Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz

100% Premium Henna. Henna coats each hair shaft with a natural semi-permanent protein called hennatannic acid. Heat causes the hennatannic acid to cling to the proteins found in the hair (or nails and skin if desired). Because henna coats and seals the hair shaft it helps protect the hair from damaging effects of sun salt chlorine wind and pollution in the environment. It can help miminize split ends and acts as “hair insurance” if you spend a lot of time in the sun surf or wind. In addition to protecting the hair shaft henna will tighten the hair cuticle and create a more solid surface which reflects light; the result is gleaming lustrous hair. Rather than producing dramatic color changes henna enhances and deepens existing color. The darker your natural color the less drastic the change will be inyour natural color. Because the color from henna is transparent or “seethrough” henna cannot lighten dark hair; it will however add highlights to dark hair and can darken the color of lighter hair.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
6 out of 8(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2knowisgood
fromBinghamton, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 August 14, 2013
"I was using Rainbow Henna until I discovered Light Mountain Hair Color and Conditioner. This is creamier (I do add the optional raw egg to the mixture), not gritty, goes on a lot easier and rinses out easily! It conditions my hair so that I don't even need extra conditioner after shampooing anymore! I am happy with both the color results and that the color seems to last long. The Rainbow henna made my hair look orange in the sun - Light Mountain doesn't. It also covers the grey well which, unfortunately, I have a lot of. So glad I found Lt Moutain as I refuse to use any hair dyes with toxic and harsh chemicals in them ever again!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bbowl
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 January 13, 2013
"This is a great product. It covers very well. I have used this product for several years."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saltwaterbaby
fromOklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent for Covering Gray Hair
 January 6, 2013
"I've enjoyed this hair color for years; I mix this with Light Mountain's Chestnut henna to achieve my natural hair color. I use distilled hot water and lemon juice to mix it up, cover my hair with plastic wrap and then put on a stocking cap for a minimum of two hours. This is the only hair color that stays on my hair and covers my grays. Another excellent Vitacost find!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
profile
fromMinnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great for Hair
 October 21, 2011
"I bought this from another store before I found it here. It conditions great & leaves my hair shiny & soft. It is not for coloring grey & that's not why I use it. It gives a great warm tone to my naturally cool toned hair. I use it with a dryer & cap so it only takes about 45 minutes & I have deep, rich color. There are no roots to touch up after a month because it's all blended - I only need to use it every 3 months or so."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
saddy
 July 6, 2011
"This henna takes too much time to get the required color, in fact, it didnt color well. I kept it on for 3 hours and it didnt cover the grey well. Was very messy and hard to get out of hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Frustrating
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Don't buy
 April 10, 2011
"Don't waste your money on it. I tried it twice, neither worked. The first time no color change at all on my white hair, the second time a little bit of color stain. Please don't waste your money."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tj09
fromPa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
so far so good
 July 15, 2010
"I have the light mountain natural dark brown in my hair right now. When I have used other henna products I wasn't very pleased with the application process. I'm sure part of it had to do with the fact that I wasn't mixing it right but this time it turned out the way I expected. The consistency was like yogurt, just like it said it would be. I did add 1 egg, some yogurt, olive oil and coffee instead of water. In the past it was like I was putting dirt in my hair and made such a mess but this time it was so easy to apply to my head and there was hardly a mess. I gave this product five stars just for consistency alone. I plan on sleeping with it in my hair so I will see how it turns out. I'm excited to use the black to make it darker. so far so good."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Dark Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mammo
frommid america
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
better alternative
 May 14, 2010
"The hair color is messy but it covers the gray well and is much better for me! other hair color has so many bad chemicals in it. I'll deal with messy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.