Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz

100% Botanical Hair Color & Conditioner. Color Lasts 4-6 Weeks. Rainbow Henna. Rainbow Henna has no additives chemicals or pesticides. Rainbow Henna coats each hair shaft with color. Blends naturally. Fades gradually. Lasts 4-6 weeks. Smoothes and seals the hair's cuticle for greater shine and body. Our custom-tailored recipes can be used for special effects covering grey and improving texture. Note: Henna has no lightening action. History of Henna. Secrets of beauty have been cherished throughout the ages. One of the oldest beautifers known is Henna. Famous beauties such as Nefertiti and Cleopatra used Henna to enhance their hair coloring. Silent film stars Theda Bara and Clara Bow colored their hair with Henna to add to their mystery. Today Henna is used by women and men who understand how to be naturally beautiful.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
19 out of 25(76%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Review 1 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alaskamelinda
fromAlaska
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product, great price
 September 6, 2014
"I have been using Rainbow Research Henna hair color for more than 2 years now, and I love it. I have thick gray and white hair, and I use the Persian Dark Brown Sable to cover all my gray. It does a great job, and conditions my hair wonderfully. To counteract the kelp smell I put orange oil in the henna when I mix it up, put it on my hair then sit back and relax for a couple of hours."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
5boys3girls
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Super Conditioner & Steadfast Color
 June 23, 2014
"I love Rainbow Henna Hair Color. It conditions as well as it covers, gray especially. I've enjoyed using the dark brown the most, mixed with a couple tablespoons black or light brown depending on the shade I desire at the time. The more black, the better and longer the color has stayed on my gray strands, however, my dark brown hair does look more black. The recipe I use for medium length, dark brown hair is 6 Tbls black coffee grounds boiled 5+ minutes in about a quart of water, strain, use hot. Add 2 Tbls apple cider vinegar, 2 Tbls Olive oil, or any oil to ease washing out, 1 jar dark brown sable henna, plus 4+- Tbls black henna. Pour henna powders into glass bowl, add remaining ingredients. Let mixture set 24-48 hours before use for longer lasting color. Stir mixture well before application. Double recipe for very long hair. IMPORTANT INFO: Do not let any metal touch the mixture. Use glass, plastic, or wooden bowls and spoons. All metal, including stainless steel, measuring spoons and bowls de-activate the henna properties so that it will not work. Wear rubber gloves to keep hands from staining. To apply: Wash and towel dry the hair to be colored. Use a wide tooth comb to divide hair into sections (from the front back) beginning at the roots toward the ends. Apply and massage each section til fully coated. Lay coated sections on top of head until all hair is covered. Can be done alone, but it is best that another person apply the mixture to your hair for good and complete coverage. Wipe any excess on skin, neck and ears, with wet paper towel, then wrap all the coated hair piled on top of head in plastic wrap several times to cover entirely. Put on a winter stocking cap to hold in body heat. Go for a walk, or exercise, or let sun shine on head. Leave on for 2 - 2.5 hours. Rinse with very warm water until completely washed out, then lastly rinse with coolest water to help set the color. Do not wash with shampoo for 24 hours following the color session. Some henna color will continue to rinse out after first couple of washings, but then it stops. This hair color doesn't make ones hair go from dark brown to blonde. It simply enhances your natural color shades. But it definitely does darken lighter hair and stick to gray. It leaves the gray a tad shade lighter than the rest of the hair that isn't gray, which makes my hair look slightly highlighted and amazing. My hair is manageable and soft, full and alive after using Rainbow Henna. I highly recommend using this henna with my recipe. Experiment with mixing the colors available for a truly personalized color. Write down the combo amounts so if it turns out perfect you will remember how much of each color you mixed. It works for me and my three girls' hair. I've used henna on others that did leave a slight green tint on the gray strands only and only detectable in direct sonlight, so we altered the amount of black to 1 Tbls more, and lessened the dark brown to remedy. The nice thing with henna, you can re-apply the same or next day, as often as you like, to obtain a satisfactory color, without damaging the hair. If it didn't 'work' to your liking the first time, try again and mix the color powder with my recipe above. Your hair will feel and look fabulous."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
12345ABC
Love it!
 January 28, 2014
"I purchased this to cover my random gray hairs and it worked. I have thick, dark hair to the middle of my back. Apparently one 4 oz jar is suggested per application.
I used about 75% of the powder and it was plenty. I mixed it with coffee instead of water in a class bowl. I needed to add more liquid than the suggested amount, so I used used hot tap water. I used latex gloves and put vaseline everywhere that the stuff could drip around my face, neck and ears. I did this at the bathroom sink. The mixture was thick enough that it didn't drip onto my shoulders or the floor. I applied the mixture by hand to 1 to 2 inch sections and piled them on top of my head (using a ponytail holder after every few sections to secure the hair). When I was finished coating all of my hair (I looked like Medusa), I still had quite a bit of mixture, so I sort of piled it on my head and distributed it evenly. I covered my head with 2 plastic bags and stretchy headband. It wasn't dripping, so I exercised and did household chores. I kept it on for approximately 5 hours. I started to rinse by leaning over the tub, but it was way too heavy and I was getting chunks of dried mud all over the floor. So, I just got in the shower to rinse it out. It was incredibly messy but didn't dye my skin because it was rinsing off immediately.
The end result was my gray hairs being dyed a reddish/blond and the rest of my hair is slightly darker, but the darker color is only noticable in bright light. My hair looks healthy and moisturized. I am very pleased and plan to keep using this product when I get more gray hair or when/if it fades from my existing gray. I am very relieved to have found a way to hide gray hair without harsh, damaging, chemical dyes."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beckka
Rich color, fresh scent, adds body!
 January 26, 2014
"I have used almost every brand henna there is, every color too from red to auburn to browns to black.... I have dark brown hair with some gray sparkles, and this henna not only covered the gray but added a deep natural brown and added body and thickness to my soft curly hair! I forgot how good Rainbow Henna is!
I mixed mine ( full jar) with boiling water, dash of olive oil and dash of an organic conditioner, and a splash of lemon juice , mixed to a thick paste and coated sections of my long hair ( took a while!) and left it on, covered in plastic , for 2 hours. Rinsed with conditioner and my hair has never looked better! No frizz, and feels thicker!
Highly recommended. Yes messy but with practice gets easier.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ItsALLgoood
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 December 30, 2013
"I mixed it with coffee and apple cider vinegar as suggested.
My hair had a lot of grey. My hair is almost shoulder length and I could have easily only used half the amount. It covered well with not enough red, (hair dyes used to always make my hair too brassy). My hair came out a nice deep brown, and changed colors depending on the lighting. It faded out very gradually, I did have some root growth, but not a really bad line. Now a month later, I've re applied medium brown. I didn't add the coffee, but did use the cider vinegar. I only used half the amount in the container and made the product thinner and creamier. It went on easier and was easier to wash out. It came out a nice dark brown with red highlights. My roots are lighter, but I have extra if I need to touch up. If you haven't used henna be prepared for an earthy smell.
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
dandanzhu
frommorgantown,wv
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
No effect
 August 15, 2013
"I purchased this product for my mother and followed by the instruction, but the result is so bad. During the coloring, it is totally mess. I am not sure why so many people say this product is good, but anyway it does not work on me."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
rodantivlab
made hair green
 July 23, 2013
"My Mom has 40% greys
This made her hair green, even though her hair wasn't dyed before.. and we followed the instructions...
"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dj2041
fromIllinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 March 11, 2013
"I have been using this product for well over a year now . I started out using the medium brown but found on the gray areas it made it appear a little too light and brassy so I changed to the sable brown and am very pleased. I get compliments all the time and people think I get it professionally done.
The only cons are the time it takes to complete...I leave on up to two hours and it is somewhat messy compared to a store bought hair dye. It also has an odor, reminds me of wet hay but all these things aside it is a great product, covers very well and gives your hair a brilliant shine...I usually touch up every 3-4 weeks since my hair seems to grow fast.
Mixing, I use enough coffee or instant black tea to make a paste,(if you use entire jar about a cup) just keep on adding as you are stirring till it is the consistency of a thicker batter, then I add a couple tsps of apple cider vinegar ..You do not want it too thin or it will be too messy and drip off of your hair, but you do not want it super thick either(like pie dough) or it will not work into your hair like it should..
"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pisarro
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great results
 January 7, 2013
"Rainbow Henna Hair Color is a great natural alternative for your hair care. It is pretty simple to use and the results are very good. If you want a natural product - chemical free - then I would highly recommend this product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oshevy
fromSanta Rosa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I love this product!
 January 4, 2013
"Use this product for more than 20 years and love it. The color looks very natural and cover grey hear well! Yes, it's messy to make, but the result is worth it... especially if you dye your hair according to the instructions. I add a little apple cider vinegar to henna to get a great result on a grey hair. My hair looks shiny and silky, I get a lot of compliments about it. I recommend this product especially for women (and men) who do not like to use chemicals."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaeRenae
fromMontevideo, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
LOve it
 December 12, 2012
"The only Rainbow henna that doesn't turn red for me. Well I'm sure the black doesn't but I haven't tried that dark."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
zelly
fromBoston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it Hate It!
 October 3, 2012
"Every time I apply this Henna, I say "I hate this product." But once it's washed out, I LOVE the result! So I keep coming back. It's such a mess applying/using it (as others have said). But you can't beat the result. Glossy, natural-looking color, softer hair. I completely second a previous review:
"I was not ready for gray hair and I didn't want chemicals on my head either. This purely organic plant matter covers the gray, adds wonderful, natural looking highlights, is reasonably priced No more one color, dyed looking, fried hair."
That's the other thing I like about it: not one color, not dyed looking, but natural looking. In fact, because I always had golden and red highlights in my hair, it looks exactly the way it used to look before the grays started popping up.
I add a Tbsp or two of nice conditioner to the mix, and use coffee and organic cider vinegar (see instructions on package) which helps the henna cover the gray. Also, I leave it on for 3 or 3 1/2 hrs. for best results. A caveat: you won't get complete saturation on the first henna. You must wait 4 weeks for 2nd henna, after which you will see the full effect (full, deep color).
I love that it's a natural product: a plant, not a chemical."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toadfrog
fromNorthern Indiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very.. Very Good
 May 1, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"This product if followed by directions works great. I use this all the time. I use extra coffee when mixing and white vinegar. Dont let the color or grassy smell fool you. This organic product works. My hair is short so I use small amounts at a time."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Apossek
Better than synthetic hair color
 October 28, 2011
"I use henna from Persian Stores before and found this a good value, clear instructions and works well to cover grey."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrand
fromLafayette, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Works Great/ Natural
 September 19, 2011
"I bought this and used it half and half with the Henna for black hair. I didn't want it to be too black. I thought it worked very well. Messy wear a tight shower cap."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Vertigo
fromCleveland, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Don't waste your time and money.
 September 12, 2011
"This product is just terrible. I switched to henna about a year ago and this was the first I tried. The texture is coarse, it does not stain well, and the directions on how to use it are completely incorrect. Henna has to dye release, and using boiling water does not speed the release up, it kills the dye! You also cannot buy "shades" of henna, indigo and henna are so different, you cannot process them the same. Henna also has to be applied very heavy and this stuff is so gritty that a smooth, thick application is impossible."
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
jw77
fromMichigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Didn't do much
 August 12, 2011
"Really didn't do anything for the color of my hair, however I don't have a heat cap so maybe that had something to do with it. My hair did seem shiny but its healthy and shiny anyway so overall I don't think this product did anything for my hair at all. I probably wouldn't recommend this to anyone."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grisley
fromBoston, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
It works
 July 28, 2011
"This stuff works to cover gray. It's messy so either prepare for it or ask your salon to do it for you. Also, it smells like a plant (because it is) so you will smell a bit like your garden after application :)"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
houseewren
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Looking Beautiful!
 March 17, 2011
"I was not ready for gray hair and I didn't want chemicals on my head either. This purely organic plant matter covers the gray, adds wonderful, natural looking highlights, is reasonably priced and so many people have commented on how good my hair looks; color, shine, softness.... I would definitely recommend this to anyone. No more one color, dyed looking, fried hair."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Dark Brown Sable -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turtledoves
fromDunedin, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:61-180 days
Choice
 December 30, 2010
"I like red hair, but not on me. Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color gives me a choice. The Persian Dark Brown leaves my dull grey hair looking brighter with natural looking highlights and variations in color, but without coppery tones."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next