Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz

100% Premium Henna. Henna coats each hair shaft with a natural semi-permanent protein called hennatannic acid. Heat causes the hennatannic acid to cling to the proteins found in the hair (or nails and skin if desired). Because henna coats and seals the hair shaft it helps protect the hair from damaging effects of sun salt chlorine wind and pollution in the environment. It can help miminize split ends and acts as “hair insurance” if you spend a lot of time in the sun surf or wind. In addition to protecting the hair shaft henna will tighten the hair cuticle and create a more solid surface which reflects light; the result is gleaming lustrous hair. Rather than producing dramatic color changes henna enhances and deepens existing color. The darker your natural color the less drastic the change will be inyour natural color. Because the color from henna is transparent or “seethrough” henna cannot lighten dark hair; it will however add highlights to dark hair and can darken the color of lighter hair.
Overall rating:
4.81 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromBuffalo, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Lasts
 April 23, 2014
"I like my hair to be darker than it naturally is and this does it without washing out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moli3
fromLakeland, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Fabulous colour and conditioning!
 April 11, 2014
"Provides a rather interesting hair dying experience. Very natural, permanent hair colour. Beautiful shine and conditioning achieved by using this product. Highly recommended for those seeking a very red, very rad, very nontoxic dye. Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calpernia
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Superior Henna - the real deal
 February 1, 2014
"This is 100% lawsonia inermis, in other words, pure perfect henna powder, and regardless of your hair color or texture, you will benefit from the gorgeous red color and unparalleled conditioning effect of henna. An earlier reviewer claimed that this product won't cover brown hair; this couldn't be further from the truth. Even dark brown hair will be transformed to a shade of rich copper or burgundy depending on your hair's original hue. Only dark black hair should use the indigo products by Light Mountain Natural. I have used this product on numerous customers for over a decade and it is a truly exceptional product - I don't think I've ever had anyone unhappy with the result. I mix up the henna at least 12 hours before application to allow the dye to completely release. Depending on the desired result I mix the powder with lemon juice, hibiscus tea, and sometimes add paprika, yogurt, or raw eggs. An egg or egg replacer will help the mixture adhere to the hair and will reduce messiness of the henna 'mud'. The lemon juice is strongly suggested, although you only need about 6 ounces of juice per box of powder. Anyone using less than half a box of henna powder is using too little. Your hair should be wearing the henna like a heavy mask. Leave it on for a few hours and apply heat if you like. Use conditioner to help rinse the product out. The color will be very very coppery and bright for the first 3-4 days and after that will reach its ideal red color. You should also notice your hair is glossy, heavy and has a gorgeous texture. With repeat applications you can concentrate on the roots, although I never use less than a full box on long haired clients, even with touch ups. This product costs almost exactly what I would pay for henna powder in bulk and it is always the freshest on the market.
Another reviewer claimed the henna washes out. It cannot wash out; once the henna’s dye has oxidized and reached its final shades, the color is permanently impregnated into the strand although shampooing, chlorine, blow-drying, will all cause some type of degradation. Each application coats the last, changing the depth and bounce of the light wavelengths off your hair and giving the appearance of progressively deeper richer color each time. If you only henna your hair once, it may lighten a few shades from its peak color over time, but the henna’s essential color will remain until it grows out and is cut off unless it is stripped out with a chemical process."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
kittank
fromTemple City, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner
 October 21, 2013
"Works nicely but smells terrible for at least a week!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromMaine
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Safe and consistent
 October 3, 2013
"I've been using this product off and on for over 25 years. It is a safe alternative to chemical hair color, and the color does not fade, unlike other types of haircoloring."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
meaggy02
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Less messy than some hennas
 August 21, 2013
"I'll be purchasing this again. It's not as convenient as some box dyes, but it's better than most hennas. The color came out beautifully and has remained a good color for several weeks."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elvis2
fromPhoenix AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
All natural and the color is vivid.
 July 13, 2013
"Actually my wife's review: Love, love, love this product. It is all natural with no chemicals. It gives my hair a healthy feel and look. I have my hairdresser add a fresh egg to the mixture and the color is fresh and vivid. Looks great in the sunshine. I recommend it highly."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LytasMom
fromUnder the Big Sky
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Beautiful Results
 March 2, 2013
"As anyone who has used henna knows, it can be a bit messy to apply but the results are absolutely beautiful. After using Light Mountain my hair is soft, shiny and the color is just aweseome. I get compliments all the time! It also helps cover those stubborn grey hairs better than the toxic hair dye stuff. The color lasts longer too! It's better for you and better for the environment! No animal testing makes this a winner all the way around!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ofd123
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Half The Price as the Health Store...
 December 27, 2012
"I love this henna. I used to pay two times as much for it at the health food store. Thrilled to find it at Vitacost. Conditions and colors hair with no chemicals. Great stuff."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
foxyred
fromSyracuse, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Product / Great Price
 October 1, 2012
"This hair color is great! It covers grey hair very well."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ambt
fromMaine
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful!
 September 16, 2012
"I've been using this product for years and still love it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
xevi
Very good henna
 August 3, 2012
"Loved it! It gave some color to my medium brown hair and it feels conditioned and alive. I used regular boiling water because I didn't have distilled and left it for 2 hours after mixing. It was my first time with henna and it wasn't as hard and messy as I expected."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sophieshup
fromCornwall,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Irish Red
 May 16, 2012
"This is awesome! I used this last nite.I first let it cure for about 4 hours in a glass mixing bowl using a plastic spoon to mix it.I used boiled distilled water,which i did in glass measuring cup in the microwave.i also put in 3 tblspns vinegar and a shake of paprika.I followed the directions as stated. This very important.I removed all my earrings.And applied mixture, covered hair with plastic cap.I then applied heat from hairdryer on & off for 1 hr.
Rinsed out also use condit.in final rinsing.Wow the Red I have been looking for.Its awesome,like an Irish setter red.The heat will intensify the red.
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
petlover4062
fromBoyne City, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
all natural hair coloring
 May 14, 2012
"I love this stuff! My local organic store no longer carries this product. I was thrilled to find here! It actually makes your hair healthier while coloring it. It is messy (you make it into a mud solution) and will stain anything you get it on. Use an old towel for the first few washes after. But the results are wonderful!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
abt26
fromWilmington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Finally I found the perfect hair product!
 October 19, 2011
"I have been experimenting with a variety of hair colors and henna products and finally I have found the perfect product and color! Of course henna is messy, and it takes a few days for the color to settle in, but I have gotten multiple compliments on this color. One stranger said to me, "Excuse me, I have to tell you that I have been admiring your hair. Nature was good to you!" Other people have made similar comments, wondering if this rich copper red is my natural color.
I used a little vinegar with my mix because I wanted more copper. Henna creates subtle differences in your strand colors, unlike the over the counter hair colors that give you one solid color, so this looks much more natural. It also conditions and thickens my fine, medium ash brown hair. I have blue eyes and pale skin. This henna shade is the perfect compliment. Not only have I have I been getting compliments on my hair, but people are also commenting on my eyes which seem to be more blue with this hair color. I also appreciate that this is natural and not adding chemicals to my hair or the environment.
You have to have patience with henna. I made it one hour before I put it in my hair. Then I applied it (very messy) and left it on with the cap and a towel for 45 minutes. I have fine hair, with no gray, so I didn’t use the heat, but if my hair were course or gray I would use heat. It slightly stained hairline which rinse away after the first couple of washings. I used coconut oil around my hairline, but I might consider petroleum jelly next time. The henna took a very long time in the shower to rinse. I applied conditioner multiple times to assist with the rinsing. Then I deliberately did not wash my hair for 2 days, to help the color set. I don’t mind the natural grassy smell. My hair is so shiny and thick. It has so much body. I’m ordering my next box now for when this fades. Henna is the way to go!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
skpg
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I'll never use chemical color again!
 July 16, 2011
"This product is amazing! It's really all natural, unlike some "henna" and "natural" hair color that only contain a small amount of henna along with harmful metalic salts, this box contains ONLY pure henna. I mix mine box with two or three cups pure lemon or lime juice, leave it overnight, rub it into the hair, leave it on about 3 hrs and voila! it turns my dull ashy blond/brown/grey hair into amazing shiny red/auburn hair. I get asked about my haircolor almost every time i step out of the house. Best of all I can wash with even a strong shampoo and my red NEVER FADES. It's WONDERFUL!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rosielle
fromWoodbridge, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
LOVED this henna!!
 July 1, 2011
"This was my first time using henna, so I didn't know what to expect at all. I have heard horror stories from some hairdressers and other people. My hair was very red as a child, but aging (I am 64) made it brownish with some gray appearing. I have tried chemical haircolor in the past, but never got the natural looking color that I wanted. The henna was just the answer!
I mixed the henna with lemon juice, and let it sit overnight (until it turned brown) to bring out the dye. When I applied it, right over my chenical dye, I left it on for 6 hours under the plastic cap. The color ia amazing!! It started as more of a copper, but matured into a beautiful coppery-red over the following 2 or 3 days. My hair is healthy looking and shiny. I will definitely be purchasing Light Mountain red henna again and again.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artsea
fromKey Largo, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best henna I've used!
 June 4, 2011
"mixed it w/ hot water, timed it 30 min, then applied this tea-smelling mud on my roots, covered w/ plastic bag, heated it w/ blow dryer for ~ 1 min. covered with towel, sat in the computer for '15 min.' -which it's 2 hours in real life, then when I washed my hair all the green powder came off and left my hair -not my skin- in an unbelievable vibrant red that looks awesome -not cheese- thru polarized sunglasses under the sun, which it's just what I always dreamed of; it covered equally the gray & the brown hair. The cherry on top: it doesn't even stain the towel. the red is permanent, it doesn't fade with the sunlight like regular red coloring w/ ammonia & peroxide. I tried a different brand (rainbow) in my roots and didn't work on my thick hair, so I'm positive this is IT, done trying anything else. I highly recommend it if you want a knockout red head that stops traffic ;) (and makes other women ask you what product do you use) ...no, it's not the natural looking redhead, for that you would need the 'light red 8R' which is almost pink over gray hair, so if your whole head is gray or light blonde (it won't change brown hair, I assure you), and you want to look like a natural redhead, go w/ 8R: super permantent too"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Honore
fromNM
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
The only natural way to color hair.
 October 14, 2010
"A lot of hair color products claim to be natural but they are nasty chemical combos. This is 100% herbal. You reconstitute it with hot water and then basically you are putting a mud pack on your head, and the longer you leave it on the deeper the color. You can even leave it on overnight. It takes about 12 washings to completely come out. I have medium length fine hair and I only need about 1/5 of the box to do my hair once."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Red -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
92103
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Excellent product
 July 8, 2010
"I have been coloring my hair for years with the best chemical products out there and nothing has ever worked as well as this product. The chemical products did not cover gray very well and began to fade in just 2 weeks time no matter what I did to extend the color. The results I got with this stuff were simply incredible. The reds are richly intense and completely colors gray. People who noticed the change said the color looked more natural to them. The only downside is that it is a little more time consuming as you have to let the mixture "cure" for a couple of hours but I don't need to color as often and no chemicals! I have fine hair and it also gives my hair a bit more "weight" and body. If you have short hair I recommend dividing powder in half or even quarters - a little goes a very long way."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next