Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Coloring or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz

100% Premium Henna. Henna coats each hair shaft with a natural semi-permanent protein called hennatannic acid. Heat causes the hennatannic acid to cling to the proteins found in the hair (or nails and skin if desired). Because henna coats and seals the hair shaft it helps protect the hair from damaging effects of sun salt chlorine wind and pollution in the environment. It can help miminize split ends and acts as “hair insurance” if you spend a lot of time in the sun surf or wind. In addition to protecting the hair shaft henna will tighten the hair cuticle and create a more solid surface which reflects light; the result is gleaming lustrous hair. Rather than producing dramatic color changes henna enhances and deepens existing color. The darker your natural color the less drastic the change will be inyour natural color. Because the color from henna is transparent or “seethrough” henna cannot lighten dark hair; it will however add highlights to dark hair and can darken the color of lighter hair.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Blessings4u
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
love this henna
 October 4, 2014
"Great for medium to dark brown & becomes a burgundy redish brown"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
wikedawsome
fromantelope valley, ca
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
good color
 April 22, 2014
"It's a little grittier then other proDucts but has rich color"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jen2013
fromMI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
color did not last past two weeks
 November 2, 2013
"I bought this product (about six boxes) because of its great reviews. I have thick curly, dark brown hair and found that although this product did enhance my dark hair color and gave it shine, after 1.5-2 weeks my hair looked dull again. This product is pretty difficult to apply if you have thick hair and definitely required assistance. It also did not cover most of my grays. I do recommend toning down the herbal/hay smell by adding nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger in boiling the hot water that is added during preparation as well as adding flavored yogurt."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hennamama
fromwisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
good product
 May 7, 2013
"A few months ago I had dyed my hair with the light mountain bright red the color was way to strong for me and i wanted to tone it down. i read all over that you cant lighten henna hair with a lighter color. they were WRONG! i purchased two boxes of the light brown and gave it a go. i left the mixture in my hair for 3 hours. at first when i rinsed the henna out i didn't notice a difference in the color but as it dried i noticed the color was a light brownish red! very beautiful color! the only problem was that it didn't do anything to my roots so i will be using the second box next week! LOVE this product!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DownOnEarthGirl
fromSweden
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Beautiful result with a natural product!
 April 5, 2013
"It's a truly great all-natural product. My original hair color is a medium brown/light brown and this shade works well for me. After using it I get a beautifully rich, light/medium brown color that looks natural. Although this one is not meant to cover the grays, it works on my partially gray hair.
I can recommend this product to anyone who wants to color their hair but does not want to take risk with chemicals (why invite diseases, allergies, etc!). It's good for us, good for nature (when washed off the drain) and it gives beautiful result.
Although i have to order it from overseas it's worth waiting!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
natural1000
Love that it is chemical free!!
 December 17, 2012
"OK - my hair was very gray, I liked it but everyone told me it made me look old. I am in mid fifties. If you are scared of red hair or red high-lights do NOT use this. My natural color before gray was dishwater blonde. This turns my hair red. I cure the henna about 4 hours and leave on my hair about 6 hours or overnight. I have not tried the "color the gray" Light Mountain product. I love it and my hair feels much healthier and thicker. I bought better disposable gloves, shower caps, and a salon cape to protect my clothes. I mix with chamomile tea, ground nutmeg, red zinger tea, anything to help cover the smell. Your hair will smell like grass or hay for about a week. Keep an old towel nearby - this process is very messy. Buy cheap conditioner to help remove the henna from your hair because it is like thick mud. I rinse mine out with water hose outside. Good luck!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EnglishGal
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Thickens hair
 March 26, 2012
"I really like this henna color. It was a pure match for my natural hair color. It's makes my hair feel thicker and look healthier. It's a task to apply, but well worth it. I just recently tried a different brand/method which was easier to use, but this product gave me better results, so I'm back to using it :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
daisymichele
fromBismarck, ND
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
wise purchase
 April 1, 2011
"I am getting the hang of making the application process easier. I love that it is natural. It cover's my grey's much longer than traditional store bought chemical stuff."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kittyrabbits
Light Mtn. Natural- Lt. Brown
 March 3, 2011
"I love this henna. It works great on my graying brown hair. It's a very natural color. My husband loves it. My gray hair looks like golden highlights. It conditions and adds body to my fine hair."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marliesmom
fromGA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love it!
 August 8, 2010
"Love it ....love it .....love it!
It's all natural! It won't harm
your hair or your body and
the color turned out awesome.
I added lemon juice for golden
highlights.
I bought 2 more boxes right away. I don't want to run out!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coppertop63
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A Great Alternative to Permanent Color
 August 6, 2010
"After finding out last summer that I couldn't use permanent haircolor, my daughter suggested this product. I'm glad she did. It's turned out to be a great substitute. I've gotten the hang of using henna now. The trick is to make it thick so it stays put and doesn't run down your neck and face. I've gotten lots of compliments on my color and luster of my hair since using this product. A big thumbs up to Light Mountain on a great henna product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikkiwikki
fromLos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great product
 June 24, 2010
"I hesitated to try this product because a)I'd heard so many things about henna and b) was disappointed last summer by Naturtint. I should've paid closer attention to the ingredients...
Anyway, it was hard to find henna that was not laced with hair dye, ammonia, etc but instead consisted only of botanicals. Take the package advice and do a strand test if you're worried about how your hair/skin will react.
I am low-maintenance to say the least about hair and this was an extremely easy product to use. The color was great--not over the top & just as advertised on the packet. My hair seems more vibrant and conditioned; am definitely getting more.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joybaby
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Worth the degree of difficulty
 May 30, 2010
"The results are excellent. I have a few gray hairs with medium brown to dark brown hair. It is not the easiest color to use but if you go through the process the results are all worth it. I would suggest that a person buy their own rubber gloves. The ones provided are typical thin plastic ones and this stuff is kind of like a gritty pancake batter. I took the alternate suggestion of using day old coffee, vinegar, ginger and nutmeg for extra effects. I plan to purchase more in the future."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blissfull
Healthy hair color
 May 9, 2010
"It did an excellent job of coloring my hair...even the gray. I did not use heat because I did not want the red tint. Only drawback is that it does smell until you've washed your hair about 3 times....but worth it to me to have a chemical free healthier choice in hair coloring. (Note: although it colors the gray it is a lighter tone than the remainder of the hair....which is nice because my hair looks more natural rather than a solid fake colored look.) Color is lasting better than chemical coloring used at the hair dresser."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
nutrimama
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
turns gray hair into highlights
 February 17, 2010
"I swim several times per week year-round in chlorinated water, and therefore, I cannot use chemical colors. This product stains my hair, and actually improves its texture - it probably protects it from the chlorine as well. I am 58 years old, and actually have beautiful medium-length, medium brown hair - I use the light brown color, which makes my gray look like salon or natural highlights - it still has a glossy texture, unlike most dyed hair. The product takes some getting used to. First, you have to be careful not to use metal with it - I keep a small glass bowl, and I mix it with a rubber spatula. It smells terrible - like spoiled peas. I apply it with a paint brush, sectioning hair with a chop stick before painting the mixture on. I then put on an elasticized shower cap (the plastic bag in the box doesn't work as well). I usually put a few tissues at the edge of the cap on my forehead to catch any drips, and I leave it on for at least 30 minutes. Getting the gritty residue off the hair used to be a challenge, but I find that it can be done quite easily with hair conditioner. I usually wash and condition it again once I get the product out of my hair. I save any extra which I have mixed in a zip lock plastic bag and freeze it until the night before I wish to use it again - it will spoil if you try to keep it without freezing it. I never have any roots to speak of, as I use it about once a week - it took some getting used to, but I am very happy with the results! If you are a swimmer, make sure you use a shampoo to rid the hair of chlorine before applying Light Mountain."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Light Mountain Natural Hair Color and Conditioner Light Brown -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
senegal
fromdallas tx
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Safe alternative for covering gray hair
 February 11, 2010
"I have been using this product for about 5 years now, mainly to cover the grey and add some color..It contains only henna which is used as a conditioner in neutral tones, so it is very safe for your hair.The color seems to last a long time. Every 4-5 months I rehenna mainly to cover the outgrowing grey roots.It is a good product and it would have earned 5 stars except that some of the batches are much darker than others.This has only happened twice in 5 years though, so I am overall very happy with this product.It is hard to find really natural products for the skin and hair..This is one of them.."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.