Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Aids or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz

Harvested For Good Health®. Vitamin Fortified Food Product. VSF Yeast Flakes. Gluten Free / Kosher. VSF Yeast Flakes were first manufactured in 1975. this fortified food product is a valuable source of high quality protein amino acids vitamin s and fiber.
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Review 1 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GoldRet
fromCape Coral, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I really like this in place of cheese.
 August 27, 2014
"At first, I wasn't sure I could say it replaces cheese, but it really does taste like cheese as I get used to it. I sprinkle it on anything I would cheese, and it really adds a good hint of flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PatB195361
fromErin, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
GREAT product
 July 5, 2014
"I first tried this when I was introduced to a recipe for kale chips. I thought to myself how good can yeast flakes taste mixed with kale? I was surprised! They are GREAT together - kale, olive oil, yeast flakes and a little parmesan cheese all mixed together and baked.YUMMY and NUTRITIOUS! I have started adding it to other foods. I ALWAYS buy this now in my set and save order to make sure I have plenty on hand."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
QUELIANE
fromBrazil, BRA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
very tasteful!
 May 28, 2014
"great product. I take this product to brazil and it arrived in less than 30 normal days!
Very tasteful, great to change a vegane meal.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChubbyVegan
fromAthens, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect Staple for a Vegan
 December 13, 2013
"This is a staple in my house. As a vegan, I use it in so many of my recipe's, and love to top food with it as well. I use it in my stir fry's, to top potatoes, and to make Vegan mac and cheese! Delish!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VegLady
fromHighland Park, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love it!
 October 26, 2013
"I am using it all the time, probably even exceeding suggested dosage. It tastes very good. For me it's like a condiment to use with certain foods. I find it to be a much better choice than taking vitamin pills or even liquids."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brunospe
fromSao Paulo, Brazil
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
plenty of vitamins, horrible taste and smell
 October 24, 2013
"Although the product delivers plenty of vitamins, specially from B complex (B12 included), and minerals (Zinc), the taste, and smell is pretty bad, kind of strong old cheese (I'm a vegan, so I do not like very much the smell of cheese, however, I still think it is a strong one even for cheese lovers)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoyfulYogi
fromBoston, MA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
This stuff is yummy :)
 July 31, 2013
"I was suprised to see how much difference there is in flavor and texture in nutritional yeasts from one brand to the next. There's so much of a difference in my opinion, that I'm having trouble picking a favorite! I will say that this is one of my favorites, though. Very nutty and savory - yum! I would definitely recommend."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nothappy2
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great tasting!
 July 15, 2013
"I love this product. I use it every single day on my egg white omelet. It has a cheesy taste and is full of nutrients. I run out of it so fast, I have to double my order to make sure I have it when I need it. You will love the taste, I promise! Oh, and it's very affordable. Can't beat that with a stick!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JayEmCee
fromIL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good flavor, nutritious to boot
 June 17, 2013
"I bought this the first time to use in homemade salad dressing recipes and veggie dip recipes. It does taste a little like cheese, but not a strong cheesy flavor. It does give a wonderful flavor to my dressings and dips. I like the fact that it is nutritious."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
caramelkiss19
fromGowanda, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Better than the "other brand" yeast seasoning
 June 16, 2013
"Red Star yeast flakes pack much more nutrition for the punch than the other top brand yeast seasoning. More protein and fiber and potassium. I also felt this had a better flavor. I love this on baked potatoes and popcorn and chili etc. Once you try yeast there's no going back."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckrumm
fromLoveland, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Taste great
 June 11, 2013
"I had never tried yeast flakes before because it sounded a little strange tasting. However I couldn't have been more wrong. I find that it makes every savory item taste just a little more savory, it has that umami element. I am very happy that I have discovered yeast flakes and I love the extra nutrients that the Red Star brand adds to food."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoriH5
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy!
 May 27, 2013
"I know that nutritional yeast has many vitamin and mineral benefits but I just like the taste. While it doesn't appeal to my husband or kids, I LOVE it on my popcorn and the health benefits are a BONUS! Not for everyone, but I find it quite tasty."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kay133
fromAZ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great for vegans
 May 23, 2013
"I add this to salads, butternut squash, quinoa - you name it! Great "cheese" flavor to help us non-meat eaters get the nutrients we need."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamaBeeinPhilly
fromPhiladelphia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious
 May 14, 2013
"I mainly use these Nutritional yeast flakes in homemade gravy recipes, they give it a really good flavor. Some people love it on popcorn."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
taina
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious option
 May 7, 2013
"I love this stuff on air popped corn. I get a little decadent by spritzing olive oil, sprinkling rosemary & thyme & the nutritional yeast. So tasty!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
catcrazy
fromchicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very tasty!
 March 23, 2013
"I am not a vegan, but read about this as a flavor enhancer and cheese substitute. I have sprinkled it over steamed vegetables, scrambled eggs, pasta, grits and in sauces and it adds kind of rich umami flavor which is really good and good for you too. I picked this brand based on other reviews and am not disappointed! Will buy again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
workitout
fromalachua, florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
delicious taste
 March 12, 2013
"I use this in place of cheese in many recipes, I put it on eggs, oatmeal and pasta also. There are several brands of yeast, they are all good."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ElizabethSays
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not bad, but not the best
 January 19, 2013
"All nutritional yeasts are not the same. This was my first choice, but then I tried Kal brand and switched! I suggest you do your own taste test and choose what you prefer."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
charlie85
Great flavor!
 January 12, 2013
"use in various types of meal"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
paintednightsky
fromNY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not all yeast flakes are created the same
 November 12, 2012
"This was my first taste of yeast flakes and good thing it was or I probably would never have tried it again. Once I ran out I bought some "bulk" flakes at my local natural foods store. ughhh disgusting! It was very cheap, but not worth it if it is not used.
Red Star has a nice cheesy flavor, good on eggs, popcorn, rice... Quite addicting. The bulk brand had a strong taste and not in a good way, kind of like cardboard and a prominent bland taste if that makes sense.
"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next