Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Dried Fruit or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz

USDA Organic. The Second Generation. Newman's Own Organics is proud to partner with U.S Certified Organic Farms and Processors whose commitment to Certified Organic practices make these fine organic dried fruits available to you. Your purchase of this product supports their efforts. Thank you. WHAT DID THE OLD PRUNE SAY TO THE OTHER? . I plum forgot. For a burst of sunshine on a cloudy day I treat myself to a dried plum. With a unique drying process that locks in moisture and sweetness I can count on these delicious California grown beauties to recreate the taste of summer anytime of the year. Like all Newman's Own Organics products our juicy dried plums are created using certified organic practices so you can feel good about sharing them with your family. Be good to yourself. Be good to the earth. Nell Newman
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
29 out of 33(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KoiKat
fromHouston, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Old School Regularity
 July 25, 2015
"Whether eaten right out of the bag or blended in a morning smoothie, prunes can be a healthy addition to one's regular daily regime. Thank you Vitacost for offering this product at a valued savings."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovingglutenfree
good level of dryness
 July 17, 2015
"These are the best dried prunes I have tried. The taste is incredible and they are just the right dryness - soft and tender, not tough and chewy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ruely1
fromNJ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tender and Delicious
 July 3, 2015
"They taste sweet with no added sugar. They are tender and delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
erbalist
fromKerrville, Tx
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Flavorful
 July 2, 2015
"These prunes are moist and flavorful. The ideal prunes for recipes that call for prune fillings or just to satisfy the craving for something sweet. Also I appreciate the company policies of giving back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Katrinkka
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tasty but very wet and sticky
 April 8, 2015
"The prunes are tasty, but they are so wet and gooey that they stick together in one big glob in the package. I like to chop the prunes and put them in cereal and muffins, so these don't work for my purposes, but other folks might like them gooey."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pamme
great!!
 March 26, 2015
"Fabulous flavor"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rawgal
fromindiana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Soft & juicy
 March 22, 2015
"The spoons are soft and juicy. Plus they are organic – I have been eating them for years--my favorite!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
beverlyann
fromAtlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I love these because they are super soft
 February 16, 2015
"I love these because they are super soft and nearly melt in your mouth. My husband, on the other hand, doesnt like them because of their softness and they melt in your mouth. He prefers the chewier brands while I prefer this brand. If you are looking for chewy look elsewhere but if youre looking for a "wet" dried plum this is your answer."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Suelin
fromFairborn, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very tough
 January 1, 2015
"These prunes have a wonderful flavor but they were very small and tough with a thick skin. We enjoyed them cooked, but not so great for snacking from the package."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEBONAIR
fromSacramento CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yum
 November 16, 2014
"These are delicious and organic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
suzij
fromoklahoma
Gender:Female
very moist
 November 9, 2014
"I like the moistness and sweetness of these prunes.
They are good in hot cereal or to eat plain with walnuts and apple slices.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
lifelover
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Ewww
 November 5, 2014
"We did not care for these at all. They were sticky glops of goo. Then to boot they tasted like sulphur."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
konz
fromDavenport, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best brand for prunes
 September 5, 2014
"Very moist and flavorful!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromThurmont, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Newman's Own Prunes
 August 19, 2014
"These are the best quality and best tasting prunes I've ever eaten-love them. They are so fresh as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
catsmother
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very Tasty!
 July 8, 2014
"I have never cared for dried prunes, but these are very juicy & tasty. We eat some with our breakfast almost every day. They are one of the very few prunes I could find that are organic, & the Vitacost price beats all the others. I also like to buy "Newman's Own" products because they support environmental causes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
PatFL
fromOrlando, FL
Good, but really moist.
 June 14, 2014
"These prunes taste good, but they are really moist. I prefer my prunes a bit dryer and chewier."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gigi001
fromHolmdel, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
best tasting prunes...
 June 13, 2014
"I can honestly say these are the best prunes I've ever had. Moist and absolutely delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
twolabs
fromNorth Texas
Dissapointing
 May 22, 2014
"I purchase several of the 'Newman's Own' products here locally, partly due to the charity aspect and partly due to the quality. I was excited to try these organic prunes, which I haven't seen in stores and I had hoped the taste difference would be noticeable and worth the extra cost.
Sadly, they don't even compare to the 'Sunsweet' version I normally buy. Gooey and mushy texture is an immediate bad sign and the taste isn't remarkable in any way.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IntoVeggies
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very good
 May 22, 2014
"These prunes are always soft and sweet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Newman's Own Organics California Prunes -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loras
fromPort Jefferson Station, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best tasting prunes.
 April 27, 2014
"These are the best tasting prunes I've ever had! These prunes are in a league all their own. You need to try them to see for yourself. I had bought some and got some half price. I gave them to a friend to try and she absolutely loves them now as well. And their organic!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next