Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Laundry or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz

Personal Benefits:. Ideal for Fine Fabrics Silks and Woollens. Preserves the Softness of Delicate Fibres and Protects Their Colour. Fresh Perfume from Plant Based Ingredients. Environmental Benefits:. Quick and Complete Biodegradability. Minimum Impact on Aquatic Life. Suitable for Septic Tanks. No Animal Testing.  
Overall rating:
3.84 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
19 out of 25(76%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TGal
fromSierra Mountains, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
use this for all my delicates and sweaters
 May 1, 2014
"I have been using this product for years for everything hand-washable. Gentle and effective."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
LeChatMeow
Changed formulation-don't like the new scent
 March 28, 2014
"I agree with the other reviewers. I had been using this product for years and recently received one with a differently designed label. I thought nothing of it until my wash came out with a new weird smell that I don't like. Why don't companies realize: if it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Yoopershopper
fromupper Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is NOT what it used to be! IT SMELLS AWFUL!
 January 13, 2014
"I fully agree with other reviewers. I too had used this product for years and the last bottle I purchased shocked me as well with the horrible, obnoxious smell. It really does not come out after repeated rinsing and stays in anything plastic. What did Seventh Generation do? Do they really think this is a natural product now? I'd hate to think what this would do to baby clothes! I too am stuck with a full bottle that will be thrown out if I cannot find someone without a good sense of smell to give it too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thataintright
fromidaho
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best laundry detergent.
 January 7, 2014
"I have been using this product for years. Not only does it biodegrade in an extremely short period of time (their customer service tells me it biodegrades within seven days), it cleans well with even half a cap of detergent. The recommendation is a cap or two, but I have never used that much. Lasts a long time and cleans the clothes without any residue or weird smells. Also doesn't gum up in my washing machine. My washing machine is 13 years old and I have used this detergent for the same period of time with no problems at all."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Onaturale
fromLA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works
 December 21, 2013
"Works well for us. Does what it says it should."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
moben
fromTorrance, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good product
 October 17, 2013
"Been using this for about a year. I use it like a would a Woolite, but this one is supposed to be better for the environment. It cleans our bathing suits well, which is what I mostly use it for. All chlorine smell is gone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MKTN
fromKnoxville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product does a great job
 August 14, 2013
"Very gentle on delicate washable items. Great scent!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
mangosteen
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
New formula SMELLS TERRIBLE!!
 July 26, 2013
"I never ever write reviews, but the reformulation of this product is worthy of a warning to other potential purchasers. I have happily used this product for many years. The formula has been changed to a very strong, unnatural smell. As another reviewer mentioned, the smell is hard to get out. I literally can not believe this product made it out of the test labs and on to the shelves. What were they thinking??? I will be throwing out the entire bottle I just received. It is that bad!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
CDMama
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Formula has changed!!
 June 18, 2013
"I had been using this delicate wash for several years, only to find that the formula had changed recently. I knew immediately when I opened the bottle that it had changed because the fragrance was so synthetic and overpowering that it made my nose burn. Yuck.
My old bottle of Ecover (which I purchased in 2012) had this as the ingredient list: plant based anionic and non-inonic tensio-active surfectants, plant based soap, water, salt, citric acid, 100% biodegradable preservative and PLANT BASED FRAGRANCE.
The new product is NOT natural at all. You can read the new ingredient list yourself; just wish I had caught that the product had changed or I would not have purchased.
Too bad I bought this months ago and can't get a full refund. I am so disappointed as I used to really love this product!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mtn8
NEW FRAGRANCE IS NOT NATURAL
 March 10, 2013
"The NEW fragrance is very strong and NOT natural. I used in ONE wash cycle only and cannot get the smell out of my washer after 20 washes with vinegar... and baking soda washes left overnight for 2 days. Only a chemical leaves that kind of smell. This is not the same fragrance this product has had in previous years."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RadiantOne
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product - Strong Scent
 March 3, 2013
"I've been looking for a natural delicate wash and have been happy with other Ecover products so I ordered this one. It works well in terms of cleaning and being gentle. I found the scent to be a bit strong for me (I usually use unscented products) and I wouldn't describe it as "lavender" as the Vitacost product description does. Overall I'd recommend the product unless you are sensitive to fragrance."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
OceanStars
fromLos Angeles, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Changed formulation-don't like the new scent
 February 22, 2013
"It is a good product with a good price. However, I am disappointed with the changed formulation now with an artificial perfume scent. I do not like my cloth to get any obvious perfume scent from detergents. This used to have a very pleasant/mild herbal scent to it. I wish Ecover would bring back the original formulation to this once very fine product."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jacka
fromPalmyra PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good safe product, but scent is too strong
 February 7, 2013
"Sorry I cannot recommend this product. The ingredients are good and safe, and I use the dishwashing liquid and laundry detergent that this company makes, but this delicate wash has a very strong scent we cannot seem to handle."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ace12
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Product
 January 21, 2013
"I haven't used woolite or any of the delicate cleaners very much, but this product does a good job. It cleans well and you don't need to use very much (I have an HE machine) but still it doesn't require much for a wash. I wash delicates that aren't suppoed to be wahed in the machine and I've been happy with the results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissZ
fromHixson TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Does the job
 December 28, 2012
"I used this on hand washables. It did a good job cleaning, and I feel good about using a biodegradable product. The fragrance is light and fresh."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dancing
fromCalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
It works!
 August 12, 2012
"This is one of the few products from Ecover that gets the job done."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happyiniowa50
fromIowa City, Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicate wash
 June 18, 2012
"I love this soap, cleans my delicates great and works in our HE machine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NicNic
fromSTL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fab Wash
 May 14, 2012
"Mild yet performs well. Smells clean and fresh. Love it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RUKO
fromJAPAN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
GOOD FOR EARTH
 March 23, 2012
"I LIKE ECOVER.
I USE DISH WASHER TABLET,
LAUNDRY SOAP, SOFTER, BATH CLEANSER, TOO.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ecover Ecological Delicate Wash -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fiercegirl
Age:35-44
Great Product
 January 5, 2012
"I've used this stuff for years. Works great. Nice light scent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next