Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz

Naturally-Occurring Omega 3•6•9. Contains: Pea Hemp Rice with Chia Seed. Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetend is both a nutritive and highly digestible source of Plant Protein. LIfe's Basics Plant Protein mix Unsweetened provides about 22 grams of protein per serving and has an amino acid profile derived from Yellow Pea Protein Isolate Hemp Seed Rice Protein Concentrate and Chia Seed. Vegan Plant Protein mix derived from Yellow Pea Protein Isolate Hemp Seed Rice Protein and Chia Seed. No sweeteners added. Natural vanilla flavor. No gluten added. No artificial flavors or preservatives. Great taste.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
91 out of 103(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Review 1 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sneeze
fromFishers,IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
An unsweetened option if you need sugar free
 October 24, 2014
"I enjoy this product because it does not have fructose, other sugars, or artificial sweeteners in it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twball1
fromRidgefield WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
This protein mix is simply the best
 October 23, 2014
"Very clean ingredients, it's what's not in this that makes it stand out from the rest of the mixes. I've tried a few and have always reverted back to this one.......now it gets delivered automatically via Set and Save."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Booklover817
fromConcord, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product!
 September 12, 2014
"It's dairy and gluten free and has one of the lowest carb and highest protein powder I could find. There may be another out there, but for someone who can't have dairy, gluten, needs low carb and low sugar with high protein, this protein mix is perfect. I mix it with frozen organic raspberries and almond/coconut milk, flax seed oil and a sprinkle of Truvia and it keeps me full till lunch. I've been having this 5-6 days a week for almost 2 years and wouldn't dream of switching."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bookburn
fromMontana
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Adds Nutritional Value - Hard to Stomach
 August 10, 2014
"I appreciated being able to find a protein powder that meets my wife's nutritional needs (no yeast, whey or eggs, low sugar). And the price from Vitacost was fair.
That said, this was pretty hard to make palatable. Blueberry smoothies became pasty and gritty. It added a strong dried plant flavor and was noticeably salty. Neither of us really want to use it; I will be looking for other ways to get lean protein in the mornings. Life's Basics Plant Protein might make better fertilizer for my vegetable garden than amino acid supplement for human consumption."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisaMT
fromSouth Pasadena
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Lifetime Life's Basics Plant Protein Mix
 August 7, 2014
"This protein powder has great supplements in it. I find it to be better than Raw Meal powders. I like the taste which is very light and not so sweet."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suli
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A great plant source of protein and taste
 July 13, 2014
"This powder is a high quality protein source and tastes wonderful and the pricing is the lowest around..highly recommended."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patzyan
fromSacramento, Ca.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 May 20, 2014
"I've tried lots of other brands from other sources including the supermarket and Trader Joes and I like this one best. It's a really good, healthy product. I mix it with hot or cold water with a fork. No muss no fuss. I drink it at least once a day for my health. I like the taste of the regular vanilla and chocolate better, so I rotate the three. Next I'll try the one with greens. I hope they make a strawberry soon."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Elena71
fromParrish,Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Didn't care too much
 May 16, 2014
"I usually buy a product not by taste but the ingredients in it. That's why I got this one. But I couldn't stand the taste of it. It remands me like soaked cookies . Sorry maybe it's just me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
flaxoil
Looking for a veg protien
 April 29, 2014
"It is hard to take on its own I've been trying it mixed with other things it is still over whelming but PB helped I will use it up but I will keep looking for a better tasteing veg protien."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jill2134
Age:75+
Gender:Male
 April 10, 2014
"Great product, always arrives on time and just as orderec."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
be1yogi
fromTucson
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product for great smoothies
 April 8, 2014
"I order this product for myself and my son. He likes the sweetened version better as he mixes it with water for afternoon pick me ups. I like the un-sweetened version better. Vanilla is great, strawberry flavor not so great. get the vanilla!!!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FreidaMercury
fromKansas City, Mo
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product!
 April 7, 2014
"Finding a plant based protein powder without sweeteners is important to me, yet hard to find. This one is my favorite. It dissolves well in liquid & is a great addition to my morning smoothie. It keeps me satiated until lunch. I love it! And to top it off, Vitacost offers it at a great price! You can't beat it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
rivka
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Overpowering vanilla flavor
 March 14, 2014
"I bought this in the sweetened version thinking it would be good to mix berries and fruit into but it was so overly sweetened that no one in our family could handle it so we actually threw it away after we all four tried it. This was about a year ago and since I am allergic to whey protein (which is my absolute favorite to mix anything into), I am forced to try other protein powders and so far I am trying 3 different ones which includes this unsweetened version. I just made a smoothee with a whole mango 1/2 banana and an avocado and the only thing we can taste is the super overpowering vanilla flavor. I have a feeling the actual protein powder flavor is so bad that it has to be masked with the strong vanilla but it is still horrible! I gave 2 stars for nutrition level but would give 0 of possible for the bad flavor, not to mention the gritty texture. YUK!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect10
fromAuburn CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is my favorite protein powder!
 March 5, 2014
"My holistic Dr. recommended this product to me well over a year ago. It mixes well with fruits, veg, liquids and has no chalky after taste. In addition, because this is a plant based product it is 100$ good for you!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
luvmyfamily
fromCovered Bridge Country, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Lots of protein...
 March 3, 2014
"We make banana/blueberry smoothies using this product. A great taste and source of protein!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissET
fromsalt lake
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best I have tried!
 February 28, 2014
"This protein powder is by far the best I have tried. I don't want sickly artificially sweetened anything so I don't mind the taste. It mixes well with water and I eat it right after my gym workout. It holds me til I can have a real meal.
I don't eat any dairy so this is easy on the stomach as well. I highly recommend...the only downside, and it is a HUGE one is that the container comes barely a third full and is really expensive for how little it contains.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
teeceeNEPA
fromScranton, PA area
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
my morning shake essential
 February 19, 2014
"5 ice cubes, about 5-6 each frozen blackberries and rasberries, 1cup Silk Pure Almond milk, 1 cup water, (start blending) slowly add 1 TBS psyllium husk powder (Vitacost brand), 1 scoop Amazing Grass Green Superfood (Goji&Acai), 1 scoop LIFE BASICS UNSWEETENED PLANT PROTEIN MIX and Kal pure stevia extract to taste (I use about 1/2 dropper)
AWESOME healthy breakfast I drink on the way to work. Keeps me full for sometimes up to 5 hours!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kgdub
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
love it!
 January 5, 2014
"i eat this with everything!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stiggy
fromEscanaba, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is a great product and tast good
 November 25, 2013
"This is the first Protein powder I have found that is Glutin, milk, and sugar free. It tast great and has many nutrients that I require in my diet and than some. Great Stuff!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lifetime Life's Basics® Plant Protein Mix Unsweetened -- 16.24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alibubba
Great protein, nice texture
 November 24, 2013
"Filling plant based protein. I use almond milk and add fish oil and honey, delicious"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next