Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz

For over 35 years master soapmaker John Toso has been making his all natural vegetable oil soaps according to traditional methods -- first from his Ashland kitchen later from his garage and today from a modern factory. Sappo Hill's traditional kettle process carefully blends palm and coconut oils for their rich skin moisturizing glycerin.  Each cake is wire-cut air-dried and aged to create a long-lasting soap for exceptional mildness.  . This small-batch time consuming process is no longer used by American soap makers.  Our vegetable oil 'glycerine creme' soap comes in many colors with a variety of fragrances to please every nose.  One of our most popular fragrances is Oatmeal which smells like oatmeal cookies and contains a generous amount of Organic oats.  There are three versions of oatmeal soap all excellent choices for an oily skin type.  . For those with sensitive skin we offer three colorless fragrance-free soaps -- Natural Oatmeal Fragrance-Free and Gardener's Fragrance-Free.  . Bursting with a bountiful amount of Organic cornmeal our gardeners' soaps are a natural abrasive for busy hands & fantastic for exfoliation.  . All the glycerin naturally produced during the soap making process is retained in all Sappo Hill soap.  We are not like most soap companies who remove the glycerin for sale to the chemical industry.  Glycerin is a natural skin softener and contributes to the soap's longevity preventing it from dissolving quickly in soap dishes or bath water.  . Products of animal origin are not an ingredient in our soap or our manufacturing process.  Nor are animals used in our testing methods.  packaging is minimal and as environmentally friendly as possible.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LBBS
fromPort Jefferson Station, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Soap
 October 4, 2014
"Absolutely love this soap. It's gentle, moisturizing, all natural, and smells great. Love it! As a matter of fact i also use their oatmeal soap... sappo hill products are great!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
undecimus
fromCanada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fabulous Vegetable based natural soap!
 May 23, 2014
"The value here cannot be beat ! Very rich / natural Almond scent.. which I love. Creamy vegetable based foam... non drying. I have been using this soap for hands / bath / shower.. from this great company.. for many years ! The Vitacost price.. is the best around. IMO."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
brendamac
fromHickory, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great soap
 April 13, 2014
"This has a nice almond smell. Doesn't dry the skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShoreGirl1
fromNew Jersey Shore, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
PRODUCT REVIEW
 March 4, 2013
"A long time favorite that causes no adverse reactions like dryness in my skin. No harsh ingredients inside."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JennyLu
fromBlacksburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Simple, pure, relatively inexpensive
 December 27, 2012
"I used this for years then moved away from a Whole Foods (my original source for the soap), tried other brands, but always pined for my Sappo Hill. So glad I found an online source! I love the purity and simplicity of this soap. It's gentle and non-irritating to my skin. Smells great. And free of individual packaging. What's not to love?"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
HILLARYa
fromMichigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
almond nice
 December 21, 2012
"The smell is rather faint but smells glorious when you do pick it up and sniff it. I love how natural this soap is. Both the making and the products used for it. It is a small circle so great size for sink, and hand washing."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yista1
fromTampa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love it
 October 10, 2012
"This soap is wonderful. It cleans without drying, is a good deal on pirce, and I love the way they all smell!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MicheleB
fromFlagstaff, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Sappo Hill Almond Glycerine Cream Soap
 December 27, 2011
"I love this soap! It has a creamy soft lather and a delicate scent! It is my absolute favorite natural soap that I've tried! I highly recommend it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlueBear
fromAustin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Nice soap
 November 7, 2011
"This smells really good and doesn't leave a scent on your skin (which I like). Lathers really well. Could be slightly more moisturizing. It comes just as the bar when you buy it - it's not wrapped or in a box. I'd rather it be in a box, but I'll deal with it."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
busymomofsix
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Our favorite soap!
 February 23, 2011
"We've tried all kinds of natural soaps in our family. This is the hands-down favorite. We love everything about it."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DianaR
fromWA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Sappo Hill Almond Glycerine Creme Soap
 November 12, 2010
"This is one of my favourite soaps out there! Love its simple ingredients and nice almond scent. Sappo Hill, an Oregon based soapmaker, makes wonderful all-vegetable soaps! It lathers well, washes well without leaving any feeling of "film" on my body or face. Good size and firmness. I keep it on a stainless steel soap dish and let it dry after each use to make it last longer and not melt away. Also, I think this price for one case (12 cakes) is a brilliant value!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Sappo Hill Glycerine Soap Almond -- 3.5 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product