Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz

For over 35 years master soapmaker John Toso has been making his all natural vegetable oil soaps according to traditional methods -- first from his Ashland kitchen later from his garage and today from a modern factory. Sappo Hill's traditional kettle process carefully blends palm and coconut oils for their rich skin moisturizing glycerin.  Each cake is wire-cut air-dried and aged to create a long-lasting soap for exceptional mildness.  . This small-batch time consuming process is no longer used by American soap makers.  Our vegetable oil 'glycerine creme' soap comes in many colors with a variety of fragrances to please every nose.  One of our most popular fragrances is Oatmeal which smells like oatmeal cookies and contains a generous amount of Organic oats.  There are three versions of oatmeal soap all excellent choices for an oily skin type.  . For those with sensitive skin we offer three colorless fragrance-free soaps -- Natural Oatmeal Fragrance-Free and Gardener's Fragrance-Free.  . Bursting with a bountiful amount of Organic cornmeal our gardeners' soaps are a natural abrasive for busy hands & fantastic for exfoliation.  . All the glycerin naturally produced during the soap making process is retained in all Sappo Hill soap.  We are not like most soap companies who remove the glycerin for sale to the chemical industry.  Glycerin is a natural skin softener and contributes to the soap's longevity preventing it from dissolving quickly in soap dishes or bath water.  . Products of animal origin are not an ingredient in our soap or our manufacturing process.  Nor are animals used in our testing methods.  packaging is minimal and as environmentally friendly as possible.
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
21 out of 23(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keikukaren
fromAshwaubenon, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My Husband's Favorite Soap
 July 21, 2014
"The soap works great without being too harsh and it smells like an oatmeal cookie! My husband likes the tiny oat granules for their exfoliating effect. It is the only soap he ever uses."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coolrefreshing
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 April 28, 2014
"I love the feeling Sappo Hill Oatmeal soap feels on my skin, it makes my skin feeling nice and smooth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RINASHOPS
fromBrooklyn, New York
Gender:Female
GREAT NATURAL MOISTURIZING SOAP
 April 24, 2014
"This is very moisturizing natural soap. I love its simple natural ingredients! There is lots of real oatmeal in the bar which helps with exfoliation. This is a staple soap for my household, I will repurchase. No unnecessary packaging."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
eauu
Moisturizing goodness
 April 16, 2014
"When I received my order, I smelled a crazy strong cinnamon scent. Well it was due to these soaps (3 of them). But don't be afraid, it becomes really subtle once you put them out of the box to use. Other than that, all I have to say is that they are really moisurizing, you almost forget that they're soap!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mbeck
fromIllinois
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
LOVE this soap
 February 17, 2014
"I adore this soap. I'm picky about my scents, and read reviews that the lavender was a bit odd, so I went with the oatmeal and was not disappointed. I love the smell and it makes me happy each time I take a shower. It lathers up nicely and rinses off well, and once the oatmeal bits are exposed it acts like an exfoliate as well. Because you have to order a bunch at once it won't run out for a long time!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Koriloves2shop
fromMiami
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delightful perfect clean
 March 13, 2013
"Love this soap and soap brand. All the soaps I have tried from the Sappo Hill brand have been great. This one in particular is extra delicious, smells like a fresh baked oatmeal cookie. Not harsh! This soap just leaves you smelling clean and lovely."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShoreGirl1
fromNew Jersey Shore, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
PRODUCT REVIEW
 March 4, 2013
"A long time favorite that causes no adverse reactions like dryness in my skin. No harsh ingredients inside."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
richcath
fromWA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
 February 24, 2013
"Great product diversity. Great product quality. Not so great delivery times."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oliverocks
fromPortland, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
love this soap
 February 17, 2013
"Nice, mild scent and gentle exfoliation. It doesn't have a bunch of unnatural ingrdients. I use this or the unscented version every day. It does not strip my skin, but leaves me feeling clean."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pomolady
fromSan Jose, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great bar soap!!!
 February 13, 2013
"I bought this soap after watching a beauty guru on YouTube talking about her skincare routine ( she has beautiful skin). All she said she used was cold cream to remove her heavy eye makeup and then a organic oatmeal bar soap. So I decided to try this and it has been working GREAT!!! I use makeup remover just to take off water proof makeup and then use a baby wash cloth with this soap. I also use apricot oil as my moisturizer. Give it a try."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shadesofpurple
fromPa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!! Smells FABULOUS!!!
 January 8, 2013
"I absolutely love this soap!!! It smells great!!! I just love the smell, It lathers up great & leaves my skin feeling clean & soft.
It is also organic & cruelty free!!!
I tried this on a whim & ended up not wanting to buy anything else after using it.
I bught some for my daughter to take to college & she loved it & she usually won't use bar soap, but she loves this bar soap."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
curious777
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Yummy
 November 4, 2012
"Love the smell of this soap - it smells like holidays to me. Leathers up well, but foam doesn't hold up - washes off too quickly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bluealice
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Soap that gets you clean
 June 27, 2012
"This soap feels really nice and lasts a long time and the oatmeal is gently exfoliating. My husband also really likes this soap, including the smell, which I'm not as crazy about (although it's not offensive). I also like that it doesn't come in lots of extra wasteful packaging, just the bar of soap."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
horsegal714
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great soap, non-drying and great price!!!
 June 26, 2012
"I love this soap!! It is not filmy or drying and has a great smell! My son tried to eat it because it smelled like cake he said!! Great price and lasts about three weeks with 3 of us using it daily!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
morgan1
"GREAT"
 May 6, 2012
"Got this for someone as part of a gift basket. Many things in basket......They have talked about how much they loved this more than anything!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LifeIsTooShort
frommiami
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice Soap!
 April 26, 2012
"The oatmeal Sappo Hill soap smells great. It's very mild and oatmeal is good for sensitive skin. It's not very long-lasting, but the price is low and certainly worth it. I enjoy using this product and have already reordered.
I also love a soap by Nubian Heritage: Honey & Black Seed soap. It smells delicious and lasts a long time. Also will reorder. I would give this one 5 stars."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BabySteps2Organic
fromMassachusetts
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Soap Ever
 March 2, 2012
"It does the job ! I have nothing bad to say about this soap.. I tried it out over a year ago and since then, I've used nothing else, I've given a bar to at least 10 people to try it (they ended up loving it), and it just works !"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
busymomofsix
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great natural body soap.
 January 25, 2012
"Smells good, lathers great, lasts longer than most other natural bars, and isn't too awfully expensive."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SoSilly
fromOkinawa, Japan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Just ok for me
 October 12, 2011
"My skin was not left dry like most bar soaps but it didn't lather enough for me. I didn't feel "squeeky clean" when I was done showering. Although the price & quality of the soap was very good."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Oatmeal -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cleangirl
fromRedlands CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Soap Available
 July 10, 2011
"Sappo Hill Oatmeal soap is the best soap I have ever used. When I come out of the shower I feel really clean and refreshed. The soap leaves no residual odor to compete with perfumes and other scents. Sappo Hill actually gets you clean without drying your skin. I got hooked on it over two years ago and now would never use anything else."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next