Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Seed & Nut Oils or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz

Expeller pressed. USDA organic. For medium high heat. Chefs know. Athletes know. The beautiful people know. Natural plant-based saturated fats can be a very good thing. Whether for tender moist cake or extra energy before a race for a Southeast Asian stir fry or soft smooth skin and hair Spectrum® Organic Coconut Oil is the jar to open. And as with all Spectrum® oils our Organic Coconut Oil is both expeller pressed and non-hydrogenated.  . This oil is best for sauteing or stir-frying over medium high heat or because of its neutral flavor for baking. Medium high heat up to 365oF.  
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
35 out of 39(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Review 1 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wildatheart
fromMiami Beach FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for everything....
 September 5, 2014
"I use this product mainly for cooking but coconut oil has great health benefits. You can also use it for your skin or something called oil pulling for your teeth (look it up)
Love this coconut oil!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DonnaGl
fromSan Antonio, TX
No smell or taste
 March 31, 2014
"I love this product because there is no coconut smell or taste! Great for cooking or eating."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyPerson
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Perfect flavorless cooking oil
 March 18, 2014
"Due to health concerns, I only cook with saturated fats. Butter and coconut oil are my go-to's. Most coconut oil on the market is "virgin" or highly fragrant, which is great stuff but doesn't always go with what you're cooking. This has no flavor and goes with anything. I can even use it when I'm making Italian food without flavor clashes (Just drizzle some virgin olive oil after the cooking process). I'm not sure why, but it seems tricky to find the refined flavorless type of coconut oil. Tropical Traditions has a good one too, but unless you're getting a lot when it's on sale, it tends to be more pricey. Living by myself, buying this from Vitacost works out the best for me in terms of value. Yes it's more expensive than generic soybean oil, but not in the long run with your lowered medical costs."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MMass0313
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Leaves skin soft
 March 11, 2014
"I used this on my dry skin and it made it feel wonderful! My skin was very soft! I would recommend this to anyone!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luv2travel
fromLangorne, Pa.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good for Baking
 March 1, 2014
"I use this product for baking at higher temps. Also, love the fact that is organic, has a neutral flavor and decent price at Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
motheroflittle
fromRural North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Refined Not Raw
 September 29, 2013
"Its great that it has zero hint of coconut smell or taste. Can be used for cooking recipes without altering flavor of foods. Its organic. Can be used for medium high heat cooking. All good things BUT its refined. I think this would be best for massages and facials. I'm going to look for a raw oil that doesn't have a strong coconut flavor for cooking and eating. Spectrum makes good products and the quality of this oil is very good."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JayeB
fromTallahassee, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great for frying, no coconut smell or taste
 September 19, 2013
"This takes the high heat of frying and has a clean, neutral taste that enhances all foods. Keeps very well, doesn't go rancid like lots of oils. Excellent oil in a glass jar."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healthygirls
fromMorro Bay, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Doesn't smell/taste like coconut
 August 22, 2013
"Coconut Oil has a host of health benefits so I've started cooking with it. Some dishes and baked goods really taste wonderful with the coconut taste, even if a bit subtle. Other dishes a coconut taste is not appropriate - it would ruin the dish! This is when I use this product - when I want the nutrition but not a coconut smell or taste. I buy organic whenever possible and this price is great for organic!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pheebie
fromNew Orleans, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for making popcorn & seasoning cast iron
 August 4, 2013
"While I love extra virgin coconut oil, I don't always want the coconut flavor and at those times, this is my go-to oil. We use it for making popcorn (in the old-fashioned Stir Crazy machine). 2 T of this oil, 1/2 cup of organic corn kernels, topped with a little melted butter and sea salt - you can't beat it. It's also a great oil for seasoning cast iron cookware. As always, Vitacost has THE best price. I always have this oil in my pantry. Love it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
livesimply1
fromEast Coast
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great coconut oil with no coconut taste
 July 7, 2013
"I really do NOT like the flavor of coconut but know how good the oil is for getting good fats in my diet. This is organic, expeller pressed, and excellent for high heat cooking."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ltz71
fromNew Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Coconut Oil!
 July 2, 2013
"I use this in my kitchen constantly! I melt a little in my morning coffee daily, make my sons grilled cheese with it, saute veggies, eggs, make french toast with it, the list goes on and on. I use this brand for cooking because it has no taste or smell of coconut at all. Just all the benefits of the good fats in it!
(I keep a tub of Vitacost brand in my bathroom for moisturizing and using as a face scrub because their brand has an awesome coconut smell and taste to it! )"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JEROCK
No Coconut Flavor
 June 21, 2013
"Love this product. It does not have a coconut flavor, which I am happy about because I do not want my food to taste like coconut. This product melts easy so it's perfect for creating a non-stick surface when cooking. Highly recommend!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCeeW
fromSeoul, Korea
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great price, so many uses!
 April 15, 2013
"I am never without this coconut oil. I use it in my baking and cooking (frying/sauteing), and often put it on bread or rice or pasta like I would do with olive oil or butter. I also use it as a moisturizer and special treatment for skin irritations. The price here is hard to beat!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
jec89123
fromTexas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Doesn't even taste like coconut!
 April 10, 2013
"I bought this brand because I was in the middle of moving and another brand (see my other review on that brand and/or my recommendation) was in storage so I bought this one because it was my only option at the location I was shopping. This is terrible. It has no coconut flavor, it tastes like butter and that is not the effect I was wanting. I will not be using this jar to eat, it will be only for hair and skin moisturizing and I will not be buying this again!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-8points
4of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweetthang84
fromlouisville,ky
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
4 -in- 1 and More !!
 April 2, 2013
"I got this product 3 weeks ago and im also out !! I have used it for a body moisturizing , cooking , and hair conditioner . It is the best so light and no scent.Perfect to combine with other essential oils. will be ordering again!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
lucky5556
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Residual coconut at bottom of jar
 March 26, 2013
"This product has coconut residue at the bottom of the jar that makes it unappealing. In addition, the top is a bit difficult to open even after the jar has been initially opened."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lawyer
fromLos Angeles
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product and price!
 March 22, 2013
"Good staple for the kitchen - I use it all of the time instead of butter."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sons
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good oil - no coconut flavor
 March 18, 2013
"Great purchase for a product at a reduced cost plus it's delivered to my home."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CWaliSmoker
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Perfect non-coconut flavored oil
 February 27, 2013
"I love coconut oil but sometimes, when cooking more savory food, I don't always want the taste of coconuts (even though I love them!). This product is great because is a wonderful refined oil without the coconut flavor. I would definitely recommend this for cooking and baking. I will definitely be buying this product again and again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Spectrum Organic Refined Coconut Oil -- 14 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TinTina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great for sauteing and baking
 December 29, 2012
"I use this organic coconut oil mainly for sauteing and baking. It's a great substitute for traditional chemical, gmo ridden oils. We cook dinner at home most days of the week and Friday night baking has become a tradition :) Despite all that use, this size jar lasts over 2 months."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next