Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz

Black - True Deep Black Tones. 100% Botanical Hair Color & Conditioner. Color Lasts 4-6 Weeks. Rainbow Henna. Rainbow Henna has no additives chemicals or pesticides. Rainbow Henna coats each hair shaft with color. Blends naturally. Fades gradually. Lasts 4-6 weeks. Smooths and seals the hair's cuticle for greater shine and body. Our custom-tailored recipes can be used for special effects covering grey and improving texture. Note: Henna has no lightening action. History of Henna. Secrets of beauty have been cherished throughout the ages. One of the oldest beautifers known is Henna. Famous beauties such as Nefertiti and Cleopatra used Henna to enhance their hair coloring. Silent film stars Theda Bara and Clara Bow colored their hair with Henna to add to their mystery. Today Henna is used by women and men who understand how to be naturally beautiful.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
9 out of 14(64%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Review 1 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
talieeya
fromjersey city, nj
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
wow what a difference this made to my hair
 February 11, 2014
"I was doing a lot of research on henna and its hair benefits. I decided to try this brand, since there are so many brands to choose from online. With your first use, you will notice the difference in your hair,. My hair was shinier, it had more bounce, the color was rich and my hair looked smoother. So this is what i did: 1 cup of boiling water, used the entire jar and mixed it. It was still too thick. So i added about half a can of coconut milk to the mixture, stirred and let it sit while I went to take a shower and washed my hair. I applied and left it on for about 2-3 hrs under a cap(no heat). Yes it was messy but I was able to wipe everything off fairly easily. Make sure you wear a shirt you don't mind getting dirty or towel. Washed it out until I couldn't see anymore color in the water, just letting the shower run on my hair. i used a moisturizing conditioner and blew my hair out. I did have lots of grains all over my bathroom floor while i was blow drying my hair, but I just mopped it up. The hassle is definitely worth the results. My hair is relaxed, about armpit length. I had leftovers henna so I froze it for my next application. will purchase this brand again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GFranco
fromCosta Mesa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
"Natural" color without chemicals
 January 14, 2014
"I am highly sensitive to chemicals and have used this product several times now. As a 45 years old male with graying hair this product is fairly easy to use and works great - last just over a month.
Will prepare with coffee and apple cider vinegar and keep in for one to 2 hours. I have found it easiest to apply with a plastic fork to work the product into the scalp. Best to prepare mix one hour ahead of time so that it can begin to oxidize the color changes.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
orangedots
Gender:Female
Not Dark
 August 26, 2013
"I am not sure what texture of hair or what color hair people have that used this but in no way did this darken my hair or cover up the few gray hairs that I have. Now if you are wondering if I followed the directions yes I did, even the tip where they say to mix with brewed coffee for better results and still no luck in turning my hair any darken then it already is.
So as a conditioner it's fine however please be for warned that if you have extremely curly-springy hair as I do once you rise out the henna you will still have particles/trace minerals from the henna stuck in your hair so be ready to section off your hair and brush it out.
And this is how I choose a star rating of 3."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
raindrops
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Rainbow Research Henna in Persian Black
 December 6, 2012
"This is the first time using this brand of henna because it was one step to get black hair. i didn't feel like doing henna and indigo separately so i tried this thought it might work. I HATED this with a passion, this is not what henna is supposed to look or feel like even with anything mixed into it. but me being stupid used it anyway, when i opened the jar it had little pieces of twigs and hard dried powder in it so i just used a flour sifter to clean it up. it still didn't mix well, and wasn't smooth. i have used henna many times before in my life so i know that henna is messy to begin with but this was a horrible mess that made me mad. maybe i just got a bad jar i don't even know. 0 stars from me"
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
graceunderpressure
Didn't work for me.
 August 5, 2012
"I know henna has had stellar success for a lot of people, but for what it's worth, nothing happened with my hair. No color difference, no conditioning difference, and instead a massive mess and the worst smell! And it quite clings to my hair, I've been getting nauseas smelling it. Oh well, was very much hoping for a nice color boost. :("
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
carlaskis
fromMaryland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Covers gray, hair feels great!
 February 24, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I love this product. I mix it with dark brown henna and leave it on my hair for 2 hrs. It covers my gray very nicely & makes my hair feel so healthy. I've received so many compliments since I started using henna. Love this product! Great value from Vitacost!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
voiceofpraize
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Awesome buy!
 December 28, 2011
"Love this item!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Julemelou
fromSan Gabriel, California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Safe for you and your hair
 December 6, 2011
"This can be messy but I works well if you leave it long enough and let it dry a little on your hair with heat. I like it because it is natural and does not ruin or thin your hair like real hair dye, etc. It is also safe for you and good for the environment!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sephina
fromlondon england
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
great natural henna
 July 27, 2010
"so far i only used this once, it worked well, the henna smells really natural and like leaves, it made my hair really dark and strong. i will definately use this again"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maranatha2day
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Will purchase again and again
 April 19, 2010
"Made my hair as black as outer space, with a shine that's out of this world !"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maranatha2day
fromCa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Will use this brand and color again !
 April 13, 2010
"I did a lot of research before choosing this product. I love this brand its a great price on the vitacost site. I have black hair or so I thought, lol. After using this product my hair was as black as outer space, and the shine was out of this world !"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Rainbow Research Henna Hair Color and Conditioner Persian Black Deep Ebony -- 4 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
1.7 / 5
1.7 / 5
0 out of 3 recommend this product