Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz

Get Nature on Your Side. Plant-Based Ingredients. Ideal for Hand Washing. Cares for Fine Fabrics. For HE & Standard Washing Machine. At Ecover they have been pioneering green science for over 30 years to make effective plant-based planet-friendly cleaners. Cares for your silks woolens & delicate items. Made using renewable plant-based ingredients & naturally derived fragrance. Suitable for hand or machine washing.
Overall rating:
3.567 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
20 out of 30(67%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
abcd4
fromNYC, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
NOT GENTLE
 February 9, 2016
"Gave me a rash from my clothes washed in it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1bmore
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Effective gentle laundry detergent
 January 22, 2016
"I love Ecover cleaning products. This detergent can be used on delicate items and gets things very clean. It helps fabrics hold their shape and colors do not fade. Love the clean smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
MCSer
fromAZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Strong unpleasant fragrance
 June 5, 2015
"Cleans OK but the perfumey smell stinks up my utility room which is not acceptable. They need a free and clear version."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
SweetNadine
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
not what expected
 March 1, 2015
"I didn't really liked the smell of it -not pleasant at all, however after I used the fabric softener the clothes smelled good. I washed my delicate sweaters with this detergent and although they weren't particularly soft - they remained in the good condition."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
HannaTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Let the Buyer Beware!
 January 26, 2015
"I have liked and used Ecover Delicate Wash for many years, and, although I don't use it very much, I usually buy it weeks/months ahead of time to keep it stocked. When I finally opened this latest bottle, I was taken aback to discover that they had changed it from a pleasant-smelling, natural formula to a horrible-smelling and, apparently, unnatural formula. Rather than just throwing it out, I took courage and went ahead and tried anyway. Regrettably, I found that my clothes retained that awful odor! I had to wash my clothes a second time with another laundry product--just to get the odor down to a level at which I could stand to wear them after airing them out for several days. Since I had been using this product for so long, it never occurred to me to read the reviews, and I sure wish I had! I'm looking for a replacement product.
Here are the ingredients from both bottles so you can compare for yourself:
Previous bottle bought in late 2011:
Plant based anionic and non-ionic tensio-active surfactants, plant based soap, water, salt, citric acid, 100% biodegradable preservative and plant based fragrance.
New bottle bought in early 2014:
Aqua, Sodium laureth sulfate, Alcohol, Lauryl glycoside, Sodium chloride, Potassium oleate, Potassium cocate, Benzyl alcohol, Fragrance, Citric acid, Citranellol
"
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TGal
fromSierra Mountains, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
use this for all my delicates and sweaters
 May 1, 2014
"I have been using this product for years for everything hand-washable. Gentle and effective."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
LeChatMeow
Changed formulation-don't like the new scent
 March 28, 2014
"I agree with the other reviewers. I had been using this product for years and recently received one with a differently designed label. I thought nothing of it until my wash came out with a new weird smell that I don't like. Why don't companies realize: if it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Yoopershopper
fromupper Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is NOT what it used to be! IT SMELLS AWFUL!
 January 13, 2014
"I fully agree with other reviewers. I too had used this product for years and the last bottle I purchased shocked me as well with the horrible, obnoxious smell. It really does not come out after repeated rinsing and stays in anything plastic. What did Seventh Generation do? Do they really think this is a natural product now? I'd hate to think what this would do to baby clothes! I too am stuck with a full bottle that will be thrown out if I cannot find someone without a good sense of smell to give it too."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thataintright
fromidaho
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best laundry detergent.
 January 7, 2014
"I have been using this product for years. Not only does it biodegrade in an extremely short period of time (their customer service tells me it biodegrades within seven days), it cleans well with even half a cap of detergent. The recommendation is a cap or two, but I have never used that much. Lasts a long time and cleans the clothes without any residue or weird smells. Also doesn't gum up in my washing machine. My washing machine is 13 years old and I have used this detergent for the same period of time with no problems at all."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Onaturale
fromLA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works
 December 21, 2013
"Works well for us. Does what it says it should."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
moben
fromTorrance, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good product
 October 17, 2013
"Been using this for about a year. I use it like a would a Woolite, but this one is supposed to be better for the environment. It cleans our bathing suits well, which is what I mostly use it for. All chlorine smell is gone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MKTN
fromKnoxville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product does a great job
 August 14, 2013
"Very gentle on delicate washable items. Great scent!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
mangosteen
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
New formula SMELLS TERRIBLE!!
 July 26, 2013
"I never ever write reviews, but the reformulation of this product is worthy of a warning to other potential purchasers. I have happily used this product for many years. The formula has been changed to a very strong, unnatural smell. As another reviewer mentioned, the smell is hard to get out. I literally can not believe this product made it out of the test labs and on to the shelves. What were they thinking??? I will be throwing out the entire bottle I just received. It is that bad!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
CDMama
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Formula has changed!!
 June 18, 2013
"I had been using this delicate wash for several years, only to find that the formula had changed recently. I knew immediately when I opened the bottle that it had changed because the fragrance was so synthetic and overpowering that it made my nose burn. Yuck.
My old bottle of Ecover (which I purchased in 2012) had this as the ingredient list: plant based anionic and non-inonic tensio-active surfectants, plant based soap, water, salt, citric acid, 100% biodegradable preservative and PLANT BASED FRAGRANCE.
The new product is NOT natural at all. You can read the new ingredient list yourself; just wish I had caught that the product had changed or I would not have purchased.
Too bad I bought this months ago and can't get a full refund. I am so disappointed as I used to really love this product!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mtn8
NEW FRAGRANCE IS NOT NATURAL
 March 10, 2013
"The NEW fragrance is very strong and NOT natural. I used in ONE wash cycle only and cannot get the smell out of my washer after 20 washes with vinegar... and baking soda washes left overnight for 2 days. Only a chemical leaves that kind of smell. This is not the same fragrance this product has had in previous years."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RadiantOne
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product - Strong Scent
 March 3, 2013
"I've been looking for a natural delicate wash and have been happy with other Ecover products so I ordered this one. It works well in terms of cleaning and being gentle. I found the scent to be a bit strong for me (I usually use unscented products) and I wouldn't describe it as "lavender" as the Vitacost product description does. Overall I'd recommend the product unless you are sensitive to fragrance."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
OceanStars
fromLos Angeles, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Changed formulation-don't like the new scent
 February 22, 2013
"It is a good product with a good price. However, I am disappointed with the changed formulation now with an artificial perfume scent. I do not like my cloth to get any obvious perfume scent from detergents. This used to have a very pleasant/mild herbal scent to it. I wish Ecover would bring back the original formulation to this once very fine product."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jacka
fromPalmyra PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good safe product, but scent is too strong
 February 7, 2013
"Sorry I cannot recommend this product. The ingredients are good and safe, and I use the dishwashing liquid and laundry detergent that this company makes, but this delicate wash has a very strong scent we cannot seem to handle."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ace12
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Product
 January 21, 2013
"I haven't used woolite or any of the delicate cleaners very much, but this product does a good job. It cleans well and you don't need to use very much (I have an HE machine) but still it doesn't require much for a wash. I wash delicates that aren't suppoed to be wahed in the machine and I've been happy with the results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ecover Delicate Wash Spring Tulip -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissZ
fromHixson TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Does the job
 December 28, 2012
"I used this on hand washables. It did a good job cleaning, and I feel good about using a biodegradable product. The fragrance is light and fresh."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next