Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz

Naturally-Occurring Omega 3•6•9. Contains: Pea Hemp Rice with Chia Seed. Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetend is both a nutritive and highly digestible source of Plant Protein. LIfe's Basics Plant Protein mix Unsweetened provides about 22 grams of protein per serving and has an amino acid profile derived from Yellow Pea Protein Isolate Hemp Seed Rice Protein Concentrate and Chia Seed. Vegan Plant Protein mix derived from Yellow Pea Protein Isolate Hemp Seed Rice Protein and Chia Seed. No sweeteners added. Natural vanilla flavor. No gluten added. No artificial flavors or preservatives. Great taste.
Overall rating:
4.51 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
88 out of 100(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Review 1 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bookburn
fromMontana
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Adds Nutritional Value - Hard to Stomach
 August 10, 2014
"I appreciated being able to find a protein powder that meets my wife's nutritional needs (no yeast, whey or eggs, low sugar). And the price from Vitacost was fair.
That said, this was pretty hard to make palatable. Blueberry smoothies became pasty and gritty. It added a strong dried plant flavor and was noticeably salty. Neither of us really want to use it; I will be looking for other ways to get lean protein in the mornings. Life's Basics Plant Protein might make better fertilizer for my vegetable garden than amino acid supplement for human consumption."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisaMT
fromSouth Pasadena
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Lifetime Life's Basics Plant Protein Mix
 August 7, 2014
"This protein powder has great supplements in it. I find it to be better than Raw Meal powders. I like the taste which is very light and not so sweet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suli
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A great plant source of protein and taste
 July 13, 2014
"This powder is a high quality protein source and tastes wonderful and the pricing is the lowest around..highly recommended."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patzyan
fromSacramento, Ca.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 May 20, 2014
"I've tried lots of other brands from other sources including the supermarket and Trader Joes and I like this one best. It's a really good, healthy product. I mix it with hot or cold water with a fork. No muss no fuss. I drink it at least once a day for my health. I like the taste of the regular vanilla and chocolate better, so I rotate the three. Next I'll try the one with greens. I hope they make a strawberry soon."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Elena71
fromParrish,Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Didn't care too much
 May 16, 2014
"I usually buy a product not by taste but the ingredients in it. That's why I got this one. But I couldn't stand the taste of it. It remands me like soaked cookies . Sorry maybe it's just me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
flaxoil
Looking for a veg protien
 April 29, 2014
"It is hard to take on its own I've been trying it mixed with other things it is still over whelming but PB helped I will use it up but I will keep looking for a better tasteing veg protien."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jill2134
Age:75+
Gender:Male
 April 10, 2014
"Great product, always arrives on time and just as orderec."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
be1yogi
fromTucson
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product for great smoothies
 April 8, 2014
"I order this product for myself and my son. He likes the sweetened version better as he mixes it with water for afternoon pick me ups. I like the un-sweetened version better. Vanilla is great, strawberry flavor not so great. get the vanilla!!!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FreidaMercury
fromKansas City, Mo
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product!
 April 7, 2014
"Finding a plant based protein powder without sweeteners is important to me, yet hard to find. This one is my favorite. It dissolves well in liquid & is a great addition to my morning smoothie. It keeps me satiated until lunch. I love it! And to top it off, Vitacost offers it at a great price! You can't beat it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
rivka
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Overpowering vanilla flavor
 March 14, 2014
"I bought this in the sweetened version thinking it would be good to mix berries and fruit into but it was so overly sweetened that no one in our family could handle it so we actually threw it away after we all four tried it. This was about a year ago and since I am allergic to whey protein (which is my absolute favorite to mix anything into), I am forced to try other protein powders and so far I am trying 3 different ones which includes this unsweetened version. I just made a smoothee with a whole mango 1/2 banana and an avocado and the only thing we can taste is the super overpowering vanilla flavor. I have a feeling the actual protein powder flavor is so bad that it has to be masked with the strong vanilla but it is still horrible! I gave 2 stars for nutrition level but would give 0 of possible for the bad flavor, not to mention the gritty texture. YUK!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect10
fromAuburn CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is my favorite protein powder!
 March 5, 2014
"My holistic Dr. recommended this product to me well over a year ago. It mixes well with fruits, veg, liquids and has no chalky after taste. In addition, because this is a plant based product it is 100$ good for you!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
luvmyfamily
fromCovered Bridge Country, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Lots of protein...
 March 3, 2014
"We make banana/blueberry smoothies using this product. A great taste and source of protein!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissET
fromsalt lake
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best I have tried!
 February 28, 2014
"This protein powder is by far the best I have tried. I don't want sickly artificially sweetened anything so I don't mind the taste. It mixes well with water and I eat it right after my gym workout. It holds me til I can have a real meal.
I don't eat any dairy so this is easy on the stomach as well. I highly recommend...the only downside, and it is a HUGE one is that the container comes barely a third full and is really expensive for how little it contains.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
teeceeNEPA
fromScranton, PA area
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
my morning shake essential
 February 19, 2014
"5 ice cubes, about 5-6 each frozen blackberries and rasberries, 1cup Silk Pure Almond milk, 1 cup water, (start blending) slowly add 1 TBS psyllium husk powder (Vitacost brand), 1 scoop Amazing Grass Green Superfood (Goji&Acai), 1 scoop LIFE BASICS UNSWEETENED PLANT PROTEIN MIX and Kal pure stevia extract to taste (I use about 1/2 dropper)
AWESOME healthy breakfast I drink on the way to work. Keeps me full for sometimes up to 5 hours!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kgdub
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
love it!
 January 5, 2014
"i eat this with everything!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stiggy
fromEscanaba, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is a great product and tast good
 November 25, 2013
"This is the first Protein powder I have found that is Glutin, milk, and sugar free. It tast great and has many nutrients that I require in my diet and than some. Great Stuff!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alibubba
Great protein, nice texture
 November 24, 2013
"Filling plant based protein. I use almond milk and add fish oil and honey, delicious"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rockmanHealth
fromunited states
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Excellent Protien
 October 27, 2013
"I mix this Protein powder (one tablespoon) with non fat, plain Yogurt, liquid egg whites, and water with ice. It is a Great meal replacement when I am in a hurry. I don't like sweet stuff and this is the best combo I have found for a protein shake. Keeps you going for hours. Highly recommend it!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rejuvinateme
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best Protein Powder on the market.
 October 25, 2013
"I've been using this product for about 5 months. I like it because it works. It has NO fructose or other sweetener which allows me to use stevia to sweeten. Stevia is a great sweetener and good for those with high/low sugar issues. Also this protein powder has NO soy and no whey in it, which are two products that bother my system. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT and recommend it highly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KellyW
fromLawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very versatile, great product
 September 24, 2013
"I have been using this product for several years now and love it. I alternate using this with PlantFushion Protein to give my body different ingredients and not the same thing all the time. However, I use one or the other just about every day since I am a vegan for the most part (I do eat organic eggs however). Additional comments as follows:
1. Mild taste and VERY versatile...meaning, I use for baking (to increase protein content) to replace some flours, for vegetable dishes instead of using a flour, for shakes, for making like a pudding (just don't put as much water/liquid in and I use stevia to sweeten)
2. It is thicker than PlantFushion protein so it can be easier to use in some situations but it dissolves just as well
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next