigeration
 February 9, 2014
"They seem to work just fine and I like the fact that they do not need refrigeration so they are great for travel which I do often. The price is not bad either."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hertreeness
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
complex goodness
 October 2, 2013
"I was looking for a probiotic with more kinds of good flora than the one or two usually encountered. Our guts are meant to have a wide range of varieties. I have to say, I was initially put off by the price of this product, but after thinking about it for some days, decided it might be worth it, so I ordered.
Indeed, it is well worth it. I began feeling the difference within days and now, after a few months of taking one capsule a day just before breakfast, I've experienced a number of good effects, including better energy, no more symptoms of bowel irritation and healthy stools. Ugh. Not a pretty subject. But our general health and immune functioning depends on a healthy gut."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
veroace
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great product
 September 25, 2013
"Ever since I have started using this product, my digestion has improved and my immune system is stronger. The product is gentle and efficient."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spirit507
fromSinger Island, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 September 21, 2013
"I like all Garden of Life products. This probiotic does not need to be refrigeratored which is a plus when I am traveling."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DebAn
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is one of the best probiotics!
 September 17, 2013
"I take this product consistently. I think it is important to my health along with Vitamin D, magnesium, fish oil and a good multi."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kuperunj
fromGrand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 September 8, 2013
"Great product actually recommend by a nutritionist. Not only great product but great price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
horrormoviefanatic
fromhaunted house
Gender:Female
Great
 August 22, 2013
"What can I say except that it's a great product and excellent quality. You won't regret it but you may if you don't take care of yourself or your loved ones."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SWLady
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent Product!
 June 18, 2013
"I don't know what took me so long to start taking a probiotic. Because of ingesting so many pain relievers when I was young, I've developed terrible problems with my stomach and bowels as I've grown older. After doing a lot of research about how probiotics benefit the gut, I finally purchased Primal Defense. I'm telling you, it has been a godsend! I was sick and tired of the constant gurgling/bubbles in my stomach and bowels. I had tried other remedies (not probiotics) to get relief, but they did not help enough. I was embarrassed and uncomfortable every day. After taking Primal Defense, I noticed a change in my body almost immediately. I feel so much better, as most of the gas and bloat is gone. There is light at the end of the tunnel for me. I will continue to use this product because it is high quality and it works."
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sydney0800
fromColorado
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Probiotic!
 April 27, 2013
"Have used this for years. Has been a life saver for me. I will always keep some on hand."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gonegreen
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Product
 April 22, 2013
"Just recently started using this and have already noticed a positive difference. IT WORKS!!! With the other brands I've tried I just had to assume I was getting internal benefits because didn't notice any difference. Purchased it at local store and paid $42 fjor 90 caps. (on sale) Will buy from Vita Cost next time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
magnola
fromIberia MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
overall great
 January 22, 2013
"I can never go wrong with this product. I have tried to save money with other products but none so far has beat this one. My digestion is always better when I take this one product."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MorganM
fromCa.
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
my favorite probiotic supplement
 January 16, 2013
"Primal defense is gentle braod spectrum probiotic support."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DRALF
fromWest Palm Beach, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent Product
 December 26, 2012
"In my opinion, this is the best probiotic on the market today."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wiseman111
frommassachussetts
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
excellent product
 December 25, 2012
"I choose this product for it"s help for your stomach,intestines,and bowels.I don"t eat yogurt,so this product helps the body rid and clean itself from all the toxins that we consume through the chemicals in our foods that we eat each and every day.I feel we all need to put a good bacteria in our bodies to help maintain it through the environment that we all live in today."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaisDeb
fromMarietta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Primal defense a great product
 November 28, 2012
"This product is super for me. I don't get sick if I take it regularly during the winter especially. It is fabulous, it works!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bethann
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Garden of Life Primal Defense
 October 10, 2012
"This is an excellent product and will continue to use this probiotic formula as an addition to my daily supplements."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
downundergirl
fromMoravian Falls, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
the best probiotics
 September 16, 2012
"we have tried other type of probiotics but find that these work the best"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bosheers
good quality
 September 12, 2012
"Although this probiotic is a little more expensive, it's definitely high quality."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® Ultra Probiotic Formula -- 216 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Health365
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good value for the money if it works
 August 14, 2012
"If this works it is a good value for a probiotic. I have used about half a dozen different probiotics in the past year and I have really noticed a difference with some of them. For example I felt much more mentally alert and energetic using certain probiotics. Also I noticed better stool formation with some. But with this probiotic my stool seems about the same and I dont notice a difference in my energy level or mental alertness in the days I use it, compaired to the days I dont use it. I rated this 3 stars for the possibility that it may be still doing something good for my digestion"
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next