Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Deodorant or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz

Hops Inhibit the Growth of Odor-Causing Bacteria. Zinc Ricinoleate Binds Up Odor Molecules. Natural Fragrance Blocks Odor. Kosher and Halal. Hops inhibit the growth of odor-causing bacteria. The antimicrobial action of hops inhibits the growth of odor-causing bacteria while reducing the possibility of skin irritation. Zinc ricinoleate binds up odor molecules. Sourced from castor beans zinc ricinoleate traps and absorbs bad smells. Zinc ricinoleate binds up odor molecules. Sourced from castor beans zinc ricinoleate traps and absorbs bad smells. Natural fragrance blocks odor. Encapsulating natural fragrance oils with silica shells makes them last longer. Natural fragrance blocks odor. Encapsulating natural fragrance oils with silica shells makes them last longer.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
15 out of 20(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Review 1 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Merrie
fromHouston, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Works Better
 August 27, 2014
"This product works better than many others tried. It is one of the best I've found to date for people looking for aluminum free protection. I gave it four stars because I'm hoping to find something that lasts for a whole work day. (This item was bought and the review based on use by my 16 year old daughter.)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
GeorgiaBee
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Doesn't work for long
 July 19, 2014
"I simply cannot recommend this product because I began to smell, significantly, within a couple of hours when I used this product. I was at home in the air conditioning, not running a marathon. Completely unacceptable results. Do not waste your money on this one. The Thai crystal, however, is GREAT. No smell ever; works like a charm."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dixee
fromKennesaw, GA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Work great for me
 July 16, 2014
"Pleasantly satisfied with this product. Will buy again"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Yarrina
fromHigh Point, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Didn't cover odor
 March 25, 2014
"I really wanted to like the Tom's deodorant. My underarms are very sensitive - I always have to use unscented deodorant. Tom's didn't irritate my skin, so that was fine, but by late in the day I could definitely smell odor. Not good! And I'm not a particularly heavy sweater or anything. I'll be trying something else."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JeniLH
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 August 4, 2013
"My husband, who sweats a lot, uses this one. He doesn't notice that he's any sweatier or wet using this than he was with anti-persperant deodorant. I would agree! He and I both use the Tom's aluminum free deodorants and have been very happy with them!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
IAmNotMe
fromMaryland
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I believe its all about the chemistry
 July 30, 2013
"So, trying to review deodorant is a little difficult because your body chemistry affects how the product will work for you. Generally TOm's works well for me; however, I have used other brands with greater success. If you do not sweat a great deal I think Tom's will work well, but for someone who sweats a great deal; I would say give it a try. I know this is not an overly helpful review; however, here are a few things I do like. Tom's is a natural product which is important because what you eat is as important as what you put on your skin. The deodorant does not have a smell so if that is important I think you will be satisfied. Overall this is a great product, but unfortunately for me the product does not last all day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
hoorayforCindy
worked great at first...
 May 19, 2013
"This product is the natural, clinically proven, aluminum-free unscented Tom's of Main deodorant.
Today i noticed my armpits are red. I have been using Tom's for about three weeks now and it has been working great. I don't even mind that it is mild since I have sensitive skin. During really hot days I'd reapply a couple times a day. Today, however, I looked in the mirror and noticed my armpits are bright red! After washing my armpits, I looked on the internet and found that this deodorant gives some people rashes. I don't have itching yet but armpits are stinging a little.
I really, really, really wanted to love this deodorant so I'm pretty bummed. My advice would be to use this on some part of your skin where you can test this out for a couple of weeks. Hopefully, you'll have better luck than I did.
I think Tom's is a great company. I DON'T REGRET trying this product. For the record I've tried other Tom's products (toothpaste and another deodorant) and have never had problems.
I'd like to stick with a non-animal tested product so, what that means is I get to be the guinea pig.That's fine with me, though. Better me than some poor and defenseless animal."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Roon
fromVail, CO
Gender:Female
 May 18, 2013
"I've used Tom's deoderant for years. It does the job & I like the unscented variety."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mlucas00
Great for sensitive skin!!!
 May 12, 2013
"Love this deodorant! I have extremely sensitive skin not too mention on occasion hives and eczema! It doesn't irritate or burn my skin at all like other natural deodorants that have added ingredients. I will say that it holds up pretty well unless you are doing a labor intensive activity. Then you may need to put more on before or after the activity. Would definitely recommend and buy again!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromDallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good Non-Toxic Deotorant
 February 27, 2013
"I love that this product does not contain any aluminum ingredients. However, I do have to reapply a couple of times a day. But it is cheap and non-toxic so I recommend. It is the best natural deotorant I have found so far."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Socksnshoes
fromSoutheast
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Goodbye to Tom's....
 September 25, 2012
"This was my final try using Tom's deodorants; all have left me broken out and itchy. This was no exception. No more Tom's for me!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
hutchema
fromEagle Pt, Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Non-Effective for Workouts
 July 10, 2012
"I can wear this deoderant for everyday use, like the office or home and it seems to do just fine. However, if I wear it to the gym or to do any workout, it just doesn't hold-up for me."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jilybeanie
fromShingle Springs, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 21, 2012
"The first unscented deordorant that has worked for me!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheep
works very well
 May 15, 2012
"Husband used once & asked for it again & likes it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tink
No Smell and Works!
 April 23, 2012
"Bought this for my male friend whose deodorant always made me feel sick from the overwhelming scent. This pleased this super picky man and saved me, as well!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tommy8910
Best Deodorant
 January 8, 2012
"I only purchase deodorants that are aluminum free and that do not leave that powdery substance on clothing, especially visible on dark clothing. Tom's of Maine is an effective deodorant providing natural and long lasting protection. It's truly a fine product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Judypetuti
fromOhio
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Deodorant Stick
 September 2, 2011
"Bought this for my husband on vacation when we ran out of our regular brand. He liked it so much that we ordered more from Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
James67
fromGranbury, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 August 22, 2011
"Great product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant Aluminum Free Unscented -- 2.25 oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product