Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Dried Fruit or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz

USDA Organic. The Second Generation. Newman's Own Organics is proud to partner with U.S Certified Organic Farms and Processors whose commitment to Certified Organic practices make these fine organic dried fruits available to you. Your purchase of this product supports their efforts. Thank you. WHAT DID THE OLD PRUNE SAY TO THE OTHER? . I plum forgot. For a burst of sunshine on a cloudy day I treat myself to a dried plum. With a unique drying process that locks in moisture and sweetness I can count on these delicious California grown beauties to recreate the taste of summer anytime of the year. Like all Newman's Own Organics products our juicy dried plums are created using certified organic practices so you can feel good about sharing them with your family. Be good to yourself. Be good to the earth. Nell Newman
Overall rating:
4.575 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
41 out of 47(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DebraG
fromNC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 5, 2016
"Delicious, just soft enough, these little bites are full of rich flavor and healthy fiber. Great small dinner desert or breakfast fruit. My family cannot do without them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
baanwo
fromMT
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
taste good, sticky
 March 30, 2016
"These taste good. They are moist and therefore a bit sticky. Not so good for taking for an outing if something to wipe hands is not available but are good to have for desert at home."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
golfjunkie
fromLynnfield, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not overly impressive
 March 23, 2016
"The one positive of these prunes is that they are organic. But they are very small and some were smooshed rather than whole. Okay, but not worth purchasing again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nic89898
Gender:Female
Great product
 March 17, 2016
"Most prunes I've tried so far were either full of chemicals or bone dry. These are juicy, sweet, and soft. Highly recommended!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sonlite777
fromWest TN
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Love this product
 March 10, 2016
"These are the best prunes with the nicest flavor. I enjoy them a lot but I have learned to be careful not to eat more than just a few at a time. They work!!!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thisisdumb
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very good tasting
 March 2, 2016
"This is a product that we purchased at a very good price that is very good tasting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kcscholar1
fromSacramento, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
delicious
 February 28, 2016
"These are the best prunes I've ever had - very juicy, wonderfully sweet flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wakemeup
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Natural, fresh and good tasting
 February 18, 2016
"I'm pleased to be able to buy this product I use all the time at a good price. Organic products can get pricy at grocery stores. Vitacost has a good selection."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Valerija
To much water
 February 17, 2016
"It is the first time I tried such waterlogged dried prunes. It feels more like jam, than like dry prunes. Tasty though. However, if you expect to get regular dry prunes these are not the ones."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boree
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Very juicy prunes
 January 31, 2016
"I like that these prunes are very juicy. They taste good and have a good consistency and it's great that they are organic!
These prunes are incredibly good to make prune compote with, eat like they are or make prune ice cream may not sound good, but I think it's very good.
I have purchased prunes from other brands but like these best."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mooseintown
fromVictor, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
As good as prunes get.
 October 1, 2015
"They were everything I was hoping for. Soft and chewy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
borderbleand
fromPNW
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tasty
 September 20, 2015
"Hmmm, these prunes are really good, but very moist. So much so that they kind of meld into one big blob. I left the bag unzipped when I stored then in the fridge, hoping they would dry out some. They are tasty, just hard to separate. Reminds me of when my mother used to boil her prunes when I was a kid."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KoiKat
fromHouston, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Old School Regularity
 July 25, 2015
"Whether eaten right out of the bag or blended in a morning smoothie, prunes can be a healthy addition to one's regular daily regime. Thank you Vitacost for offering this product at a valued savings."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovingglutenfree
good level of dryness
 July 17, 2015
"These are the best dried prunes I have tried. The taste is incredible and they are just the right dryness - soft and tender, not tough and chewy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ruely1
fromNJ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tender and Delicious
 July 3, 2015
"They taste sweet with no added sugar. They are tender and delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
erbalist
fromKerrville, Tx
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Flavorful
 July 2, 2015
"These prunes are moist and flavorful. The ideal prunes for recipes that call for prune fillings or just to satisfy the craving for something sweet. Also I appreciate the company policies of giving back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Katrinkka
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tasty but very wet and sticky
 April 8, 2015
"The prunes are tasty, but they are so wet and gooey that they stick together in one big glob in the package. I like to chop the prunes and put them in cereal and muffins, so these don't work for my purposes, but other folks might like them gooey."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pamme
great!!
 March 26, 2015
"Fabulous flavor"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rawgal
fromindiana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Soft & juicy
 March 22, 2015
"The spoons are soft and juicy. Plus they are organic – I have been eating them for years--my favorite!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
beverlyann
fromAtlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I love these because they are super soft
 February 16, 2015
"I love these because they are super soft and nearly melt in your mouth. My husband, on the other hand, doesnt like them because of their softness and they melt in your mouth. He prefers the chewier brands while I prefer this brand. If you are looking for chewy look elsewhere but if youre looking for a "wet" dried plum this is your answer."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next