Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz

100% Botanical Hair Color & Conditioner. Color Lasts 4-6 Weeks. Rainbow Henna. Rainbow Henna has no additives chemicals or pesticides. Rainbow Henna coats each hair shaft with color. Blends naturally. Fades gradually. Lasts 4-6 weeks. Smoothes and seals the hair's cuticle for greater shine and body. Our custom-tailored recipes can be used for special effects covering grey and improving texture. Note: Henna has no lightening action. History of Henna. Secrets of beauty have been cherished throughout the ages. One of the oldest beautifiers known is Henna. Famous beauties such as Nefertiti and Cleopatra used Henna to enhance their hair coloring. Silent film stars Theda Bara and Clara Bow colored their hair with Henna to add to their mystery. Today Henna is used by women and men who understand how to be naturally beautiful.
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
24 out of 26(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Review 1 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyHeidi
fromNH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Consistent over the years
 June 15, 2014
"Have received so many compliments on how 'natural' my color looks. It is semi-permanent but only the roots need touching up for me. Not every hair comes out exactly the same color like with chemical dyes, so it looks so very natural. Coffee or tea tones down the red hues. Must use oil (coconut etc) for easy application. Have been using for decades. Buying the henna in bulk is not as good as these jars. Your hair won't thin and fall out and dry up like with years of chemical dye use. Product smells great too. Like tea."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vika
fromCalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Natural Color.
 May 9, 2014
"Thank you for brining the healthy alternative to die the hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pisarro
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great natural hair coloring
 March 13, 2014
"I love that this product is an all natural alternative to hair coloring with added chemicals. The color lasts for 5 to 6 weeks, and is very easy to apply. You need to color your hair when you have a few hours to devote to the process, as it has to be left on your hair for at least 1 1/2 to 2 hrs. or more depending on how deep you want the color. I would recommend this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
AngelBearClaire
fromNashua NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Messy - prefer the henna pre-mixed in a bottle
 February 13, 2014
"I got this for my husband - was definitely more difficult to use than previous type of henna I bought at Vitacost, which came in a bottle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LPBass
Nice even color
 January 24, 2014
"I tried for the first time last night- it was not as difficult or messy as I thought; though I have short hair which makes it more manageable.
I mixed 2 Tbs. with about a cup of brewed coffee, mixed into a batter like texture and let it sit for about 20 min. I used Vitamin E around my hairline to prevent staining and applied the dye over the tub with gloves on. (I placed a small mirror in the tub so I could see what I was doing).
I immediately wrapped with saran wrap and an old towel. I recommend using witch hazel on cotton rounds or balls to remove residue from the hairline- it worked beautifully.
After 3 hours, I rinsed (with gloved hands) and used a small amount of conditioner to help get all of the residue, then air-dried.
I am so thankful to find a hair coloring technique free of chemical dyes. There are some copper/red highlights in my hair, but my hair always shows those.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tasetta
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
First time using, I liked it.
 November 20, 2013
"I have brown hair with slight greys starting to come out. Not so much that it bothers me but it does seem to make my brown hair lighter and faded somehow and I'm not ready to be faded at 39.
I have never EVER colored my hair and never want to put any chemicals on it. I decided to give the Medium Brown Chestnut henna color a try.
I only used half the amount, with a bit of vinegar. My hair seem a darker brown (but not so noticeably which is good if you did not want your new color to attract attention)
My hair seem healthier, darker, shinier, and there are no greys. And I also don't feel like a fake either for just putting some "mud" in my hair.
It's natural, is not bad for you, and helps you to look good, what's to like?"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VegasIsHot
fromLas Vegas NV
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not Going Back To Ammonia-Filled Color
 October 29, 2013
"All I can say is, WOW! I have used henna before( many years ago) but for a long time I have been using regular ammonia filled(yuk) hair color. So I took a plunge and switched back to henna. Not only was this product easy to use but comes with VERY thorough instructions with options to change how the color comes out. First let me say that I color my hair auburn, so I use half of this jar(2 z) and half of the Mahogany color(2oz).I mix it with almost 2 cups of brewed hibiscus tea for a bit more red and I used the apple cider vinegar for better staying power. I 'hennaed' my hair about 6 weeks ago and it has hardly faded and made my hair feel fabulous. The color is gorgeous, perfect auburn that is rich and vibrant! I loved applying it as well. It is like a warm mud bath for your scalp. I just wrapped my head in plastic wrap and I did apply some heat with a bonnet dryer. As a note, I do not use shampoo. Suds have not touched my hair for about 2 years, I use cleaning conditioner(Wen! But please everyone write to Avalon Organics and ask them to formulate some cleaning conditioner so we can use something completely organic! And have Vitacost sell it for a yummy price.). This henna is excellent quality and fun to mix, you can play with it, blend your own colors and use tricks to adjust the color that are all easy! Try it, you'll like it!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Krat828
fromBelle Mead, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent
 October 27, 2013
"In short, great for your hair, no chemicals, extremely cost efficient, color lastly a reasonably long time for non-chemical dye.
In detail, this stuff is awesome. Ok, so I would say you have to be a somewhat 'earthy' person to be cool with it. It does smell like wet hay...weird at first, but now I am used to it and actually kind of like it. But it always makes my hair feel so much healthier and fuller after use that I look forward to doing it again. Process is simple and not too messy, just be careful not too drip too much and wear dark clothes/use dark towel and you will be fine.
As far as the color, this is a pretty, slightly reddish medium brown...good for me as it is not too dark and I have naturally light brown hair. It lasts for me about 3-4 weeks before I feel it is too faded and want to do it again, but remember frequent applications is fine and good for your hair...how cool! Also, be sure to use henna shampoos and conditioners or else color will not last.
Lastly, I get 3 uses out of one tub and my hair is now touching my shoulders, so that is less than $1.83 an application...score! As an added bonus, the improved health of my hair increases the length of time between cuts...an extra savings. I really don't know why any woman would use regular dye after knowing about this stuff."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KindnessCounts
Rich Brown Color
 August 14, 2013
"If you're like me and are allergic to PPD, try Rainbow Research Henna hair color from Vitacost. They have the best price and great service. I feel very comfortable recommending this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NaturallyInformed
fromMaryland
Love it!
 June 30, 2013
"I have used this hair color for several years now and often get compliments on my hair's shine and color. I refuse to put coloring chemicals on my scalp, so this product is much appreciated. It is a powder that you mix with liquid. You can add vinegar to cover grey or coffee to get a deeper brown - have fun and experiment! Give this a try...It just makes sense to use a natural, conditioning, product... good for you, good for the planet! Also, I have shoulder length hair and can get 2 or more colorings out of one container."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hmmmmmm
Great grey coverage!
 May 17, 2013
"Well, if you want to have a true color put on your hair and have it be safe to use, then this is your new one to buy. I did have problems getting it off of my hand, but I should have used gloves and coconut oil on my skin first. No staining on my ears or face, since I did put coconut oil on there already. Once you can get over the smell, then you are good to go! This is the first henna coloring that I have used that I feel has good coverage and is lasting better too. I have used three other henna products, but I haven't been too happy with the length of time between coloring. I used half of the container and I have mid back length hair. I added the apple cider vinegar (for grey coverage) and extra virgin olive oil (conditioning treatment) according to the package directions. Next time I will add a little more EVOO to help get the henna rinsed out better. That does take a bit of water to do that."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
welshgirl
fromReston, Va
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great product at significant savings
 May 8, 2013
"This henna product from Rainbow Labs is of high quality and purity. It does fade with shampoos, and the auburn undertones are more noticeable then. This is true of all henna. It gives hair luster and shine and has no chemical issues."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jedsb
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product is truly wonderful...
 March 23, 2013
"I became acquainted with Rainbow Henna back in the mid 1990's. When I started using this henna, I just wanted to add some vibrancy to my original hair colour. Over the years I have mixed henna colours and have often received compliments. Today, I still use henna to add vibrancy, but now also to cover the gray as it grows in, and, once again, this product works wonderfully well in covering the grey. This product really works, and is completely natural. I have been a loyal customer for near onto 20 years...and plan to be for at least another 20 years!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromNY, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
best henna I've tried
 August 7, 2012
"I was using another brand of henna before switching to this brand, and I am so much happier with this one. It is finer ground, which helps it work better, which makes so much of a difference. The color is really vibrant compared to the other brand I was using, and my hair is so soft and shiny after using this henna. I used a little bit of egg in my mix, as well as a little coffee and apple cider vinegar and it seemed to work out great. My grays are covered, and the rest of my hair has a nice dark glow.
By the way, if you have never used henna before and are buying this product, please know that it is like putting a huge mud helmet on your head, it smells earthy, and it stains everything it touches. Otherwise it is very rewarding to do and I am so thrilled to use an effective product without chemicals!
"
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hele911
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
no more chemicals
 May 27, 2012
"I color my hair every three weeks or so and wanted to get away from chemicals so I switched to henna. I used henna in the past so I knew what the mess was going to be. satisfied with the color and have already purchased again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JeanBean
fromManahawkin, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent Coverage
 January 28, 2012
"Excellent coverage on even my gray hair. I did use coffee and vinegar to help with the process of dying the gray but I believe the fine ground nature of the henna allowed for better coverage. Great product!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dj2041
fromIllinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
impressive
 January 19, 2012
"LOVE IT !
Although it has a strong, earthy smell, a little messy, takes longer (30-60 min) this product is wonderful.
This was my first time using a henna product and did not know what to expect..Results: did not darken or lighten my hair, however gave me beautiful highlights, covered my gray areas on hairline , crown, etc with a golden color, much better than looking at gray roots!
Henna also coats your hair , conditions and gave my hair a healthy shine and my hair appears to have more body...
Wish I would have known about this product years ago
"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RandumAx
fromThe Pacific Northwest
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Works Good for a Healthy Choice
 November 9, 2011
"Since the cream is always out of stock I tried the powder. I've always heard how messy henna can be and I was intimidated at first. But the instructions are pretty clear and easy to follow. I would suggest setting about an hour and half to two hours aside to not be bothered while you are treating your hair. I'm glad I had a tub and hand held shower nozzel because it made it easy to just get in and make a mess (and then clean up the mess). I blended the powder with black coffee and cider vinegar - I think it worked pretty good. It didn't cover all my gray's but I didn't expect perfection this first time. No "heating" device to speed the process (like they suggest on the instructions) so I did the 60 minutes. Turned out pretty good for my first time using henna, hair was super soft with a more vibrant hue to my hair. Even after a week - it still is soft and healthy looking. Two side-notes: it smelled like spinach and dirt when I mixed it, and then the first couple of shampooings I could still smell that same smell a little bit - it did go away though. Also, clean up any droppings immediately - it will stain your counter. It is very thick and globby but I'll do it again (hopefully with the cream though)."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
estaeheli
fromPacific NW
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Mud Pack for Hair
 October 27, 2011
"My hair looked healthier right away! It added that bounce and body my fine hair lacks.
I tried the light brown and it didn't cover my roots as well as I would like, but the color is very nice. I will order a darker color and redo just the roots. I used cider vinegar and yogurt and a little heat with the application, and, although messy, I thought it was kind of fun! It's inexpensive too. I used half a jar for my thin, shoulder length hair.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Medium Brown Chestnut -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ujiji
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Disappointed
 August 16, 2011
"Totally a waste of effort and money! Very messy!"
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next