Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Deodorants or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz

Hops Inhibit the Growth of Odor-Causing Bacteria. Zinc Ricinoleate Binds Up Odor Molecules. Natural Fragrance Blocks Odor. Kosher and Halal. Hops inhibit the growth of odor-causing bacteria. The antimicrobial action of hops inhibits the growth of odor-causing bacteria while reducing the possibility of skin irritation. Zinc ricinoleate binds up odor molecules. Sourced from castor beans zinc ricinoleate traps and absorbs bad smells. Zinc ricinoleate binds up odor molecules. Sourced from castor beans zinc ricinoleate traps and absorbs bad smells. Natural fragrance blocks odor. Encapsulating natural fragrance oils with silica shells makes them last longer. Natural fragrance blocks odor. Encapsulating natural fragrance oils with silica shells makes them last longer.
Overall rating:
4.088 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
26 out of 34(76%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Review 1 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromnevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
aluminum free.
 May 8, 2016
" Don't ever want to have aluminum in deodorant again. This is only one I will use. Like that it is unscented. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Excellent
 April 27, 2016
" Long lasting ,no smell "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smells terrible
 February 28, 2016
" I am a fan of this aluminum free line, and have tried the Powder scent. This smelled like mosquito repellant and I didn't even use it once. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Excellent product.
 January 17, 2016
" However, some women will miss its antiperspirant quality, as its only a deodorant, which means for some it may not be as effective in fighting off lots of sweat and body odor. I've used it for years and it has covered me very adequately. Thank you. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTaylorsville, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tom's of Main is the only one for me
 January 15, 2016
" I have been using this products for more then 30 years and my only go to deodorant. I also follow it up with their long lasting antiperspirant on top of this, my body order is very strong so I use both. Better these then regular deodorants. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromCanton, OH
I was looking for an odorless deodorant...
 January 10, 2016
" I was looking for an odorless deodorant. This product has it's own odors although none were added to it. I need odorless for backpacking and other outdoor activities. Also, when I work up a sweat the product smells "loudly." I was trying to get away from all aluminum, but return to the crystal product. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromStow, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 January 6, 2016
" I wanted an aluminum free deodorant, and Toms of Maine have provided a great one. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromHouma, LA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Works for me
 August 8, 2015
" I was using an unscented deodorant from a local store because of chemical (especially perfume) sensitivities that is until I found out that It had aluminum and other chemicals in it. This one lasts all day for me. I'm glad I found a safer alternative that has good odor protection. I'm giving it four stars because it has a very very slight smell and sometimes doesn't last 24 hours for me personally. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 March 21, 2015
" I like this one though over any other kind because it's unscented. Most natural deodorants try to mask the sweat with fragrance and I end up smelling worse. This has a hint of citrus, but I feel like it works with my natural odor.
That said, could be better, doesn't last all day. If you're looking for totally dry, scent free pits then natural is not the way for you. This one does the trick though if you're still willing to smell like a human.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works well and good price
 March 9, 2015
" For getting a more natural product at this price and to use it and it work rather well was surprising but pleasantly so. I tried another brand of natural deodorant and it didn't last very long at all. I have challenges in this area so I still have to put it on twice a day and more if I exercise but the fact that I can feel safe (with my health) using it makes a lot of difference. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromStockton, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Really IS unscented, unlike some others
 February 22, 2015
" I've been using this for a number of years now. First, it really IS unscented, unlike many other so-called unscented products. Second, the "aluminum free" attribute sounds like a good idea - the fewer chemicals and other extraneous junk in a product, the better. Third, it is a deodorant and not anti-perspirant and I seem to be irritated by whatever is in anti-perspirants that is intended to make a person not perspire, which isn't exactly natural either. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSarasota, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Natural and Effective
 February 7, 2015
" This deodorant is long lasting, not only in its effectiveness, but also in the length of time it takes to use it all! I am impressed with it,and have used it for years. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromGulfport, MS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
May work for you
 January 19, 2015
" I have always needed a good antiperspirant. This doesn't stop the sweating and surely doesn't stop the body odor. I really want to get on a natural deodorant but may not be able to do it because I do tend to sweat a lot. May need to work on my diet better not to have the odor. Still looking for a product that will at least curb the odor if it can't stop the sweat. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromHouston, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Works Better
 August 27, 2014
" This product works better than many others tried. It is one of the best I've found to date for people looking for aluminum free protection. I gave it four stars because I'm hoping to find something that lasts for a whole work day. (This item was bought and the review based on use by my 16 year old daughter.) "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Doesn't work for long
 July 19, 2014
" I simply cannot recommend this product because I began to smell, significantly, within a couple of hours when I used this product. I was at home in the air conditioning, not running a marathon. Completely unacceptable results. Do not waste your money on this one. The Thai crystal, however, is GREAT. No smell ever; works like a charm. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromKennesaw, GA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Work great for me
 July 16, 2014
" Pleasantly satisfied with this product. Will buy again "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromHigh Point, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Didn't cover odor
 March 25, 2014
" I really wanted to like the Tom's deodorant. My underarms are very sensitive - I always have to use unscented deodorant. Tom's didn't irritate my skin, so that was fine, but by late in the day I could definitely smell odor. Not good! And I'm not a particularly heavy sweater or anything. I'll be trying something else. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 August 4, 2013
" My husband, who sweats a lot, uses this one. He doesn't notice that he's any sweatier or wet using this than he was with anti-persperant deodorant. I would agree! He and I both use the Tom's aluminum free deodorants and have been very happy with them! "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMaryland
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I believe its all about the chemistry
 July 30, 2013
" So, trying to review deodorant is a little difficult because your body chemistry affects how the product will work for you. Generally TOm's works well for me; however, I have used other brands with greater success. If you do not sweat a great deal I think Tom's will work well, but for someone who sweats a great deal; I would say give it a try. I know this is not an overly helpful review; however, here are a few things I do like. Tom's is a natural product which is important because what you eat is as important as what you put on your skin. The deodorant does not have a smell so if that is important I think you will be satisfied. Overall this is a great product, but unfortunately for me the product does not last all day. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
worked great at first...
 May 19, 2013
" This product is the natural, clinically proven, aluminum-free unscented Tom's of Main deodorant.
Today i noticed my armpits are red. I have been using Tom's for about three weeks now and it has been working great. I don't even mind that it is mild since I have sensitive skin. During really hot days I'd reapply a couple times a day. Today, however, I looked in the mirror and noticed my armpits are bright red! After washing my armpits, I looked on the internet and found that this deodorant gives some people rashes. I don't have itching yet but armpits are stinging a little.
I really, really, really wanted to love this deodorant so I'm pretty bummed. My advice would be to use this on some part of your skin where you can test this out for a couple of weeks. Hopefully, you'll have better luck than I did.
I think Tom's is a great company. I DON'T REGRET trying this product. For the record I've tried other Tom's products (toothpaste and another deodorant) and have never had problems.
I'd like to stick with a non-animal tested product so, what that means is I get to be the guinea pig.That's fine with me, though. Better me than some poor and defenseless animal. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next