Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Staples or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz

Harvested For Good Health®. Vitamin Fortified Food Product. VSF Yeast Flakes. Gluten Free / Kosher. VSF Yeast Flakes were first manufactured in 1975. this fortified food product is a valuable source of high quality protein amino acids vitamin s and fiber.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 40(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Review 1 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNapa, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Popcorn topper
 February 23, 2016
" I original bought this product for a vegan recipe I made for a friend. We then tried in on popcorn and it is delish; chessey tasting without the fat! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRome, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 February 14, 2015
" I'm a Vegan so I use this Red Star Yeast Flakes in my oatmeal and fruit smoothies . It helps make up for some of the vitamin B . It taste pretty good too. I do use it on other stuff too , but that's the main stuff I use it on. Has protein and fiber and other vitamins too. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCape Coral, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I really like this in place of cheese.
 August 27, 2014
" At first, I wasn't sure I could say it replaces cheese, but it really does taste like cheese as I get used to it. I sprinkle it on anything I would cheese, and it really adds a good hint of flavor. "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromErin, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
GREAT product
 July 5, 2014
" I first tried this when I was introduced to a recipe for kale chips. I thought to myself how good can yeast flakes taste mixed with kale? I was surprised! They are GREAT together - kale, olive oil, yeast flakes and a little parmesan cheese all mixed together and baked.YUMMY and NUTRITIOUS! I have started adding it to other foods. I ALWAYS buy this now in my set and save order to make sure I have plenty on hand. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBrazil, BRA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
very tasteful!
 May 28, 2014
" great product. I take this product to brazil and it arrived in less than 30 normal days!
Very tasteful, great to change a vegane meal.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAthens, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect Staple for a Vegan
 December 13, 2013
" This is a staple in my house. As a vegan, I use it in so many of my recipe's, and love to top food with it as well. I use it in my stir fry's, to top potatoes, and to make Vegan mac and cheese! Delish! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHighland Park, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love it!
 October 26, 2013
" I am using it all the time, probably even exceeding suggested dosage. It tastes very good. For me it's like a condiment to use with certain foods. I find it to be a much better choice than taking vitamin pills or even liquids. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromSao Paulo, Brazil
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
plenty of vitamins, horrible taste and smell
 October 24, 2013
" Although the product delivers plenty of vitamins, specially from B complex (B12 included), and minerals (Zinc), the taste, and smell is pretty bad, kind of strong old cheese (I'm a vegan, so I do not like very much the smell of cheese, however, I still think it is a strong one even for cheese lovers) "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBoston, MA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
This stuff is yummy :)
 July 31, 2013
" I was suprised to see how much difference there is in flavor and texture in nutritional yeasts from one brand to the next. There's so much of a difference in my opinion, that I'm having trouble picking a favorite! I will say that this is one of my favorites, though. Very nutty and savory - yum! I would definitely recommend. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great tasting!
 July 15, 2013
" I love this product. I use it every single day on my egg white omelet. It has a cheesy taste and is full of nutrients. I run out of it so fast, I have to double my order to make sure I have it when I need it. You will love the taste, I promise! Oh, and it's very affordable. Can't beat that with a stick! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good flavor, nutritious to boot
 June 17, 2013
" I bought this the first time to use in homemade salad dressing recipes and veggie dip recipes. It does taste a little like cheese, but not a strong cheesy flavor. It does give a wonderful flavor to my dressings and dips. I like the fact that it is nutritious. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGowanda, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Better than the "other brand" yeast seasoning
 June 16, 2013
" Red Star yeast flakes pack much more nutrition for the punch than the other top brand yeast seasoning. More protein and fiber and potassium. I also felt this had a better flavor. I love this on baked potatoes and popcorn and chili etc. Once you try yeast there's no going back. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLoveland, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Taste great
 June 11, 2013
" I had never tried yeast flakes before because it sounded a little strange tasting. However I couldn't have been more wrong. I find that it makes every savory item taste just a little more savory, it has that umami element. I am very happy that I have discovered yeast flakes and I love the extra nutrients that the Red Star brand adds to food. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy!
 May 27, 2013
" I know that nutritional yeast has many vitamin and mineral benefits but I just like the taste. While it doesn't appeal to my husband or kids, I LOVE it on my popcorn and the health benefits are a BONUS! Not for everyone, but I find it quite tasty. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAZ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great for vegans
 May 23, 2013
" I add this to salads, butternut squash, quinoa - you name it! Great "cheese" flavor to help us non-meat eaters get the nutrients we need. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPhiladelphia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious
 May 14, 2013
" I mainly use these Nutritional yeast flakes in homemade gravy recipes, they give it a really good flavor. Some people love it on popcorn. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious option
 May 7, 2013
" I love this stuff on air popped corn. I get a little decadent by spritzing olive oil, sprinkling rosemary & thyme & the nutritional yeast. So tasty! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromchicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very tasty!
 March 23, 2013
" I am not a vegan, but read about this as a flavor enhancer and cheese substitute. I have sprinkled it over steamed vegetables, scrambled eggs, pasta, grits and in sauces and it adds kind of rich umami flavor which is really good and good for you too. I picked this brand based on other reviews and am not disappointed! Will buy again. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromalachua, florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
delicious taste
 March 12, 2013
" I use this in place of cheese in many recipes, I put it on eggs, oatmeal and pasta also. There are several brands of yeast, they are all good. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Red Star Yeast Flakes -- 5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not bad, but not the best
 January 19, 2013
" All nutritional yeasts are not the same. This was my first choice, but then I tried Kal brand and switched! I suggest you do your own taste test and choose what you prefer. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next