Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Growth & Repair or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube

For Dry Damaged Hair. Indulged by Professionals. Adds Body Shine and Smooth-As-Silk-Slip. Combs Through Hair to Repair Extreme Damage. Revitalizes Frayed Raspy Damaged Over-Processed or Coarse Hair.   Shea butter soy protein and macadamia nut oil combine to detangle moisturize rejuvenate and rebuild hair's raspy frayed cuticle.  . Smooth As Silk Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion is sold in 1 oz foil pouches (20 pouches per display box) or as a 5.1 oz tube.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 20(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Review 1 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dibswife
The BEST!
 August 24, 2014
"My one and only go to hair conditioner, that softens the hair and smooths it out without making it feel heavy or oily."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mimplus3
fromChagrin Falls, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Amazing product
 July 29, 2014
"I use this product on my daughters severely chlorine damaged hair and it works wonders. Makes it smooth and manageable"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ItalianLove
fromNashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this protein hair infusion.
 July 11, 2014
"Great product. Love the way it make my hair feel after the treatment. I love this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
peaceloverhippie
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent conditioner w/o being greasy or waxy
 September 16, 2013
"I have fine (but dry) curly hair, this product not only adds softness and shine, but works as a 'gel' that helps my hair dry curly without being all frizzy or coated down with multiple products!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Formosagirl
splendid for those who have slightly dry hair
 September 1, 2013
"At first, we got a free sample of this product from Mrs. Green's Natural Market, and we thought it was beneficial. So we ordered it from Vitacost, and finished a bottle. My sister has drier hair, and she felt it washed right out and didn't help. But I thought it was pretty good for my slightly dry hair. They should have something more potent then this Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion for those with really dry hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
solsa55
fromNorthern California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
tames my hair
 April 3, 2013
"This product smooths out my frizzy hair. It is much better behaved when I use this. It is noticeably smoother. Unfortunately, my hair becomes so slippery it's a little difficult to style. I'm going to have to buy a brush that does a better job of grabbing onto my hair while I blow dry.
Also, I have a hard time with most haircare products due to the perfumes and chemicals used in the formulas. I have no negative reaction to this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
taptak
fromFredericksburg, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderully hydrating!
 December 15, 2012
"This is the best organic type conditioner I have found so far -- it works so well to renew dry and damaged/ colored hair... I have become a crazy label reader in the last few years, looking at every ingredient and most brands with good ingredients (including NO parabens and sulfates) haven't worked for me, so I was so pleased to find this! Does a beautiful job."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TasteBuds
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Product
 December 2, 2012
"I would buy this again. Great natural ingredients."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
nyan
fromAustralia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
average
 November 4, 2012
"normal hair treatment nothing special"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katinka
fromSeattle
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
silky indeed
 September 27, 2012
"It's not my favorite smell, but it softens my hair just fine. I've used it as a conditioning treatment, but I also like to use a little bit as a leave-in treatment which I just comb through when it dries. I have pretty fine hair, and after dying it it felt rough. So I just put a little bit of this on my hands and spread it out evenly through my freshly washed hair and it has greatly improved the texture of my hair. I'll be sure to buy another tube once I run out!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Atman
fromTaneytown, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Looking for a good protein conditioner
 September 20, 2011
"Love you Giovanni! After researching conditioners for a high protein, no alcohol, all natural product for my frizzy grey/white thick hair, I'm glad I found this one. It tames my hair right down to manageable and feels good. Although it's tempting to load it on at first, a small amount is all you need for great results. That and it's borderline expensive if you use a lot."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jenny297
fromWinchendon, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Awesome!
 September 13, 2011
"I leave in for 30mins and rinse out. Leaves my hair frizz free, manageable, and so soft & shiny! Smells very nice. I use once a week. Have noticed long term results. Giovanni is truely an amazing brand that is very affordable and works great!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
laindi
fromIndianapolis
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Didn't work for me
 August 23, 2011
"I purchased both this product and Giovanni's Nutrafix Reconstructor; I definitely preferred the Nutrafix Reconstructor better."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jestbcuz
fromPA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love this Conditioner!
 June 5, 2011
"I love this conditioner, it has a light pleasant scent. Also it conditions without weighing hair down"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonah
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Worked for me
 April 11, 2011
"I have a hard time finding anything that will help my very coarse, dry, frizzy, naturally curly hair. This product works for me, and I'm so glad Vitacost offers such wonderful products at affordable prices."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ksh6
Great results
 February 24, 2011
"This conditioner works wonderfully to strengthen and moisturize hair. I use it once a week, leaving it on for about 15 minutes, and the difference is noticeable. My hair is strong and shiny and easy to manage."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogagirl2010
fromMetairie, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Best Purchase Ever
 March 2, 2010
"This is one of the best hair products for dry or color treated hair. It smells nice and leaves your hair feeling really soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BKGiGi
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good buy
 December 30, 2009
"I used this conditioner once so far and I like it. Since it is a protein conditioner, I followed it with a moisturizing conditioner (Giovanni Smooth as Silk, under a hood dryer for 20mins). My hair came out shiny, moisturized, and had body. I'll continue to use it to see if it improves the health of my hair. I noticed that the overall health of my hair has improved since I started using products from Giovanni and Aubrey Organics. I have relaxed hair that is normal-thick."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Giovanni Smooth As Silk™ Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion -- 5.1 oz Tube
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product