Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz

Naturally-Occurring Omega 3•6•9. Contains: Pea Hemp Rice with Chia Seed. Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetend is both a nutritive and highly digestible source of Plant Protein. LIfe's Basics Plant Protein mix Unsweetened provides about 22 grams of protein per serving and has an amino acid profile derived from Yellow Pea Protein Isolate Hemp Seed Rice Protein Concentrate and Chia Seed. Vegan Plant Protein mix derived from Yellow Pea Protein Isolate Hemp Seed Rice Protein and Chia Seed. No sweeteners added. Natural vanilla flavor. No gluten added. No artificial flavors or preservatives. Great taste.
Overall rating:
4.509 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(118 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 118 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
104 out of 118(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Review 1 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Corduroys
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great price and taste. No weird additives too
 June 26, 2015
"I've been using Lifetime Basics for 5plus years. I typically opted for their Greens version but decided to look deeper into my subliments/RX and otherwise. I love that I can still get all the plant and vegan protein from this without any supplemental sweeteners. The flavor is mild and blendable.. Although it does take more water than suggested for a smoother mouthfeel. I mix it with 2.5 cups of water, a couple cups of spinach, a carrot, a cup of fruit, ice and a frozen banana for a delicious post workout smoothie. Out of all the products out there this is the most natural and pleasant tasting. It also bakes well- for those who like protein wherever they can cram it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maezy
fromFort Mill, SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent doctor recommended product
 May 7, 2015
"I use this Lifetime Life's Basics protein mix everyday for breakfast. I mix it with almond milk, fruit, vegetables, nuts or whatever for a very satisfying drink. It's great! And Vitacost is the best site."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brentee
fromHuntington Beach, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
My favorite plant based protein
 April 24, 2015
"Mixes well in a blender. Add a frozen ripe banana with honey and it tastes great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StarofDavidHvn
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent tasting in soups.
 April 14, 2015
"This brand is one of my favorite protein powders. I really like the unsweetened and to add to soups or meals for added protein."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
UkuleleJ
fromSacramento
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Life's Basics Plant Protein
 April 11, 2015
"What I like: Complete protein, filling ,vegan, no fructose or stevia and Vitacost sells it for substantially less than the local health food store.
Dislike: I did an analysis on four different unsweetened protein powders. Life's Basics was the lowest percent protein (you need to consume 5.45 calories to get one gram of protein. The other 3 brands were 5 calories). It was the most expensive per gram of protein and the 2nd highest in sodium. The sodium reall didn't effect me the way ketchup or mayonnaise does. So if Vitacost were out of my fave (Vitacost Unsweetened Whey) I wouldn't hesitate to but this again at the same price.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogispirit
fromWest Chester, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
My go to breakfast!
 April 9, 2015
"I've been using Lifetime Life's Basics Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened for almost a year, 6-7 days a week. I love that it is sugar free and plant based. When mixed with frozen fruit and cinnamon it is delicious! It keeps me satisfied until lunch and has one of the highest protein percentages that I have seen! I originally used it to kick start a healthy diet plan last summer. I wasn't getting enough protein in my diet but now I am and I feet great!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HPMassage
fromColorado Springs
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
So Far so Good
 March 20, 2015
"Hello all,
So this stuff isn't half bad. I read some reviews and decided to give it a try. My issue with other shakes is they are all too SWEET!! Yuck. If I want a bit of sweet I add berries or my own sweetner honey maybe. So far best one I've found. I add some PB2 if I want to give it peanut butter flavor. Give it a try, hope you like it too.
Namaste
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromFlagstaff, Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Protein Punch!
 March 4, 2015
"Love this protein powder in my morning smoothie! I gave up added sugar 2 months ago and this is perfect. Even before I gave up sugar, I didn't like the taste of the other sweetened lifetime products. Way too sweet. I would rather add a date, or maple syrup to my own smoothie for my taste. I add it to my blueberry, banana, spinach, kale, almond milk smoothie with cacao and hemp and chia seeds. Yum! Carries me through most of the day!
*I do wish there was an organic, non-gmo version. I would pay more for it!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wendie
fromCaribbean
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Overpowering taste
 February 21, 2015
"While this product offers a nice natural blend, the taste/flavour was overpowering. Sometimes I mixed my protein powder with banana, flax seed and frozen strawberries but all I could taste was this protein mix. Given that the taste is not great this was a negative for me. I will not buy it again."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromNorthern California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A good base for desserts
 February 21, 2015
"A good base for desserts with a pleasing consistency. I mix it with frozen raspberries that I zap to unfreeze, chocolate powder, and almond milk. No need to get the sweetened version—a few drops of chocolate stevia works well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
NBBSC
fromBluffton, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very gritty
 February 13, 2015
"Did not care for this product. It was very gritty."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oncoast
fromSt Petersburg, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
my favorite plant based protein
 January 28, 2015
"I love this product because it blends well in smoothies and does not have a gritty taste. I prefer the unsweetened flavor and allow the fruit to give my smoothies more of a natural flavor. It's well worth the price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chucho2015
Excellent Product not having artifical ingredients
 January 19, 2015
"Nothing artificial. This also means no stevia!!! Many, many products claim they are all natural yet contain stevia. This product does not and for this reason it is the only protein mix we use.
It is unsweetened giving you the freedom to "create" your own flavor using whatever ingredients you choose - like berries or kale or whatever. Sometimes we will put in a packet of Emergen-C for flavor if not adding anything else."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DTMom
fromMA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 November 6, 2014
"Love this protein shake - it is a great base for our morning smoothies. No after taste. Great price as well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sneeze
fromFishers,IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
An unsweetened option if you need sugar free
 October 24, 2014
"I enjoy this product because it does not have fructose, other sugars, or artificial sweeteners in it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twball1
fromRidgefield WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
This protein mix is simply the best
 October 23, 2014
"Very clean ingredients, it's what's not in this that makes it stand out from the rest of the mixes. I've tried a few and have always reverted back to this one.......now it gets delivered automatically via Set and Save."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BAMV
fromBrownsville, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best Plant Protein Powder!!
 October 17, 2014
"After reading several reviews I decided to give this protein a try primarily because it is unsweetened. I just can't stand the taste of stevia. I want the protein shakes to taste how I want them taste. After purchasing this protein I have to say it has been the best I have ever had. Throw it in my veggie, fruit or both smoothies. I usually sweeten it with frozen banana, blueberries or whatever fruit I have as a natural sweetener. If I have an extra sweet tooth that day I add a little bit of xylitol, that's it. I don't understand why some reviews say the taste is chalky I guess if you have it on its own but so far no chalky taste here. So happy to have finally found a clean, plant and low/free of metals protein powder (according to naturalnews.com as they tested it for metal content)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Booklover817
fromConcord, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product!
 September 12, 2014
"It's dairy and gluten free and has one of the lowest carb and highest protein powder I could find. There may be another out there, but for someone who can't have dairy, gluten, needs low carb and low sugar with high protein, this protein mix is perfect. I mix it with frozen organic raspberries and almond/coconut milk, flax seed oil and a sprinkle of Truvia and it keeps me full till lunch. I've been having this 5-6 days a week for almost 2 years and wouldn't dream of switching."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bookburn
fromMontana
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Adds Nutritional Value - Hard to Stomach
 August 10, 2014
"I appreciated being able to find a protein powder that meets my wife's nutritional needs (no yeast, whey or eggs, low sugar). And the price from Vitacost was fair.
That said, this was pretty hard to make palatable. Blueberry smoothies became pasty and gritty. It added a strong dried plant flavor and was noticeably salty. Neither of us really want to use it; I will be looking for other ways to get lean protein in the mornings. Life's Basics Plant Protein might make better fertilizer for my vegetable garden than amino acid supplement for human consumption."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisaMT
fromSouth Pasadena
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Lifetime Life's Basics Plant Protein Mix
 August 7, 2014
"This protein powder has great supplements in it. I find it to be better than Raw Meal powders. I like the taste which is very light and not so sweet."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next