Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz

100% Botanical Hair Color & Conditioner. Color Lasts 4-6 Weeks. Rainbow Henna. Rainbow Henna has no additives chemicals or pesticides. Rainbow Henna coats each hair shaft with color. Blends naturally. Fades gradually. Lasts 4-6 weeks. Smoothes and seals the hair's cuticle for greater shine and body. Our custom-tailored recipes can be used for special effects covering grey and improving texture. Note: Henna has no lightening action. History of Henna. Secrets of beauty have been cherished throughout the ages. One of the oldest beautifers known is Henna. Famous beauties such as Nefertiti and Cleopatra used Henna to enhance their hair coloring. Silent film stars Theda Bara and Clara Bow colored their hair with Henna to add to their mystery. Today Henna is used by women and men who understand how to be naturally beautiful.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Review 1 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shapinup
fromMidwest
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Natural hair color that hides my gray
 April 13, 2015
"I have thick coarse black hair with strays of gray/white hair. In the past I have merely plucked those hairs. This time, I used this henna product to disguise those pesky grays. I have used a different brand of henna before from another online retailer but with the cost of shipping and it being ONLY a henna shop, Vitacost just seemed like the best option for price and convenience. The Persian Mahogany henna worked to cover up the grays. I dumped the entire contents in a bowl with hibiscus tea, apple cider vinegar, geranium & sandalwood essential oil blended with jojoba and mixed well. Then I covered up the bowl with plastic wrap for 2 hours. Then, I stirred the mixture again to ensure it was well blended and the consistence of yogurt. I applied the henna all over my head, covered it with plastic wrap and secured that with a vinyl shower cap. I used a blow dryer to heat my hair every 30-45 for 2 hours. Then I filled a bucket up with warm water and dunked my hair into the bucket to help dissolve the henna for a faster rinse. Of course henna takes time to rinse. Use a conditioner to help rinse the particles out of your hair several times. You don't notice the results right away as it takes a couple of days for the henna to reach its final color. I am pleased that my grays are covered and I have more shine with a hint of auburn in the sun. Oh, if you get a headache after applying henna or have some nausea like I do, I apply some peppermint oil to the back of my neck and stomach. Tannins (found in henna and indigo) can cause headaches. Happy hennaing!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
kissy3
fromlake elsinore california
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Henna
 March 9, 2015
"I didn't notice a color difference. The smell is bad. The little herb pieces do stay in so you have to keep rinsing. The tips or hints didn't work for me to prevent coarse or really dry hair. I did notice a difference in shine before I use the coconut oil on my hair, but it wasn't consistent. I notice more fuller hair but I don't care for that my hair is already thick. I left it on overnight the I did two treatments the first time. I mixed and let it sit the other time I used it right away."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunshine01
fromchicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful color!
 June 15, 2013
"My hair is naturally auburn and this medium auburn just livens up my natural color and makes it shine! Looks very natural and covers the gray I have coming out. Since I already have red in my hair, I tone the red down by mixing coffee instead of hot water to the powder and it works very nicely."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
InsanitysBetter
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Lovely color!
 February 17, 2013
"Just used this product today. Never used henna before, but wanted a natural alternative to change up my months-old chemically dyed and faded reddish-blonde. I absolutely love the color, a pretty warm copper-red, with better coverage than I've experienced with home box-color! My one and only complaint is the smell and the look of it as you're applying...but that's henna, from what I understand. Totally worth it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SDS777
fromNH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Beautiful over blonde
 February 13, 2013
"As I get older my blonde has lost its luster and gotten VERY dirty. I started using this around the holidays to be festive. I had old blonde highlights from the summer that had grown out and I was hoping this would disguise the different tones between the roots and highlights. It worked beautifully! After I did the second application just over a month later, the tone became even richer and less orange on the highlighted hair. Now it looks very natural and i'm hooked. I am now a redhead and I never thought I could pull it off.
Note. I use 1/2 the container with each application in my medium length, fine hair. Just add boiling water until it is the consistency of yogurt. The proportions in the directions didn't seem right.
Enjoy beautiful hair without the damage or poisons!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LaGitana
fromArivaca AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shine and color
 January 18, 2013
"I have been using henna for years and this brand for 10.
I have found it to have consistency.I Do NOT mix according to directions I use lemon juice.Lemon juice makes product last longer.
I leave it on hair for two hours.Your hair will be brassy for the first day but will tone down after that.I get so many compliments on the color.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
butterfly50
fromDecatur, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I love this stuff
 October 29, 2012
"I have used henna products for about ten years now, and recently found this one on Vitacost.
I mix half of this color with the Persian Copper Red and love the color it produces."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hele911
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice color
 May 27, 2012
"I bought this to mix with the medium brown and love the color it came out. I also purchased a tub for my daughter because I don't want her using chemicals on her hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Mahogany Medium Auburn -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
huneybucket
fromMuncie IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
It does deliver color!
 February 2, 2010
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I have used Henna dyes before, but not this brand. I was very good about following all the 'rules', no metal, leave in two hours, etc... And it worked. There's nothing worse than do go through all that work and have it not work! The color was a little more on the red side than I expected. Next time I'll do 1/2 & 1/2 with brown. My main goal was to cover greys, my mellon in on the right...."
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.