Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Coffee & Tea Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz

100% Caffeine Free. Looking for a natural alternative to coffee and tea? Your search is over. Pero is a 100% natural beverage with a coffee like taste. It's 100% naturally caffeine free and blended from select all natural ingredients--malted barley chicory and rye. And because Pero contains no stimulants it will not elevate heart rate or blood pressure cause sleeplessness or create any adverse physical ailments typically associated with caffeine consumption. Plus the low acidity of this natural beverage makes it easy to enjoy morning noon or night without the fear of an upset stomach. Pero can be mixed with your favorite ingredients to create your own hot drink specialties to relax and enjoy. So take a break-- and make Pero the beverage of choice for you and your family.
Overall rating:
4.522 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
22 out of 23(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Review 1 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daner
fromTennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great afternoon drink
 August 20, 2014
"Takes alittle getting used to but it's good"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
four4four
fromSt. Louis
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
nice alternative for coffee
 April 22, 2014
"I really enjoy Cafix, but decided to try Pero just for grins. Like Cafix, Pero is all natural and caffeine free. All in all, I think I prefer Cafix over Pero, but I will have no problem finishing the Pero. Both Cafix and Pero are rich, smooth and full bodied - my evening drink of choice."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CinniePooh
fromNOVA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Product!
 April 17, 2014
"This is a wonderful coffee substitute, for someone that likes a variety of choices. I like it just for sipping, during the day. Just be aware, it does contain, calories."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katemarie
fromMissouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious
 February 26, 2014
"I mix this with cocoa and stevia for a perfect treat with breakfast."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Inheritor
fromAlberta, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Mild but great tasting coffee substitute
 January 21, 2014
"My taste is strong, dark coffee. So far I've not found a substitute that compares to a dark roast or espresso, but this is pleasant."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bokkai
fromEndless Mts PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product
 December 30, 2013
"I had to give up caffeine. What was I to do? No coffee in the morning!! I ordered Pero and gave it a try. It is definitely not coffee, but it is great. I really enjoy a cup, black, with a little stevia. (and I always had to have 1/2 & 1/2 with my coffee) Sometimes at night I'll add a little coconut cream or almond milk. Delish."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
2savvy4
from1968 Mase Switzerland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Substitute for coffee
 December 25, 2013
"It's ok. I found it good with warm soy milk; it's a treat."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tequilla
fromDunkirk, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious! Great replacement for coffee
 November 15, 2013
"I gave up coffee (to avoid caffeine and acid) and miss the taste, since I loved coffee. I've tried other products (Caffix and Roma), as well as herbal tea (Roastaroma) but all of these fell short as a tasty, full-bodied replacement -- till I tried this -- yummy! I use a heaping tablespoon and use about 1/4 cup of vanilla soy milk (rice, almond and flax are not as full-bodied) and I've become hooked! Vitacost sells it an an excellent price too -- I definitely recommend it as a replacement to coffee"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluedolphin
fromBethany Beach, DE
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tastes great
 September 4, 2013
"I was introduced to Pero drink by a friend and I have had it every morning since then. I will also drink it after dinner since it does not interfere with sleep - no caffeine.
It even tastes great in the afternoon with "kuchen."
Love the product!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mick2368
fromChesterton, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Its not coffee but it helps
 June 8, 2013
"I was drinking way too much coffee and decided to cut back. Its was hard at first but Im getting used to it. I also make my healthier version of an iced latte with it too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
sonlite777
fromWest TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Coffee substitute
 May 22, 2013
"I realize nothing will ever taste anywhere near coffee when you need to decrease the amount you drink but this will not work. I didn't like the taste at all. It isn't even good as just a hot drink to take the place of an extra coffee. I hate to ever write a bad review but this didn't work for me. I couldn't trick my taste buds at all!!! I'll use one of Celestial Seasonings teas like Red Raspberry or Blueberry with some stevia. They aren't coffee but they are nice."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GMof15
pretty good
 April 8, 2013
"I am an AFib. coffee is not allowed. I found this on the internet.
TRIED IT. All herbs,and it took the place of my coffee. I did indeed drink a lot of it.
After trying this I decided this is pretty close,caffine free.
Now I don't really miss the coffee.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZazzyQueen
Great tasting coffee substitute
 April 1, 2013
"A number of people on a discussion board I read have recommended PERO as a good tasting alternative to coffee. They were right! I think it is very tasty and easy to make. Tastes great with a dash of NuStevia and also with some warmed unsweetened almond milk."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
snailshopper
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I like coffee, I like Pero too
 November 8, 2012
"I'm a bit of an anomaly. I drink coffee, usually high quality espresso, but I also have a thing for coffee substitutes. If you're looking for a hot beverage that you can jazz up with all your usual enhancements, then give this a try. I throw half n' half in mine and it produces a nice, creamy, smooth, comforting beverage that I can drink late at night without the caffeine side effects. I'd buy again."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
starlit
fromOcean Springs, MS
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 August 10, 2012
"I cannot have caffeine so this is a wonderful tasting alternative to coffee. It almost smells like the real thing. I add my almond milk and agave syrup creating a real treat."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jar3
fromNH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is a great replacement for coffee.
 July 16, 2012
"I was looking for something healthier to drink than coffee or even decaf coffee. This drink tastes great and I feel like I am still having a cup of coffee in the morning."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gmdk
Pero
 January 6, 2012
"I buy 6 cans or more usually at a time. It's promotes only good health and tastes great. Take coffee away any day but leave Pero in my cubbard..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
heyu
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
great product and service
 December 10, 2011
"I found the product and the service excellent, and would recommend them to anyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AvoidTheNoid
Great for Postum Lovers
 October 19, 2011
"This Pero tastes very similar to the Postum that I enjoyed daily for some 40+ years. It dissolves better than Postum and has a good, clean taste. To get it to taste EXACTLY like postum, I add just a little brown sugar or molasses to the prepared cup. Thanks Vitacost for carrying this product .. it's a comfort food like no other!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pero Instant Natural Beverage -- 7 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
iamladyj2
 July 12, 2011
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Loved, loved, loved it!!!!!
It is great!
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next