Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Bread Loaves & Rolls or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz

Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread. No Preservatives Long Shelf Life Through Pasteurization. Wheat and Cholesterol Free - Ideal for Wheat Allergies and Cholesterol Consciuos Diet. Kosher. Low in Fat. High in Fiber. Mestemacher all natural whole grain sourdough based bread with whole rye oat kernels and wheat germs.  Carries the Whole Grain Association's stamp of 100% excellent source of whole grain. Diets rich in whole grain foods and other plant foods and low in total fat saturated fat and cholesterol may help reduce the risk of heart disease. Long shelf life obtained through pasteurization. Imported from Germany by Carol Brandt Inc. Original Fitness Bread in U.S. marketplace. Also delicious when toasted.
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
6 out of 9(67%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Review 1 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cynthia24
fromOrlando,FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very dry
 June 13, 2014
"This is very dry and has almost no flavor. And also you have to buy two of them just to try it out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
freind
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Flavor
 April 20, 2014
"This bread is by far my favorite over all similar dense breads available."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Waco
fromNorwalk, Ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Not very tasty.
 February 20, 2014
"I did not like the flavor of this bread, although toasting it did improve the flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeganNYC
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Just like home
 December 20, 2013
"Growing up in Germany I've had my fair share of German whole grain breads. Now that getting a fresh loaf from the local bakery is no longer an option, Mestemacher products bring Germany to me. Fresh out of the package they're pretty tasty, but toasted takes it to the next level. I eat them for dinner ("Abendbrot") with an avocado or hummus spread, and as a snack with peanut butter and banana for the extra protein kick. Lecker!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
stairking
fromDallas,TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
it was OK
 August 26, 2013
"I was disappointed in the quality and quality for the money paid."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
priscilla
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wheat Free!
 July 20, 2013
"The closest you'll get to Swiss or Lithuanian rye... moist whole kernels, delicious and not a whit of "alt cuisine" just plain great European dark rye."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Russt
fromMalibu, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Hearty & Healthy Bread
 February 1, 2013
"Pros: For me it's much easier to digest than wheat based breads. Great for camping because it's dense and compact, nourishing and substantial. Helps keep me regular and it has a long shelf life.
Cons: High sodium content, strong rye flavor (maybe not for everyone) and expensive.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
claylady
fromLouisiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
great bread
 April 10, 2011
"This is my favorite kind of bread, though I am sure it is not to everyone's liking. It is very 'whole grain' and has a somewhat strong flavor but you can read about all the good things it has in it and they are not kidding! I live in an area where I cannot find this bread in any store and usually have to wait until I go to Houston to buy it. When I accidently found it on Vitacost I was really glad and ordered right away. If you like this kind of bread this is the place to buy it."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mestemacher Whole Grain Rye Bread -- 17.6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anciana
fromGeorgia
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Totally satisfying
 July 8, 2010
"I really like this whole grain bread. It helps me keep my fiber count up and I believe helps me lose weight with my high fiber diet."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.